The 'Recruit'

Except he's currently playing state league reserves. There's an enormous step from reserves to AFL level. I think we're being largely deceived by the show with Wagner. Somebody with his attributes (height and speed in particular) was always going to dominate a competition like this because he's a unique player that is difficult to match up on. When he gets to higher grades the match ups are going to be less favourable and he'll struggle more. I don't think he's as good as the show makes him out to be.

Reece Maxwell is still my pick of the bunch. Right attitude, still young, high upside, great attributes. Bradie and Moreland are the other two in with a shot. Goss and Semmel maybes.
Pretty sure I saw his name on the injury list for Centrals when I had a look. Wagner was playing league before his injury and has played 3 reserves games (Two before the recruit) and two league games (in June). His reserve stats read 10 goals in three games and he kicked 4 in his first game for two months on the weekend. I think that may suggest he's a bit above the level in the reserves. Having said that one goal in two games isn't impressive reading in the league side (May have been injured early the second game though).

Here's the link to his Sanfl reserves stats if anyone is interested.
http://www.foxsportspulse.com/team_...t=1-3289-35005-289293-18513779&ocompID=289293

What's the point of just getting a bunch of state league players? AFL clubs already recruit from the state leagues, and 90% of players drafted come from the state league feeder comps - WAFL colts in WA, SANFL colts (not sure what they call it in SA) and TAC Cup in Victoria.

Barlow, Gibson, Ballantyne, Kane Mitchell, Myles Sewell, Derickx, Podsiadly etc. - the clubs have seen these guys in action and know what they can do. Some get a chance, some don't. Some succeed, some don't. Someone like Brett Backwell won the Liston Trophy playing in the VFL and the Magarey Medal playing in the SANFL as well as the Fos Williams Medal representing SA. Does anyone remember his AFL career? Didn't think so.

Someone like Mark Nicoski (188cm, 85kg, quick, long kick - pretty much an athletic prototype for modern footy until he got injured) was rookie listed at 20. I remember reading an article where he said as an 18 year old he had the body of a 13 year old and clubs wouldn't look at him. He kept trying and eventually grew and filled out and started to shine for Subi so got his chance but I reckon plenty in the same position are lost to the higher levels of the game.

Kids who weren't standouts at Colts level or choose to pursue another sport they're good at instead of footy or kids who never wanted to try out in the city at 17 etc. Some end up cruising through amateur/country footy on natural ability training once a week, some don't stick with footy. It's a tough gig to play state league footy. I had a mate who played in his mid 20s and the additional training and sacrifice required for the step up was huge. I think it's good that the show is trying to find a diamond in the rough, even though there will be plenty of rough.

I wouldn't get a bunch of state league players, I'd just allow them into the process of they'd never been on an AFL list.

You're more likely to find someone who could actually make a go of it.

None of these blokes (with football backgrounds) have the package to do so. They won't make it, I can tell you right now. Waylen was the only one with the tools, but he didn't have the application.

Pretty sure I saw his name on the injury list for Centrals when I had a look. Wagner was playing league before his injury and has played 3 reserves games (Two before the recruit) and two league games (in June). His reserve stats read 10 goals in three games and he kicked 4 in his first game for two months on the weekend. I think that may suggest he's a bit above the level in the reserves. Having said that one goal in two games isn't impressive reading in the league side (May have been injured early the second game though).

Here's the link to his Sanfl reserves stats if anyone is interested.
http://www.foxsportspulse.com/team_...t=1-3289-35005-289293-18513779&ocompID=289293
Thanks, my mistake. That said though, he should be utterly dominating the reserves level. Plenty of players kick 3+ goals at that level and don't get a callup/struggle at the level above and with Wagner he's the type of player recruiters would want to be almost ready for senior action. He should be miles ahead of the likes of Maxwell if he is to make it and, judging from the small comments we've heard from Voss/Burgess/Dixon they seem just as impressed with the latter. It's obviously hard to get an accurate gauge on players from the little they've shown but I get the sense with Yoey that they're making him out to be a better prospect than he is.

Vossy telling the Irish guy to look him in the eyes when shaking his hand was one of the most cringworthy things I've seen on TV.
Does anyone think we have seen very little of Gossy and Moreland actually playing?
For me it's between three: Gossy, Wagner, Moreland

What's the point of just getting a bunch of state league players? AFL clubs already recruit from the state leagues, and 90% of players drafted come from the state league feeder comps - WAFL colts in WA, SANFL colts (not sure what they call it in SA) and TAC Cup in Victoria.

Barlow, Gibson, Ballantyne, Kane Mitchell, Myles Sewell, Derickx, Podsiadly etc. - the clubs have seen these guys in action and know what they can do. Some get a chance, some don't. Some succeed, some don't. Someone like Brett Backwell won the Liston Trophy playing in the VFL and the Magarey Medal playing in the SANFL as well as the Fos Williams Medal representing SA. Does anyone remember his AFL career? Didn't think so.

Someone like Mark Nicoski (188cm, 85kg, quick, long kick - pretty much an athletic prototype for modern footy until he got injured) was rookie listed at 20. I remember reading an article where he said as an 18 year old he had the body of a 13 year old and clubs wouldn't look at him. He kept trying and eventually grew and filled out and started to shine for Subi so got his chance but I reckon plenty in the same position are lost to the higher levels of the game.

