Winnipeg Jets
Have a lot of time on my hands so here I go
I wanna rate ( honestly ) our players in key areas
Other people can compare and do there own and I'd invite opposition supporters to do it as well
These are graded out of 10
So the 5 I have chosen are marking , kicking , clearances , body use, 1%

Rohan bail 5, 6, 6, 7, 9
Nathan jones 4, 7, 9, 9, 7
Colyn Sylvia 8, 8, 6, 6, 4
Michael Evans 7, 5, 7, 7, 8
Matt jones 6, 7, 7, 7, 7
Jack grimes 8, 6, 6, 5, 8
Jack trengove 8, 7, 6, 8, 8
Jack viney 7, 8, 8, 8, 8
Jack watts 7, 9, 5, 7, 4
Dan Nicholson 5, 5, 5, 6, 8

My point being apart from Jonesy and Sylvia's lack of something jack viney is the only bloke we have ATM with the Allround potential to be an a grader

Your system is flawed. First you say you are rating them on their abilities now, and then say that Viney is the only "potential" A grader. So did you mark them on potential or abilities now?

And Jack Viney is rated far too highly after just 4 games. The kid will be terrific but you have him basically on part with Nathan Jones which is ludicrous.

Your system is flawed. First you say you are rating them on their abilities now, and then say that Viney is the only "potential" A grader. So did you mark them on potential or abilities now?

And Jack Viney is rated far too highly after just 4 games. The kid will be terrific but you have him basically on part with Nathan Jones which is ludicrous.
Drinking Canadian beer might have something to do with this thread :cool:

Or three month old cans of Melbourne Bitter.

Sylvia's body use is very good actually. At least an 8. It's just a shame he lacks the burst to get away from his opponent more often than not.

That's the least of the worries with those ratings. Watts is rated a 5 for clearances, just 2 less than our chief clearance winner Nathan Jones. Who, by the way, is rated less than Viney as well. Watts has never won a clearance in his life, and will never really be in a position to win one.

Only got as far as Sylvia mate but you're right.

Either way, ratings are subjective at the end of it but IMO Sylvia is a misunderstood player at times.

Only got as far as Sylvia mate but you're right.

Either way, ratings are subjective at the end of it but IMO Sylvia is a misunderstood player at times.

True about Sylvia, but some of that is self inflicted. He doesn't help his own cause alot of the time. I love the bloke and think he adds plenty to the side, but he is brilliant one minute, lazy the next. Would be a Top 30 player in the AFL if he put his brilliance together consistently.

His output has always been the let down unfortunately but it doesn't equate to ability it just makes it more of a shame.

Effort the main factor but his body doesn't always come up either IMO.

Colin Sylvia rated 4 for 1 percenters? Too high.
8 for kicking? I'd give him an 8 for set shots at goal and a 4 or 5 for general field play.

Fairly arbitrary ratings for vague categories. Reminds me of that cross-code sports show that was (is?) on Foxtel. AFL 'challenge' was about 6 set shots at goal, the soccer one was a few penalty shots at goal, one of the rugby codes was beating someone in a 1v1, etc. Bit more to it than that.

His output has always been the let down unfortunately but it doesn't equate to ability it just makes it more of a shame.

Effort the main factor but his body doesn't always come up either IMO.

In terms of his body - he has only played around the 150 game mark for the club. He should be well and truly around the 200 mark for a 10 year player. Agree that his body hasn't always come up for him, helps to make him an easier target for criticism.

Actually Jonesy I rated a 9 in clearances 4 more than watts .. And viney and 8 because he is already our second best pure clearance winner ...
There opinions mate but maybe read em properly before you criticize

The point being viney is the only player on our list with the potential to be a gun midfielder in every category , we have have had years of early picks but still have only one potential a grade midfielder ( toumpas excluded)

Sylvia's body use is great 10% of the time but he doesn't use his size anywhere near enough should be our second best pure clearance winner

Actually Jonesy I rated a 9 in clearances 4 more than watts .. And viney and 8 because he is already our second best pure clearance winner ...
There opinions mate but maybe read em properly before you criticize

The point being viney is the only player on our list with the potential to be a gun midfielder in every category , we have have had years of early picks but still have only one potential a grade midfielder ( toumpas excluded)

So what are these weird ratings based on? Current ability or potential? You can't do both.

And I read it well before I criticized it. Jones might have been rated a 9, not an 8, but the fact remains your ratings are wrong, ridiculous and make zero sense to anybody but yourself.

So what are these weird ratings based on? Current ability or potential? You can't do both.

And I read it well before I criticized it. Jones might have been rated a 9, not an 8, but the fact remains your ratings are wrong, ridiculous and make zero sense to anybody but yourself.

I forgot you represented the whole big footy community when you posted , they are also my ratings so they are not wrong , and all of them are based on current ability , viney has possibly been over rated but anyway thanks for everything you have added to the thread (y)

If you don't like criticism then don't start threads like this one. You can't expect all and sundry to just agree with it, call you a visionary and do their own. I mean, even when you ignore the fact Jack Watts is being rated alongside midfielders for no particular reason (and given a 5 in clearances FFS), and that Jack Viney is hugely over rated and on par with Sylvia, Grimes, Trengove and N Jones (which he isn't even close to doing right now after only 1 good game), the ratings still make no sense to me. You've chosen 5 basic areas and just thrown any old numbers up.

And trust me when I say that, in this case, I've added plenty more to this thread than you have.

I think they are 5 categories that represent our midfield deficiencies perfectly , the midfielder we have that try the hardest aren't the most skilled and the ones with heaps of natural ability ( Sylvia, watts i included because I think he could be a Goddard type player if he showed more intent ) don't have enough intent

And yeah from that one glimpse of viney I am confident he is already a better clearance player than grimes trengove Evans etc

He also is a better kick than Evans nicho and co

He is already on par with grimes and jones as our second best midfielder

I don't mind the concept, NG. It's missing one thing that the majority of our onballers lack though. Leg speed. :(

Sylvia's body use is great 10% of the time but he doesn't use his size anywhere near enough should be our second best pure clearance winner

Clearances aren't the only exponent of body work, there's marking and holding your feet with the disputed ball but I agree we've needed more from at the centre.

So the way I rated Sylvia , at his best his body work is brilliant and he keeps his feet and takes strong marks , but not very often against good opposition

lol cool

1=worst, 5=average, 10=elite. Scored relative to position and size.

J. McKenzie 4, 2, 7, 6, 8
N. Jones 4, 6, 8, 8, 8
C. Sylvia 6, 6, 7, 7, 2
J. Grimes 7, 5, 7, 7, 7
J. Trengove 7, 5, 6, 6, 6
J. Watts 4, 9, 5, 2, 1

For benchmarking purposes:
Cale Morton 3, 2, 3, 1, 1
Pendlebury 7, 10, 9, 7, 8
Ablett 10, 9, 10, 10, 9
Niknat 7, 5, 10, 10, 10
N. Riewoldt 9, 6, 6, 8, 9

1=worst, 5=average, 10=elite. Scored relative to position and size.

J. McKenzie 4, 2, 7, 6, 8
N. Jones 4, 6, 8, 8, 8
C. Sylvia 6, 6, 7, 7, 2
J. Grimes 7, 5, 7, 7, 7
J. Trengove 7, 5, 6, 6, 6
J. Watts 4, 9, 5, 2, 1

For benchmarking purposes:
Cale Morton 3, 2, 3, 1, 1
Pendlebury 7, 10, 9, 7, 8
Ablett 10, 9, 10, 10, 9
Niknat 7, 5, 10, 10, 10
N. Riewoldt 9, 6, 6, 8, 9