The Restump Podcast

You just can’t do that! 2nd career game, an elimination final and Jye was as cool as a Busselton cucumber. Ryan Crowley couldn’t have rattled him! Time to Restump Podcast the unfathomable Freo victory.

All we can ask is, how? You just can’t do that! 41 points down with a tick over a half of footy to play and we somehow found a way with a team possessing barely a single final of experience between them.

We averaged around 68 points per game for our last 6 games and we had to find 41 points in a just over a half of footy to just draw level, without the dogs kicking a single score! And we had to do that without our best forward and a replacement playing just his second career game.

And we did! We somehow orchestrated a 54-point turn turnaround…. what kind of purple sorcery was that!

How sweet was it to see Sonny Walters at his typical big game best? But, he couldn’t do what he did if a couple of young ridiculously talented hard nuts didn’t do what they did.

Andy Brayshaw and Caleb Serong somehow went to another level, a level, given their age and experience, that should almost be classed as unfair to the Dogs!

When you look at those two guys in particular, you have to say Phar Lap has a couple of challengers for the world record size of hearts!

If that win and all it represents doesn’t overly satisfy the harshest Freo task marker, then give the sport away because your unrealistic and unfair expectations will never be met.

We’ve been starved of this feeling, we live for it, we’re doing it for Dave and Nat, we’re allowed to dream, live in hope and we say why not us? But, while we're not going in with a defeatist's mindset, whatever unfolds and however next week results, an elimination final victory with such a young inexperienced team just put the icing on a successful season’s cake.

Let’s get into the game and relive the extreme emotional rollercoaster of Saturday night. We’re still running on adrenalin so we’ll aim for composure but we cannot offer any guarantees.

So, if you’re still buzzing…. Join us for this 50 minutes and come along for the recap before we look towards the journey to the G.

JyeA.png

We won’t interrupt Jimmy Aish, he’s currently occuPied. Time to Restump Podcast preview our ridiculously anticipated semi-final against the Maggies at the Gee!

What an opportunity and experience await us. 90k plus people, predominantly Pie fans, are about to cram into Australia’s Colosseum to create both an electrifying atmosphere and the most hostile of environments.

Its one thing to be playing a semi-final. But to be playing a semi-final at the MCG against Collingwood…. Some Danny Zuko vibes… I’ve got chills, they’re multiplying!

If you’re not in possession of a bucket of nerves, a bag of apprehension and a boat load of excitement, check your pulse because you may not be alive.

After the monumental comeback against the Dogs, we’re going in with an unchanged line up. Only 4 of our starting 22 have previously experienced something of this magnitude, so the remaining 18 are sailing into unchartered waters and are about to suffer a monstrous culture shock.

You have to feel for Matty Tabs. It had to be a difficult decision to leave him out and we’ll find out if it was the correct one.

Can James “Mr Fix It” Aish fix up a few of his former colleagues and will Mr. September, Sonny Walters, continue asserting his supremacy?

After steering the ship last week Andy Brayshaw and Caleb Serong have to pad up and head back into battle against Scotty Pendlebury, Jordan De Goey and or Jack Crisp with the help from the Gold Coast Gift!

But don’t for one minute overlook the man who has played in every single final Fremantle has ever been in, except one. The legend who doesn’t know how to play a poor game, who has plenty left to give… the peerless David Mundy. Upping his game time will no doubt ensure us victory!

Collingwood lose Taylor Adams who ripped his groin off the bone, something I can’t even say without wincing. Not only his groin but Collingwood’s team have been weakened by it.

Remove the parochial noise and you’ll see the teams are extremely evenly matched. Could the ultra-hostile environment the Collingwood fans will create and our inexperience be the difference? Neither team will lay down and until that final siren sounds, neither team will be safe.

Enough of this here…. let’s continue the purple love in the pod as we try to dissect the battle and attempt to work out what might unfold.

So, if you’re looking for someone to provide a calming presence and some words of composure to ensure we don’t all run our race prior to Saturday….. you’ve come to the wrong place! We’re buzzed up and in danger of our purple hype filled zip lock bags spilling over!

But click play anyway and join us on our rare journey to the Gee in September. We ride til we’ve died!

PiesAish2.png

Given the pain of the loss and the realisation we’ve seen David Mundy run out in purple for the final time… it wasn’t a Saturday, it was a Sadurday. Time to Restump Podcast Freo’s semi-final loss to the ferocious Pies.

We went in high on hope but also unfortunately on next to no experience for such a hostile environment. It showed very early and the intensity the Pies brought and hit us with, we had no answers or replies for.

While we had no trouble getting our share of the ball, our disposal was under relentless pressure. Admittedly it wasn’t the sole cause of our inability to score, but it compounded issues for our more often than not dysfunctional forward line. 14 inside 50s for 1 point in the first quarter painted that picture.

