The 'Recruit'

It's absolutely astonishing that Voss was ever a senior coach. He's absolutely terrible. Listening to his commentary this year has been frightening, in regards to how little he knows about opposition teams. A key example was a couple of months ago, commentating a West Coast game, he referred to Schofield as our main key defender, the one who takes all the big roles…despite the fact that this has never been the case, MacKenzie has been our main key defender for 3-4 years, and Schofield would still be behind Brown anyway. For an opposition coach not to know who our main defender was (and it was the same when he was coaching) is scary. What on earth was happening at team meetings when talking about the opposition?

"Look guys, this Jarryd Blair fella is clearly Collingwood's main midfielder, we have to stop him."
"What about Pendlebury, Vossy?"
"…Who?"

Did lol.

It's funny coz it's true.

Exactly. If you're going to make rules, you should at least follow them. I thought the whole point of the elimination process was to weed out the guys who weren't able to get to AFL level and decide who was, so why single the guy out and not even give him the fair opportunity of competing within the set parameters of the competition? It is a reality TV show, so there are always questions regarding the integrity of the competition, but that sort of thing just invalidates it further.

It's not only being dishonest to the players, but it's being dishonest to the viewer, and it's frustrating to both compete in and watch something where the rules are constantly being changed for no real reason.

We were led to believe the actual competition would have 12 players, with one being eliminated through a set process every week. Instead, we had a final 12 that ultimately consisted of 15 players, and apparently the elimination process actually means nothing because at any time he likes, Vossy can tell you to piss off.

I don't watch reality TV usually, but I imagine even most of those shows have more integrity than this. Like, I'm pretty sure that, unless they've done something really wrong, no one has walked up to one of the Big Brother contestants and said, "nah, we just don't think you're gonna win. Pack your bags and get out. You didn't lose the vote or whatever, but we just don't want you here. Get out."

Maybe it would help if the final three was picked by Vossy and the rest of the coaches as opposed to the players, which is an idiotic concept because, as the coaches themselves stated, the players are looking for different things than they are, and it is also open to exploitation through the guys forming alliances and trying to keep the weaker guys in and the stronger guys out. On a show like Survivor, that may be fine, but I don't see how it helps when you're aiming to find an AFL player.

Would expect little else from Eddie.

Say that again...

But big brother wasn't looking for someone to actually do anything when they won.

But it's a competition, and competitions should have clearly defined rules. If Vossy can tap any one of them on the shoulders at anytime and tell them they're gone, why bother with the whole "rate your mate" ordeal? Why not just leave the eliminations up to Voss, which is how it should be.

The guy wasn't AFL caliber, but I would suggest that several of the guys still in aren't either. If they wanted to thin the numbers down quicker, maybe they should've done a double elimination or something.

The fact that they're trying to find an AFL player is exactly why the players themselves shouldn't be deciding who is nominated to go.

I mean, it doesn't really matter, because it suffers from most of the annoying traits of most reality TV shows. I don't know how anyone can really make a decent assessment of who is good just by watching the show, as we barely see any of them performing. We see small snippets, which mostly serve to highlight how poorly certain players did.

But it's a competition, and competitions should have clearly defined rules. If Vossy can tap any one of them on the shoulders at anytime and tell them they're gone, why bother with the whole "rate your mate" ordeal? Why not just leave the eliminations up to Voss, which is how it should be.

The guy wasn't AFL caliber, but I would suggest that several of the guys still in aren't either. If they wanted to thin the numbers down quicker, maybe they should've done a double elimination or something.

The fact that they're trying to find an AFL player is exactly why the players themselves shouldn't be deciding who is nominated to go.

I mean, it doesn't really matter, because it suffers from most of the annoying traits of most reality TV shows. I don't know how anyone can really make a decent assessment of who is good just by watching the show, as we barely see any of them performing. We see small snippets, which mostly serve to highlight how poorly certain players did.
Reality tv shows are never real competitions

Pretty shattered there is a max bet because there are some extremely strong rumours is that he's in the top 3....

