The Run Home 2025 - Project Your Optimism or Pessimism Here

Why does everyone think we'll play GWS?

Would GC prefer to play away in Perth or Western Sydney? I reckon they'll fancy themselves against GWS.

GC just need to win by under 5 goals to stay below us and keep us in 7th.
You'd think GC will pump Essendon's VFL side into next year. But yeah you raise a decent point. They could tactically try to forge a more desirable result

Starting to think those late goals Melb kicked are an unlikely blessing in disguise now

If theres a silver lining I feel like we've indiscriminantly given ourselves an unlikely rails run.

We'd be confident of getting past GWS away, then taking down Coll in a semi.

Win that and it’s the Cats at the G in a prelim. We're on the right side of the draw for sure.
I took a look at the finals predictor before and this run seems the most likely. Although tonight’s result wasn’t ideal, if we hit our straps in finals then we can’t complain with majority MCG games.

Out of form and injury riddled GWS and an out of form Pies is as good as you could hope for.

Why does everyone think we'll play GWS?

Would GC prefer to play away in Perth or Western Sydney? I reckon they'll fancy themselves against GWS.

GC just need to win by under 5 goals to stay below us and keep us in 7th.

I think they'd want to go in with some form after their shocker against Port.

Remember also that the Giants torched the Suns only a week ago so probably wouldn’t seem like an appealing match up for them.

I reckon the mindset for them v the Bombers will be do everything possible to ensure a maiden finals appearance and if that means going for the jugular when on top that’s what they’ll try to do.

Everything about Dimma’s frustrated demeanour at the press conference after the Port game, ‘well if they can’t respond to the carrot of making history for the club, a finals debut…’ suggests they won’t be playing games with the margin.

Regrettably I do not see us winning away in a final. Every real test this season has been a failure. We have beaten an out of form Collingwood who almost let go of a top four finish against Melbourne, who we beat easily but didn’t pump. This has been our only good win for the season (Collingwood)

I still don’t understand why so many believe we are a shoe in against GWS.

Tassie games don’t count. Most clubs can’t handle the conditions there. They are always scrappy and ugly.

I truly hope I am wrong, as I hate seeing us lose games I know we are capable of winning. Unfortunately however, we just seem to constantly bitch out mentally when it matters.

The final siren in Sydney when we lose by an agonising amount, should provide the impetus for a 2026 season of optimism. This season has been a coulda woulda shoulda year, with no real development or new bristling talent discovered.

A grade midfielders needed desperately, which should result in a top four finish next season, if Will Day gets his body right. The story of season 2025 is how poorly we executed Day’s return. Brought back so early unnecessarily, which destroyed our ability to compete against the stand outs.

KOLOKOTRONIS

If theres a silver lining I feel like we've indiscriminantly given ourselves an unlikely rails run.

We'd be confident of getting past GWS away, then taking down Coll in a semi.

Win that and its the Cats at the G in a prelim. We're on the right side of the draw for sure.
This.

The GWS away game will be our sternest test.

Regrettably I do not see us winning away in a final. Every real test this season has been a failure. We have beaten an out of form Collingwood who almost let go of a top four finish against Melbourne, who we beat easily but didn’t pump. This has been our only good win for the season (Collingwood)

Tassie games don’t count. Most clubs can’t handle the conditions there. They are always scrappy and ugly.

I truly hope I am wrong, as I hate seeing us lose games I know we are capable of winning. Unfortunately however, we just seem to constantly bitch out mentally when it matters.

The final siren in Sydney when we lose by an agonising amount, should provide the impetus for a 2026 season of optimism. This season has been a coulda woulda shoulda year, with no real development or new bristling talent discovered.

A grade midfielders needed desperately, which should result in a top four finish next season, if Will Day gets his body right. The story of season 2025 is how poorly we executed Day’s return. Brought back so early unnecessarily, which destroyed our ability to compete against the stand outs.

KOLOKOTRONIS
Well, us beating the Bulldogs at Marvel is the reason we’re playing finals and the Dogs are going to miss, so I disagree the Collingwood win is our only good win for the season.

But yes, there is clearly scope for improvement, as we’re not yet the finished article.

Tough loss but we are in the finals, and that looked very unlikely at most stages throughout the latter part of the year.With the GWS our likely opponents on there home deck there will be no better stage to roll out hokball for the first time this year. Lets not let the fear of losing outweigh the excitement of winning. Get up and about hawks fans,finals second year in a row.Our season starts now !

Looked like a hamstring or quad sort of niggle.

Was always going to happen and I know some Hawks supporters think he is a tease but I hope the kid gets a full preseason under his belt and gets a good run at it.
It was just a corkie I think. People shut me down, but this season for him is just getting back on the park, next year we can expect him to have the full pre-season and build form but it's tough to perform at in high pressure games and finals (which he's rarely played in his career) after barely playing for 2 seasons.

Looked like a hamstring or quad sort of niggle.

Was always going to happen and I know some Hawks supporters think he is a tease but I hope the kid gets a full preseason under his belt and gets a good run at it.
It was just a cork. Was a bad one tho I think, could see the bleed when he was on the bench. Has heaps of time to get ready.

KOLOKOTRONIS
Hawthorns Sydney Showgrounds record is crap but the whole “conditions” thing is irrelevant.

Sydney Showgrounds is a cow paddock, and the conditions are dreadful. Same for the windy shit game Hawthorn played GWS in Tassie with.

Do the Suns play it safe for a vanilla game against GWS or look for the full experience with a raging Freo crowd? Reckon the Freo crowd will be worth a lot more with respect to gaining finals experience. Prefer Hawthorn to be sent to Perth myself - better ground and a real hostile vibe. Love it. See what Wednesday brings.

Imagine winning that and getting another crack at the Lions. Jesus

I'm not disappointed in losing last night because Brissy are a better team than us.
But I don't think GWS are. Imo, we can beat them, even at the cow paddock.

The Run Home 2025 - Project Your Optimism or Pessimism Here