After a few early jitters and mistakes our defenders again stood up but the weight of numbers and the Pie pressure further up the ground made it almost an impossible task for our back six.

The reality is we were overawed, out pressured, outmuscled and outplayed. We simply were convincingly beaten by a more seasoned and experienced outfit in that particular environment.

The margin on paper was 20 points but realistically it was a 10 to 12 goal hiding, so the result wouldn’t have been any different had the game been played anywhere else.

However, while we don’t want to be ‘that guy’…. it must make things a tad easier when you’ve played 16 of your 24 games in 2022 at the MCG and 19 of your 24 games in your home state of Victoria... thereby alleviating the detriment of hours spent on planes.

Having said that, to be fair to Collingwood, the possible extra 22-minute car or bus journey from the MCG to Marvel must be brutal!

When all said and done, it brought to a close a magnificent season in which we saw substantial growth in individuals and as a collective. We not only got our team of kids a taste of finals, we put a September win on the board. But just as important we got a lesson in where we are and what is required to get to the promised land.

Sadly, it also saw the completion of the great David Mundy’s wonderful career, a career that left an immeasurable permanent positive impact on the club.

So, when one season comes to a close another silly type of season begins. Trade talk season. 90% print, TV and airway filling noise but about 10% materialises. Its difficult not to get caught up in the nonsense so we take the view that if you can’t stay clear of it, indulge in it.

We start with the Luke Jackson making his intentions clear and we get more hyped up from there. Lobb, Acres, Griff, Henry and whoever else Haggers and SEN clickbait the footy community into buying their exodus narrative!

So, while the on-field year is over, the chatter continues. If you’ve overdosed on the Restump after a long season, go outside have a thunder chunder and you’ll be good to click play and go around again in this episode of reviews, analysis and trade talk.

TrumanDaveM.png

We’re obviously just not doing it for Griff and he wants to spice things up and play with others. Boatloads going on in the harbour so it is time to Restump Podcast all the news in purple shoes.

Apparently, if you listen to the revenue generating click bait media, every Freo player and his dog, or in Rory’s and Acres’ case their emotional support animals, wants out. It’s an ‘exodus’ they tell us!

Griffin Logue, Rory Lobb, Blake Acres, Darcy Tucker and Liam Henry are all, let’s say, restless.

Which of those players in their positions would we not be looking to improve on anyway? They are not vehicles to the promised land and given a few of them having had career best years, they probably couldn’t take us any further than we ventured this year. We dig a little deeper and dissect each player’s reasoning and their trade prospects.

Speaking of vehicles, arguably the greater loss may be that of Josh Carr. He ping ponged between Port Adelaide and Fremantle his entire playing days and now looks set to continue throughout his coaching career. He may be in teal a while though as he does look their future head coach when the Ken Hinkley bell rings.

Deliberately speaking of segue Bells, another of the non-playing brigade appears likely to set sail from the port in the form of General Manager of Football Operations, Peter Bell. Like Josh Carr, is Belly ping ponging yet again back to his former club to take on the CEO role? If so which cap will he wearing in the Griffin Logue tussle?

Sadly, he couldn’t take home Charlie but it was a big result for Andy Brayshaw last night. 20 votes prior to the bye but then just 5 on the run home. Opposing teams rightfully had to up their defensive work into the future captain.

Will Brodie took home an appropriate workmanlike 11 votes to finish second for Freo while the umps got a bit bedazzled with a few goals of Rory’s and gifted him 7 to round out the top three.

What has happened to former Freo great Paul HaSENby? Another seemingly outlandish suggestion from him that Josh Schache could suit us in a trade with the Bulldogs for Rory Lobb! Is Hase on a clicks and listens performance based contract? Does he have quotas to fill?

Believe it or not the usual fence sitting and controversy avoiding Jojo takes a shot the AFL and its hypocrisy over the gambling influence and saturation of last night’s Brownlow count. However, I’m not sure Jojo didn’t take the $6 about Andy and is just dark he didn’t get up!

There’s no shortage of Docker dot points to discuss so let’s put on the purple peepers, peruse what’s prominent at the port and fill up on our fair share of Freo fanfare.

Swingerman.png

Worth every cent of the Johnny Cash he gets. Brownlow done, Grand Final won and the Cats had the last laugh. Season over but there’s always purple stuff in need of Restump Podcasting.

In this episode we go over the Grand Final and ask the question, did Jordan Clark trade himself out of premiership?

Has Geelong won everyone over with their actions, their humility and their humour? If so, how can we put a stop to it?

