Radio The SEN Thread 10

bit of both tbh. listened more to libbi gorr though. was quite enjoyable and relaxing before 18 holes.
You are s******* me.

I would say that a job for anyone on here , to work any shift at Sen , would be there for the taking.

So how come nobody on here has given them a call ?
I would, but I'm scared of all the s*** I'd get from bedford!

I realize that not every person is going to love each presenter , but if some had their way , each shifts hosts would be tossed out for some reason or other.

But if you genuinely know that you will do a better job of informing all of us about "all sports" , then what are you waiting for?
An interesting question you've posed, I given it some consideration. So, I'll give you all an honest opinion of how I'd go. The following opinions are on the assumption that I would be confident enough to speak on radio and not sound like I have cerebral palsy.

MG - Filling in for Maher? Not sure if I could maintain the enthusiam at that time of the morning for an extended period. Also, as much as I like Tim (Yes, that's right, I like Tim), I'm not sure we'd have good radio chemistry, since I'm not in footy circles or part of that media boys club ****. You get what I'm saying?

KB? I think he has a mentally demanding show. So many topics/variables are on his show, it would be hard to /feign/maintain interest in all of them the way he's able to. I like KB, but I listen to a fair share of Jon Faine, depending on the topic of each show, at the time. I also think with some of his takes, even he thinks it's BS, but he has a show to do. I also would not be able to pretend to be chums with Smith, Ralph and Denham.

Harf? I think it'd be a bit easier than KB's show. A weaker timeslot, more formulaic. Not sure how I'd go with Robbo. Would like to think I'd get along with Cam great. The problem for me would be friday's. At 12:10 the show starts. At 12:25, I'd be up for assault charges.

TRH - Filling in for Allen? I cannot see myself getting along with Ox. So much so I'd think he'd think I was a massive flog as well. Ox likes golf, peternorth is the most appropriate choice.

Finey? Nah, I'd **** it up. You wouldn't like my version. But on those specific hours where they just talk **** to fill in the time (like wed 7pm), I'd like to think I could come up with a topic that's keep your attention for the hour.

Resident motorsport expert? I have seriously thought I could do this. I seriously think I could bring greater insight to what was going on and even make people who don't like it be able to handle it, to the point where bedford won't complain as much and peternorth won't automatically switch over to another station. However, there is one major stumbling block [DO NOT READ THE FOLLOWING IF YOU'RE A MOTOR BOARD REGULAR], my opinon of Mark Webber is such, that there's no way I'd be popular enough to keep my gig.

An interesting question you've posed, I given it some consideration. So, I'll give you all an honest opinion of how I'd go. The following opinions are on the assumption that I would be confident enough to speak on radio and not sound like I have cerebral palsy.

MG - Filling in for Maher? Not sure if I could maintain the enthusiam at that time of the morning for an extended period. Also, as much as I like Tim (Yes, that's right, I like Tim), I'm not sure we'd have good radio chemistry, since I'm not in footy circles or part of that media boys club ****. You get what I'm saying?

KB? I think he has a mentally demanding show. So many topics/variables are on his show, it would be hard to /feign/maintain interest in all of them the way he's able to. I like KB, but I listen to a fair share of Jon Faine, depending on the topic of each show, at the time. I also think with some of his takes, even he thinks it's BS, but he has a show to do. I also would not be able to pretend to be chums with Smith, Ralph and Denham.

Harf? I think it'd be a bit easier than KB's show. A weaker timeslot, more formulaic. Not sure how I'd go with Robbo. Would like to think I'd get along with Cam great. The problem for me would be friday's. At 12:10 the show starts. At 12:25, I'd be up for assault charges.

TRH - Filling in for Allen? I cannot see myself getting along with Ox. So much so I'd think he'd think I was a massive flog as well. Ox likes golf, peternorth is the most appropriate choice.

Finey? Nah, I'd **** it up. You wouldn't like my version. But on those specific hours where they just talk **** to fill in the time (like wed 7pm), I'd like to think I could come up with a topic that's keep your attention for the hour.

Resident motorsport expert? I have seriously thought I could do this. I seriously think I could bring greater insight to what was going on and even make people who don't like it be able to handle it, to the point where bedford won't complain as much and peternorth won't automatically switch over to another station. However, there is one major stumbling block [DO NOT READ THE FOLLOWING IF YOU'RE A MOTOR BOARD REGULAR], my opinon of Mark Webber is such, that there's no way I'd be popular enough to keep my gig.

a fairly interesting and good summary of your thoughts. i am impressed that i get 2 mentions. thank you.

problem sen faces is when its a slow afl news week.

KB used to be serious and mature about stuff, but now he's almost shock jockish.

I've barely listened all week. Been a combination of work (8pm-12 shift), Schibecci, and the lack of Darren Parkin over night. Is this the worst week in SEN history during the footy season? It's gotta be up there.

Hasn't been any serious news worthy topics either. Brock McLean posting something slightly defamatory on twitter has been the biggest issue - you know it's a slow news week when that's the case.

Nup, I'm pretty sure Schibeci ain't no journo or not nothin'; he's just some dude, like us. :D No joke, his previous job was either at an abattoir, cemetary, or something similarly ghoulish and requiring little skill and no qualifications. He mentioned it on air once. So, ya gotta wonder how a guy go can from a job like that to hosting a radio show. That wouldn't happen on 3aw in a million years. So what if he shouts a bit of really loud crap at the MCG? That hardly qualifies him to host hours of talk radio. The thought of someone like him getting a gig at 3aw or the ABC does me head in.

