The 'Recruit'

Depends what clubs are looking for, Yoey has all the X factor and can see him being an exceptional AFL player, Moreland is never going to be an a grader but could see him being a 100 + gamer playing as a tagger and obviously Brady will play the ruck role..

Not sure on Moreland getting in over Reece........Reece has a lot more upside than Moreland.

Depends what clubs are looking for, Yoey has all the X factor and can see him being an exceptional AFL player, Moreland is never going to be an a grader but could see him being a 100 + gamer playing as a tagger and obviously Brady will play the ruck role..
What about Gossy he only got delisted that week because of his injury probably would've came 4th to those blokes^

Just had a look at his stats for Xavs this year, 11 goals from 5 games, so not exceptional for a small forward. Always thought he was just too small and didn't seem quick enough or have the endurance to play midfield.

I believe the coaching panel during rate your mate as you see them watching through their TV - said he had elite speed.

100+ AFL games is exceptional, and far more than the average afl player.

Not specifically this post, but I feel that a lot of the recruits are being overrated in this thread. One will obviously get a
contract, likely Wagner or Foster, but outside of 'project players' I can't see any of the other guys making it onto a list.

Look at blokes currently playing in the VFL who are under the noses of recruiters week in week out, and are (likely) far better players than blokes like Moreland, Semmel, Jackal,
Goss etc can't get a look in.

Someone like Myles Sewell in recent years or Adam Marcon at present

Does anyone know who's the club that was interested in taking the winner
If Wagner wins then I'd expect both SA sides to have a look as he's basically a free pick up list wise and presumedly only costs a rookie wage. Seems the guys had a good relationship with Burgess who obviously rates Wagner's repeat speed efforts and he'd fit well as a 190cm player with speed complimenting Westhoff and Schulz. So whilst he might be a fair way from a game he'd fit the structure if he was up to AFL standard.

Wagner to Port. If Bradie wins then he said today he'd favour Gold Coast didn't he? With Zac Smith, Nicholls and Gorringe they aren't short on young tall blokes but they've also got a decent record developing them and he'd stay in his home state.

So they'd be my guesses.

14133578367_6b9d61a82a_c.jpg

14296968366_2cfcca21d5_c.jpg

14319473954_e95b1b442c_c.jpg

14296990576_b487be860b_c.jpg

Was it? Padraig made it look pretty easy, but going in, I thought if anyone had an advantage in that contest due to his body shape, it was Semmel.
Imagine padraig probably weights around 110kg so of course he is going to be better at holding a brick above his head then a bunch of guys who weight 20kg less then him.

When was this game played anyway? Was it a proper SANFL match?

Looking at the SANFL website neither of the clashes between Port and Adelaide this year are listed as being played at the Adelaide Oval...?

I believe it was after the Adelaide v Gold Coast game on June 1st, Round 11.

Imagine padraig probably weights around 110kg so of course he is going to be better at holding a brick above his head then a bunch of guys who weight 20kg less then him.

I'm no expert, but I would have thought it was a similar concept to bench press, where the shorter, stockier people have an advantage over the guys with long arms, who have to push (in this case hold) the weight further away from their chest. I'm guessing the bench press champ at most AFL clubs is seldom a ruckman.

Was playing on his injury from the show so couldn't do as much as the year before where he kicked 80 in the same league.

I'm no expert, but I would have thought it was a similar concept to bench press, where the shorter, stockier people have an advantage over the guys with long arms, who have to push the weight further away from their chest. I'm guessing the bench press champ at most AFL clubs is seldom a ruckman.
Isn't holding a brick above your head resistance training though? They weren't doing repetitions of very heavy weight. I'd guess someone that has 20kg+ of extra weight underneath them is more likely going to have better resistance when lifting a medium amount of weight over a longer period of time.

But that challenge would have been all upper arms and shoulders. What does it matter that you weigh more, if it's all in your legs and torso?

My guess is that Semmel would have gone close to having the biggest arms/shoulders in that group and that is why I expected him to win that challenge. It just seems like something that the prototypical 'tanks' would be better at, which may have been illustrated by the fact that Voss looked like he wasn't even in the slightest bit of discomfort, when Wagner finally dropped out (not sure if Voss started at the same time as the others though).

Ben Dixon is a flog, and he didn't take the feedback from Yoey (I think) well at all, he tried to laugh it off but it didn't work. And yeah Yoey probably wins it though there's a lot to work with in Brady I reckon, in some ways he might even be more likely to be picked up.

He's useless. His questioning of Foster was cringeworthy. 'Does that make you feel flat, or does that make you feel angry? That's good...if you're angry, that shows me that you can be the recruit...'

Is it actually possible that he could have telegraphed what the right answer was any more than he did?

I believe it was after the Adelaide v Gold Coast game on June 1st, Round 11.

Yeah it was. Fairly sure that was the weekend the SANFL played the VFL so neither team's reserves would have played that weekend, hence the scratch match.

Crows won by about 12 goals from memory.

100+ AFL games is exceptional, and far more than the average afl player.

Not specifically this post, but I feel that a lot of the recruits are being overrated in this thread. One will obviously get a
contract, likely Wagner or Foster, but outside of 'project players' I can't see any of the other guys making it onto a list.

Look at blokes currently playing in the VFL who are under the noses of recruiters week in week out, and are (likely) far better players than blokes like Moreland, Semmel, Jackal,
Goss etc can't get a look in.

Someone like Myles Sewell in recent years or Adam Marcon at present
Mark Bolton played 100 games, Ed Curnow plays as a pure tagger, doesn't have a heap of ability but has a good tank and runs all day restricting his opponent, this is the role I imagine Moreland would play if he got picked up.

I do agree that these guys are being over rated, especially the ones like Jackal and Semmel who have been through the system and continually overlooked, I suspect Wagner was a bit hidden living in Port Lincoln.

The 'Recruit'