Preview The return of the Brisbane Lions v Geelong Cats Preview (Round 3, Post-Alfred!)

Anyone had a look at the injury report? Charlie and Kai might be looking good for Saturday
Yeah just saw that now, super excited to see what we can do against a shaky Geelong side who will be fired up after the tough loss to the Saints. Keen to see Charlie and Kai but up for selection, just have to see if there match fitness is up to scratch. Should be a great match however, really want Levi to kick his first to really get this season going. 3 wins from 3 games incoming.

Lions by 17 pts in the rain (again).
really gonna be a tough match for the lions in rainy conditions. Good test for us having played so much footy in the heat lately. seems as if we always play the lions in the rain however. Just gotta get over the line. I'll say lions by 10 in a great match.

I think we could bully them in the midfield in the wet. We got the big strong bodies now, they have some leaner types on ball now.

Bit worried about our assembly of backline smalls minus Starcevich. Fletcher was terrific off half back against the Eagles offensively and didn’t necessarily do anything wrong defensively(Took some nice intercept marks from memory) but the balance seems off with Zorko, Wilmot, Fletcher, and Answerth. Felt like Zorks, Jaspa and Wilmot were all focussed more so on attacking play than defending. We got away with it v the Eagles but the Cats small forwards are arguably their greatest asset.

Not sure what the answer is other than assigning Wilmot a more defensive orientated role alongside Answerth and leaving the rebound to Zorks and Fletcher. Outside of that we could shift McKenna back there but he is more offensively wired than defensive himself.

One to watch.

BRISBANE

PLAYERINJURYESTIMATED RETURN
Charlie CameronCalfTest
Keidean ColemanKneeTBC
Tom DoedeeKnee1-2 weeks
Kai LohmannAnkleTest
Lincoln McCarthyKneeTBC
Brandon StarcevichConcussionTBC
Updated: March 25, 2025

In the mix​

Brisbane is hopeful of regaining dynamic small forward duo Cameron and Lohmann to face Geelong at the Gabba on Saturday night, although both will have to pass tests at main training on Thursday. Their inclusions would likely spell a return to the VFL for impressive debutant Will McLachlan and reliable utility Bruce Reville, who were part of Sunday's win over West Coast. Darcy Gardiner returned from his ruptured ACL with three goals at the lower level at the weekend and will start pushing his case for senior inclusion in coming weeks. – Michael Whiting

GEELONG

PLAYERINJURYESTIMATED RETURN
Jed BewsFinger6-10 weeks
Tanner BruhnFingerTBC
Cillian BurkeKneeIndefinite
Toby ConwayBackTBC
Mitch EdwardsPelvisTBC
Cam GuthrieAchillesTBC
Lenny HoffmanHamstring1-2 weeks
Xavier IvisicAnkle2-4 weeks
Jake KolodjashnijGroin1-2 weeks
Jack MartinCalfTest
Keighton Matofai-ForbesManaged2-3 weeks
Jacob MolierHamstring1-3 weeks
Bailey SmithCalfTest
Tom StewartKneeTest
Updated: March 25, 2025

In the mix​

Stewart has dodged significant injury after fears he faced a long lay-off and is a chance to face the Lions. Smith will be monitored after a week off with a sore calf, but coach Chris Scott expressed confidence in his star recruit's fitness after the loss to the Saints. Martin pulled up sore in the VFL warm-up on Sunday and will be tested before a potential VFL return this week. Veteran Mitch Duncan put his hand up for a recall with 24 touches across half-back in the Cats’ 31-point VFL win over Sandringham, while Oli Wiltshire shone with 3.4 from 17 disposals. - Michael Rogers

What I would like to see.

FB: Answerth, Payne, Lester
HB: Zorko, Andrews, Wilmot
C: McCluggage, Dunkley, Berry
HF: Cameron, Hipwood, Rayner
FF: Ah Chee, Morris, Lohmann
MID: McInerney, Neale, W Ashcroft

I/C: L Ashcroft, Fort, McKenna, Fletcher

Sub: McLachlan

If Cameron or Lohmann don’t get up, McLachlan comes into the team and Reville would be my Sub.

If neither gets up, Reville and McLachlan come into in and I would name Robertson as Sub.

Man, Bruhn’s finger injury must have been quite bad, they can’t even estimate a return date for him
200.gif

Some weather modelling for Brisbane is now showing the rain easing Saturday arvo and even stopping by 4pm.
Tomorrow's forecasts will have higher confidence levels.

If Cameron or Lohmann don’t get up, McLachlan comes into the team and Reville would be my Sub.

If neither gets up, Reville and McLachlan come into in and I would name Robertson as Sub.
Can't see both Day and Fort being left out.

Don’t play kids in the ruck, even part time, at senior level. Fastest way to shorten their footy career and leave them with life health/injury issues.
Yep. The club won't play anyone in the ruck who's still growing, other than at most part time in reserves. It's part of why Henry Smith has been brought along so slowly. Apparently there's been heaps of examples of long term injury concerns caused by it over the years.

Apologies for the intrusion - really liked the look of Fletcher off HB on the weekend - do you think it's something that will be persisted with as part of his development (which Fagan mentioned post game)?

If we wanted to fit in Marshall, who is currently in the reserves, then maybe. Team is getting really tight. Zorko, Lester and Neale retiring in the coming years will make things a bit easier.

The coaching panel likes players who can play multiple positions (McKenna, Ah Chee, Berry, etc.).

Mail I'm getting from those in the know is that Saturday's rain is likely to have cleared offshore by game time.
(from latest modelling)

I do. Fagan also mentioned that Fletcher may well end up playing in the midfield. I am a massive fan of Fletcher. He has great composure, a big tank and excellent skills. People rightly remember Joe's last two goals in the final against GWS last year, but I also loved Fletcher running hard to make himself available, before getting on the end of a chain of possessions and slotting a vital goal in the last. His finishing was clinical. His goal in the last against West Coast was even better.

I was at the game, we all picked him as our best because he was good even in the first qtr from down back. he is a bit of the forgotten kid at times but I'm sure the club is very happy with his progress. He seems to have really good poise and disposal, he may well stay down there. Like Ahh chee whom for the last few years was our most flexible player even within games maybe Jasper is following that trend. Haven't seen him as a forward yet but he is a good kick for goal with those longer range shots. We still have a top draft pick from last year Sam Marshall to come is as maybe a winger and another top prospect from our academy next year whom is also a midfielder in Annabel. I'm sure at this stage Jasper knows the more strings in his bow the better off he is - as does the club. He is a beauty though.