The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
We kind of momentarily agree with Chris Scott? Thursday’s game could have been a bit shorter for us all, saving us some hurt! It’s the critically constructive dust settled Restump Podcast review of the horrid clash against the Cats.

Thursday night seems long ago but, despite desperately trying, the game is proving difficult to forget. We search for the game’s positives which seemingly start with and don’t stretch too far beyond Sean Darcy. Although the 14 minute mark Milli moment and the 250k raised was something special. We do those occasions better than anyone.

The game wasn’t pretty but it was the reality check we probably were due for. Sure, we were on the end of a three week road trip and a five day turn around but we’re in more strife than we realise if that is the reasoning crutch we’re leaning on.

Poor ole David Mundy was off his best but surely the man turning 36 on Tuesday, who has carried us all year, is entitled to put in a rare quiet one. Only the attention seeking negatively opportunistic and journalistically lazy would suggest culling his career. We wont point fingers or name names but the culprit’s initials are Brad Hardie.

Fyfey obviously went into the game less that 100% and wasn’t his usual impactful self, Sonny Walters was relentless in effort but just can’t get the rub of the green while Josh Treacy probably just played the hardest working 6 possession game ever seen.

While they weren’t helped too much by the mids, Alex Pearce, Luke Ryan and the rest of the backline soldiers saw the Cats take a record 28 marks inside 50. The 26 marks inside fifty differential, the Cats 28 to our 2, would have to be some sort of all time record.

Geelong were bigger, older and far more experience but we did ourselves no favour forwarding them all the space they required. Our corralling from 30 metres defensive method we adopt at times just doesn’t seem a winning strategy!

While we’re mathematically still alive, it would be a brave person to put their hard earned on us to sneak in, or else you’d have to be dirty on your money for some reason!

Sydney Swans are the only genuine top 8 side we’ve beaten all year and four of our five remaining run home games are current top eight position occupiers. A one armed Fyfe and a single knee Darcy are probably still in our best twenty two. Let it never be said we aren’t eternal optimists. For where there is Fyfe there is life!

The grapevine chatter has Rory Lobb heading to clubs in Victoria and Queensland, Lachie ‘Shooter’ Schultz to the Hawks while the whispers about Luke Jackson and Fremantle are no doubt of the Chinese variety. It s hard to think a crowbar, pliers and a blow torch could pry LJ from the Demon clutches.

It’s the start of the working week so if you’re looking for a cure for Mondayitis, for God’s sake don’t listen to this purple podcast. But then again you cant catch Mondayitis twice on the same day so…. this 50 plus minutes might not help…. but it probably can’t hurt.

LongGame.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
It’s the Restump Podcast’s preview of Mundy’s 350 milestone match, the clash against the Swans Sunday.

With a one year contract extension, David Mundy upset the immortal Matty Pavlich. “353 games David, we had a pact!” Pav apparently said.

It’s old Man Mundy’s 350th milestone. Try finding a more humble, unassuming well-deserved recipient. Supremely talented, durable and versatile. Its a rare individual who can genuinely earn a 19th season contract.

While we celebration the great man, we have the Swans clash to focus on. Our chances of seeing September are all but gone, so Sunday must be the final roll of the 2021 season dice.

Blakey Acres is off to the spelling paddock, possibly making way for Nathan O’Driscoll, named to make his debut. And it’s exciting seeing Hayden Young return.

One half, Rory Lobster, of the Crustacean Connection goes out while his shellfish partner Matty Craberner is a welcomed in.

Lloyd “Braun” Meek’s potential inclusion casts doubt over Sean “SwaggyO’ Darcy, otherwise known as the competition’s premier ruckman.

With the Swans potentially adding Reid, McDonald & McLean alongside Buddy Franklin, our backs are in for a tough day.

This game rests with the midfield clearances. If the Bloods get first use, their tall timber may hand us a lesson.

Pav upset the stooges up the road, the Chief’s Neighbourhood Watch segment returns and how disrespectful is being handed a 10.30am timeslot for Mundy’s milestone?

All that and plenty more listening for anyone who is at or from a public or private school or even for those who didn’t even go to school.

Evidenced by the drafting of The Chief, The Restump hasn’t got the resources to provide quality listening! But we don’t indulge in discriminatory practices, we’re accepting of all ears regardless of backgrounds, stable homes and upbringings.

Pact.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
We’ve had numerous chances to secure a spot in the eight in recent weeks with results falling our way and while it is still mathematically possible, sadly it is seemingly sayonara September for the 6th successive season. The Restump Podcast reviews Sunday’s clash against the Swans.

Sadly, we couldn’t get it done for Dave Mundy as the Swans spoiled the great man’s milestone match. We can’t put all the blame on the Swannies though as we were our own worst enemy constantly butchering opportunities. A lack of cohesion and, at times efforts, didn’t help our cause either.

