Opinion The Scheduling Of An AFL Round (Start Times)

LordLucifer

Cranky Old Fart
Mar 20, 2002
Mosman Village
I was listening to Gerard Whately on SEN again talk about the overlapping of games and how frustrating it can be to turn over from the end of a close match to jump to the start of another match etc. Whilst I don't watch every match live, I can fully understand the interest in having them all as stand alone events as opposed to the old days when we had six games in Melbourne all commencing at 2:10pm on a Saturday. Back then, all matches normally finshed around 4:50pm too.

Taking that into account, I have always been of the view that there is a way to schedule an AFL round without having any of the games overlap or compete against each other and whilst it may make people come out with the stock standard sook-ups because "that doesn't suit me", I think this may be the best way to overcome the problem. It all also needs to be able to account for an extra game per round with Tassie coming into the competition and the distinct possiblity of Canberra joining too.

Another thing to consider when creating something different is to factor in the timezones in WA & SA which may make a couple of timeslots unworkable.

The biggest issue for me is the consistency of the start times, at present they are all over the place and chop & change on a whim and a prayer too. Having the same standard start times (on the hour instead of 10mins past or 20mins past) breeds familiarity & purpose plus provides local fans plenty of notice to plan their attendance at the games (i.e after work etc)

THURSDAY

1. 6:00pm (Vic only)

FRIDAY

2. 6:00pm (Vic, NSW, QLD, ACT & Tas only)

3. 9:00pm (WA only)

SATURDAY

4. 12:00noon (Vic, NSW, QLD, ACT & Tas only)

5. 3:00pm(all states)

6. 6:00pm (all states

7. 9.00pm (all states)

SUNDAY

8. 12:00noon (Vic, NSW, QLD, ACT & Tas only)

9. 3:00pm (all states)

10. 6:00pm (all states)

EDIT : times are on the eastern seaboard, not SA or WA.

Stemp Fester

Oct 30, 2012
PRS, Music Man, Mesa Boogie
Starting a match at 9pm is an absurd idea, particularly for Perth where the stadium has been built around people getting to the game via public transport. What parent would want to be getting their kids home at 1-2am?

parano1a

Mar 2, 2003
Melbourne Storm
The scheduling of timeslots is primarily to suit television broadcasters, not crowd attendances.

Channel 7 do not want Thursday or Friday night games to start at 6pm as it clashes with their news service.

LordLucifer

Cranky Old Fart
Mar 20, 2002
Mosman Village
Starting a match at 9pm is an absurd idea, particularly for Perth where the stadium has been built around people getting to the game via public transport. What parent would want to be getting their kids home at 1-2am?

9pm on the eastern seaboard, not in Perth !!

Mitchell Madness

Apr 17, 2006
???
Miami Dolphins(NFL)
People are watching less footy these days in general.
The only people the scheduling actually effects is the .1% who are either in the media (what a top notch job they do - not), and the elite who go to corporate functions multiple times per weekend

LordLucifer

Cranky Old Fart
Mar 20, 2002
Mosman Village
The scheduling of timeslots is primarily to suit television broadcasters, not crowd attendances.

Channel 7 do not want Thursday or Friday night games to start at 6pm as it clashes with their news service.

Agreed, the CH7 have way too much say in the scheduling.

The AFL should be putting out their schedule and tell all networks to bid on it as is. You can bet your bottom dollar they will move things around to accomodate games, its just that the AFL allow them too have an input into stuff when they shouldn't.

There are other networks who will want to broadcast footy matches, speak to them.,

JohnZ

Mar 10, 2016
LordLucifer I get wanting to maintain time slots at all times, but I think each day needs to have their own case to maximise attendance. I'd also shorten quarters so that games can get away every 2.5 hours. All times are AEST, so games in Perth are minus 2 hours.

Thursday
7pm

Friday
7pm
9.30pm (7.30pm in Perth, always played in Perth). This game isn't needed during bye weeks (I'd roll byes over a 9 week period), and is moved to Public Holidays on Weekdays. So each WA club would play about 5 each of these.

Saturday
2pm
4.30pm
7pm

Sunday
1pm
3.30pm
6pm. This game is moved to 7pm when on a public holiday eve.

The AFL need to get better at identifying public holidays and exploiting them. WA has a public holiday on Monday June 5th, so they should be playing a Sunday Night game there (5.30pm local / 7.30pm AEST). The Eagles are playing Collingwood at 4.35pm Saturday (2.35pm local) which also clashes with the WAFL. Stupid all around.

LordLucifer

Cranky Old Fart
Mar 20, 2002
Mosman Village
LordLucifer I get wanting to maintain time slots at all times, but I think each day needs to have their own case to maximise attendance. I'd also shorten quarters so that games can get away every 2.5 hours. All times are AEST, so games in Perth are minus 2 hours.