Kids who weren't standouts at Colts level or choose to pursue another sport they're good at instead of footy or kids who never wanted to try out in the city at 17 etc. Some end up cruising through amateur/country footy on natural ability training once a week, some don't stick with footy. It's a tough gig to play state league footy. I had a mate who played in his mid 20s and the additional training and sacrifice required for the step up was huge. I think it's good that the show is trying to find a diamond in the rough, even though there will be plenty of rough.

Great post. People are taking the concept way too seriously.

He might get a game for Essendon next year.........

Definitely KPP at the Bulldogs.

You'd be a bit peeved if you were a regular VFL player. Some bloke just walks onto an AFL list (Cat B rookie..whatever) from a lower league.
I'd take a chance with one of the non-footballers, Maxwell or Foster.

Why? You've got as good a platform as any to showcase your talents to AFL scouts.

Really? Competing against 20 other lower level league blokes, about a quarter which have never played footy. Playing agianst prision teams middle aged ex -footballers etc etc vs competing weekly against the best in the state plus AFL listed players? I'd say the platform's fairly tilted.

Wouldn't it be a better showcase of your actual skills and possible readiness for AFL football, playing with and against AFL listed players, and being right under the nose of AFL coaches and scouts, week in, week out?

For all those saying that players that haven't played state league footy are obviously lacking in outstanding features or have flaws that will stop them from ever making it need to look at Isaac Smith. Was playing in a local NSW league and was never looked at by anyone, AFL or State. Then decided to move to Bendigo for Uni and play some country footy while down there, and in half a year found himself playing VFL and even played a great game in the VFL grand final. This was enough for him to get drafted to hawthorn in the first round. Then managed to cement his spot in the team in his first year and is now one of Hawthorn's most important players and one of the best wingman in the comp.

If he never moved to Bendigo he never would have made it to the AFL. And his first step to the VFL was mostly luck too, scout there on the right day.

I'm sure there are other guys out there that never went to the state leagues cause they could get paid more in the country and still work a day job/study.

I only watched the first ep but Jackal was still in it??

Short, old, slow, average skills.

Sure he can play but a bloke like that is never gonna be an AFL player. Never ever ever.

Show is such a wank.
You're last word is very apt if you think Jackel is slow.

For all those saying that players that haven't played state league footy are obviously lacking in outstanding features or have flaws that will stop them from ever making it need to look at Isaac Smith. Was playing in a local NSW league and was never looked at by anyone, AFL or State. Then decided to move to Bendigo for Uni and play some country footy while down there, and in half a year found himself playing VFL and even played a great game in the VFL grand final. This was enough for him to get drafted to hawthorn in the first round. Then managed to cement his spot in the team in his first year and is now one of Hawthorn's most important players and one of the best wingman in the comp.

If he never moved to Bendigo he never would have made it to the AFL. And his first step to the VFL was mostly luck too, scout there on the right day.

I'm sure there are other guys out there that never went to the state leagues cause they could get paid more in the country and still work a day job/study.
He was Playing for Redan in the ballarat league. Same league as Jackel.

Wouldn't it be a better showcase of your actual skills and possible readiness for AFL football, playing with and against AFL listed players, and being right under the nose of AFL coaches and scouts, week in, week out?
It's a bit like the state of Australian music - are you better off playing gigs in front of 25 people at dingy pubs for 5 years until you get your big break, or hope for instant success on X Factor, Australian Idol etc? I think the blokes on The Recruit are no chance of getting drafted if they were a regular joe in the VFL/SANFL etc. This contrived reality TV show is their only hope, and even if they win, i'd say the winner is about 1000-1 to actually play a senior game.

Could be because they are following the play during the games and mostly he is no where near it.
Surely must be next out next week.

Very true, but feels like they dont even highlight him playing poorly and cut to say Vossy whinging about him.

It's a bit like the state of Australian music - are you better off playing gigs in front of 25 people at dingy pubs for 5 years until you get your big break, or hope for instant success on X Factor, Australian Idol etc? I think the blokes on The Recruit are no chance of getting drafted if they were a regular joe in the VFL/SANFL etc. This contrived reality TV show is their only hope, and even if they win, i'd say the winner is about 1000-1 to actually play a senior game.

Yeah, that's fine for guys on The Recruit. I mean if you are actually a good VFL-standard player who is not already AFL listed, wouldn't it be better for you to continue to ply your trade there, rather than ditch it for a reality show?

If you're a state league player the best chance you have of being drafted is to be the best state league player you can - it's the highest standard of footy there is below the AFL.

For the guys on The Recruit, playing state league footy ti get noticed by AFL recruiters is not a simple short term proposition. You don't just turn around and go 'might play WAFL next year' and join a club. They would have to show earn a spot with a state league club, do a full pre-season then start playing at that level before being noticed - and any of these steps could fail. For someone like Jackel who is already 26 is it worh it? All things going well he'd be 27 next year playing VFL footy and 28 if he got a shot at AFL footy the year after. The only comparable players I can think of are Duigan and Podsiadly, and they both played plenty of state league footy before being drafted late. Alternatively these guys can go on what is essentially a talent quest type deal and hope they get picked ahead of the curve.

I actually had an idea for a similar reality show a few years ago but I thought it should run over the summer. Get 20 blokes or whatever and let them join in the pre-season training at an AFL club or clubs and base the show around that. Paddle board challenges and 'rate your mate' sessions are fine and dandy, but we want to see if these guys are up to AFL standard. Give the Bradies and Reeces opportunity to work on their skills and positioning in real match drills, give the Semmels and Padraigs the chance to get their fitness up to standard, get the little blokes in the gym etc.

The 'Recruit'