Radio The SEN Thread 10

*reply to Registered User*
Ah, you edited your post. Ah well. Yes, I also like the station a lot. :) Actually, having read my post again, it does sound a bit like I was having a crack at the whole station, but I was really just following suit by having a crack at Schibeci. :D Yep, I like almost all the presenters, even Radar, but he can sometimes get annoying when he geekily or fakely laughs way too much as Whispy's "jokes".

General Rant:

Hmm, who else?..... I don't think anyone liked Mutt Thompson or Doran.

Like I said, I dunno how a guy like Shibeci gets on radio so much. I mean, for a guy who can't always read or speak properly. Crikey. I reckon roving reporting is about as much as he should do. :p I remember he once read 'memoirs' as "mengmars"!! He said: "Ben Cousins said he's working on his mengmars." Ha! And that's obviously just one expample of many. Oh yeah, what about today? Does he really not know what a deadlift is, or what he joking? Bloody hell. :p Fair enough that he's not a gym junky, but I reckon someone doing his job should know have at least heard of a deadlift. HA.

I'd rather have Kevin Hillier filling in. Ok, he might be a bit white bread and not a sports nut, but he's a real pro and pretty slick....and he can speak and read. :p

Hmm, who else? I like: Whispey, KB (although his very stubborn "I'll never admit that I was wrong" attitude can sometimes be annoying), Harf, Marko, Ox, Plough, Thommo (I dunno why he got the chop from the Sunday Footy Show; I guess they had to make room for Pretty Boy Lloyd), Dermy, Rohan, Finey, Kingy, Wallsy, Zanners, Milney, Peakey, Harper, Pickering, Turfy is a legend (the Sat morning show at 9am is my favourite); I even like Rita and Hutchy! HA.

I'm ambivalent about Granland, Lucas, Mooney, Huddo, Robbo and the Amercian dude. Robert Shaw bores me, but I'm not a serious footy fan, so that's probably why. Richo is ok; I like his sense of humour, but his faux la di da way of saying "arnswer, charnce, Larnce, demarnd", etc, sometimes bugs me. It's a pet peeve of mine when cashed-up bogans suddenly try to talk fancy like that, then claim it's "correct speaking", like he does. I mean, why don't they put on a British accent and be done with it? Ha.

The guys who get accused of being full of themselves, like Dermy, Marco and Richo, don't bother me as much as they seem to bother others. I don't mind them, coz at least they've got the 'confidence' to say what they're thinking and not be too politically incorrect. Sure, Dermy might be a bit keen on himself, but this means he's not too shy to tell the grouse stories from '80s. Almost every week he gives us a gem, like today's stuff about Sheedy accusing the Hawks of sniffing 'stuff'. Gold.

I rarely hear any of the overnight guys, but from little I've heard, I reckon most of us on here could be at least as good, if not heaps better. However, that Parkin dude is ok.

I only just realized that Dowling has been missing. He's ok when he keeps it straight, but when he tries to be funny -- well, he's just not funny. He's the kind of "commedian" that I'd expect to see at an RSL, pokey or bowls venue....on a weekday....at lunchtime. In other words, he's for the blue rinse set, if anyone. HA. I reckon the hardest part of Harf's job was fake-laughing at his "jokes".

Hmm, I'm trying to think of someone to complain about.... oh yeah, I've said this before, but it seems like they cut costs in the newsroom. Wow, there are some whopper clangers made in there. Even just the wrong inflections and emphasis on words.....eh, I've lost interest. :p

Thank God SEN don't have the Olympics.

Was driven crazy in the lead-up to the Beijing Olympics with Doran parroting every 5 minutes that SEN was covering the Olympics.
Oh yeah, that's rights. They did cover the Olympics, the last two times. Tbh, covering the Olympics adds value to the station, so I can't say I'm happy they don't have it. However, the problem is quite easy for me, reading your post. The real problem was Doran's presence. Last time, it was unfortunate that Ray Hadley was the lead commentator as well.

Forgot about Hadley - he could put insomniacs to sleep - Makes sense that SEN sent his alter ego Matt 'screeching' Thompson.

surprised when his co-commentator noted all 4 girls from teh swim gold winning team were fromt qld, he said he didnt care where they're from.

but if they were from sydney im sure he'd mention it

Caught Finey giving a spray on yesterday's Off The Bench from last Sunday after the St Kilda loss. Gold!

Looks like The Schibecsta is doing a London 2012 Olympics video blog for his Number one fan Bedford :p:thumbsu:

52870712.jpg

What a waste of space he is

KBs Carlton trolling on his "take" has gone to new levels...and every time the Carlton flogs that ring don't realise they are just taking the bait

For the last two days, the 3pm newsreader (can't remember his name) has pronounced "McLean" as "McLain"...how hard can it possibly be? o_O