Should Fyfey have played? Hindsight says, probably not, but it seems the club rolled the dice on what looked like their final chance. The surgeon is now calling.

Sean “Swaggy O” Darcy battled on like a warrior but his knee is now restricting him. Do we rest up the big man and get him right for 2022 and say to Lloyd “Braun” Meek, the last remaining games are yours, make them your own?

Andy Brayshaw showed once again why he is a lock for the future captaincy role and while no one knows whether he’s staying or going, we got a reminder that its going to really hurt if Cerra chooses the latter.

Our forward line, admittedly a compromised one, functioned like a machine in desperate need of oil and we got little to no offensive and defensive input from our forward of centre smalls.

Our backs did all they could under difficult circumstances, especially Alex Pearce on a very angry and frustrated and now one week suspended Buddy. No one could contain the magnificent Isaac Heeney though.

The negatives were thick and plenty and they’ll play their part in the season’s end review and subsequent decisions that need to be made. However, there were a couple of very nice positives to dwell on, if only for the sake of us fan’s general wellbeing.

Sure, he may have played his part in presenting Isaac Heeney with mark of the year, but Hayden Young was a sight for clanger damaged eyes. He showed off glimpses of those super slick skills we’ve been severely deprived of. And the oxymoronic named Brandon Walker, not yet a top gun but looking like a young gun, showed a level of speed that Lt Maverick said he was in need of. Speed, skills, evasive tactics….. he’s far from ready but he’s growing in confidence and looks a future jet.

Some big decisions will need to be made soon, with Bailey Banfield, Brett Bewley, Adam Cerra, Reece Conca, Mitch Crowden, Taylin Duman, Stefan Giro, Stephen Hill, Lloyd Meek, Lachie Schultz, Leno Thomas, Darcy Tucker, Tobe Watson and Nathan Wilson all being out of contract at season’s end.

Sunday morning football never feels right but the 10.30am has absolute knobs on it!

All that as well as an episode of the Neighbourhood Watch which feels like the Chief put as much effort into as a Bailey Banfield chase!

So if too much Freo football talk is never enough and you click play on this pod to ease any potential void, get yourself checked out because you’re obviously not well. This 60 minutes should be listened to only as a booster shot. See your ear specialist if listening desires persist.

September.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
Somewhere along the line the Darcy diagnosis was lost in translation. It was all a misunderstanding and he’s good to go against the Tiges! It’s the Restump Podcast’s preview of Sunday's Freo V Richmond clash.

While the season is still mathematically alive, finals are all but gone. It feels like the pressure is off so its time to simply enjoy a game of Freo footy for what it is.

They’ve been named in the squad but do Joel Western and Nathan O’Driscoll make the final cut? Josh Treacy has been largely confirmed so that leaves two remaining positions and a medical sub. With the loss of Alex Pearce, we might need an Ethan Hughes or a Tobe Watson.

We chat contracts, the Cerra announcement getting pulled from channel 7, Reece Conca’s offensive trigger extension clause, Rory Lobb’s manager shopping him around and the sad seemingly end to Stephen Hill.

The ridiculous and competition compromising change in the academy rules has typically screwed us in our endeavours to potentially recruit Jesse Motlop!

However, on that topic, just days after they amended their drafting policy to read “public school kids need not apply,” it seems the Karma Train may have stopped in at West Coast station as they failed to register Hale School’s Neil Erasmus for their academy.

Jojo McDonnell loves Retro round and he wants the return of the rock and anchor to be wheeled out to the middle by guys in overalls and he’s calling for the inflatable shipping container tunnel for the players to enter the field. Meanwhile the Chief may be the only Freo supporter who isn’t in love with the green retro guernsey!

So if you’re looking for something to drown out the noise of the torrential rains, feel free to click play and turn up the volume. You’ll soon learn to appreciate the racket of water hitting your roof again! Finals are virtually off the table but there is always something fascinating for the Freo Folk to figure.

Calf.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
Ironically, it’s the heart stopping wins that make you know you’re truly alive! It's the Restump Podcast review of the thrilling win over the Tiges.

Forget for the moment everything else, the season that has been, the disappointing losses, the injuries and the potential finals prospects, yesterday’s win in isolation was simply a moment of pure purple joy.

No Fyfe life, a Side lined Sonny and no possible Rory Story. Three of our most experienced players absent against the reigning dynastic Tigers was a fearful task going in, despite Richmond’s recent form. The burden rested on the shoulders of the youth.

Future captain Andy Brayshaw was beyond remarkable. Adam Cerra…. an outstanding performance that sadly must further incentivise opposing clubs to go on the hunt. An uncompromising but composed Caleb Serong and a Young man with devastating skills who goes by the name of Hayden. Each member of that quartet played their vital part in taking down the Tigers yesterday.