We go through the grains of salt we take Colin Young’s commentary with and try to work out where the Griffin Logue and Darcy Tucker to North Melbourne train is at. Has Griff pumped the breaks a little?

Speaking of a grain of salt… never mind Aaron Naughton and Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, apparently Rory will be the focal point at the Western Bulldogs according to Col.

Are Luke Jackson and Sean Darcy best buds and will they be the purple super hero duo? Let’s not dance around the obvious, Jackson’s move to Fremantle is just a formality and, while I hope I haven’t just jinxed it in saying that, we have a go at coming up with a trade to get it done anyway.

Plenty of WA boys out of contract around the country. We go through the list and weigh up if there are any names that may be attractive to Freo.

Looking forward to trade week starting next Monday but while we jostle for prime position front and centre, we manage to, despite our male statuses, multi task and bang out 40 plus minutes of purple lead up language.

So, if your ears are already deprived of some Docker dialect, click play, tune in and join us in prolonging the purple party.

JacksonTown.png

Well, it’s that time of the year again. On the eve of the meat market silly season, the period otherwise known as trade week, its time to endure the annual Restump Podcast 2022 Buy, Sell, Hold report.

It’s the episode where we decide if we’re going to buy sell or hold each player’s stock. We look at the year they have had, the future prospects, their ages and any other defining factor to reach an individual and team oriented financial investment conclusion.

Do some players get a reprieve for credit in the bank? Does loyalty, in committing to the club and not chasing the smell of an extra dollar, count? Is there value in old man legs that we may well be cutting off too soon? Who receives speculative investment dollars? Who are we taking tax losses on?

So, if you have too much time on your hands that you’re looking to rid yourself of, join us for this extended 2 hour episode where we forecast investment calls and provide reasons for the purple cattle we’re buying, selling or holding.

2022BSH.png

We were resigned to the belief Griff was gone. But did we catch a whiff of something diff, are we back in with a sniff for Griff? There’s plenty going on to fill a Restump Podcast episode cup.

We jostled for position on day one of trade week but little eventuated for us purple people. However, there’s still more than enough happening to go through. Trades have been completed, others stalled and pressure is building.

With Jason Horne-Francis signalling his intent to leave the Roos, does it favour us? Does it allow the Roos to pay up for Griff, or better still, put a red flag in Griff’s mind about heading there?

Apparently, we’re standing firm with Rory Lobb. Are we foxing, will the Dogs call our bluff if so?

A third rounder for Blake Acres… fair? Unders or Overs? With Paddy Dow wanting out of the Blues, could he find his way somehow to Freo in the deal? He would be surplus to requirement but he’s a talent.

Across the league it seems GWS will need a warehouse to store all their picks while Richmond landed the prized Tim Taranto. If the Tiges go on to secure Jacob Hopper they may be back ion premiership calculations sooner than we think.

The West Coast Eagles picked up Jayden Hunt which tells us all they don’t know where they are and believe they don’t need to rebuild through the draft. Patch work rarely ends well… we know from experience.

Andy Brayshaw took out his first Doig medal and did so by the length of the Flemington straight. Was Alex Pearce stooged? He looked a clear second place getter. And there is no shadow of a doubt Hayden Young had himself down for a few more than he got!

In this crazy fast paced trade week there is little time to stop and breathe. So, if you’re looking for a break from the noise… we can’t help you. But if you’re looking to have your ear drums reverberated with a purple focused commotion, then by all means plug in and press play.

Griff2nd.png

You left us a bunch of picks! How about leaving us a shovel to bury our Griff, Tucker & Acres merchandise! We're only joking… petrol and a match will do the trick! Time to Restump Podcast Freo's eventful trade day.

To be fair the trio have left us for valid reasons. Darcy Tucker just couldn’t get opportunity here; Griffin Logue didn’t have positional certainty and Blakey Acres had to take the money from Carlton that we weren’t offering. We wish them all well… except when they play Freo.

Did we get value? Did we get hosed? Whatever the case, we’ve got future picks galore which will no doubt be used to try to prise Jeremy Sharp from the Gold Coast clutches, in a package deal with Josh Corbett.

The Luke Jackson deal is dragging out as expected. Are the Eagles really back in the picture? Or is it simply Melbourne trying for further leverage? Either way we sit comfortably however it plays out.

Shock news of the day was the revelation regarding Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti… coming out of retirement with Fremantle on his radar! That’s an interesting conversation!

Tipu’s former club is living up to its Bomber name given everything there is blowing up! Sheedy not happy, board members storming out, 24-hour CEO’s… no wonder Tipu wanted to come to Freo, its as far away from Bomberland as he can get!

Last we looked Lobb is still lingering. And while Lobby would be needing a lie down, there are still some shenanigans to play out before the week is done.

