The Rendell Fiasco

Re: Rendell Says the club will only recruit Aboriginals that have one white parent

And what I said earlier needs to also be considered when you look at the position Triggy was put in. The club has funding from the govt for a project in the APY Lands, the media blow up and the lack of backing from the AFL even before Rendell & Misfud was interviewed by Trigg put him between a rock and a hard place.

All well and good but that explanation at a presser would have suffice. There is clearly no racism at play here

Re: Rendell Says the club will only recruit Aboriginals that have one white parent

What mud?

Almost everyone is on Rendell's side now that people know what happened.

Trigg couldn't handle 2 days worth of negative press and instead chose to throw away Rendell's career?

It's ****ed.
I heartily endorse this post.

Trigg needs to understand that the 'mud' from ruining the career of quality football person is far worse than the mud from some stupid comment taken out of context.

This decision will haunt our club for a long, long time. Loyalty? Not at the AFC.

Re: Trigg should Resign

I have never been as ashamed to be an Adelaide Crow supporter. For years I have defended the club and said it wasn't a franchise.... It is nothing more... Trigg needs to fall on his sword and let a true leader take over, like a Nigel Smart. How can we expect loyalty from our players when our club does not look after its own.

I am not going to be a peanut who threatens to give up my membership. I am loyal. But I seriously bloody wonder why?

I am shattered.....

I urge everyone to send an email to the club

Just wanted to come on here to say the media is stuffed. On footy classifides tonight the way caro n hutchy n lyon were lookin on him was like he had commited muder.. I agree with what he said totally. Just hate how everything these days seems to be racist. This had been blown out of the water by everyone bloody joke. & crows lose a bloke with 35 years exp for a overeaction

AFC will get bombarded tomorrow with angry supporters.
I need to find a dump truck and a large quantity of manure. Can anyone help me out?

I think it's the AFL we should be going after. THEY are the ones that forced this to happen for whatever reason.
Just shut up

For those wanting his email:

Steven Trigg
Chief Executive Officer
P: +61 8 8440 6609 F: +61 8 8268 7359 M: E: strigg@afc.com.au
www.afc.com.au

AAMI Stadium 105 West Lakes Boulevard West Lakes SA 5021
PO Box 10 West Lakes SA 5021

Toyota , Major Partner of the Camry Crows

Jen - it was gutless or stupid. You choose.

The mud is sticking harder the club now than it did on Friday - can you agree on that? Can you agree the vast majority of our supporter base is going to be absolutely shattered we didnt stand by our man?

What would it have cost Trigg to allow Matty to have his say?
What would it have cost the club?

**** all. What can AD do to us when its out in the open as it is now. At worst we can agree the comments Rendell made were stupid and inappropriate - but that his intentions and actions had nothing but the best intentions for ANY player to given EVERY opportunity to be as successful as their dedication and talent would allow.

How oh how could it have been a bad thing to let that come out.

I do NOT believe a racist mud sling would stick to the club.

But a weak as piss and self serving sling of mud feels like it is about to...

WHy should we support Trigg when he hung Matt Rendell out to dry like that. ****ing disgraceful.

I know Steven Trigg and he would never hang a mate out to dry. Never. There is stuff going on here that we don't know, I'm sure of it. On face value it doesn't look good I agree, but I cannot believe Steven would do that without being forced to. What could the AFL do to us if we don't toe the party line? Plenty. They hold all the cards. And they know it.

Just watched the MR interview. It's incredibly disappointing that he has been "hung out" by the club. Clearly we've been given no alternative by the AFL and they're using him to demonstrate a strong stance on racism in the light of other recent issues.

One of the most disappointing days in the history of the Adelaide football club.

I believe Rendell. This is all too fishy.
Protect your employees, Trigg.
I sure as **** wouldn't want to work under him, after this week. That's far more damaging to our club than anything Bernie Vince has ever done.

And what happens Friday night after Trigg and Rendell have had their press conference to refute the claims.

The entire Australian media will be on our case labelling the club racist, because Vlad had set the agenda the day before.

The same people calling for Triggy to resign would still be calling for his head

Bear in mind that Rendell spoke tonight without the
"corporate tether" holding him back. In an official AFC press conference he would not be as liberated.

What he was talking about tonight goes beyond club land.

Re: Andy D on Rendell.

