List Mgmt. The Ruck Situation

• Thread starter Thread starter Kram

Also supporters focus is on Clark putting in weak efforts in marking situations. Sorry Salim, but I agree with everyone here.
Focus on his tap work. That long tap to Langdon who didn't break stride and snapped a goal was as much Clark as it was Langdon.
He gave our mids first use often. Subi only won it by stripping our opponents or reading his hit outs.

That's how Subi got back into the game and got within 9 points in the 3rd quarter. They just read his taps and won clearance after clearance. Kyle Horsley almost dragged his side over the line, so credit where credit is due.

When we recruit someone better than Clark - that's when we would think of letting him go.

This is basically it for mine.

Clark is 2nd best at the club now. So bye bye Griffin and Hannath.

If Clark goes via trade and we keep Griffin on as back up. So be it, but I won't want to hear complaints when Griffin can't compete either. He is definitely a ring below Clark right now.

If we get Lobb then we can get rid of all the rucks except Sandi, but Lobb won't be our future ruck. We'd still need to develop one or bring one in after Sandi.

Clarke was beaten yesterday IMO. He mayve got a lot of hit outs but so he should've and the percentage that were to our advantage was low. In regards to his marking around the ground he was hopeless, which was a shame because the previous two games he was fantastic in that area.

He's definitely our number two ruckman on our list though.

But the more troubling thing for me was the form of Apeness. I've always pushed his barrow and hoped that he'd become a quality ruck/forward for us at AFL level and I'm not totally off that, but by geez he'd have to lift enormously. Let's hope he gets a good fair crack at preseason and can build his fitness and mobility and work overtime on his kicking at goal because if he doesn't come up and we lose Clarke we are deep, deep shit.

Clarke was beaten yesterday IMO. He mayve got a lot of hit outs but so he should've and the percentage that were to our advantage was low. In regards to his marking around the ground he was hopeless, which was a shame because the previous two games he was fantastic in that area.

He's definitely our number two ruckman on our list though.

But the more troubling thing for me was the form of Apeness. I've always pushed his barrow and hoped that he'd become a quality ruck/forward for us at AFL level and I'm not totally off that, but by geez he'd have to lift enormously. Let's hope he gets a good fair crack at preseason and can build his fitness and mobility and work overtime on his kicking at goal because if he doesn't come up and we lose Clarke we are deep, deep shit.

Clark beaten? Am I taking crazy pills?
In the ruck? Not a chance in hell was he beaten.
Around the ground? Maybe. I can't even remember who Subi's ruck was.
Beaten? Err wrong.

Also supporters focus is on Clark putting in weak efforts in marking situations. Sorry Salim, but I agree with everyone here.
Focus on his tap work. That long tap to Langdon who didn't break stride and snapped a goal was as much Clark as it was Langdon.
He gave our mids first use often. Subi only won it by stripping our opponents or reading his hit outs.

I thought you were agreeing with me. I said in a previous post he is not bash and crash. His job is winning the hit outs and thats what he did. 58 contested hit outs in 120 minutes of footy is not a bad days work. Someone on here suggested because he doesn't kick 2 to 3 goals a game he is not doing his job. Totally unrealistic, a ruck man kicking 60 odd goals a year is quadruple Brownlow material.

I was 98% agreeing with you. But agree with all in that he doesn't provide a contest. I already stated that but some of his high ball marking efforts are not even WAFL standard.
I'd back myself to mark a ball over him.

I was 98% agreeing with you. But agree with all in that he doesn't provide a contest. I already stated that but some of his high ball marking efforts are not even WAFL standard.
I'd back myself to mark a ball over him.

Not a great day for contested marks yesterday for some reason. Apeness ,Griff, Clark, Shepherd all missing in that area.

Clark beaten? Am I taking crazy pills?
In the ruck? Not a chance in hell was he beaten.
Around the ground? Maybe. I can't even remember who Subi's ruck was.
Beaten? Err wrong.

Why aren't you taking his around the ground work into consideration? He was killed around the ground. Killed. He's not just there to ruck. On the day, for the whole game he was beaten, and you don't even know who his opponent was but you're making a call on it telling me I'm wrong. Have a look at the whole game mate, not just one player and only one aspect of his game.

FYI, his opponent was Delahunty who had 26 disposals, 6 marks, 4 tackles, 3 inside 50's and 21 hit outs. Clarke had 10 disposals, ZERO marks, zero inside 50's, 4 tackles and 56 hit outs.

Why aren't you taking his around the ground work into consideration? He was killed around the ground. Killed. He's not just there to ruck. On the day, for the whole game he was beaten, and you don't even know who his opponent was but you're making a call on it telling me I'm wrong. Have a look at the whole game mate, not just one player and only one aspect of his game.

FYI, his opponent was Delahunty who had 26 disposals, 6 marks, 4 tackles, 3 inside 50's and 21 hit outs. Clarke had 10 disposals, ZERO marks, zero inside 50's, 4 tackles and 56 hit outs.

So you're telling me Clarke had 30 more hitouts? Ok thanks for clearing up what I said.
I knew who his opponent was. Was more a case of didn't notice him, but thanks for pointing out his stats. You'd have thought I'd have noticed him more.
I guess Peel have a midfield that doesn't rely on Clarke having to get touches.