The waiting game is over. Its time to get Sean Darcy, Caleb Serong, Andy Brayshaw and Hayden Young to hold Cerra down, put a pen in his hand and squiggle it on the dotted line! We just can’t allow him to go, we just cant!

Back to yesterday, the defenders, obviously greatly assisted by the above mentioned mids, did a sterling job. Luke Ryan back to his All-Australian best and Griffin Logue…. this man is just 23 years of age! Tobe chipped in, Walker continues to show glimpses and while he had his precarious moments Nathan Wilson was his serviceable self.

It wasn’t the purest game with skills from both teams falling short of expectations and errant goal kicking was more contagious than covid! But you only have to kick more than your opponent and when the 100th game milestone man Matty Tabs snapped one of his three from the boundary, you had a feeling there were gods of some sort looking over us.

We need to sort out the forward line structure and greatly improve inside fifty efficiency if we’re going to be a force in the future. Plus a couple of high speed Hayden Young type ball using wingers should be front and centre on the Christmas wish list.

We’re in the eight, we’ve a host of injuries and, while all our three remaining opponents are not travelling sweetly, it’s still a pretty tough run home. Possession though is nine tenths of the law so its our ladder rung to lose.

We thought the season was over but the universe keeps delivering us opportunity so we continue to dance until the purple music ends. So if you haven’t yet overdosed on purple passion and you’re looking for a fix, this 60 minutes right here could be your Freo fentanyl. However, given the quality of the listening content, we’d suggest you embrace cheap imitations.

Cez.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
Believe it or not the season is alive and well! We’re on the up and about to go hunting Lions at the Optus game park. It’s the Restump Podcast’s preview of Sunday’s vital Freo V Brisbane clash.

After drinking from the season rejuvenating fountain of youth last weekend, we’re going back for another swig this Sunday.

The Lions, a formidable outfit at their best, have looked a bit shaky in recent times. Their away record isn’t flash and while they’re not to be taken lightly, they look vulnerable, especially as they’ll run out Lachie Neale-less!

Alex Pearce is a much-welcomed return to help combat the McStays, Danihers and Fullertons and it will be interesting to see who else gets a gig. Will Nathan O’Driscoll finally get the nod?

The young mids will need to be last week-like to see off the Lyons, McCluggages, Berrys and Zorkos. We need to be mindful of the often crazy but talented Mitch Robinson and we don’t want to see the ball in the accurate Zack Bailey’s hands too often.

Whatever we do up forward we need someone to spend plenty of dollars on and send Daniel Rich broke. His disposal efficiency and metres gained are weapons of mass forward attack construction!

Well we need to win at least two of our last three games, three to be assured, of a place in the finals. We’re playing talented teams that are wobbling so we’re not without our chances. Our season, once again, starts Sunday.

This bloody club we love is doing it again, it’s building our hopes and making us dream! We’re adding to the bandwagon and going all in so there are 45 minutes of purple hope building right here. Hey, the worst, albeit most likely, result from clicking play is we put you to sleep. That’s a win win in our book!

DockersLions1.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
The scoreboard at Optus Stadium showed that for the Purple, it was more a red than a Green Day yesterday. It’s the Restump Podcast review of the Freo’s heavy loss to the suddenly roaring Lions.

From about six weeks ago it was always a going to be a struggle to make the finals. However the results kept falling our way which kept us with a flicker of hope. Yesterday our destiny was in our own hands but sadly we used Jack Darlings hands by mistake. We’ve now fallen into that prolonging the inevitable “mathematical chance” bracket.

The story of the day was seemingly the Lions returning to their red-hot form applying relentless pressure while we couldn’t have hit a car driving a semi-trailer the wrong way up a single lane one way street!

The effort and the intensity was there from the purple players but we couldn’t match the ferocious level of the Lions. But if you don’t use tackle you can’t catch a fish… a lion type fish! Freo’s 35 tackles to the Brisbane’s 71 was never going to get it done and our 6 to their 25 inside 50 tackles only made matters worse.

Jarrod Berry drove Andy Brayshaw bananas but Brayshaw still delivered a fruitful performance. However, comparing Cerra’s and Mundy’s skill game to their usual level is apples and oranges.

Uncharacteristically, the defenders collectively had a poor day, beaten convincingly by Brisbane's forwards. But Hayden Young was the exception to the rule. 19 disposals at 84% efficiency, 10 marks and 487 metres gained, second only to Adam Cerra for Fremantle. This kid is a jet!

The forward line was as dysfunctional as we have seen it so there is plenty of work to be done to become a cohesive unit. Disappointingly the forward pressure was non-existent! Again, though while there is always an exception to every rule, Josh Treacy’s performance was above serviceable and the longer the game went the better he got.