Thursday
7pm

Friday
7pm
9.30pm (7.30pm in Perth, always played in Perth). This game isn't needed during bye weeks (I'd roll byes over a 9 week period), and is moved to Public Holidays on Weekdays. So each WA club would play about 5 each of these.

Saturday
2pm
4.30pm
7pm

Sunday
1pm
3.30pm
6pm. This game is moved to 7pm when on a public holiday eve.

The AFL need to get better at identifying public holidays and exploiting them. WA has a public holiday on Monday June 5th, so they should be playing a Sunday Night game there (5.30pm local / 7.30pm AEST). The Eagles are playing Collingwood at 4.35pm Saturday (2.35pm local) which also clashes with the WAFL. Stupid all around.
I get where you are coming from Johnny but I'm deadset against shortening matches, it's the last thing we ever want to do.

Players are way fitter than in yesteryear plus there is four on the bench instead of two, we need to maintain the full 100-mins of gametime IMO, not decrease it.

In regards to utilising public holidays etc, I'm staggered that they haven't gone down this path already. Clearly, that public holiday in Perth is a no-brainer, you would get a full-house for a Sunday night if it was a WA club VS a big drawing club from the Eastern seaboard. In fact it could become an annual blockbuster feature, hell, my beloved Blues have a solid support base in the west, they should be taking up that idea.

LordLucifer

Cranky Old Fart
Mar 20, 2002
Mosman Village
People are watching less footy these days in general.
The only people the scheduling actually effects is the .1% who are either in the media (what a top notch job they do - not), and the elite who go to corporate functions multiple times per weekend

You are probably right there but we are making it harder for people to watch more games with the silly scheduling times. Standardise it and promote it and you never know what might happen.

Gather Round had followers of all clubs going to games, it can happen if you work smarter.

JPetro83

Sep 25, 2014
Sturt, Adel United & Leeds United
AFL need to get rid of the 3:20pm (EST) time slot. who cares if the game go straight into the news. its a terrible time slot. should be 2:10pm and have the "twilight" fox game start at 3:20pm. sundays are bad enough as it is.. dont need games going into the night.

parano1a

Mar 2, 2003
Melbourne Storm
AFL need to get rid of the 3:20pm (EST) time slot. who cares if the game go straight into the news. its a terrible time slot.
71,000 supporters at the MCG yesterday wouldn't agree... Seven pays billions for the rights and they very much care about the news lead in.

Walshawk

Mar 24, 2017
Blackburn
Box Hill Hawks
If you spread out the mid season byes over nine rounds, you can have Thursday night footy each week without five days breaks. Add in the public holiday games and you have half the rounds having eight games and half having nine (over Thu - Sun).
Where you have eight:
Thurs 7.10pm
Fri 7.25pm
Sat 12.30pm, 3.20pm, 6.10pm, 7.25pm
Sun 12.30pm, 3.20pm
So, the only crossover is the first half of the 7.25pm Sat game

If nine:
Thurs 7.10pm
Fri 7.25pm
Sat 12.30pm, 3.20pm, 6.10pm, 9pm (WA games)
Sun 12.30pm, 3.20pm, 4.40pm or 6.10pm (SA games)
So, the only crossover is the first half of the Sun 4.30pm game if there is No SA game on Sunday night

LordLucifer

Cranky Old Fart
Mar 20, 2002
Mosman Village
Some people are suggesting that this cannot be done because CH7 have a 6pm news service that cannot be compromised. Let me point this out to you, CH7 has more then just the one channel, so they can use 7two, 7mate, 7bravo or 7flix to broadcast games that are in the 6pm timeslot.

The other thing that should be done is for the AFL to carve up the games into three seperate packages and let the TV networks bid for each package. CH9 & CH10 would be quite interested, you never know, SBS might even throw their hat in the ring too.

Package 1
Thursday 6pm
Saturday 12noon
Saturday 9pm
Sunday 3pm
*Preliminary Final (2)
*Semi Final (2)
*National Draft

Package 2
Friday 6pm
Saturday 3pm
Sunday 6pm
*Elimination Final (1)
*Qualifying Final (2)
*Semi Final (1)
*Brownlow Medal

Package 3
Friday 9pm
Saturday 6pm
Sunday 12noon
*Elimination Final (1)
*Qualifying Final (1)
*Preliminary Final (1)
*Grand Final

LordLucifer

Cranky Old Fart
Mar 20, 2002
Mosman Village
If you spread out the mid season byes over nine rounds, you can have Thursday night footy each week without five days breaks. Add in the public holiday games and you have half the rounds having eight games and half having nine (over Thu - Sun).
Where you have eight:
Thurs 7.10pm
Fri 7.25pm
Sat 12.30pm, 3.20pm, 6.10pm, 7.25pm
Sun 12.30pm, 3.20pm
So, the only crossover is the first half of the 7.25pm Sat game

If nine:
Thurs 7.10pm
Fri 7.25pm
Sat 12.30pm, 3.20pm, 6.10pm, 9pm (WA games)
Sun 12.30pm, 3.20pm, 4.40pm or 6.10pm (SA games)
So, the only crossover is the first half of the Sun 4.30pm game if there is No SA game on Sunday night

Its a nice thought but once again, you are thinking like everyone has over the past 100-years. What I am strongly advocating is getting away from these oddball timeslots like 7:25pm.