Could you provide the hitouts to advantage stat please. That's fairly important as a ruckman. I recall it being 18-3 on the TV at one stage.

What's that worth in disposals?

I was at the game yesterday and can't recall a soft moment from Clark. Clark has played his heart out over the finals and has been the dominant ruck man and one of the reasons for Peels finals success. I really can't think of what more he could have done. His job is to win hit outs and give the mids a fighting chance. The amount of ball the mids got wasn't a lucky fluke.
Against WAFL level ruck men. This is a different level and Clarke struggles in the big league

ApeNess is not the messiah. But he is a very naughty boy. His aggression is great but I don't think he has the skill set for afl. I hope I'm wrong.

Maybe we should pick up this Delahunty bloke. Apparently kills it around the ground. KILLS IT.
Certainly killed it around the ground compared to Clarke. As pointed out in the stats. No need to be so obnoxious when someone calls you out. Zac dominated the hitouts, De la Hunty dominated in almost all other stats.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

ApeNess is not the messiah. But he is a very naughty boy. His aggression is great but I don't think he has the skill set for afl. I hope I'm wrong.
Unfairly I had zero faith in Apeness at the start of this season. Some of his goal kicking had looked woeful, his ability to get around ground lacking and his fitness expectedly well below par.

His last two games have been very poor but I have more hope in him now then I did at the start of the season.. why.. because you can see the hunger. He has shown some impressive marking ability, crashed packs bringing the ball to the ground and laid out flogs like Goddard.

A full preseason working on his fitness, goal kicking and ruckwork will do wonders for him. He's got a long way to go before he hits his ceiling.

However still stand by my call that Tabs will average more goals than Ape next year.

Certainly killed it around the ground compared to Clarke. As pointed out in the stats. No need to be so obnoxious when someone calls you out. Zac dominated the hitouts, De la Hunty dominated in almost all other stats.

No one called anyone out. Read what I wrote. Clark wins taps.
If you want to argue there's more to AFL then great. I didn't disagree, he basically pointed out what I had already shared.
Mind you Delahunty should win the ball. He's 194cm. That's nearly midfield height.

If we don't care about genuine rucks we could play a couple of Apeness types and hope they offer much more around the ground.

Clark is simply a ruckman and yet we want to get rid of him to find a ruckman?

Like I said if Delahunty dominated I missed it. So depends what you value.

Clark has sadly always been hammered on his ability to compete around the ground.

For me, he's constantly been played incorrectly.

He is a tap ruckman and a mobile around the ground player that should be used as a link up player.

He's never been a crash the packs, contested marking, swing forward and kick goals type. Yet supporters keep banging on about him being weak for not being able to do the things blind freddy can see isn't his thing.

It would be like... oh I don't know... putting Barlow at half forward and expecting him to play like a half forward.
He was sort of heading in a tall wingman direction for a while but that sort of disappeared when he lost a fair bit of athleticism/pace from injuries imo.

No one called anyone out. Read what I wrote. Clark wins taps.
If you want to argue there's more to AFL then great. I didn't disagree, he basically pointed out what I had already shared.
Mind you Delahunty should win the ball. He's 194cm. That's nearly midfield height.

If we don't care about genuine rucks we could play a couple of Apeness types and hope they offer much more around the ground.

Clark is simply a ruckman and yet we want to get rid of him to find a ruckman?

Like I said if Delahunty dominated I missed it. So depends what you value.
He didn't start all the hyperbole. You and your crazy pills did. He had a point. Like you stated, he obviously rated around the ground stats over hitouts.

Unfairly I had zero faith in Apeness at the start of this season. Some of his goal kicking had looked woeful, his ability to get around ground lacking and his fitness expectedly well below par.

His last two games have been very poor but I have more hope in him now then I did at the start of the season.. why.. because you can see the hunger. He has shown some impressive marking ability, crashed packs bringing the ball to the ground and laid out flogs like Goddard.

A full preseason working on his fitness, goal kicking and ruckwork will do wonders for him. He's got a long way to go before he hits his ceiling.

However still stand by my call that Tabs will average more goals than Ape next year.

I think all these points in relation to Ape and Tabs means one thing to me, don't underestimate how desperate we will be to get McCarthy next year even if we have to give up more than what appears to be the consensus around here. Yes GWS would be campaigners for threatening to make him sit out another year but never have we seen a more AFL privileged club who wouldn't blink at doing it. It is rediculously hard dealing with a club that has 6-7 picks in the top 30 each year and does not need what you are offering.

Playing this position most of my footy life I've been a fan of dominant rucks - up until this year.
For mine, the ruck's biggest asset now should be his ability to take a contested grab. If he can be mobile enough to provide this outlet a few times a game then all the better.
A tap to advantage ( or even 5 ) versus a clinch contested mark coming out of defense as an outlet or deep forward for mine far outweighs benefits of some close tap work.

Clark is better than that. No shame in not recognising that.;) If he goes onto the market there will be a stampede to sign him up.
Clarke knee f lare up yesterday compare to his last two match vs east perth and south freo , hr is struggle with his run .