The nucleus of a serious team exists. Tough decisions need to be made at seasons end and we have to astutely build around it over the next two drafts. Sustainable finals success could well be the result if we get that right.

Finals in 2021 are now all but impossible but there is still plenty to play for. With the pressure and expectations now off, the round 22 Derby has become a free hit… and we don’t mean on Andy Gaff…. or do we!

It’s safe to say the purple pod isn’t plastered with positivity this week and going on the reaction of Jojo’s youngster, Jojo Junior, in the background, he wasn’t impressed with our work. There's 40 plus minutes of Docker dissected drivel though so click play and turn it up…. if only to drown out the current thunder and rain!

GD.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
Well it has been an unusually sombre Derby week, largely due to Stephen Hill's departure, although among other reasons. Finals are gone, Andy Brayshaw has been side-lined and there's no send off game for Hilly. But the Restump Podcast talks everything purple and we rev up Sunday’s ominous task against the West Coasters!

While sad for Stephen Hill unable to get up for a send-off game, we celebrate his wonderful career. We also give Dave Mundy another pat on the back as he equals the great man Matty Pavlich’s 353 game record.

It’s been a tumultuous season and last week’s loss to Richmond put a devastating exclamation point on it for so many reasons.

However, while our season is all but over as far as finals are concerned, let us not go out without trying to take out our foes over the other side of the river.

Both sides are in horrible form and sadly we go in Sunday, on the back of 11 straight derby losses, severely undermanned. To make matters worse, we’re up against a pretty much full-strength West Coast Eagles.

Could we possibly do the unthinkable? They have been embarrassed of late and their season is literally on the line Sunday so they have enormous incentive to win. No Fyfe, no Brayshaw? That’s a big hole in our engine room.

But we have to ask the questions, how many goals from free kicks will Jack Darling be gifted? Who will Luke “Sniper” Shuey go to and which teenager will Andy Gaff send to the dentist?

We might’ve endured a few flat days this week but come hell or high water, we’ll be ready and in full voice Sunday arvo.

So, if you’re also feeling a bit flat from the week and in need of a ‘pick-me-up’, for God’s sake don’t put your faith in us… we’re not Daniel Kerr! However, Jojo’s insight and common sense and the Chief’s bulldust might have to suffice!

If you’re in desperate need of something to click and you can’t find a clicky pen, then there’s a play button here to click if you can endure 40 minutes of ultra-purple palaver!

HillMundy3.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
There’s no doubt Caleb Serong sang it better than Patrick Hernandez! It was a massive derby drought busting win that meant so much to all of us yesterday. Time to Restump Podcast review it.

Sure, the unexpected win broke the derby drought and kept the finals door slightly ajar, but it was more than that. It was a validating stamp on the direction of where we’re heading, it was a triumph over extreme adversity and a late season joy we genuinely thought wouldn’t eventuate. It was a win more meaningful than just the four points.

Caleb Serong has been showing us his talent for two years but yesterday, without the assistance and protection of numerous seasoned players around him, he showed the world where he’s heading.

Unsurprisingly Dave Mundy did Dave Mundy things in his record-breaking game, Darcy Tucker went up a notch and Switkowski was an interesting dynamic in the middle.

The defenders defended as a collective. Kennedy and Darling threatened to take over but Logue and Pearce exterminated the threat…. but not before Darling got his mandatory goal from a free kick!

DJ Luke Ryan took the honours against his namesake and Hayden showed he is only Young by age. A couple of errors but his marking power, judgement and attacking skills are sights to behold.

And let’s not forget to throw Tobe Watson some love as he was highly serviceable all day.

The forwards beautifully gelled in the first quarter and battled on after that. Tabs moved wonderfully well and caught everything while Treacy did as much, if not more, without the ball than with it.

It was just one of those magnificent days for us fans, a moment and another reason why we all love the Fremantle Footy Club.

We’re still celebrating so please forgive any indiscriminate yahoos that may be heard. After a win like that, too much purple pandemonium is never enough.

Click play and get involved in the power of positive intention as we try to will the finals door wide open.

DerbyAlive.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
So firstly we make sure we get done what we can control and then it's in the hands of the universe. The Purple Apostles beat the Saints in God’s Country and then we need a Hail Mary so we pray for a Miracle. It’s the Restump Podcast preview of the vital home and away season ending clash against the Saints.

Well, we’ve been given more than our fair share of lifelines this year and fortunately we made the most of the recent one last week against the Eagles. It all now comes down to Sunday, so all we can do is win and then what will be will be.

Our part of the equation isn’t exactly a walk in the park because we’re 2 wins and 11 losses down in the Apple Isle. To make matters worse we haven’t played in Hobart!

However, against the Saints in Tassie we’ve played twice and its one win all and both games were 1-point margins. It can’t get much tighter than that!

