The 'Recruit'

• Thread starter Thread starter Kenno27

Everyone always says this, but I can never understand how it's actually possible.
There's obviously a few well of benefactors who have a hand in playing a couple of players here and there. I guess the local pub and the club themselves kind of act as a self stimulus package. If you play a lower level player 200 bucks a game but he puts 100 of it back in food and beer you don't have to find so much cash. In fact the whole of local towns can work that way with the money just going back and forward and if it's all in cash then no tax helps.

They said Fev was actually making clubs money despite his hefty fee which is why he started getting a percentage of gate or sales in his contract and I might be wrong but I think he was actually getting paid by the opposition when he played away games at other towns.

You do wonder if teams are forking out 20k per match how that works. But if you recycle a lot of the cash as above and then get some tax free donations from wealthier supporters then I guess you can make it work. No wagers for anyone but the players and coach with volunteers as well.

The VFL/other state league clubs probably have to operate to a higher level of professionalism which in turn costs much more to run.

Playing C Grade in WAAFL, you can see plenty of players who have the skills and the level of footy isn't to be baulked at. But more importantly, that's C grade, there's grades above to consider.

All it really means is that there is talent out there. Although you would have to question whether a 17 year old that was willing to give it all up for work, booze and girls is a rough diamond that can't be polished.

Certain AFL Clubs presidents bang on about how the talent pool is limited, well the talent is out there just due to our draft system... are clubs really ever going to take punts on such players?

If I was a multi-millionaire, I'd love to open an academy for this very reason.

Everyone always says this, but I can never understand how it's actually possible.

It happens. My club itself donates paddocks as some have already said, sells cattle and a few of the older people around the club donate labour (I.e they'll prune a vineyard or go wood chopping and donate the profits back to the club). And our recruits aren't even huge names (one played in a lot of Central Districts' premierships and the others have played SANFL). One of them even got nominated for this show but turned it down.

There's a couple of ex AFL players in the league getting paid good money by a club which has done the same.

My mates and I were filmed in the crowd when they played at Etihad after a Saints game, that'd be the only reason I'd watch this.
But I don't have Foxtel so I probably won't!

Should be in the "lame claims to fame" thread on GD.

Watched the soccer version of this show, was awesome and I have never watched a full game of soccer in my life and do not intend to.

If I can hate soccer and watch that show I am stoked to see this one! cant wait.

I reckon it'll be a great show. Clearly there's talent out there in the country leagues, hell Barlow wasn't even the best player in the GVFL when he was there. Plus Fitzy is the only the only person left in footy media at least slightly entertaining.

Too bad I don't have fox.

Reality TV hits the AFL.

AFL has changed their constitution to allow a reality show winner to win a spot on an AFL list.
First question - does Eddie have anything to do with this show? If yes, I don't want to know about it. Secondly, will Delta Goodrem be a judge? If yes, ditto

Fitzy is the host. Vossy is the Coach. That's all we know so far.

Absolutely - I know a guy that is getting $500 in match payment and $30k of house renovations done for 3 seasons work.

There is plenty of $$$ in country leagues.

When its a good year on the farm and everyone is looking for a tax break . . . . . . . . .
Yep know of a few country footballers on 30k+. But they deliver premierships so it might be worth it in the end.

Didn't they do this for cricket a year or two back? Who won and is he still on a list?

I know this is from last year but they did - Ian Holland won and afaik he's still playing for the Vic U23 side and played some county seconds as well.

Tom Cooper's brother Ben (who played for the Dutch in the T20 WC just gone) was on the show too.

If they do it right I don't see why they couldn't attract some good talent for the AFL one.

Highly touted youngster Waylon Manson appears to be on the show.

He played colts for a WAFL team didn't he? I thought they weren't allowed to have played state league before. If that literally just means state league seniors then there would be a ton of draft hopefuls who missed out and went to play country footy who would be eligible for this show...

Rory Atkins said on the Crows podcast that the winner gets a spot on the GWS rookie list.

He played colts for a WAFL team didn't he? I thought they weren't allowed to have played state league before. If that literally just means state league seniors then there would be a ton of draft hopefuls who missed out and went to play country footy who would be eligible for this show...

They are not allowed to have played senior SANFL, VFL or WAFL in the last two (or three) years

Plenty of talent out there in Suburban and country footy. Go to any game in Victoria's premier leagues and you will see plenty of guys who have the skill set to be AFL listed.

The Goss from Old Xavs is a superior player to his close mate Ambrose at Essendon.