The 'Recruit'

• Thread starter Thread starter Kenno27

I reckon the show will follow the same path as Australian Idol. There will be one winner, but clubs will be keeping and eye on all 13 players and it would not surprise me if thte guy who gets the guaranteed contract is delisted after two years and someone else ends up being drafted and becoming a success.

I also reckon the AFL clubs will be more interested in how the athletes go adapting to footy than how the guys who are stars in the lower grades and have come through the footy system with obvious deficiencies.

This is the part of it that I don't get right now. It's not like an AFL club is going to say to a player 'Well, you've still got 8-10 years of your prime left and you're better than half a dozen players on our list right now, but unfortunately you only came runner-up in that reality show, so tough luck.'

If five of the remaining players are legitimately worth a shot, they'll find their way on to an AFL list in the next two years. If none of them are good enough the winner will spend a year or two in the reserves and then fade back into obscurity.

One major issue I have is that now that it's down to thirteen, that's apparently the first and last we'll see of actual scratch matches between the players. Unless we get some 'intruders'.

Watched the encore presentation of the show last night. I don't think I will be watching any more of it.
Sure there are plenty of you that are fans of the show but i'm not one.
Am going to be a bit negative about it so bear with me.
Why have a reality tv show to do with AFL? There's already enough of that rubbish on free to air tv. We don't need to be watching crap shows on tv. To me it's a bit like a crap version of the Hanger or the Club that's on each week.
Things on the show that I saw last night were highly inappropriate. We don't need to know all the minor details of why one of the footballers wears nail polish and we don't need to know if he's gay or straight. Those sorts of things need to be kept private. I can imagine on the footy field he cops it enough just because people are immature and think that somebody's sexual preference means that they have to stay away from them.

Oh and mike91 how do you know that? Do you play in the same team as him or do you coach him? No need to use that laziness as an excuse he might think that you are a racist bugger. Hopefully you aren't.
He could be used as a small forward because he doesn't do much but contributes to the team by kicking some exciting goals.
Oh no racism intended in the slightest way mate, in the year he was going to get drafted we were talking about him on the freo board and everyone who saw him play said he is an extremely talented player, but very lazy, so I'm just going off of that and by the looks of it he hasn't worked on his fitness since then. I know it was only one episode, but it did show he was mentally weak in the first challenge and unfit. Just to clarify, no racism at all.

I was really surprised at how good the show was.

The whole Waylan thing was extremely awkward. I'm not sure what they were mean't to do different as the players seemed to get around him and wanted him to get a go. Personally I thought he was lazy and piss-weak but worth another look.

To me there seems to be four or five real candidates here. What happens if one of the losers gets drafted anyway? I can see a couple of these guys getting a gig.

The only thing I have to say about this show is what was the point of the run? obviously they had preconceived ideas on the players and that is why Waylen managed to get through despite finishing last, surely you would watch the guys play first before cutting them rather than having double standards for Waylen. Can't say i'm a huge fan of the concept and think that people should be drafted the traditional way but will still watch the show.

The Jackal is a ripper.
Seen him play some unbelievable games last season.
He's so fast it's ridiculous.
Problem is being fast compared to players in a local league can still be very slow compared to afl footballers.

That was pretty hard to watch the peer assessment with Waylon, couldn't help but feel sorry for him and he did not want to be there at all.

Also DJ still a massive ********, has some serious tickets on himself

It was good to see Voss cracking the shits with them at training.... those scorpion crawl things look about the most awful things in the world

Problem is being fast compared to players in a local league can still be very slow compared to afl footballers.
He isn't slow I assure you

Johncock's attitude is gonna come back to bite him at some point surely.
It's the reason why he was in the bottom 3. He aced the beep test, and it wasn't his fault that he couldn't train. He's going to keep getting in there cause of his attitude.

Not surprised Armitage went, he has no real outstanding qualities, and his disposal seemed pretty poor.

Have people on here seen him in the NSW state league?