Well, that’s enough of the written stuff! So, if you’re keen to continue, and only God knows why you would, plug in your ears, click play and join us for further purple parley on the pod.

TakeYourPicks.png

We don’t want to upset the coach and cop a lecture for getting ahead of ourselves, but is it too early to give Luke Jackson a nudge in the father son direction? Let’s hope he gets on the job in more ways than one. Time to Restump Podcast the news of arguably one Fremantle’s biggest gets.

Its not too often you get the chance to secure a 21-year-old Luke Jackson. David Walls, Peter Bell and JL just managed something remarkable and it will help set the club up for the next decade.

Understandably many fans are feeling some trepidation as we’re still sporting the scars of many historic failed attempts with these types of deals. But Luke Jackson is a different kettle of big fish!

He’s a talent in the air, yet as good on the ground. A ruckman, a forward, a roving utility…. the purple prototypical hybrid, if you will.

We’re not about to break into celebratory song signalling his arrival because we’ll leave that to the Freo social media team with their no doubt chart rocketing “Unicorn” banger… but we’ll quietly nod in appreciation and acknowledgment and say… welcome to the Purple LJ.

But while Jackson is the headline act, there’s plenty more happening down at Limestone Park.

We’ll have a chat about Ronnie Corbett who couldn’t have been more impressive in his interview, Josh Cyclone Treacy has been copping some seemingly unfair heat and what now for Lloyd “Braun” Meek?

Are we sharpening the offer for Jeremy? Ronnie Corbett, Will Brodie and Jeremy Sharp? Is there a Gold Coast quota that needs filling?

Lastly does the Luke Jackson news now spark the Rory Lobb deal to the Dogs? If the trade isn’t of value does the club dig in? We’d like to think so.

All that and plenty more on this momentous Monday where too much marvelling is never enough. Join us for our usual recap nonsense and put your best ears forward to be part of the starting twenty-two.

LJ.png

It’s unconfirmed but upon hearing O'Meara’s deal, apparently David Mundy said, “Jaeger is nearly 29! What am I… chopped liver?” Time to Restump Podcast the wrap up of our big 2022 trade period.

Poor old Dave Mundy… he gets the tap on the shoulder and we replace him with a 29-year-old! 29 is actually 42 in Mundy years.

But we’ll put our light-hearted nostalgic exaggerations aside for the moment and focus on what seems to be an exceptional trade period play performed by the purple pillagers and plunderers.

Had Luke Jackson been the only course of business, its fair to suggest we would have all been satisfied. But to snare Josh “Ronnie” Corbett and then surprisingly end up with the Jager-Bomb… we’re sitting here like the Cat that got the trade week cream…. well the cream that was left over from the cream the actual Cats got.

Sure, we lost Blake Acres, Griff Logue, Darcy Tucker, Lloyd Meek and the teammate baking, one arm contest bandit Rory Lobb, but you can make a case for all of them why it isn’t the end of the world.

Enough of the words on paper, lets get to the chit-chat. Join us as we dissect our individual trades and pick swaps and look at how it sets us up for 2023.

YO.png

"It's been a year-and-a-half I've wanted out, so it was good to get it done, finally.” On this episode of the Restump Podcast…. it’s all about strong relationships, commitment, selflessness and self-awareness.

Rory feeling as though he was on the outer is astonishing! Well not that he was on the outer, but the fact he seemingly has no idea why.

Given the amount of headshaking in disbelief at Rory’s comments on the way out, chiropractors are about to fill their boots!

Ironically, we’re going to be fair to him giving him the benefit of the doubt that he may not be the sharpest tool in the shed. But surely, anyone with an ounce of self-awareness, not self-obsessiveness, handles exit interviews with a bit more decorum.

But then again, maybe the authentic honesty is something we’re not used to and should appreciate? I know I am going to appreciate it when we play the Dogs in 2023.

We’re talking Rory, Lloyd Meek and Rosco Lyon relationships. How good is to potentially have the great Ross Lyon back in the system? Possibly returning to his home at the Saints, it shows us important relationships can be rebuilt.

With Rory Lobb concerned for his mental state, Brett “Jojo” McDonnell decided to activate the Restump’s cereal pack psychology licence and provide a counselling service for those struggling in their own personal relationships. We find a few answers for those listeners that have reached out.

I have a feeling this Rory Lobb oriented podcast was purely an excuse so Jojo could wheel out Rory’s comments read out in the Donkey voice, but he tells me it’s an important topic we’re covering.

So, if even just to pass some off-season time, flick the fix switch and indulge in our purple nonsensical noise.

RoryOuter.png

Is it ok to have your copper and nickel mined and minted ten cents worth if it fossil fuels debate?