Read Rucci's article on adelaidenow, goes some way to explain why it wasn't released. All to do with government funding.

Good pickup, some sort of sponsorship deal being in doubt as direct result was mentioned in an article the other day, but not much was made about it.

I know Steven Trigg and he would never hang a mate out to dry. Never. There is stuff going on here that we don't know, I'm sure of it. On face value it doesn't look good I agree, but I cannot believe Steven would do that without being forced to. What could the AFL do to us if we don't toe the party line? Plenty. They hold all the cards. And they know it.

Jenny, I dont abuse anyone on the Adelaide forum, especially a respected female poster. But seriously?

Never been so embarassed to call myself a Crows supporter than I am tonight. Anyone that even hints Matt Rendell has a racist bone in his body can go and get ****ed!!! It's just so obvious that Vlad has his grimy, fat little hands all over this, his version of events On The Couch prior are about as believable as someone telling you Jack the Ripper was really a good bloke. As for Trigg, just confirms what I've always suspected...he's as weak as piss!!!

Chin up Matty, your the good guy in all this sad, sorry story!!

All well and good but that explanation at a presser would have suffice. There is clearly no racism at play here

I agree that there is none at play, but funding for grants, especially from govt departments are very likely to have the funding removed with the slightest hint of impropriety. The 'mud will stick' comment is pretty telling.

In light of the financial crisis happening all over, money is so tight and clubs will go ahead and appease sponsors (see Bernie's stupid penalty) etc as they wield an awful lot of power. It is well and good to say we should have said stuff you to the AFL and all the media hoopla, but when there is money involved in order to keep the club running and winning games hence bringing us to games and buying season tickets, they were in bad situation. They do have to think about the brand and if sponsors will still sponsor the club. Do we want to be in the position of Port Adelaide and the difficulty they have had in respect to sponsorship? We are a two team town with very limited sponsorship resources.

Trust me, I am very disappointed in the club for the treatment of Matty, but I can see the position they were put in and the ramifications of if Matty was not asked to resign and we supported him.

What do people think would have happened if we hadn't asked him to resign? Do you think the AFL would have sat back and said, "oh okay, that's alright, he can stay"? It's like bringing a knife to a gun fight.

Jenny, I dont abuse anyone on the Adelaide forum, especially a respected female poster. But seriously?

What can I say? I'm shattered and I'm feeling for two men I greatly admire. I know there's more to this and I'm pissed off that only a few others are asking the same questions. The torches and pitchforks are out in force tonight, and there's nothing stopping that ridiculous mentality.

When Vlad tells the world that the recruiter attributed to that quote needs to find another job it was obvious he would get his way.

No club would go against "City Hall" when they have that mentality.

It is Vlad who should resign.

Maybe Jason Misfaud could have explained the quote in the same context as well when telling his boss.
Maybe we should barrack for the AFL then seeing as they run the clubs.

Do you seriously think that if one of Collingwood's off-field assets made a similar comment in similar context that Eddie would bow down and fire his ass? Not in a million years. They would explain, get public support and show that it's the Big Bad AFL versus the poor, loyal football person.

Never been so embarassed to call myself a Crows supporter than I am tonight. Anyone that even hints Matt Rendell has a racist bone in his body can go and get ****ed!!! It's just so obvious that Vlad has his grimy, fat little hands all over this, his version of events On The Couch prior are about as believable as someone telling you Jack the Ripper was really a good bloke. As for Trigg, just confirms what I've always suspected...he's as weak as piss!!!

Chin up Matty, your the good guy in all this sad, sorry story!!
Disgraceful AFC. All Demetriou and Trigg are trying to do is protect Corporate image. Rendell is honest as they come as Footy Classified tonight showed. After hearing this in its full context rather than the one line it more than tells me the AFL is corrupt. If Rendell didnt come across as thruthful then i dont know what truth is . Demetriou can just have a smirk on his face and talk about that one line.

What they have done here does not sit well with me as a supporter. I work in the corporate world and I see this everyday , that is Political correctness rather than honesty and saying how it really is. Just shows that being honest does not get you anywhere in life.

Trigg stand down and Andy D should stand down also . The next time Andrew Demetriou is introduced somewhere I hope the crowd booos him . The Vince cheering on Saturday showed the AFC that their supporters want their club to support their own.