The Review

Who will leave as a result of the review?

I've now officially lived in Victoria as long as Sth Aust .....so I have a balanced view & have seen both sides of the fence

5AA of course aren't trying to drive Crows players out .....but it's an unfortunate by-product of the stations format and approach to sport in Sth Aust ....being so local content and state bias

It generates such strong public opinion on issues ....and the Crows players in particular feel that pressure ....it WAS th reason Tippett left 100% ...but Danger actually thrived on the publicity ....but not all do
So given you’ve lived there that long, how can you judge our coffee?

I've now officially lived in Victoria as long as Sth Aust .....so I have a balanced view & have seen both sides of the fence

5AA of course aren't trying to drive Crows players out .....but it's an unfortunate by-product of the stations format and approach to sport in Sth Aust ....being so local content and state bias

It generates such strong public opinion on issues ....and the Crows players in particular feel that pressure ....it WAS th reason Tippett left 100% ...but Danger actually thrived on the publicity ....but not all do
But that’s not the radio, that’s just part of living in a 2 team town.

Not even close .....12 team town ....6 times the population ....very different dynamics, when 70% of th population barracks for the one team & is focussed on a particular player

The media in Sth Aust has a massive impact on opinion & pressure on players ......how much evidence do you want
Not sure what drugs you are on, but they are ALL ******* hopeless.

It would be like appointing a Good Decisions Officer because the board and coaches have been making poor decisions
Not quite ... driving / developing a desirable culture is not a skill that a whole lot of people have in the toolkit.

It would be like saying "everyone can take care of their own ICT ", ICT is part of everything we do anyway so we don't need a specialist ICT person.

What’s your take on the last two paragraphs of the article? It appeared to be in the rugby club’s favor and interest. But I’m a layman when it comes to business deals.

“ACT chief minister Andrew Barr told ABC Radio The Australian’s revelations “have no basis in fact”. He said the ACT government had asked the Australian Valuation Office to conduct its own valuation of the headquarters — a large site including ovals in a prime inner-Canberra suburb — and it said it was worth $700,000. He said the AVO had determined that with usage changes granted the property was worth $10.72m.
The 2009 CBRE estimate valued the site as worth between $9.3m and $11.45m before usage changes — over 14 times higher than the $700,000 AVO figure quoted by Barr.”

“a large site including ovals in a prime inner-Canberra suburb — and it said it was worth $700,000.”

Canberra real estate is bloody expensive; $700k for a site of that nature and size sounds ridiculous.

Two other independent valuations put it at over $10M.

Would love to know what the profit of the development was - I’d bet they made an absolute killing.

Ditts asking questions of Roo this morning:

Roo acknowledged players have brought up his media role and comments he’s made. Roo says if he has to curtail his honesty he’ll step down from the board. Reckon he’s gone

When asked about Burton and Campo carrying the can, said we’ve already had Pyke and Tex stand down. Ditts pointed out Pyke stepped down, Roo said doesn’t mean he wouldn’t have been a casualty. Didn’t like that. He’s basically sullied the decisions Pyke and in particular Tex made, now looks like Tex stepped down but would have been a casualty of the review. He’s still at the club so there is now a stain over his captaincy.

All to take heat off his mate, time to piss off Roo.

Roo acknowledged players have brought up his media role and comments he’s made. Roo says if he has to curtail his honesty he’ll step down from the board. Reckon he’s gone

When asked about Burton and Campo carrying the can, said we’ve already had Pyke and Tex stand down. Ditts pointed out Pyke stepped down, Roo said doesn’t mean he wouldn’t have been a casualty. Didn’t like that. He’s basically sullied the decisions Pyke and in particular Tex made, now looks like Tex stepped down but would have been a casualty of the review. He’s still at the club so there is now a stain over his captaincy.

Interesting about his comment regarding nicks. Saying he doesn't have the job, but then backtracked and said he might.

Disagree Peter .....of course the AFL media is clammering for every titbit of rumor re AFL ...that's not what I'm talking about

Even powerhouse COLL , with their massive supporter base, may only account for 30% of the MLB population .....and depending on the time of the year, and events ....may only get 15% of airtime, as radio stations have more national & international content

But FiveAA is positioned as a local station, and as such, most of their content is local ....that means AFL dominates the airtime and by extension Th Crows are dominating air-time and talk back .....this is where the pressure derives from, as the station has to keep coming up with Crows content ....mostly manufactured or drum beating
You don’t think their sister station in WA - what is it 6PR I think - would be exactly the same?

Curtail his honesty hey.....

I'm glad the players brought that up.

He might love the club, but he's completely incompetent and unprofessional. It will take years to recover from all the damage that has been done.

Out of his depth in my opinion.......and has tarnished his legasy at the AFC.
Ironically his mate Peter Hurley stepped down from the board and presto Roo takes his spot.

Pyke gone. Burton gone. Campo gone.

The sooner Chapman, Roo and Fagan go the better.

You can bet the corporates will appoint a mate of theirs to replace unacountable Rob and anotger mate to replace Roo.

Feel like the results of this review (or more so the actions) will really determine whether I remain a member for 2020 or not. I'm all about the club but I just can't continue to back in the same people that constantly let us down and it's the best way I can think of to send a message that might be heard. It won't count for much but I dare say there are others that are feeling similar so maybe it'll add up...

Hopefully it doesn't come to that though, hopefully there are enough proper changes. It's something I'll watch over the next couple of months before making up my mind but man have the past couple of seasons been a huge frustration and really killed my enjoyment for watching us play.

giphy.gif

Moved on a couple but have yet to make any replacements, pretty meh so far really.

Adelaide defender Daniel Talia says the age gap between the playing group and coach Don Pyke, along with “other things behind the scenes”, led to the breaking point that saw the former mentor fall on his sword.Asked by SEN SA presenter Dwayne Russell on radio last night whether he saw the “breaking point” coming - following testing 2018 and ‘19 seasons - Talia said: “yeah, I did”. “Pykey was a great coach and he obviously took us to one game away from a flag, so an amazing effort and his record was right there,” Talia added.
“I suppose where the group fell down is guys started playing for themselves a bit.
“It only takes one or two per cent, and if you get guys going away from what the team is trying to do you start getting those cracks.
“It was a brave decision by Don to step down and a really selfless one.
“He was a great coach and I know he wanted to do great things with our side, but it wasn’t to be.
“We’ve got quite a younger group, so I think the breakdown there, maybe the age gap and a few little other things behind the scenes contributed to that.
“So, they’ve gone another way and Nicksy seems to be that guy who’s young and fresh and can communicate well with the guys.
“It’ll be interesting to see how we go.”
He added the coaching and list changes - which has seen veteran star Eddie Betts, Hugh Greenwood, Cam Ellis-Yolmen, Alex Keath and Josh Jenkins depart the club - had reinvigorated the playing group.
The dual All Australian defender also backed reigning club best and fairest winner Brad Crouch - who becomes a restricted free agent at the end of next season - to stay at West Lakes beyond 2020, despite being courted by St Kilda and Gold Coast.
“He’s a ripper and I’m sure he’ll be around for a long time,” Talia said.
“The position our club was in at the end of last year, we’re sort of rejuvenating the list and getting rid of old guys, Brad probably and his manager just wanted to know where he stood.
“He’d come off a career best year, and of course the manager doing his job is going to ask around.
“So I think the fans are starting to be aware of that, and as players you certainly are.”