WSCover3.png

When it comes to AFL Draft knowledge, The West Australian Sport's Jordan McArdle is peerless. Almost without a word of a lie, he is so thorough and dedicated he records birth canal sectional times to identify talent in the maternity ward!

For the second year in a row Jordan has been generous with his time and information joining Jojo McDonnell on the Restump podcast for predominantly a WA kid draft preview.

So, given us purple people have nothing even slightly resembling a high draft pick in this Monday's draft, tune in before then to hear JoMac and JoMac find the Docker diamonds and save us Freo folk from having ‘teardrops in our eyes.’

JoMacs.png

Looks like the Freo crew have bet on red. And, going on their recent draft table craft, Hugh could argue with the decisions? Time to Restump Podcast the purple people we plucked from the player pool.

Without the rich draft capital at our disposal this year it was always going to be a trickier process. But when the dust settled this morning it’s difficult to be disappointed.

The Freo team filled the needs, punted on some wants, added some development projects and managed to include some insurance. Not an easy feat!

We go over the new recruits and run the shoulda, coulda, woulda theories.

The lads are back at the club and if the photos are accurate, they’ve returned in better than decent nick! They’re not only looking flash, they’re turning out flash performances in early time trials.

Neil Erasmus has shown his round one intention with two 1km run wins. Caleb Serong snared the 3rd while Heath Chapman outstayed them all and brought home the 4th.

We take another look at the Jackson Darcy combo story which continues to develop. Who plays where for how long?

Is Caleb Serong getting a chance to possibly play with young brother Liam? Is there a strategy to potentially giving Liam the train on position?

We wish Connor Blakely all the best with his second chance at the Gold Coast after being plucked with pick 7 in the rookie draft. However, as it’s arguably the surfing capital of Australia, should our best wishes go to the Gold Coast Suns?

It’s been a while between pods and there has been some listener feedback, some positive, some negative but we welcome it all. And we were blown away by some very kind listeners who generously bought us a bunch of coffees through the Restump website.

We don’t click into Summer until tomorrow but there’s plenty of hot stuff happening down at Limestone Park in Cockburn. So, if you’ve got nothing better to do, wrap your listening gear around this episode and join us for a draft review and all the news in purple shoes.

HughD.png

If Rory Lobb was Peter Garrett the song would be bridges, instead of beds, that were burning. Time to Restump Podcast the grenades that have been Lobbed our way plus other bits and purple pieces.

It’s difficult to wonder what Rory’s thought process is as he torches the club that provided him $2 million plus. And if he is actually oblivious to his own comments, how has someone close to him not told him to reel it in? Either way, we’re all surely now looking forward to our future clashes with the Dogs.

On his way to round one, Neil Erasmus thought he’d stop in at hospital for a night to rehydrate after a big day on the training track. Most people use the pub but each to their own.

We take a further look at the draftees and see if we learned anything after their press conferences. Meanwhile Caleb’s brother Liam Serong and Sam Stubbs are apparently on their way to Freo on a train. Oh wait… they could be making their way to Freo to train on… whatever… there is a train involved!

The great Aaron Sandilands has apparently hung up the size 18 ruck coach’s boots as Beau McDonald has been appointed to the role. We ask the question was Sandi pushed? And if so how many men did it take?

Talking about people getting pushed out, we’ve got a round one ripper against the great Ross Lyon and his Sainters and we can’t wait for that. A super slimmed and streamlined Nat Fyfe is also on his way to round one and potentially a Weight Watchers contract.

Sonny Walters had an ominous start to his preseason unable to enter the club with a faulty door lock wristband… hmm faulty or hacked? But Blake Acres has no such problem at the Blues as he continues to be the talk of the football world. It’s as if he’s the pivotal piece of Carlton’s premiership puzzle!

Summer has just started and likewise we’re only warming up. We’ve got a plate full of purple particulars to paddle through so if you’re bored out of your skull and desperate for your Freo fanfare fix…. friends Romans, countrymen… lend us your ears for 45 minutes of this Restump Podcast nonsense.

RoryLobb4.png

When you knock back bigger offers to stay at Freo you get a lot of love for life. It is the silly season which is highly appropriate for this episode of the Restump Podcast.

Luke Ryan signing up for life is as good a get as you could ever hope for and it’s testament to the club and it’s culture. No doubt it also says he likes how he is being coached.

Fixtures are out. Friday arvo game at Norwood, we’re playing Brisbane, Sydney and Geelong twice… the AFL really put the fix in fixture!

Is the term ‘grudge match’ being used too loosely? Admittedly, round 6 against the Western Lobradors commands such a title. It’s always grudgey against the West Coast Eagles and there is an elevated animosity level towards Adam Cerra. But there is little to no deep dislike for Griff Logue and Darcy Tucker at North and there are few, if any, among us that won’t forever be grateful of Ross Lyon’s tenure. The defining criteria of a grudge seemingly needs tightening up.

