The Roy Masters Thread

As opposed to AFL fans who start up threads like this or just need to bitch about NRL?

Nooooo thats right you guys never do anything wrong.

Roy writes an anti afl article, brings up some good points - afl fans get extremely offended, call him ever name under the sun and then try and tell everyone they couldnt careless about what Roy says.

****en incredible the lot of you.

If it was a once off article I couldnt care less, the fact is Roy has a history of writing crap about the AFL that is factually incorrect, and absolutely biased toward rugby league. This includes him being way off base on the subject of tv rights. If he wrote "an article" on AFL instead of several articles, this thread wouldnt exist.

Noted: you're on an AFL forum complaining about AFL fans. Right up there with people that expect League Unlimited rugby league people to take their AFL side on a rugby league forum.

FFA was already on the back foot. While other countries know how to get together and organise a world event Australians were too ****en busy infighting amongst states and tooo concerned over things that will still be here after the event, too busy digging up dirt and being vindictive towards futbol to realise what a perfect opportunity this would have been to showcase both Australia other than the clichés shown to OS tourists and to showcase our diverse culture.

But nooooo bogan australia said "**** off we're full" to fifa.

Onya cobbers, you did us proud aye!

What sort of organiser would assume they could ignore a multi million dollars business, now there is a bogan ...

Are you sure you still buy this stuff:
what a perfect opportunity this would have been to showcase both Australia other than the clichés shown to OS tourists and to showcase our diverse culture
& still cant sheet home the fault for the gross mismanagement, you know the people putting the bid together, they blew it !!!

SOO 3 ratings in Melbourne 400k, 2011 AFL GF ratings in Sydney 262k.

The ratings tend to indicate the opposite Stewie.
lol so one series is an indication of how popular the sport is? **** you're a flog. 7mates AFL ratings in Shitney smash the Gem ratings for nRL in Melbourne EVERY WEEK. That's EVERY ****ING WEEK mate. Sometimes the Gem ratings are so low in Adelaide and Perth that they actually register as zero (yes that is irrelevant for Melbourne's nRL ratings but I thought it was a humorous statistic.

FFA was already on the back foot. While other countries know how to get together and organise a world event Australians were too ****en busy infighting amongst states and tooo concerned over things that will still be here after the event, too busy digging up dirt and being vindictive towards futbol to realise what a perfect opportunity this would have been to showcase both Australia other than the clichés shown to OS tourists and to showcase our diverse culture.

Lol so a corrupt FIFA had nothing to do with it all of a sudden? Someone from FIFA came out and said that Australia would make them the least money out of all the possible host countries. As soon as that was announced I knew Australia had lost the bid. If you're too thick to realise that the WC not coming to Australia was all the FIFA, then by all means continue to blame the Australian public if that makes you feel better.

Telling FIFA to **** off should be something even soccer fans do.

lol so one series is an indication of how popular the sport is? **** you're a flog. 7mates AFL ratings in Shitney smash the Gem ratings for nRL in Melbourne EVERY WEEK. That's EVERY ******* WEEK mate. Sometimes the Gem ratings are so low in Adelaide and Perth that they actually register as zero (yes that is irrelevant for Melbourne's nRL ratings but I thought it was a humorous statistic.

And here's me think that the latest ratings would given the best indication of the state of each game in their respective "non-heartlands. You just can't seem to accept ratings when it doesn't match your agenda can you Stewie?

Again the bid was doomed from the start once the AFL media started its crusade against it.

You can throw figures around here and there and there have been events in this country which have seen tax payers money wasted, perfect example the ****en F1 in Melbourne which has been losing money for years BUT because it doesnt directly effect the AFL at all most melbourne people couldn't be ****** mounting a strong campaign to get it removed nor does the herald sun make sure to print a negative article about it as they did with the wc bid.

FFS how do you feel that your tax money goes to one individual, Bernie Ecclestone, each year? Why arnt you ranting about it on your blog?

Because it poses no threat to your beloved AFL, thats why..but your taxes are going into some rich pricks pocket instead.

Plus the AFL could have used the four weeks to ****en showcase the game to the world.

grrr you idiots in melbourne are just ****** up in the head.

"Hey Victorians gimme your tax money sicne you dont want it LOLZ!!"

Actually, there is plenty of negativity in Melbourne towards the Grand Prix and the money it loses, happens pretty much every year.

Lol so a corrupt FIFA had nothing to do with it all of a sudden? Someone from FIFA came out and said that Australia would make them the least money out of all the possible host countries. As soon as that was announced I knew Australia had lost the big. If you're too thick to realise that the WC not coming to Australia was all the FIFA, then by all means continue to blame the Australian public if that makes you feel better.

^^This. Surely the fact that the sporting superpower that is Qatar eventually won is enough evidence that the bids weren't assessed on merit.

Back on the subject of Roy Masters - anyone been watching John Clarke's Sporting Nation on ABC sunday nights?

