Radio The SEN Thread 10

For the overnighters, what are everyone's thoughts on Shane Donoghue? I can not stand him, I find him frustrating to listen to. Maybe it's because I find myself disagreeing with 90% of what he has to say, but I just cringe every time he has an opinion about something. I was thinking he was only going to be around when Teo was on hols but it seems he'll be around for a while :(
Have only heard him a couple of times, and each time he has genuinely made my blood boil!....seems very opinionated and doesn't seem to want to hear another point of view.....and never mind if what he is saying is nowhere near the facts..:thumbsdown:
Shane-O Prize flog of the highest order. Always acting the hard man, and if I hear him go on about how "soft" the game's become, I'm gonna head down there with a baseball bat and bad attitude.
Good Lord the overnight Shane bloke is HORRENDOUS

I like to make sure that I give every new presenter a fair chance before writing them off but I have seriously come around to these points of view.

His relentless whinging about Tasmania is so ****ing irritating.

It's hard to take SEN seriously sometimes when they let halfwits like Peaky on air and comment on sports he has no idea what's so ever on.

Please just stick to footy, Peaky. You at least have some clue (still not much though) on it. When you start talking about sports like Cricket I feel like harming myself tbh. So very painful.

It's hard to take SEN seriously sometimes when they let halfwits like Peaky on air and comment on sports he has no idea what's so ever on.

Please just stick to footy, Peaky. You at least have some clue (still not much though) on it. When you start talking about sports like Cricket I feel like harming myself tbh. So very painful.
I didn't hear him tonight, but I completely agree.

He watches very little cricket and none that occurs outside Australia and then states a whole lot of things as 'facts' that he is basing purely on assumptions.

Very frustrating usually.

Hahaha epic Finey tonight.

Roosy pushed his buttons commentating during the saints loss and he has gone off the handle at a bloke calling him an amateur on the sms. Top shelf radio :thumbsu:

Hahaha epic Finey tonight.

Roosy pushed his buttons commentating during the saints loss and he has gone off the handle at a bloke calling him an amateur on the sms. Top shelf radio :thumbsu:

Finey called the SMSer a dope smoking dole bludger.

so thompson says he hates the word choking (after discussing adam scotts demise).

this is more reflective of the media than thommo, but i reckon opinions of those in the media change like the weather. you would think that thommo had in the past referred to port adelaide power football clubs propensity to lose unlosable games choking. if he never said it he would've at least thought it. but now he's taking 100% dedicated view to the contrary.

did scott choke, personally in my opinion he did but its not as if i hate the bloke thommo. he continues to say that it was more a failure to execute. well, that can apply to every action taking place on a sporting field at any second of the contest. choking is different.

so in summary, i believe the media change their views for political purposes, to protect mates or to look after self interests

Which is why I loved hearing Mike Clayton interviewed on The Run Home last night. Said something like "let's not dress this up, every way you look at it, it was a choke. A choke of monumental proportions". Another pearler was along the lines of "that may have been a tad harsh from Faldo saying that this will scar him for life, I don't think he's right. It will indeed scar him, and he will remember this forever, but it's up to him to see if he gets over it or not". WTF???

I love listening to old sportsmen with an opinion (as opposed to a recently retired "expert" that still has a chip on their shoulder), as they're usually full of these little moments of gold.

so thompson says he hates the word choking (after discussing adam scotts demise).

this is more reflective of the media than thommo, but i reckon opinions of those in the media change like the weather. you would think that thommo had in the past referred to port adelaide power football clubs propensity to lose unlosable games choking. if he never said it he would've at least thought it. but now he's taking 100% dedicated view to the contrary.

did scott choke, personally in my opinion he did but its not as if i hate the bloke thommo. he continues to say that it was more a failure to execute. well, that can apply to every action taking place on a sporting field at any second of the contest. choking is different.

so in summary, i believe the media change their views for political purposes, to protect mates or to look after self interests

It was cringeworthy radio, wasn't it? He could hardly have sounded less assured if he tried.

He genuinely seemed to think that Scott coming across as a good bloke and an Australian is relevant to whether or not Scott choked!

He also suggested that because some of Scott's putts missed by inches, as opposed to missing way short/long etc., it was not a choke. It's a pass/fail situation, you either get the job done or you do not. Some people deliver in clutch situations and some do not. Scott failed to deliver on this occasion, most likely because the pressure got to him and he choked. Just call it like it is!?

The problem for Thommo is that now he has made a rod for his own back. Will be interesting to see how faithful he is to his views on choking the next time the topic comes up.

It was cringeworthy radio, wasn't it? He could hardly have sounded less assured if he tried.

He genuinely seemed to think that Scott coming across as a good bloke and an Australian is relevant to whether or not Scott choked!

He also suggested that because some of Scott's putts missed by inches, as opposed to missing way short/long etc., it was not a choke. It's a pass/fail situation, you either get the job done or you do not. Some people deliver in clutch situations and some do not. Scott failed to deliver on this occasion, most likely because the pressure got to him and he choked. Just call it like it is!?

The problem for Thommo is that now he has made a rod for his own back. Will be interesting to see how faithful he is to his views on choking the next time the topic comes up.

yes it was blueben. now that i think about it, i wonder whether he was doing it to create some talkback. how can i tell? well his voice got louder and louder a la andrew gaze. and opinion not expressed in an eloquent manner like some other media performers overseas.

actually he said putts missed by millimetres. um, well the score still remains - he missed the putt ffs. oh, it horseshoed out blah blah. jesus how can one be that dumb?? as you said, its either in or out, pass or fail!

i reckon he wanted to play his card in case scott came to SEN, he could say he's a huge fan blah blah

yes it was blueben. now that i think about it, i wonder whether he was doing it to create some talkback. how can i tell? well his voice got louder and louder a la andrew gaze. and opinion not expressed in an eloquent manner like some other media performers overseas.

actually he said putts missed by millimetres. um, well the score still remains - he missed the putt ffs. oh, it horseshoed out blah blah. jesus how can one be that dumb?? as you said, its either in or out, pass or fail!

i reckon he wanted to play his card in case scott came to SEN, he could say he's a huge fan blah blah

It was like listening to the anti-Skip Bayless!

I don't think that he was doing it simply to create talkback, he doesn't have the subtelty or skill to pull that off.

I think that your last line is at least partly correct, which is sad (not that you're correct but that that would probably have been on Thommo's mind at the time).

He also suggested that because some of Scott's putts missed by inches, as opposed to missing way short/long etc., it was not a choke. It's a pass/fail situation, you either get the job done or you do not.Some people deliver in clutch situations and some do not. Scott failed to deliver on this occasion, most likely because the pressure got to him and he choked. Just call it like it is!?
Easy to say when it's not you?