Do we need to reel in and place a lid on the Luke Jackson training track hype? Its doing a bit more than simmering!

The Chief took too many liberties and had a go at the WA Media awards, the climate crew attacking the club over Woodside and then had the audacity to put a question mark over Nathan O’Driscoll. We did say it is the silly season!

Jojo has shifted into holiday mode. He has taken his finger off the pulse and consequently forgot to switch the right microphone on. He’s a bit echoey but the caveman got it done.

So, if you’re looking to block out the relentless, almost inescapable sound of Christmas Carrols, there’s 50 minutes of overly exaggerative purple silly season shenanigans right here.

LRyan.png

Caleb Serong just Back ended another 4 years in purple for an extra Nickel! Time to get off the cricket couch and Docker up the first Restump Podcast episode for 2023.

There was little to no fear that Caleb Serong would be wearing anything but purple in the foreseeable future but having him lock in on Christmas Day for a further 4 years just made the season a little more festive.

Tommy Sheridan had Griff Logue and Darcy Tucker on his podcast and the former Freo folk gave us a little bit of an insight into their departures. Were Darcy Tucker’s interesting comments a little Lobb like? Or have we read too much into them?

Club captaincy remains the topic of Chinese whispers. Will Nat Fyfe step down or retain the honour? Does Andy Brayshaw take on the responsibility now or after Alex Pearce wears the crown?

Have the Freo girls got a Head coach yet? Does anyone know who may be a Rough chance? We check in on Bob and see what he’s up to.

Jojo is disgracefully campaigning for the Americanisation of our sport wanting the AFL to promote the initiative where players roll into the ground in all types of preposterous gear! Feel free to let him know your thoughts.

Overdosing on cricket and looking for a change may well explain the reasons we’re talking Freo footy in January. Or we’re just overly eager and can’t wait for the season to return. Whatever the case, if you’re starved of some purple noise, feel free to bung this nonsense in your ears. As always, we offer no guarantees or refunds!

Photograph.png

Has the magnitude of the previously unthinkable Jackson and Darcy duo reality really dawned on us? Could Jackarce be a crack crime fighting duo if footy came to an end? Time to Restump Podcast ponder those very questions and so many more.

While some weren’t, and maybe still aren’t, keen on Luke Jackson and what he has cost, the possibilities of what now lie ahead of us are extremely exciting.

Sean Darcy already pretty much an established combative top 3 competition ruckman joined by the 21 year old premiership winning super skilled and athletically blessed prototype for the modern day player, Luke Jackson. This just doesn’t happen! You don’t get to put this type of complimenting duo together in these specific positions when both are at such young ages. It’s a credit to the Freo crew for somehow being able to do it.

Does this preseason feel different to you? The regularity of match simulation drills seems highly strategic and a different path to the season than usual. We take a look at who seems to be shaping up where.

Where is Josh Treacy at? With Josh Corbet, Luke Jackson, Nat Fyfe all wanting a slice of the forward pie, Treacy will need to come with an appetite. And let’s not forget Sammy Sturt will be looking for a forward feed.

Are we in the embryonic stage of an embarrassment of midfield riches? You don’t bring an O’Meara in to play down at Peel. Neil Erasmus and Matt Johnson need blooding and games under the belt but when you’ve got a Serong, a Brayshaw and a Brodie…. someone is losing that game of musical chairs.

So much more to contemplate! The forward setups, the wings, the forgotten men of the purple, the captaincy, Switta’s subtle drive by at Rory Lobb’s expense and Jojo’s artificial intelligence instigated poetry.

The Chief has the first Neighbourhood Watch segment for 2023 and Jojo wants to know are people watching Married at First Sight or Survivor tonight and which programs players will tune into.

Yes, we know it’s January but Christmas feels like yesterday and it was actually over a month ago! (Who the hell is in charge of time… Freddy?) So, we’re up and into it, jostling for position trying to keep a lid on our upcoming purple season anticipation and if you’ve got nothing better to do, and you’ve double checked, then feel free to come along for the nonsensical ride.

DarceJackson.png

Player agents would get someone else to take their bath for them if they could. Apparently, the ridiculousness has kicked off early this year. Well two can play that game so its time to Restump Podcast our own brand of purple nonsense.

Colin Young is up and about extra early this year having started his customary chain of shenanigan events. Is there anything in the story or is he strategically concocting, dropping and denying rumours?

Our Fremantle Club has a substantial and rare challenge on their hands. Erasmus and Johnson need game time but how, when and where will their minutes come from? Could it be we implement a gigantic game of musical chairs?

