Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

lol, the foxtel list in particularly abhorrent.

Oh and out of all of them, SA gets Mark Riccuito and Dwayne Russell, I can't believe the level of incompetence that selected those two. Funny how Dennis is from WA and doesn't do all the extra media and is the best of the lot. Can we get some more state based commentators? I don't understand why there isn't a business case for them to do this, they would save thousands on airfares and travel expenses.

Watching the NRL footy show is pretty bad. It's like a bizarro world AFL footy show but dumber, which is really saying something. Why are rugby players soo ****ing thick?

Jackson Trengove is the best commentator, genuine hilarious operator.

If he ever leaves (not likely) I will miss this about him the most.

Watching the NRL footy show is pretty bad. It's like a bizarro world AFL footy show but dumber, which is really saying something. Why are rugby players soo ****ing thick?

NRL Player Career Highlights:

Shat in hallway
Took drugs on video
Pissed in own mouth on video
Sexual acts with man/female/dog/cactus on video
Got involved in bikie territorial dispute
Beat wife/girlfriend

Yes, by a fair margin. Insidious boys club who get up to disgraceful escapades inside and outside of the studio. Absolutely toxic group of individuals. Bruce and Dennis are outside of this group, Bruce is past it and Dennis is retiring to spend more time with his family. That leaves us with a rather large void to fill.

If there is anything the Caroline Wilson debacle has taught us, it's that the commentators in our game are shit individuals. Needs a massive clean out. I mean, seriously.

Channel 7's Flog Force 16:

Foxtel:
Holy shit, I literally don't like any of them. Not one. Dare anyone to read the above lists and not die a little inside.

Apart from Cometti the only pass marks I can give are to Anthony Hudson and Matthew Richardson. They're not great by any stretch but they do a decent enough job to justify themselves. I'd throw in BT for the lols but from what I can gather he seems like a bit of a shit human, so nup.

The rest, well, what can you say. It defies belief that the Holy Trinity of Stupid, Brown, Lynch and Ricciuto, are let anywhere near a microphone.

lol, the foxtel list in particularly abhorrent.

Oh and out of all of them, SA gets Mark Riccuito and Dwayne Russell, I can't believe the level of incompetence that selected those two. Funny how Dennis is from WA and doesn't do all the extra media and is the best of the lot. Can we get some more state based commentators? I don't understand why there isn't a business case for them to do this, they would save thousands on airfares and travel expenses.

Having a decent sounding voice would have to be a criteria for being on TV or radio, you would think. People like Dennis are better because their voices aren't offensive. That's what's missing these days, classy callers that don't give you a headache.

Mark Ruccitio's voice is so incredibly grating.

If the commentator exclaims for more than one second at a piece of magnificent play then they should be sacked. Every Dhooaarr-er should be out of a job. I mean, have you ever heard Dennis hold the dhoar? No, because he's one articulate mother f$&ker.

Difference between Lawry, Richie and mark Taylor/slater

"Trewartha has been a member of the SANFL Umpires Association for 49 years"

How old is the umpire he hit?
About 103 according to this pic

1070004_399552900164632_1931816492_n.jpg

Social media just proves that most people have no idea what is going on and feel reassured that no one else does either. It's a great medium to pretend to be outraged at certain events while the reality is that everyone is just thankful that it didn't happen to them...because if they really cared they would demand something more be done about it - or better yet, do something themselves other than changing a profile picture for a day. Back in the seventies, people protested in huge numbers against the Vietnam war. Now, you'd be lucky to get a hundred people to a rally if the same thing happened again.

People are too wrapped up in trying to be witty or clever or funny in order to punch through the iron curtain of bullshit that pervades social media that they have forgotten the ancient art of having an actual conversation. Of actually listening to what someone is saying and really hearing them - not the words, but the thoughts behind the words. So now, people are forced to become more and more radical in order for their message to be heard - and that goes for all things (Trump, for example). That's the only way people will stop what they are doing and form an opinion of you as a person...and even then, it's just a caricature of who you really are.

The day people condensed their thoughts into a set amount of characters is the day when true freedom of expression, and therefore the human existence on this planet, died. So the reality is - anyone who posts regularly on Facebook or Twitter has nothing insightful or intelligent to say, other than shit that they've hijacked from blog posts around the net. Because I'm telling you now...no one of self worth is going to share their intimate thoughts with either random strangers or people who pretend to be their friends.

So really, you saying Twitter is better than Facebook is like saying skin cancer is better than stomach cancer. They both suck dried donkey dick.

You Tube on the other hand still lets content remain King, and is able to capture some of the genius of that original social media post, the long speech in parliament.

To this day exponents of this oldest of Social Media platforms make no apologies for the dizzying length of their "posts" nor for the breadth of their intellectual and cultural references, as the following example from a homespun folksy redneck from Texas ranges from Noah's Ark to Interstellar, with just a hint of Cori Bernardi type thought thrown in for good measure...

NO GAY SPACE COLONIES. Not even for the animals.

JESSICA Rowe has opened up on the "terrible time" in her life coinciding with the "boned" controversy involving Eddie McGuire.

I never understood what the furore was about with this. Was there a suggestion that he meant something different to 'sacking' her when he used the term 'bone'?

Agree it's odd. I have never heard this term in the context of sacking someone, only rooting them. Eddie is now saying that he said "Burn" her and that "boning" somebody is a Sydney exclusive term for sacking. Rowe, for her part, is working in a reasonably cut throat business but has played on the fact she had mental issues at the the time, something, which in his defense, I don't think Eddie would have been aware of. Having said that, I really despise Maguire and anything that paints him in a poor light is fine by me.

Even if he did know about her mental illness, he said it in a private conversation that was brought to light by the other party.
The huge backlash seemed out of proportion to the context of the circumstances.

Having said that, I really despise Maguire and anything that paints him in a poor light is fine by me.

Ha! True, carry on.

**** me, why are nobody talk show hosts like Sonia Kruger even giving their opinions on complex societal issues. **** me indeed.

To be fair, she said "as a mother", so she was clearly wearing that hat at the time. ;)