Note Wagner, Goss and Moreland havent played too much local footy this season.... I think you can work it out....
Don't open if you don't want to know the result:

I'm 90% sure that Johann, Waylen and Bradie are the final three, and Johann wins.

So you can use your captains powers to save someone from being delisted.
Although there is nothing stopping Vossy just delisting that person whenever he feels like it.

theyve sa
So you can use your captains powers to save someone from being delisted.
Although there is nothing stopping Vossy just delisting that person whenever he feels like it.
id that Vossy can delist whoever he wants - doesnt have to be out of the 3. Bottom line is theres only 2 or 3 that look like they are good enough to play AFL. And massive lulz at the muppets who were calling for Waylen to be given the boot early on. He may be unfit and questioning whether he can do it, but he is one of the very few who have the goods to play AFL footy. Most of the other muppets on there are known to recruiters and have been for years. They have played VFL/WAFL/SANFL 2's. Or Tac cup. They just arent up to it. contrary to popular pub talk, the number of genuine smokys out there playing community or country footy that recruiters dont know about are minute. In todays day and age of mobile phones, phone video, email. Recruiters know about 99% of all these "bush champions". The only guys out there that have "fallen through the gaps" of the regular pathway, are guys LIKE Waylen who has chosen to not pursue it to this point. Even then he's known by these guys. SO youre gonna see the international guys and the likes of Waylen go much further than a guy ike Jackel - who as good as he is is a known quantity and at 26 is a dime a dozen.

theyve sa

id that Vossy can delist whoever he wants - doesnt have to be out of the 3. Bottom line is theres only 2 or 3 that look like they are good enough to play AFL. And massive lulz at the muppets who were calling for Waylen to be given the boot early on. He may be unfit and questioning whether he can do it, but he is one of the very few who have the goods to play AFL footy. Most of the other muppets on there are known to recruiters and have been for years. They have played VFL/WAFL/SANFL 2's. Or Tac cup. They just arent up to it. contrary to popular pub talk, the number of genuine smokys out there playing community or country footy that recruiters dont know about are minute. In todays day and age of mobile phones, phone video, email. Recruiters know about 99% of all these "bush champions". The only guys out there that have "fallen through the gaps" of the regular pathway, are guys LIKE Waylen who has chosen to not pursue it to this point. Even then he's known by these guys. SO youre gonna see the international guys and the likes of Waylen go much further than a guy ike Jackel - who as good as he is is a known quantity and at 26 is a dime a dozen.

Then what is the point of the Captains armband?
And using your ability to switch the bottom 3 when Vossy can just do as he pleases anyway.
I guess they have to drag the show on for a bit.

And using your ability to switch the bottom 3 when Vossy can just do as he pleases anyway.

I think it's just to bring in and present a player's perspective, and give them a bit of agency in their own futures.

It also teaches the players the difference between what the players value and how they see each other, and what coaches and recruiters are looking for, hence why the coaches have mentioned this more and more as the contest has progressed.

yeah not quite sure. And maybe im confused, but IM certain they said early on that Vossy has the ability to just bin whoever he wants.

Tough viewing with Hutchy, but I didn't mind it, that's the cutthroat business even if you do make the AFL.

He was a favourite of mine, just because he was a Collingwood supporter, but he was axed then and there because he was definitely not going to make it. From the looks of the show, his kicking was just atrocious, and Vossy said that it doesn't look like it's something that they could improve.

Waylan may have a shot at this, I'm still doubtful due to his lack of confidence and personality, but looks to be going in the right steps. You can clearly tell that in his interviews and such, he frames his words in the context that he'll only be there for a few weeks. First time he actually said something along the lines of actually winning the whole thing.

Really keen on Jackel and Semmel, but I think the two are just too old at 26 to win. They'll probably go far, but doubtful they'll win.

Wagner looks like the hot favourite imo.

Maxwell is the dark horse. Seems to do well in the physical testing, but goes missing through games I think, but reckon he definitely has the potential.

Been following the show over the last few weeks. It's a pretty decent show.

I rate Gossy and Wagner from what I've seen.

I like it.

Fitzy should be an ambassador of the game.

Passion tinged with humour, a great fit IMHO

The 'Recruit'