2nds The SANFL Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Team DJ

I will say it again AFC
AFC there are a few players who would easily be good Rookies or AFL player's at WESTIES:thumbsu:
Tuck and Tippett would be the biggest chances, surely. Anyone else who might? I'd say Schmidt, but I think his opportunity has passed

North Adelaide have gotten off very lightly from the tribunal this week

http://www.sanfl.com.au/news/sanfl_news/2246/

North runner fined $300 for an altercation with Centrals Luke Barmby (Barmby copped a reprimand for his part in the altercation). Considering various North runners are consistently getting in trouble (one was seen abusing supporters on multiple occasions last season), I'm surprised the SANFL hasn't fined the club, or even warned them that the next altercation means they get no runner for a week.

Also, Thompson very lucky to only get one match for his off the ball hit on Travis Schiller in the Reserves, resulting in a suspected broken collarbone to Schiller.

The remaining penalty, 2 matches to Waldhutter, is fair enough IMO.

brucetiki or JP Sauce did you see what happened off the ball on the members wing in the last quarter that left #20 for North on the deck?

I think it's the incident that saw Waldhutter given two games for, but can only vaguely remember the incident.

Also hearing that James Lawton got 5 matches from the Sturt v Glenelg Reserves Elimination Final.

brucetiki or JP Sauce did you see what happened off the ball on the members wing in the last quarter that left #20 for North on the deck?

I didn't see it because it wasn't replayed on the big screen and happened WAY behind play. A friend's dad was sitting in the member's stand and saw it, very dog act apparently. Deliberate hit in the back of the head behind play.

Hey Crows fans, I asked this on the Port board and got some responses but I'd like to see if you guys have any more ideas.

I'm currently reading "Malcolm Blight" by Tim Watson and some other guy and I've only just started but I find the history of the SANFL to be fascinating. As I'm only 18, I've never really heard much about the SANFL (or the WAFL), it's always VFL VFL VFL.

Anyway, are there any books, biographies, etc on the history of the SANFL or past SANFL players that you would recommend? I'd really like to read more.

Thanks in advance. :)

Webb as a Rookie
I reckon Mangan is as good or better than Otten

The West lads I think would all account for themselves at AFL level are Beech,Keough and Tuck.
Mangan is a very good player has decent size and is hard but his pace worries me.

Tuck should be a priority,Boak would not have been allowed to run riot in the centre if Tuck had been there at the time. Pure old fashion footballer hard as nails but can actually hit a target with his kick.
Instant upgrade to any midfield with him there.

Tom Keough has so much potential but is a tad inconsistent at the moment. Has a large engine and there's something about his game that appeals to me.The one player in our team who could lift it up several levels.

Beech is just plain underrated. Good mark, great size for a half forward flanker, clever user of the ball and of late is being used as a bit of a swingman. This lad would upgrade any team IMO.

he makes up for his lack of speed with his brute strength. he's probably as strong as dangerfield. just an absolute monster. the teams lacking a clearance player should be all over him. don't think he would be a good fit for crows but for a melbourne/st kilda type team he would be perfect.

Hey Crows fans, I asked this on the Port board and got some responses but I'd like to see if you guys have any more ideas.

I'm currently reading "Malcolm Blight" by Tim Watson and some other guy and I've only just started but I find the history of the SANFL to be fascinating. As I'm only 18, I've never really heard much about the SANFL (or the WAFL), it's always VFL VFL VFL.

Anyway, are there any books, biographies, etc on the history of the SANFL or past SANFL players that you would recommend? I'd really like to read more.

Agars, Merv (1987). Bloods Sweat & Tears. West Adelaide Football Club

mj3zLght0bwWW_tQyq0tjIg.jpg

images

images

Any guesses on what pick range Tuck may go?

Bit wary of another slow, inside mid though.

Quite frankly wouldn't be fussed if we used a 3rd or 4th rounder on him, would be good back up for Thommo, especially if Lyons requests a trade home. Also, unlike most state league players he does have the genuine size and ability to play at AFL level if his heads right, he's shown this already.

I'd be similar with Mitch Thorp, could be the cheapish KPP depth we've been after.

Try "The master" the bob Hank story, a ripper.

Quite frankly wouldn't be fussed if we used a 3rd or 4th rounder on him, would be good back up for Thommo, especially if Lyons requests a trade home. Also, unlike most state league players he does have the genuine size and ability to play at AFL level if his heads right, he's shown this already.

I'd be similar with Mitch Thorp, could be the cheapish KPP depth we've been after.

Heard someone from the Tassie league say on the ABC this arvo Mitch Thorpe was B.O.G. in their Granny today as he has in most games this year and should seriously be on the radar of any AFL side looking for a readymade footballer, apparently he's matured significantly and is real keen to have another crack in the AFL.