The 'Recruit'

That yank seriously has no idea...at one stage he had the ball and had no idea what to do with it. He is a spud! Get him off our tv

that has been thrown out the window. hutch and brady played neafl the last 3 and 2 years

Johann is on Centrals' list.

Surely if they were actually any good they would have been looked at by SANFL/WAFL/VFL clubs. Waylen's been seen wearing a Claremont singlet so he's obviously had something to do with them in the last couple of years.

That Padraig guy is puzzling me.
You see no game time of his at all and he never gets mentioned in the bottom 3 talks.
So you would think if he was playing well, they would make a story out if it and be drumming him up as he is an international player.
On the other hand if he isn't why isn't he getting mentioned?

This show is total garbage. Sadly watching it as the other half is a fan.
The moment the international guys became part of it, it's turned into rubbish.
The irish guy seems invisible in any footage, the yank is just a loud mouth with little ability.
Yet, guys with obvious football skills are getting tossed aside every week.

As for Voss and those other peanuts, their acting makes me cringe!

Moreland got lucky this week. I agree the Yank is coming across a bit of a w@nker at this stage. I wonder how many thought when there was a curfew violation of player out on the piss immediately thought it was Waylon??

I laughed at Vossy getting excited about the volleyball guy during the game. He was rucking against guys a foot shorter than him FFS. No skill in that.

Good show last night. The artificial reality TV component is lessening* and it's now more like a magnified/accelerated look at what happens with list management in a real AFL club.
The NT stuff was really, really happy and +ve. I reckon it was good enough that after the show is over it could probably be re-cut to show just how well those remote area visits work and shown as a separate show. Just take out some of the reality TV stuff and add in a bit from some of the Indigenous players. I know Collingwood and (I think) Essendon have done a bit of that stuff over the years but seeing how happy everyone involved was is something that hadn't really seeped through to me.

* the over-dramatised delisting is still too corny for my liking, but that's my problem

That yank seriously has no idea...at one stage he had the ball and had no idea what to do with it. He is a spud! Get him off our tv

I love how they showed a shot of him, dirt all over his face saying "yeah I have no idea whats going on 98% of the time". Was like something from Parks & Rec

I can see the guys with obvious footy ability - Moreland, Semmel, Wagner, Jackal, Goss - getting irritated by project players staying in the comp but ultimately it comes down to what they are looking for.

Those blokes above (and Waylan) are the most likely to get a game in 2015 (still unlikely). But they have been playing footy all their life and have never been considered. There are obviously limitations and reasons for that. The chance of any of them being a 50-100 game AFL player is pretty minimal. And for guys like Armitage and Smith, there are simply not up to scratch and never will be. Good decisions getting rid of them.

The project players - Bradie, Maxwell, the Irish and the Yank - are currently crap but they are athletic (apparently - the yank looks pretty slow to me). If they can improve significantly and actually learn the game, there is a reasonable argument that they have more scope to become a genuine player. I think they are worth keeping a while longer while they get rid of the plodders who just aren't good enough.

Ultimately I think Semmell and Jackal are too old and if they haven't been good enough to date, I can't see them ever being good enough. I think the project players (other than the Padraig who is mysteriously never shown) are too far back to win it.

I think Waylan will win. He has the footy ability and is developing very well in terms of his preparation/attitude etc. The combination of actual football ability and project player that could improve significantly with AFL training and development. Otherwise I reckon Wagner/Goss if they want someone who can already play, is most likely to have an impact in 2015 but is still young enough to get better.

I thought they were selling Bradie as a vollyballer who's never played AFL in his life?
i was the team manager at the hornet for the last 2 years. he played in the 2s after a mate asked him to come and play and he dominated. got picked in the seniors when really he wasn't ready

I'm actually thinking the yank is there purely to be the new bad guy... has been very opinionated since he got there and clearly has no idea.

As for Waylon, I was talking to one of the respected Draft gurus from the Geelong board on the weekend who told me he had him in his top 10 the year he was potentially drafted.. said he is head and shoulders above the rest.

They didn't show heaps of him during the game but I'd be surprised if he struggled like they led us to believe, struggled with the leadership yes but it was his complete comfort zone on the field so I dare say he went alright

I'm actually thinking the yank is there purely to be the new bad guy... has been very opinionated since he got there and clearly has no idea.

As for Waylon, I was talking to one of the respected Draft gurus from the Geelong board on the weekend who told me he had him in his top 10 the year he was potentially drafted.. said he is head and shoulders above the rest.

They didn't show heaps of him during the game but I'd be surprised if he struggled like they led us to believe, struggled with the leadership yes but it was his complete comfort zone on the field so I dare say he went alright

Absolutely no chance

that has been thrown out the window. hutch and brady played neafl the last 3 and 2 years
I believe they just couldn't have played state league in the last 2 or 3 years. Perhaps its different for the NEAFL since it's considerably weaker than the big 3. The league being built from 2nd division states.

While the latest episode was enjoyable, it was so rigged it was pissing me off for the whole episode.

The other captains challenges have involved a definitive outcome, where a player has the best score, or best time. This latest one was set up so only Waylen could win it.

While Waylen is my favorite on the show, the show itself is really turning me off.

I'd have loved to see more of the game in the dirt though. Looked brutal.

I want to know the process behind selecting the American bloke. I mean, he was a good basketball player a few years ago. Doesn't look like he's been heavily involved in sport since then... surely he must know someone at Fox or soemthing to even get a gig. The bloke doesn't even know the game.

I was really enjoying the show until they brought those two in. They dropped the ball on that one. It's now drama for drama's sake, and I know it's a TV show, but it's still ruined it.

+1 for not getting the Seppo.

I get Bradie the volleyballer as he is 204cm tall, clearly athletic and coordinated and is working to instruction on his tap work, positioning etc. to see if he can display the attributes of an AFL standard ruckman.

The yank - who comes across as big rather than particularly athletic - seems to just lumber around and looks like what he is, a foriegner having a go at a new sport. He looks as though if he played WAFL/SANFL/VFL or A-grade etc. he would be destroyed by his opponents week in week out. Why is he on the show again?

The 'Recruit'