The 'Recruit'

Jackel is also showing himself as a leader, so he may well get the best out of some of the other more likely candidates like Waylan and therefore proved his worth. He'll also score some decent coin after the show from local clubs wanting someone of his calibre.. hard hitting nut.
Not wrong.
A few of these blokes will make real good coin.
Good on them.
Jackel is in pretty high demand anyway as I imagine the others are.
He's hardly played this year ,maybe 2 games? But his team is flying home and I imagine he will be part of the mix come finals.
Be interesting to see how he goes.

Wasn't there a rumour a contestant from up north got kicked off the show for going out and getting on the piss? This could of been Hutchy and they've covered it up. Very stiff if not.
Maybe Waylan going off the preview for next week?
Love his sense of humor though!

Hutchy very unlucky. Should've been in the top 5 easy

They obviously show what they want you to see, but I can't really remember him doing much of note at all.

Maybe Waylan going off the preview for next week?
Love his sense of humor though!

From the preview, it's definitely telegraphing it as a situation where he's calling the shots, rather than him stuffing up. I reckon putting himself in the bottom three is a quality guess. It will either be that, or something like asking for time out to go home for a week.

If the voting system is legit, what's to stop alliances being formed, Survivor-style, to try to get three of the strongest players nominated every week?

Had to laugh at Burgess (I think it was) complaining that 'They're not looking at the same things we're after.' Yeah, that's the danger, when you give someone else the opportunity to cast a vote.

If the voting system is legit, what's to stop alliances being formed, Survivor-style, to try to get three of the strongest players nominated every week?

Had to laugh at Burgess (I think it was) complaining that 'They're not looking at the same things we're after.' Yeah, that's the danger, when you give someone else the opportunity to cast a vote.
While BJ is a shit person - I think this is the same reason why he was gone early - I think he could of lasted another 2 weeks but because of his attitude he just comes of super hated

Has there been one player in the last decade that was A) Over 21, and B) Not playing in a state league, and C) Not an International/other sport project, that has been drafted into the AFL in the past 10 years?

No, but guys like Tory Dickson, Kyle Martin, Matt Jones, Leigh Osborne and Shane Mumford would have all been possible candidates for the show, at one time or another.

DJ is playing for kapunda in the barossa light league in SA. Mate played against him a coupla weeks ago and said hes soft as shit, but was fit and was one of the only ones still going in the last quarter.

Said everyone was sledging the shit out of him the whole game for being a knob and getting kicked off

The basketballer Maxwell seems to have enormous scope for improvement.

I like him a lot. Reckon he's the dark horse. It appears as though he's getting the rough end of the stick a bit, with the nominations, compared to the other converts.

While BJ is a shit person - I think this is the same reason why he was gone early - I think he could of lasted another 2 weeks but because of his attitude he just comes of super hated

Well, you can only go by what the coaches are saying and the vision you see. And from that, it seemed like he was soft as butter, not that skilled, he wouldn't take criticism and he blamed everyone else for his shortcomings. Struggling to think of any of the 'natural' footballers that was less impressive. Smith's probably next in line (unless they finally knock out one of the converts) and Moreland had a quiet week.

Who do you see coming #1st, 2nd & 3rd and do you believe more than one will gain a contract? Unless results have been leaked already?

I find Manson fascinating.
Unbelievable talent. Seen him play a game last year and didn't get a kick for three quarters but his last was unbelievable.
Gives an insight to the difficulties and the massive hurdles a lot of aboriginal boys face and clubs try to deal with.
Think Taylor,Garlett,Jurrah and many more.
Geez they can play but the modern way doesn't really cater for them.
Such a shame.
I'd throw Waylon into that, he's that good but it's such a massive culture shift.

surely Wagner and Goss. They are seriously good players.

I have those two in the same basket as Semmel and Jackel. Good footballers who might be able to step up. I think they'll narrow it down to one of those guys. They love the athletic potential of Maxwell and how fast he picks things up, and if they will want to keep Waylon as long as they can to see how much he improves as his fitness and confidence increases working alongside the other guys. All just my opinion of course.

I agree.
I love the way Jackel goes about it ,he's a real crowd favorite in his local league and he's a great popular bloke to boot but if I was being honest I'd have to say guys like Wagner,Goss and Semmel have him covered for skill.
Those blokes have the hard edge jackel has but a touch more polish.
I like Moreland too he's hard at it.
Waylon is a freak and I think Maxwell could be anything.
Makes for a great contrast and keeps it interesting.

Who do you see coming #1st, 2nd & 3rd and do you believe more than one will gain a contract? Unless results have been leaked already?

I think Manson will be one, a convert will be another and one of the natural footballers (from the southern states) will be the third. At gunpoint, I'll go with Manson, Maxwell and Wagner as my top three, though I think it's too early and probably a bit unfair on the converted players to try to put them in order. It's certainly not out of the realms of possibility to see someone like Foster making a big leap, if he hangs on for 1-2 more episodes.

Gives an insight to the difficulties and the massive hurdles a lot of aboriginal boys face and clubs try to deal with.
Think Taylor,Garlett,Jurrah and many more.

I agree about Manson being a huge talent but I think Aboriginal issues (for want of a better name) is far from black and white, pun not intended.

Liam Jurrah, Waylon Manson etc. come from a different world to what most in footy have experienced. Communities hundreds of kilometres from what we would consider civilisation, kids speak Creole and often don't go to school, footy is played on red dirt without shoes etc. People go from communities to regional centres like Broome (a town of 15,000 people) and experience culture shock, let alone moving to a freezing cold city of 4.5 million on the other side of the country.

Guys like Jeff Garlett, Dayle Garlett, Murray Newman are city kids. Their culture and upbringing is different to your average white kid and they often (particularly those in the Swan Districts zone over here) come from low socio economic areas. They face huge challenges adapting to AFL life, but they can't really be lumped in a generic 'Aboriginal issues' boat with the guys from remote communities.

The 'Recruit'