With the inclusion of future Captain Andy Brayshaw, our chances get a boost, and a double bonus considering the Saints suffered Max outage with King heading to the sidelines.

The Saint’s Jack Steele is in phenomenal form, so curtailing his influence will go a long way to securing the points, keeping our faint finals hopes alive. Few if any have been able to stop the Man of Steel this year but he hasn’t come up against a Serong yet!

Jojo, yet again down in the south west swanning about the wineries, touches on a little bit of contract chatter while apparently there’s something about the Conca Truck’s demise and departure that just isn’t cricket, according to the Chief. He’s launching a new “What’s the Grease, Reece” campaign to get the skinny on the situation. Although it may have to wait a year or so!

It’s been an understandable fluctuating year but we’re in a very good space. Regardless of the result on Sunday, a fiercely fought contest against the Sainters will be a highly encouraging way to end the year, should we fail to advance into September action.

If the Saints knock us over on Sunday remember there are always silver linings. In that instance look at the positives…. at least this will be the final Restump Podcast Preview noise polluting the airways in 2021.

As always, if you have nothing better to do like listening to paint dry, click play and have your say. We’re open to any and all feedback.

Apostle.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
Sunday, Bloody Sunday, it wasn’t a Beautiful Day and in regards to premierships cups, its safe to say We Still Haven’t Found What We’re Looking For. It’s the final Restump Podcast review for 2021, the traumatic season ending loss to the Saints.

Rolling out of bed for the 10.15am bounce down was tough enough and then we hear Adam Cerra a late withdrawal. With everything to play for and so much on the line, it wasn’t an ideal start to the day.

A few minutes in Lloyd Meek fumbled and bumbled what should’ve been an easy mark and goal before Matty Tabs did likewise. Signs weren’t great!

The intensity was up but the inaccuracy was back. 1 goal 4 at the first break, we went in 10 points down when we should have been three goals up. We were playing catch-up from the start and we all know that rarely ends well.

It went from bad to worse on multiple fronts. Switkowski did a hip, Darcy did a hip and when Brayshaw took a big hit but thankfully recovered, the injury report half way through the game was literally Hip, Hip, Hooray!

The scoreboard deteriorated as did our faint hopes of finals. This team of kids were no match for the seasoned Saints.

Old Man Mundy turned up again, Brayshaw’s toughness and work ethic is mind-blowing, Caleb Serong is worth his weight in bitcoin and Hayden Young…. help me Bob…. this kid is heading for greatness.

The forward line remains dysfunctional. Centre clearances were 16 / 7 our way. Inside 50s were even. Yet we went at 34% disposal efficiency Inside 50 while the Saints went at 46%. There needs to be relentless drill work in the off season.

We ended the day on 6 goals 13, with two goals late in the game. We fell to 11th and returned to WA nursing our bruised and battered egos.

So, the season comes to an end once again without us seeing September action. However, when you look at the Brayshaws, Darcys, Serongs, Youngs, Henrys and Chapmans…. the strong suit of defenders, a Treacy and maybe finally a Sturt…. we’ll be seeing you soon September!

The positive about the end of the season is that you're only subjected to the Restump review podcast this one last time for the year. Click play.... you've got the summer for your ears to recover!

YouTwo.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
Considering it has been the case since 2015, we should be used to watching Freo free finals. However, there's always that ache in your heart. No Freo footy but there’s plenty of purple prattle to Restump Podcast about.

While we might not be playing finals we haven’t missed out so far in awards season. Andy Brayshaw and, as Jojo refers to him, the late Adam Cerra were selected in the best AFL 22 under 22, with the former receiving vice captaincy honours. He also went on to claim the Geoff Christian medal.

On the back of his 2020 rising star win and superb 2021 season the coaches couldn’t split Caleb Serong and Noah Anderson for the best young player award.

We talk the delistings. Were they harsh, fair, and will another club throw them a lifeline? Will Freo throw any of them a relisting lifeline?

The Cez chatter is set to increase. He’s chosen the Blues and it may well set up a reintroduction with Ross ‘the Boss’ Lyon. Adam might want to stop in at the local florist before the possible rendezvous.

What’s the starting point in terms of trade worth? Can we put the faith in Belly to get it done at the negotiating table once again? Is Sam Petrevski Seton or Zac Fisher part of the conversation?

We don't want to start any fires but we'll lob it in there anyway.... it seems all has gone quiet on the Rory story. Is he not enough Gold for the Suns on the east coast?

Thoughts on having Rosco Lyon back in the AFL coaching ranks.

And lastly Jojo brings us home with a distasteful, in more ways than one, closing quandary.

Sure, we’re nowhere near as entertaining as a Ross Lyon press conference but there’s a purple void in the Freo fan football landscape at the moment and we’re doing our bit to fill it. So click play and you’ll get a stark reminder of the value of the sound of silence.