Some big bets have been placed on Fremantle to win the premiership. Is it smart, strategic or silly money?

Jojo has gotten his back up this week. He isn’t happy with the paper cup fiasco at Optus and wants to brainstorm solutions. He’s also not impressed with the AFL payment distribution and on top of all that he wants a wild card for a team to make the finals.

We’re still a few of weeks away from some real preseason business but there’s always something purple to ponder, produce or prop up. So, if you’re not getting enough purple in your audio diet, bung this nonsense in your ears and fix your docker deficiencies.

BathTubBob1.png

Did Nat Fyfe step down himself or was the tap on the shoulder remnants of the re-plumb and re-pipe era? Time to Restump Podcast all the angles and the rest of the purple town news.

Did Nat Fyfe deserve the opportunity to become Fremantle’s first premiership captain? Or does he believe his best chance at a cup was to relinquish the captaincy responsibility to focus on his game?

Was he given a nudge or did he voluntarily step down? If so, who loaded the gun? Is it the right time to change captains? Will it change anything? Who gets the gig? Could we venture into the world of co-captains? All questions that need discussion.

If we’re reading the play correctly it feels like Jimmy Aish may spend more time as an inside mid this year. How that will work is something we’ll have some sort of stab in the dark at but more likely leave it up to the purple powers that be.

Has Sammy Sturt reached the required intensity levels? Is the forgotten man flying under the radar? Is he now the work horse and consequently a dark horse?

Has the several flashes of match sim brilliance and pristine field kicking caused the Liam Henry knockers to feel a tad uneasy?

Another Rory Lobb article, another whine! Surely, he must know by now his reception in round 6 couldn’t possibly be any more hostile?

And speaking of players that didn’t work out for us, Harley Bennell wants one more shot at it. At 30 years of age, he’s obviously quite the optimist but he may be seen as value in the mid-season draft. Whether he makes it onto a list or not, the VFL’s gain though is the Harvey Bull’s loss.

By all the endless reports, Carlton is travelling well domestically. However, some international concerns have apparently arisen.

Watching the regular match simulations and noting our largely very healthy list, we’re desperately trying to avoid falling into that preseason form trap. Because we all know that…. oh to hell with it, it’s too exciting, we’re jumping in head first. Shackles are off!

We’re just 3 weeks away from the first official preseason game and just 34 days from round one. Where the hell did January go? I’m pretty sure Christmas was last Sunday!

So, if like us, you’re restless, full of nerves and anticipation and struggling to contain your excitement, then bung this hour of Docker drivel into your cranium car doors and join us and the Freo folk whose ears can never be purpled enough.

FyfeTap1.png

It’s been a Stop-Sturt career to date. But have we just seen the Summer of Sam? Time to Restump Podcast all the latest Freo Fanfare.

Preseason snippets have us hoping Sammy Sturt has found the intensity JL called for. Are we about to see the emergence of a talented forward?

Season launch was today and it looks like we’re running with a new slogan “Stop at Nothing”. Given that is potentially open to fanatical interpretation, let’s hope they thought it through and accompanied it with some context.

Late injuries to Sonny, Freddy, Josh Corbett and Wagner aren’t ideal but the Disco and Brennan Cox are recovering and on the charge.

Peter Bell responded masterfully to Rory Lobb’s previous comments in an interview and suggested that Fremantle is rapidly becoming a destination club. With that in mind, is this why Belly is keeping a more focused eye on Aaron Naughton and Mitch Georgiades?

The Chief believes we should somewhat temper 2023 expectations. Is this crazy talk and are we even entertaining such a preposterous line of thinking?

Despite the pressure for positions, the forward line set up still remains the great unknown. It seems like every week we have a crack at it but we just can’t get comfortable and confident enough to come up with a cohesive and productive six. We try once more.

Bob Murphy joined Pav to give us all a bit of insight into how he sees things, Luke Ryan said he’s no Cerra and refused several interstate offers, Damian Drum returns to coaching and is two games suspension for Jack Jiffyvan extremely lenient? It snow laughing matter!

All that, boatloads more and then we bring it home with another horrendously poor episode of the latest instalment of the Neighbourhood Watch segment, a segment that looks to be well and truly on its last legs.

We’re almost at round one but before then we get a little taster on Friday. So, If you’re looking to bridge the Docker divide between now and then, by all means wrap your listening gear around this purple billabong.

Intensturty.png

The Captain Pearce secret didn’t really fly under the Radar. But as captain, do we need to worry about his Klingers… I mean… clangers… by foot? Time to Restump Podcast all the purple happenings.

