Radio The SEN Thread 10

Re: The SEN Thread 9

The AFL’s season kicks off on Saturday night, not that we would know it in Melbourne, the heartland of the game. The Giants have a stand-alone game in Sydney. It’s an historic game with the new franchise and Kevin Sheedy planting their footprint on the competition. It’ll be a one-sided affair, the Swans win by a margin of fifteen to twenty goals. Surely we can give them their own night but surely not their own week. We should also have had other games to complement the week of football or simply just delayed the season a week. The season should always start with a bang. For me it really kicks off on Thursday the 29th when Richmond belts Carlton.:D
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

KB continues to eschew the more popular and safer bungee jump prediction method of most media in favour of the more dangerous highwire-without-a-net prediction of a Richmond obliteration of the Blues which carries a much deeper, longer, and harder credibility fall. Then again, if you keep tipping the Tigers to win every Thursday night season opener against the Blues as KB has the previous three years, eventually you’ll get one correct.

One must wonder too, just when did KB write today’s typical thirty-five second opening monologue when we’ve known for several months that the two NSW teams were kicking off the season ahead of the rest of the league?

That’s the topic that could get the collective Mensa Talkback Society calling in with like-minded opinion. But it could be an appropriate subject for Wednesday protagonist, Jon LeBaron-Ralph to dissect with his usual Sheahan-like gusto. … JLR quickly agrees with KB about no buzz, excitement, or fanfare. He lists the expected no-shows from the GWS list and with KB they both lament the possible crowd numbers for what should be an easy Swannies victory. JLR expects some regrets from the AFL after about ten minutes of Saturday night’s game and KB ponders the possibility of a record winning margin which is 190 points.

Should Sheedy be coaching? LeBaron-Ralph puts forward his ideas for how GWS should be structured based on a swathe of his own experience at the University Blacks:rolleyes: … Will Selwood be in trouble for tweeting on the Folau Match Review decision? … On to talkback and the minutia of the season opener being right or wrong … JLR changes tack smartly with his already second attempt today at KB’s excitement about Richmond’s chances against Carlton. He’s astounded at the betting prices for Richmond still on offer as the Blues are so vulnerable due to injury.

The tributes for the sad passing of Jim Stynes is next and JLR makes some salient comments about the grieving process and the rush to commemorate the passing with what seems to be everything but a public holiday. Queens Birthday medal would suffice says JLR. He won’t be forgotten and references Ted Whitten as an example.

Back to the stand-alone game between GWS and Sydney … KB laments that the Americans would already be planning the Jim Stynes manuscript but it’s not something we do in Australia … On to the swimming on Channel Ten and the approaching Olympics which lead to KB talking about which sports are better to watch on TV or live in person. Now on this slooooow Wednesday I reckon this may be the 20th time this discussion has been raised on SEN shows.:rolleyes:

Swimming, Rugby, NHL, are all lost live but great on TV agrees KB and JLR. … Caller thinks the best thing the AFL can do as a tribute to Stynes is to offer financial assistance and the use of their business acumen to the Reach Foundation … SMS texter wants clubs to give part of the Queens Birthday receipts to Reach … All sounds great, but who takes the pay cut? … Seems like JLR doesn’t like much of anything live as he lobs in NFL and golf as better on TV, as he corrects a caller in regards to NRL: “I didn’t say it was good, I just said it was better, KB. It’s still a very limited game.” Under the LeBaron bus goes rugby union as well … Rowing, triathlon, surfing are listed as better on tele. No kiddin’ fellas.

no_dkit_android_bombsquad____33422.png

KB announces that you can set the sporting agenda, so since this is such a lazy Wednesday show I decide to ring KB myself to put a little explosive venom-like-Denham influence into the programme. Upon initially getting through covertly as a disgruntled Carlton supporter the panel operator bloke or whoever summarily dismisses me with epithets as I’m apparently the third different Blues fan already this week to ring through a @#!&*$! bomb hoax against KB. Shivers!:eek::D

KB won’t be improving what’s on live television anytime soon as he wants to know why the swimming coverage was on live TV but not the track and field Olympic trials? JLR answers in a heartbeat: Thorpe, Klim, Huegill, Libby Trickett; that’s why.” LeBaron-Ralphy keeps going dropping names until KB bails out to safety of an ad break.

Etihad Stadium is widely nominated as the best place to watch footy, and Formula One car racing, WWE wrestling, and Tour de France are all better on TV as almost every sport on the planet is eliminated as a live spectacle … caller nominates that pretty much all sports are better on TV due to high def, which makes the topic discussion a dud discussion topic. MMA is yet another added to the list … Due to high definition TV, JRL is surprised by Timothy Michael Watson declaration that Channel Seven had seventy percent of the NAB Cup Final viewership … As the background music signals lamentable hour’s end, one can only hope Rowan Dammit! and Stevie Salisbury can lift the show to greater heights after 10. KB and Jonny hit each other with feathers today – no points scored. I score a morning beer for the bomb hoax gag.