CerraCerra.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
Well we thought we’d just predominantly play the waiting game until the draft. That didn’t last long with the constant flow of news coming out of Cockburn! Time to Restump Podcast the host of happenings.

Lachie “the Prodigal Son” Neale apparently wants to return to the purple. While no doubt we’d all love to see him back in the midfield, we’re all mindful we don’t stray from the path. The farm and or kitchen sink are not part of the equation.

While Brownlow Lachie wants in, another Lachie signed on. Loyal Lachie Schultz opted for Freo’s 2 year deal ahead of his home town Hawks 3 year offer. It’s kind of difficult to not be proud of him.

Jojo McDonnell tells us Jordan Clark is committed to Freo if a deal can be done and he says Tim is speaking West Aussie English!

Somehow despite the cuts to the soft cap we found room and created a roll for Bulldog Bob to fill. Not sure exactly what it entails or if it was even necessary but it seems a popular appointment, despite the Chief’s lacklustre reaction.

Boatloads of purple news unfolding by the hour so, unlike the Restump podcasts, there isn’t a dull Docker moment. But click play and see if we make any sense of it all.

LNeale.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
Well Fremantle news hit fever pitch last week but it has since relatively died down. Is it the calm before the purple trade and draft storm? The Restump Podcast peruses the purple particulars of the week.

Well Lachie Neale didn’t make it back home to Freo as the prospect was over before it began. Was the abuse he and his wife copped from the media and the public waranted? Of course not, but such is the idiocy of the world’s inhabitants.

After today’s announcement the long-range weather report is showing definitely no Hale! After being offered a position at the Hawks, David Hale departs his role as the Freo forward coach.

Adam Cerra remains in WA and that has sparked Jojo McDonnell to speculate on his future and he has come up with a rather questionable plan to secure his signature. It must be said we don’t condone illegal activity, but…. its Cez!

Four re-signings have occurred. Trav Colyer, Bailey Banfield and Nathan Wilson received one-year contracts while Lloyd Meek picked up two. All four deals, you would imagine, would have moderate salary cap impact at best.

We take a squiz at the Brownlow, we think, or rather hope, Andy Brayshaw might top David Mundy for most Freo votes and Jojo McDonnell bring us home with one of his classic Closing Quandaries.

Feel free to flick on this forty minutes of Fremantle focused fatuity….. however, it’s pretty lacklustre so if we were you, we’d play the waiting game for some better listening content elsewhere!

RD.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
Are there limits to the "desperate times call for desperate measures" philosophy when it's for the greater Freo good? If so, Jojo McDonnell may have just fractured our moral compass.

Full podcast episode - The Restump Podcast

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
There is a school of thought that it takes a year to get noticed before you win the Brownlow. He got noticed! David Mundy a 37-year-old Brownlow medallist? Time to Restump Podcast the latest of everything Freo Dockers.

David Mundy gave no one else a chance at Freo picking up a record 20 votes, 10 votes clear from the future Freo captain Andy Brayshaw, who could legitimately feel a bit hard done by.

With Mundy’s record votes year it felt like the night was a success, but then Caleb pocketed the Goal of the Year to put an exclamation point on the annual event.

The rich irony of Caleb winning the goal of the year playing for a club that kicked more points than goals on 15 occasions and being awarded the medal by a teammate who kicked 6 goals 21 for the season, wasn’t lost on us! Sorry Fyfey, we still love you!

Jojo McDonnell called it three weeks ago stating Jordan Clark had committed to Fremantle and it seems he was on the money. Its now up to Freo and the Cats to get the deal done and, with seemingly little other interest in him, we might potentially look back in years to come and wonder how we got him so cheaply.

Tim English’s partner has apparently just signed with the West Coast Fever. Is the West Australian Englishman eyeing an entry to either WA club? If so, his trade value does feel difficult to ascertain.

Pav enters the WA Hall Of Fame, Cez has left the building and the Chief has turned on Ed Langdon and is now wholly and solely behind the Bulldogs this weekend.

We’re looking towards trade week and the draft in the coming week’s pods but meanwhile there is always plenty of purple proceedings to prattle on about. So, if too much Docker dribble is never enough, click play and join us for half an hour.

MostVotesM.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
World markets are wobbling, international tensions are rising and economic volatility is creating some nervousness. So, what better time for the annual Fremantle Docker Review and Buy-Sell-Hold Restump recommendation report podcast!

Before you decide to tune in, we must declare that many of our 2020 strong purple player buys are currently in worse shape than the Evergrande Group! So, this is not investment advice and please consult your financial advisor. (Past performances are absolutely an indicator for future results)

As we approach the upcoming trade period we take a look at the individual seasons of the players, award them a score based on various and often extremely loose criteria and then apply a buy sell hold recommendation.