Roy was one of those interviewed for the program. Nearly all of his quotes in last week's show were some kind of comparison between AFL and NRL. Even talking about racism in sport he was bagging the AFL and promoting league. Everyone else interviewd was just talking about their own sport and their experience growing up and playing, not mentioning or comparing to other sports. He really comes across as having a massive chip on his shoulder.
Yep, did see that. What an absolute tosser. Bitter old man. "Everyone credits the AFL for dealing with racism, but the fact is the Rugby League dealt with it 15 years earlier..."

Good series by the way.

And here's me think that the latest ratings would given the best indication of the state of each game in their respective "non-heartlands. You just can't seem to accept ratings when it doesn't match your agenda can you Stewie?
The latest ratings sees the AFL on 7mate once again destroy the Gem nRL ratings. I like your logic as now the AFL wins for the rest of the season (which it does in real logic but it's good to see you admit it)

The ******* idiot doesn't realise that the same thing happens at Melbourne pubs for AFL footy matches :oops:

I've seen footy in pubs in both ( lots more too) cities Stewie, what about you?

The suburban NRL grounds are very basic, so unlike watching a game under the roof or at the G, will always get less bums on seats - not an excuse, just a reality.
Was amazed the number of people camped in bars at the G watching Collingwood v the Eagles a week or so back. Would you claim these people as TV ratings or attendees?

I've seen footy in pubs in both ( lots more too) cities Stewie, what about you?

The suburban NRL grounds are very basic, so unlike watching a game under the roof or at the G, will always get less bums on seats - not an excuse, just a reality.
Was amazed the number of people camped in bars at the G watching Collingwood v the Eagles a week or so back. Would you claim these people as TV ratings or attendees?
The nRL has suburban grounds because that's all they need. This is proven through an empty ANZ Stadium each week with 65,000 spare seats. The AFL outgrew suburban grounds in the 80's and 90's, when will the nRL?

In fact, I'd say around half the clubs outgrew their suburban grounds by the mid 70s.

Even Footscray, in 1974, managed a home attendance of 21,000 - and anything over 20,000 at the Western oval was pretty full (although you could squash in 30,000 if you tried hard enough).

This was a time when many bought tickets that the gate and stood on the outer, and for the most part, conditions were not conducive to families and females, like they are these days (despite that, families and females were always a common sight, but obviously more would attend with better facilities).

And that's where the NRL misses out, being a game primarily for boof headed blokes - not too many families and females, then, now, or ever.

This was a time when many bought tickets that the gate and stood on the outer, and for the most part, conditions were not conducive to families and females, like they are these days (despite that, families and females were always a common sight, but obviously more would attend with better facilities).

And that's where the NRL misses out, being a game primarily for boof headed blokes - not too many families and females, then, now, or ever.
Roughly 50% of AFL fans are female, the highest percentage of any football code in Australia. Does anyone know what the percentage is for the nRL? No doubt it will be much lower.

that sword has two edges.
1 - the afl has marketed the game well to woman.
2 - Afl is a womans game.

Either way its not something I would flog.

If it gets you 75k at the MCG on a Friday night, 7+ million attendances per season and 690,000 members across all 18 clubs - I'll take it.

Afterall, women and children do reside in Greater Western Sydney.

I like going to the footy with the wife and kids, and would do that any day over standing with the drunken boof heads at a league game.

So you wouldn't want to boast about the nRL being marketed well to women? I sense a sexist nRL fan, but I'm not surprised.

If it gets you 75k at the MCG on a Friday night, 7+ million attendances per season and 690,000 members across all 18 clubs - I'll take it.

I like going to the footy with the wife and kids, and would do that any day over standing with the drunken boof heads at a league game.
Exactly, that's the AFL's strategy. Win over the mother and you win over the family.

Females control 80% of household spending ( not in my household of course) so tv love a female audience.

In Sydney we don't do live games. As much as AFL fans love to hang on to their "we have massive live crowds" when it comes to the code on TV in Sydney it barely registers. NRl on TV is another matter. You wont find people at games but in most RSL and Leagues clubs on a friday and sat night you will see packed houses with fans in their clubs colours...watching it on the big screen while drinking cheap piss and eating quality bistro food ( i say quality compared to the rubbish at footy games) and in warmth.

Thats how we roll in an international city.

And 38k for two teams in a city of 4 million..is well nothing.

Bulls$%t

Sydney pubs/clubs/RSL are definitely not packed. I have yet to go have a meal anywhere on a regular rugby league night and see it 'packed'. I mostly frequent clubs/bars in and around Balmain, Surry Hills, the city centre, and occasionally Parramatta.
The most popular for league I have seen would be Three Monkeys where all the seats are taken (not packed though) ... and they dont even have league on every weekend.

In Melbourne (and occasionally now in Sydney as football grows), girls talk about the latest match and are genuinely interested in the results.

People saying Sydney is a place where all codes are embraced ... you're having a laugh. Brisbane is by far the most embracing of all sports. But Melbourne is still easily the sports capital shown by crowds and TV ratings for major sporting events.

So you wouldn't want to boast about the nRL being marketed well to women? I sense a sexist nRL fan, but I'm not surprised.
Exactly, that's the AFL's strategy. Win over the mother and you win over the family.
Females control 80% of household spending ( not in my household of course) so tv love a female audience.
No wonder footy's as popular as it is. All of you come across as women with those posts.