As people have suggested, I gather he'd work cheap, and he's probably a good bloke, so, he's half way there. Good luck to him for being resourceful, determined and durable, I guess.
One thing's for sure, he didn't get the gig on his looks. :

305038.jpg

SEN's problem from the start has been not being able to pay big bucks for great talent, so we get a bunch of no-names, such as the overnight guys and fill-in blokes -- and dare i mention Matt Thompson? :p . Even some of the guys that are now known were either unknown or untried when they started, such as Finey, Andrew Maher, Harford, Richo, Darcy (gone, of course) and Thommo. Any money they do have goes to the 'big' names, like Dermy, Whispy, "Kin-jee", Huddo (? :D Maybe not) and Wallsy.

Obviously, the commercial reality is that things won't change until the ratings improve, which could take years, especially based on how slowly they've increased (and/or plateaued) since the station's inception.

Nup, I'm pretty sure Schibeci ain't no journo or not nothin'; he's just some dude, like us. :D No joke, his previous job was either at an abattoir, cemetary, or something similarly ghoulish and requiring little skill and no qualifications. He mentioned it on air once. So, ya gotta wonder how a guy go can from a job like that to hosting a radio show. That wouldn't happen on 3aw in a million years. So what if he shouts a bit of really loud crap at the MCG? That hardly qualifies him to host hours of talk radio. The thought of someone like him getting a gig at 3aw or the ABC does me head in.

As people have suggested, I gather he'd work cheap, and he's probably a good bloke, so, he's half way there. Good luck to him for being resourceful, determined and durable, I guess.
One thing's for sure, he didn't get the gig on his looks. :

305038.jpg

SEN's problem from the start has been not being able to pay big bucks for great talent, so we get a bunch of no-names, such as the overnight guys and fill-in blokes -- and dare i mention Matt Thompson? :p . Even some of the guys that are now known were either unknown or untried when they started, such as Finey, Andrew Maher, Harford, Richo, Darcy (gone, of course) and Thommo. Any money they do have goes to the 'big' names, like Dermy, Whispy, "Kin-jee", Huddo (? :D Maybe not) and Wallsy.

Obviously, the commercial reality is that things won't change until the ratings improve, which could take years, especially based on how slowly they've increased (and/or plateaued) since the station's inception.

I think Sen as a station do a fantastic job , and no I dont work there.

Just think for a minute , it is a 24 hour sports station.

8 1/2 years on air is a great achievement for them , especially after the rough start that they had by nearly shutting down.

Melbourne is the only city in Australia to have a radio station soley dedicated to broadcasting/talking sport 24/7.

How did you get your 24 hour sports information before Sen started ?

Before Sen which of the other radio stations took your talkback call , any hour of the day , to have you say on any sporting issue that you had an opinion on ?

It really wouldnt matter who was on air , as each presenter is going to have their lovers or haters , out in the listening public.

Sen cannot afford to be just an AFL station as much as we all love it.

When they have shows dedicated to motorsport , golf , horse race calling , tennis , soccer , rugby league , netball , fishing , olympics , fitness , what do you suggest they do insted of these shows ... have football talkback instead ?

They have 168 hours a week to fill , every week and they need to have something on air for everyone , not just AFL fans.

Best to support Sen whilst it is here , because we will all be bleating if it were to fold like MTR did in March this year after only 2 years on air.

I've been looking for the 10th thread on radio station 3aw , 774abc , triple m etc here on Bigfooty but I'm yet to find it.

Lets hope we dont see a "Vale 1116 Sen" thread on Bigfooty any time soon.

All good points mate, the fact is that i love SEN and i have it on all day at work, but i don't want to listen to try hards like Schibeci. He might be a good bloke, but he is not who i want to listen to. In the 1st week of Harfs break, they had Thommo who is improving and i think he wanted to continue, but with Schibecci they only have to pay peanuts.

Can SEN please try and get better interviewees than a horrible wa*ker like Alec Stewart please? That was painful, and I thought it was the Aussies who were meant to be the bad ones.

I've been looking for the 10th thread on radio station 3aw
LOL!

I've considered starting one. My record of starting threads isn't good. Also, I get the impression that many BF'ers either don't listen to the ABC or don't care as much as they do for SEN

It would turn into the "Unofficial BigFooty complaints about Eddie McGuire, Luke Darcy, James Brayshaw and Billy Brownless thread."

Mario "Richmond membership microwaver" from Doncaster , must have been using two phones today , being the first talkback caller on both Sen then 3aw only minutes later , after Richmonds loss against Fremantle.

His Sen talkback spray at Richmond was slightly more hysterical than his 3aw one
He was on tonight after the Martin Connors sleeping tablet fiasco. He was rambling on about the players should be ashamed for demeaning the famous guernsey, and it was hysterical. This bloke has a split personality, as when they win he demeans the opposition and when they lose the world officially ends!! Ray from Werribee has similar issues

He was on tonight after the Martin Connors sleeping tablet fiasco. He was rambling on about the players should be ashamed for demeaning the famous guernsey, and it was hysterical. This bloke has a split personality, as when they win he demeans the opposition and when they lose the world officially ends!!

Mario ...... He mad at Richmond :mad:

http://audioboo.fm/boos/872730-04jul_senmario

Ray from Werribee has similar issues

Tom/Ray ...... He mad at Harf and Rohan :mad:

Issues such as his alter ego aka Tom from Werribee ringing in , instead of as Ray from Werribee , but at least Harf and Rohan gave him a $50.00 Sexyland voucher , because as harf said "sound's like you need a good time to me , you'll love it Tommy , it's going to be cool" :p :eek:

http://audioboo.fm/boos/872757-04jul_raytomsen

All Night Appetite broadcasting live from Pancake Parlour East Malvern, Warrigal Rd - midnight TONIGHT. 12-6am, Parko, Peaky, A-Rod & all your favourites. Get along and enjoy the show live.