In a season full of injuries which saw 39 individual players on the Freo list used, scores and recommendations can be somewhat difficult. That right there is the Restump’s safety net for when our current recommendations get reviewed!

Did Liam Henry do enough to retain his strong buy? Will Blake Acres avoid falling into the sell category? Did desertion hurt Adam Cerra’s season review score? If you have some Hayden Young stock you’re overweighted in gold.

Plenty of assessments to get through so tune in and feel free to give us your own views and recommendations and don’t be shy in pointing out where you think we may be throwing good money after bad, if we’re paying unders or why we’re selling whoever.

Word of warning, you may need to listen in shifts. Like the season did to Fremantle, time got away from us and we were forever playing catch up.

BuySellHold21.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
There’s nothing whatsoever shaggy about Swaggy! On this episode of the Restump Podcast we talk Sean Darcy’s Doig Medal win and the host of the seemingly endless list of other award recipients. We look into day one of trade week and, considering Geelong asked for pick 8 for a player they couldn't find a spot for, it appears ridiculousness is front and centre.

Massive victory for Sean “Swaggy” Darcy to win the Doig medal at the age of just 23. It was a much-deserved result and it put an exclamation point on the end of the most remarkable year for him personally.

Hayden Young chipped in with the Beacon award and Caleb Serong tied with the great David Mundy to win the clubman trophy. In the acceptance speeches, Hayden suggested he’s well settled in the West now and then it nearly brought tears to our eyes when Caleb said he and his partner definitely call WA home now. Lock them in on Buddy Franklin length deals!

The Cerra deal looks likely to proceed with minor details getting ironed out, the Geelong crew are off their collective heads asking for pick 8 for Jordan Clarke, the Rory chatter has quietened and the question some are asking is Will Brodie be a Docker or won’t he?

Last but not least, Jojo McDonnell reveals a potential young WA jet in the draft has been spoke to by eastern state clubs but not by either of the WA clubs.

For those that can’t get enough purple vibes, there’s 40 minutes of Fremantle fanfare and Restump recitation right here.

SwaggyO.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
Gone are the days when we traded the James Clements of the world for half a ham sandwich! It’s time for an opportunistic Restump Trade Day Review Podcast.

There’s always something exciting when Freo are front and centre in trade week. And it seems so far in the 2021 trade period for us Freo fans, everything is coming up Millhouse!

A former top ten draftee Will Brodie and a future pick have accompanied 2021 draft pick 19 to Freo, proving that there really is gold on that coast.

Adam Cez found his way to the Blues in return for pick 6 and a future pick, which is probably as good a deal as could be done. It's safe to say Charlie Curnow is licking his lips… his own lips I mean…. not Cez’s!

Jordan Clark is trying to get to the purple but the Cats still have their claws into him. Surely the offer from Freo is pick 22 take it or leave it!

The Rory rumours resurfaced and took on the formation of the fire the smoke suggested! $700k+ a year for 2 years…. the suitors aren’t exactly jumping out of the trees to grab his signature.

Plenty to unpack and plenty still to unfold for Freo in the remaining trade days. So, if you haven’t overdosed on purple passion as yet and you’re needing a fix…. there’s some very cheap gear in this 40 minutes of Restump trade day review!

Brodie.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
We hoped to be doing a review podcast of completed trades but the Rory Lobb situation turned into a Hokey Pokey saga and haggling continues over future 3rd round draft picks regarding Jordan Clark. So its not the Restump Podcast we envisaged but we dug deep... maybe a little too 'scratching of the bottom of the barrel' deep... but we dug deep none the less.

It took a bit of wind out of sails but we dug deep…. maybe a little scratching the bottom of the barrel too deep…. but we dug deep none the less.

It might be a bit awkward when Freo’s preseason gets underway and Rory Lobb wanders through the purple gates! Putting your faith in a teammate who obviously doesn’t want to be there wouldn’t be easy.

It hasn’t been one of the busiest days of the trade period for Freo but we look deeply into the Lobb saga. There’s disappointment and frustration and it currently feels like an unworkable situation with Rory and the Fremantle footy club.

What are the wide-ranging positives and negatives if Rory Lobb was to remain or leave? What’s fair value? Will a deal still get done?

Is a future third round pick really the sticking point for Geelong? Squabbling over such seemingly insignificance seems odd but from our perspective, we’re in the box seat so hold the line Belly and make it a matter of principle!

While top 50’s aren’t worth the paper they’re printed on, the web space they occupy or the time it takes to read them…. someone has to take a stand regarding Fyfey’s omission from Robbo’s top 50! Paul Seedsman and Brandon Starcevich but no Fyfe…. really?

