2nds The SANFL Thread

Awesome game from Mitch there and great to see him kicking the ball. Has the potential to be a real Ricciuto/Hodge/Rich style hardnut inside mid who can then go on the outside and hoof the ball a country mile making mince meat of modern day zones. Showed at U18 level that he could really dominate games, but struggled under Basset at senior level. Good signs from the youngster, I also hear that he has matured a lot over the past year, which might have had a lot to do with his issues last year.

Good to see Dowdell following in the path of all our other ruckman under Doc Clark, gun tap ruckman, but don't expect them to actually find the footy...

Nice to see Osborn get amongst the goals at league level, by the looks centrals are looking to use him in the 2nd ruck/KPF position which is idea for us, as realistically he's never going to overtake Jacobs as #1 ruck, but with his apparent athleticism he could develop into a rather handy 2nd ruck/KPF.

Apparently a bit of a nothing game out at Alberton. A game of "thirds" where the highest disposal winner on the ground has 12 touches. Lyons leading disposal winner for Glenelg with 10 :eek: Oh and Glenelg kicked 1 goal...

Nice to see that Atkins has adapted to SANFL football pretty quickly, 18 touches this early on from one so slight is quite promising.

Question for the mods: Wasn't there a BF rule that quotes should not be altered?

Bit late in responding to this sorry, but my understanding is that's more of a Bay 13 rule (a bit like there is a rule there about not linking to team board threads).

If it's done in an abusive fashion we might look at it, otherwise if it's just a bit of banter, play on.

Delighted to hear Osborne is already playing league footy :thumbsu: That's a really good sign considering he hasn't played footy at any level for over five years.

Grigg will be a very interesting one. I assume he's still at Norwood? Hopefully the hard line Bassett has taken with him really pays off.
Bassett has mentioned Grigg a few times to cover the loss of Norwoods mids so he will get plenty of opportunity.

Bit late in responding to this sorry, but my understanding is that's more of a Bay 13 rule (a bit like there is a rule there about not linking to team board threads).

If it's done in an abusive fashion we might look at it, otherwise if it's just a bit of banter, play on.

I guess *PAF would know all about bay 13 rules.

Nick Joyce - 1 handball

Did he get injured or little game time? Is it likely that he'll be still on the list next season?

Rutten Johncock Callinan are the obvious ones for mine.
Joyce would be fighting Tambling and Smack i reckon to stay on.

Smack as a trade.

Look out for Rory Atkins at Sturt.

The boy can seriously play and will play AFL this year. :thumbsu:

Liked the look of him in the little bit of exposure he got in that trial v Freo. Looked immediately comfortable at the level.

I went to Prospect for the last 3 quarters of the North v Eagles game but truthfully wasn't watching that closely so I won't bother reporting too much. Luke Thompson was playing on Lewis Johnston and generally seemed to have the better of him in the actual contests between them. Johnston's one goal was a perfect delivery on the lead so Thompson had no chance really. The shot was about 45 out on a 45 degree angle into a tricky breeze. Two of the three points were set shots at that same end into the breeze. One was about 35 out from the boundary line, the other from outside 50 on a slight angle. Didn't see the third point.

Didn't notice Thompson do heaps himself, except at one stage there was incident behind play which left a North player on the ground and Thompson was in the vicinity. Greg Gallman came in and remonstrated with Thompson so I assume he did something. I would have thought the obvious answer for Thompson was "how's your AFL career going mate?"

CEY played mainly in defence and again, wasn't watching that closely, but he seemed to lose a few contests that I would expect him to win. From what I saw, he was disappointing given the pre-season performances he had with the Crows.

Saw Sam Siggins at the game, he is shorter than I thought. Seriously skinny kid, but he does actually have pretty thick legs so he should have or be able to develop decent core strength.

Not Crows related, but saw Jimmy Toumpas there as well. He was giving the time of day to any old punter who approached him (and there were plenty), very impressive.

Question for the mods: Wasn't there a BF rule that quotes should not be altered?
I don't have a problem with it where the quoter makes it clear that the quote has been edited/changed/altered.

If a quote were changed, without notification, for the purposes of discrediting someone, then we'd definitely take action against that sort of thing.

I don't have a problem with it where the quoter makes it clear that the quote has been edited/changed/altered.

If a quote were changed, without notification, for the purposes of discrediting Petrenko, then we'd definitely take action against that sort of thing.

efa - come at me brah :p

Round 1 this week.
be interesting to see how West come up against Centrals in their offseason from hell.

Port Norwood always a bit of fun.

2nds The SANFL Thread