It is pretty much old news now but the captaincy just fits perfectly on Alex Pearce. He’ll lead admirably like he has done his entire career and we’re looking forward to the documentary A Day In the Fyfe Of Alex Pearce in the future!

Co-vice captains? It was a bit of a soft and hard taco shell decision in regards to Brayshaw and Serong so they said “why not have both?”

What did we learn from the 18 quarters of mix and match scratch match? Something, nothing, anything?

Nat Fyfe looks like he’s going to be a handful for defenders, Sammy Sturt showed encouraging signs and Josh Treacy put forward his claims for round one.

Our new ruck combo… how did Jackarce fare? Hard not to like Jackson’s ground work nearly as much as his aerial attributes.

Did we get a good enough look at Jaegar O’Meara? Probably not, but then again enough to not dampen any previous thoughts about him.

We had a bit of a bopeep at the documentary, Show Me The Money II. Rory Lobb, as, we all knew, didn’t come off well and Griff may not have been that far behind him. However, the take out from the doco was similar to the take out from last year, and that was…. why?

The ever-diplomatic Justin Longmuir got a right of reply recently to Lobb’s and Griff’s comments and disappointingly he didn’t take the duo to task. He opted to professionally put the fire out when the Chief was hoping he’d tip a jerry can on it.

The Chief continues his overdone and nonsensical almost intrusive Bob campaign while Jojo is leading the charge to have all the basketball courts in his suburb shut down, citing noise pollution.

Round one is on our doorstep. So, if you’re someone who doesn’t have enough purple nonsense in your life, by all means feel free to top up on ours.

Moose.png

Have us Freo fans ever done measured? As blind eternal optimists and resilient supporters it's just something that really doesn't sit well with us.... but...

Balancing reality, the hype and expectations. Full story on the Restump Podcast website or link below.

MeasuredApproach.png

Is Liam Henry about to Wing in the new AFL year? Preseason done and dusted and just a fortnight until the real stuff. Time to Restump Podcast everything remotely purple.

It was a handy final hit out Friday against Port. Few things to work on, a few gears to click up but you couldn’t have asked for much more.

We look at the highlights, player positions and scoring sources. Were there any areas of concern?

Sean Darcy wrapped up his preseason with a wonderful performance, Nat Fyfe is manufacturing goals and has Josh Treacy cemented a round one berth?

Through injury and no fault of his own, has the Disco had his wing clipped?

Is Sammy Sturt going to be a round one hard luck story?

Will Brodie looks set for a monster year. He and his two midfield mates Caleb Serong and Andy Brayshaw filled their boots while we got to see the real importance of Jaegar O’Meara.

The Chief has seen something he didn’t like about our beloved Lachie Schultz consequently putting him on notice and Jojo is asking the question, can we have conservative and measured expectations?

We take a look at the wealthy McGovern Bros and their simultaneously signed eleventy squillion dollar contracts and we start to wonder if Teflon Trent Cotchin has some incriminating information or photographs.

We’re on Lob Watch and then we bring it home with the Neighbourhood Watch.

So, if all the usual nonsense around some sporadically sprinkled seriousness bakes your cake, by all means pull up a chair, grab a cup of Bob’s ginger tea and have a slice of this opinionated purple pastry.

HenryWing.png

Just hours until the Saints on Sunday! We’re as nervous as a hot air balloonist in the US. Good nerves though. Time to Restump Podcast the final purple preparations.

The real stuff is almost here and we’re beside ourselves. There is just something about this upcoming year that has us up and about with more anticipation than usual.

Holistically speaking, are we in the best shape we’ve been in for the start of a season? While there is the odd injury, few seem serious and there aren’t too many that won’t be pushing for round one.

Is Luke Ryan going to get up and join his mate Brennan in that formidable defensive duo against the Ross Lyon Saints? Can the sum of parts equal the whole?

It appears the hard working and opportunity grabbing Ethan Hughes, or apparently Dethen Hucker if you’re seeing the images used in the press, has cemented a spot on the wing for round one.

There is a bit of a grapevine chatter that the great Sonny Walters may don the sub vest? We’re not sure what to make of that… it doesn’t quite sit well.

What are the odds? I mean odds aren’t only for gamblers. They’re opinionated indicators for potential performance. They’re simply the result of often educated or informed research expressed as percentages of which we can learn a lot from without having to part with a single peso.

Including the outside thoughts or the movements of the satchel swingers in the conversation simply assists in covering the assessment angles.

So in this calm before the purple storm episode we take a look at what the number runners are suggesting.

We’re five days from bounce down and we can’t shut up. So if you’re looking for some soothing silence in which to relax… you’ve come to the wrong place.

Well as you’re already here you may as well get your purple ears front and centre and jostling for position early with this hour of new season week nonsense.

Odds1.png