Also, the aim of my plan is to eliminate crossovers altogether.

Added to that, what is the point of having a bye round staggered across nine weeks ??

If you are going to have a bye round, have it in the middle of the year for all clubs and that is when you schedule the mid-season trade period too.

Walshawk

Mar 24, 2017
Blackburn
Box Hill Hawks
Its a nice thought but once again, you are thinking like everyone has over the past 100-years. What I am strongly advocating is getting away from these oddball timeslots like 7:25pm.

Also, the aim of my plan is to eliminate crossovers altogether.

Added to that, what is the point of having a bye round staggered across nine weeks ??

If you are going to have a bye round, have it in the middle of the year for all clubs and that is when you schedule the mid-season trade period too.
What is odd about 7.25pm? Everything starts at odd times now. The TV news is at 5.59pm, show can start at 8.47pm. I don’t know anyone that finds that difficult.

For 100 years every game was 2pm.

LordLucifer

Cranky Old Fart
Mar 20, 2002
Mosman Village
What is odd about 7.25pm? Everything starts at odd times now. The TV news is at 5.59pm, show can start at 8.47pm. I don’t know anyone that finds that difficult.

For 100 years every game was 2pm.

Just because other events & media outlets have weirdo operating times, doesn't mean the AFL should follow suit though, in fact I see it as a great opportunity to capitalise on their position.

And for the record, it was 2:10pm but I agree with you in principle, having match start on the full hour is an easy way for patrons to remember them.

Walshawk

Mar 24, 2017
Blackburn
Box Hill Hawks
Just because other events & media outlets have weirdo operating times, doesn't mean the AFL should follow suit though, in fact I see it as a great opportunity to capitalise on their position.

And for the record, it was 2:10pm but I agree with you in principle, having match start on the full hour is an easy way for patrons to remember them.
Some people are suggesting that this cannot be done because CH7 have a 6pm news service that cannot be compromised. Let me point this out to you, CH7 has more then just the one channel, so they can use 7two, 7mate, 7bravo or 7flix to broadcast games that are in the 6pm timeslot.

The other thing that should be done is for the AFL to carve up the games into three seperate packages and let the TV networks bid for each package. CH9 & CH10 would be quite interested, you never know, SBS might even throw their hat in the ring too.

Package 1
Thursday 6pm
Saturday 12noon
Saturday 9pm
Sunday 3pm
*Preliminary Final (2)
*Semi Final (2)
*National Draft

Package 2
Friday 6pm
Saturday 3pm
Sunday 6pm
*Elimination Final (1)
*Qualifying Final (2)
*Semi Final (1)
*Brownlow Medal

Package 3
Friday 9pm
Saturday 6pm
Sunday 12noon
*Elimination Final (1)
*Qualifying Final (1)
*Preliminary Final (1)
*Grand Final
Ratings are still considerable higher when on the main channel.

Also, rights would be diminished if you split them up. Networks always pay more for exclusivity.

Underarm

Feb 13, 2011

Package 1
Thursday 6pm
Saturday 12noon
Saturday 9pm
Sunday 3pm
*Preliminary Final (2)
*Semi Final (2)
*National Draft

Package 2
Friday 6pm
Saturday 3pm
Sunday 6pm
*Elimination Final (1)
*Qualifying Final (2)
*Semi Final (1)
*Brownlow Medal

Package 3
Friday 9pm
Saturday 6pm
Sunday 12noon
*Elimination Final (1)
*Qualifying Final (1)
*Preliminary Final (1)
*Grand Final
So you want to start at a timeslot that is bad for fans, and bad for Advertisers?

Selling to 1 channel has far greater benefits than selling to 3. You save money on advertising, and commentator costs and a whole bunch of other things I can't think of. Every time the rights deal gets put back up they offer it to bids from multiple channels, but the 1 channel strategy is always the most lucrative.

LordLucifer

Cranky Old Fart
Mar 20, 2002
Mosman Village
So you want to start at a timeslot that is bad for fans, and bad for Advertisers?

Selling to 1 channel has far greater benefits than selling to 3. You save money on advertising, and commentator costs and a whole bunch of other things I can't think of. Every time the rights deal gets put back up they offer it to bids from multiple channels, but the 1 channel strategy is always the most lucrative.
One channel can bid for all three packages, there is nothing stopping them.

Elixuh

See you on the 9th green at 9
Oct 27, 2011
Nerang train station
Brisbane Lions
6pm on Thur and Fri is no good. Are you assuming most people finish work at like 3 or 4pm? Not the case.

12pm starts would be horrendous early in the season in Qld. It is still 30+ deg up here.

---

Thur, Fri and Sat should be 7pm starts