The rip off thread

• Thread starter Thread starter moses

Just bought 2 of the cheapest tickets possible for Hawks-Bombers R2. L3 45 I think it was. Was still $24 (8.50 + 8.50 + 7 handling fee) all up AFTER I have paid for my membership. Rip off

Excess data charges on phones - if you blow it completely you're just stupid ... But seriously... The difference in cost for plan data and excess... ungodly.
On my plan atm if I go over my usage it's $5 for 100mb over, anything more it's $10 and stops there.

+1 anything in Perth.

Especially restaurants. Food is shit, service is horrendous, prices are stupid, and their ran by w***ers who go on to Urbanspoon and bad mouth other restaurants, and theyre all trying to be hipster and prententious, calling fries "fritz" etc. Literally i cant remember the last time I went to a decent restaurant and walked out happy.

Take away coffee. See above. Its all shit in Perth. The coffee machine at work smashes anything Ive ever had from a shop. And its free. Even Maccas coffee is better than at any hipster infused cafe w*nk house out there.

Also, building inspections when you move into a house. They cost a bomb, but all the f*ckers do is copy and paste your address.

+1 anything in Perth.

Especially restaurants. Food is shit, service is horrendous, prices are stupid, and their ran by ******s who go on to Urbanspoon and bad mouth other restaurants, and theyre all trying to be hipster and prententious, calling fries "fritz" etc. Literally i cant remember the last time I went to a decent restaurant and walked out happy.

Take away coffee. See above. Its all shit in Perth. The coffee machine at work smashes anything Ive ever had from a shop. And its free. Even Maccas coffee is better than at any hipster infused cafe w*nk house out there.

Agree with all of that 100%

Bought some concert tickets the other day, $150 each fair enough was happy to pay that. But then Ticketek I think the site was decides to charge me a $8.85 fee to have my tickets delivered or picked up at the venue (no option to print them myself) plus a $5.95 credit card fee. Let me print off my own tickets jerks

Just booked some flights, every time I clicked continue I was hit with a new 'fee'

Insanely absurd. One airline was kind enough to "pre select my seats for me, for just $5 per person". Wow how nice of you, but I thought the $200 I agreed to earlier was for my seat?

Reminds me of the Seinfeld episode where hes buying the car off Buddy, and he gets the "key charge". "Key charge?!" Jerry asks, "well how are you gonna start it?" he replies

Also like the hotels in the states that add $25 per night to your room as a resort fee, to keep their room rate appearing lower.

I had to pay extra money to chose my seat :S

Then on every page is a new deal, insurance, travel insurance, car insurance, parking, all conveniently ticked to purchase so you have to untick it to not purchase it.

Beer on tap in some Perth bars are charging over 10 bucks now for a pint which is highway robbery.

Most things in Perth are a ripoff though, being so isolated we have no other option but to suck it up.

Some bars?

I reckon 75% of bars you wouldn't get change from $10 for a pint of regular aussie beer like hahn super dry or Carlton draught.

Last footy season I was having a pre game drink at the Vic in subiaco and they charged $12.80 for a peroni and it wasn;'t even a pint.

Tickets to International cricket matches. At the WACA anyway. Its absurd. And they wonder why no one goes anymore.

Also, flowers around valentines day/mothers day. It crazy the price increases.

I don't mind paying $5 to pick my aisle or window seat or $50 or whatever it is to pick the seat with the extra leg room on the A380 etc. but I think it's a bit rough when after you've selected to pay $x for a ticket you are then forced to pay a seat selection fee even if you don't care where you sit.

Agree with all of that 100%

Bought some concert tickets the other day, $150 each fair enough was happy to pay that. But then Ticketek I think the site was decides to charge me a $8.85 fee to have my tickets delivered or picked up at the venue (no option to print them myself) plus a $5.95 credit card fee. Let me print off my own tickets jerks

My favorite whenever this is raised is being an AFL member at Etihad Stadium.

Upgrade to a reserved seat (which is up in the bottled oxygen sections mind you): $6. Ok, no worries.

"Handling" fee: $6. Yes. A 100% handling fee. One hundred. Per cent.

And the tickets?

You print them at home.

Yourself.

With your own printer.

Sorry... what are you guys "handling" again"? Apart from my shlong whilst you take the piss?

Someone mentioned on FB that a packet of Smiths and a 600mL coke set her back $15 at a NRL trial in Wollongong.

don't buy it then...better off saving the $15 and not conusming chips and coke. Win-win situation right there.

My favorite whenever this is raised is being an AFL member at Etihad Stadium.

Upgrade to a reserved seat (which is up in the bottled oxygen sections mind you): $6. Ok, no worries.

"Handling" fee: $6. Yes. A 100% handling fee. One hundred. Per cent.

And the tickets?

You print them at home.

Yourself.

With your own printer.

Sorry... what are you guys "handling" again"? Apart from my shlong whilst you take the piss?
Thing is there is no other option so we have to pay what they ask. The campaigners

+1 anything in Perth.

Especially restaurants. Food is shit, service is horrendous, prices are stupid, and their ran by ******s who go on to Urbanspoon and bad mouth other restaurants, and theyre all trying to be hipster and prententious, calling fries "fritz" etc. Literally i cant remember the last time I went to a decent restaurant and walked out happy.

Went to the new Currambine Tavern on Sat night. $29.95 for a chicken parma, $27 for a lamb shank and $36 for ribs! Ordered a crumbed steak 'special' for $22 and what I got was a crumbed '$2 minute steak' from Coles the size of my palm that had obviously been cooked the day before and reheated. On the side I had a salad that had warm, limp lettuce and no dressing in the salad or on the side.

Uni textbooks. Rip rip rip

Questionable partnerships make it near impossible to go without buying a couple of brand new books a semester.

Underwear. Saw some not long ago that was $50 for one pair. If someone can aware me of a place to buy underwear that isn't going to split in half when put on a normal sized body and cost a small mint, please, do so.

Someone aware me too please. Couple running with leg weights and it's a deadly combo.

A credible option is to go commando. I haven't worn jocks since 1994!