Sonny Walters is already back doing the early hard training yards and as we mentioned last week, young WA draftee gun Gus Sheldrick apparently hasn’t been spoken to by either WA clubs.

All that, plenty more and even a new “Ask Jojo A Question” segment is being unveiled. He just didn’t know it at recording time.

Here's half an hour trying to make heads or tails of the current Docker details so let’s look at the positives.... it could have been longer!

Lobb.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
Trade period done and dusted and there wouldn’t be too many unhappy Freo folk. Quite frankly… we won 2021 trade week! Time to unpack the events on this episode of the Restump Podcast.

It took a while but the Cat is out of the bag… or should that be out of the handbag! Jordan Clark has made his way to Freo securing us that exciting outside run and speed that we’ve been desperately lacking since the departure of wingers Brad Hill and Ed Langdon.

Rory couldn’t Lobb a deal elsewhere so he returns to Freo, hopefully humbled and ready make amends for his wilful attempt at desertion while Will Brodie gets a fresh start and a new chance to ignite his AFL career.

Sure, we lost Adam Cerra which caused us some grief but we had time to come to terms with it and, as it has turned out, pick six in return isn’t too shabby. We’ll put it to very good use.

Coming out of trade period with Clark and Brodie, picks 6, 8, 19, 61, 69 and 84.... that is pretty swish! We’re the only club to have two top ten picks and the only club to have three top 20 picks.

So, all the trade period recap, some interesting pieces around the league and the new segment “Ask Jojo” kicks off. If you’re the glass half empty type on what Freo has done in the 2021 trade period…. tip the contents into a smaller glass, put your feet up, click play and see if you can endure this 45 minutes of Fremantle fanfare.

BellJLWalls4.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
There isn’t a whole lot of happenings in the Docker dimension at the moment so it’s more of a light-hearted Restump Podcast episode.

Did Justin Longmuir suggest the re-wire, re-pipe and re-stump failed? It might be the first time the club has publicly hinted that may be the case. It seemed a well-played return of serve by JL to the former Ross the Boss who took a couple of cheeky shots at the club a few months back!

Behind the scenes the coach has been putting the hard yards in trying to wrangle Josh Kennedy from the West Coast clutches. He hasn’t been successful as yet but JL will get his man for a future coaching role. While one of the rare ‘good blokes’ from that club, you have to wonder what irreparable damage he may have unwittingly suffered enduring 14 years with the West Coast Eagles.

There’s a hell of lot of fanfare around a recent arrival to Fremantle. Bob Murphy stepped into town and immediately took a few liberties with his outsiders and underdogs comments! Ease your way in Bob, nobody just buys their way in. It takes time to become one of us.

It seems we’re heading down the alternate sport experts route again in our endeavours for improvement. For some reason we’ve engaged a golfing coach to help with the goal kicking accuracy. We were a fairway from an accurate side in 2021 so whether it helps or not, its par for the course and we just have to green and bear it.

The AFLW Docker girls had their preseason photo shoots in a very rustic setting… or a rusted setting… in what looked like old tin sheds, Jojo introduces us to a new sport sweeping the planet called the Balloon Championships and there’s an equine theme in the second, “Ask JoJo A Question” episode.

So if you’re looking a light-hearted often ridiculous listen of everything Freo Dockers, bang the plugs in your ears and click play. Safety Warning - given we’ll probably put you to sleep we don’t advise listening while driving.

Golfyfe.png

The Restump Podcast

Nov 18, 2020
Well with Fyfey now needing further surgery it’s not an ideal start to the 2022 season for the Captain. But a setback is nothing more than a setup for a comeback! Time for the latest episode of the Restump Podcast.

In this episode we take a look at a few potential interstate draftees. We mock pick 6,8 and 19 from the pool of talent without the WA contingent. A pretty difficult task considering the tall quality forwards we're after are predominantly West Aussies.

Nat Fyfe is often referred to as head and shoulders above the rest. After his recent run in with the sheep shearing clippers, there are grounds to suggest his shoulder situation isn’t his biggest issue at the moment! We offer up a lot of nonsensical commentary on the great man’s ever changing hair style and the cracked shoulder bone.

While there has been little to no fanfare regarding Darcy the Tucker Truck’s two year deal, it could well turn out to be one of our very important signatures, if we can overlook his 2021 year.

CEO Simon Garlic is seemingly advocating to make 17 game seasons permanent. The question has to be asked, is he just trying to reduce his own workload?

After recruiting a boatload of 30 year olds, Geelong Chief Executive Steve Hocking takes an odd and and seemingly desperate parting shot at Jordan Clark and fellow Geelong youngsters for not earning their spots.

We might be in the eye of storm between the trade period and the draft but we always find plenty of Docker drivel. So click play and join us, even if it’s just to fill the momentary purple voids we're all suffering.

Bad2.png