It was funny, listening to Finey's measured commentary of the Rendell thing when he was with Harper, after losing his nut about it the night before.

When the station rated well mid-last year, Barry Quick suggested that the boost in listeners, and the reduction in money-haemorrhaging, was due to him cutting 'obscure' sports and focusing more on Aussie Rules.

"Quick says that when he arrived, although losing money, SEN was a business with a niche that owned a definitive position, which are two hallmarks of success in radio. He focused on trimming costs and honed in on the belief that in Melbourne, one sport is king: Aussie rules. He looked at the schedule and noticed a cluster of shows focusing on obscure sports, each with a team of up to three presenters"

http://newsstore.fairfax.com.au/apps/viewDocument.ac;jsessionid=2D85418DFFDC76347438264522976B38?sy=afr&pb=all_ffx&dt=selectRange&dr=1month&so=relevance&sf=text&sf=headline&rc=10&rm=200&sp=brs&cls=14&clsPage=1&docID=AGE1109081D2ET6922H7
Fair enough, if the station is going to spend 23 hours a day talking about footy, 22 of those being mindless poo that goes in one ear, out the other. Fair enough to limit the talk on obscure sports. You can't argue with the truth. The station can improve the quality of it content with the non-footy or "obscure sports, though. For example, knowing my motorsport, as I do (as I wobble my head) and, under the pretence that "mainstream" motorsport (F1, MotoGP, V8) is "obscure", they have heaps of room for improvement.

Last week, as I started my car to go to work, 3AW came on since I left it on listening to Sport Today the previous night. By coincidence, the AW morning guys were interviewing Jackie Stewart. How come, nobody who is as highly regarded as Jackie Stewart, or equivalent in other sports, is ever on the station, or rarely ever on? Whatever motorsport is covered, it's just mindless poo from Schibeci or Cameron McConville (who should know better). It's just the odd spot here or there.

Surely, a footy/bogan lemming, who wants 22 hours of mindless footy talk could handle (even appreciate) a segement an hour (hour and a half, 2 hours?) if the quality of content is there? I'm not convinced much effort is put into it. Surely, a footy/bogan lemming would rather listen to Jackie Stewart than Greg Denham? 3AW may've had the official radio broadcast rights to the GP. However as soon as Stewart finished AW morning guys, he should've been on with KB straight after. Do the management/producers even bother?

The season should always start with a bang. For me it really kicks off on Thursday the 29th when Richmond belts Carlton.:D
I heard that. With the subtle way KB said it as well, I p***ed myself laughing.

I don't call myself diehard motor sport fan as such , but anytime I have heard the motor sport show that Schebecci hosts on a Sunday morning he has had plenty of the drivers and related people to the sport.

Yes that girl was good with her Simpsons trivia.

She was on at the end of Scott Goodings TV freak segment on Tuesday night and replayed again last night before his 11:30 quiz.

Think I counted she got 19 questions correct in a row , not bad for a 15 year old girl , born 7 years after the Simpsons started on air.

Funny part was that Scott and Finey seemed aware that she was a girl at the start , yet half way through the quiz they both started referring to her as a he , that her name was Sam must have confused them.

I listened to the whole segment, and I thought it was a boy.

When the station rated well mid-last year, Barry Quick suggested that the boost in listeners, and the reduction in money-haemorrhaging, was due to him cutting 'obscure' sports and focusing more on Aussie Rules.

"Quick says that when he arrived, although losing money, SEN was a business with a niche that owned a definitive position, which are two hallmarks of success in radio. He focused on trimming costs and honed in on the belief that in Melbourne, one sport is king: Aussie rules. He looked at the schedule and noticed a cluster of shows focusing on obscure sports, each with a team of up to three presenters"

http://newsstore.fairfax.com.au/app...s&cls=14&clsPage=1&docID=AGE1109081D2ET6922H7

Reading that Article to me smack that hyprosicy of the man.

Barry Quick to me is nothing more than a joke of a man.

When SEN Started, Barry Advised on SEN itself. "We are a Sporting City, We will be covering all sport as best we can"

Obsurce Sports. Soccer or the Rugby codes is not obsucre they need to drive down Swan St towards Melbourne for about 10 to 15 minutes. Mind you SEN Management turn Right onto PUNT ROAD THEN.

I understand that AFL is KING but it can not be queen, Jack , prince and Princess as well.

To me, Barry Quick has bent over and getting some by a company that has a North Melbourne and Hawthorn player as head of the company.

All I want is One maybe two people(one as a Soccer Man(Any of the four diegos is not allowed. They are just money grabbing idiots in my opinion.) and One as Rugby League/Union man) as perm. employed with good or Great knowledge of AFL.

Yet you have

Morning: Maher( AFL- he ain't no soccer expert)- Watson(AFL all the way)
Mid Morning KB(AFL but has best knowledge of all sport.)
Afternoons : Hartford(AFL but has ok Knowledge better that Mark Doran)
Evening : Allen (Golf and only Golf) Ox (AFL)
Nights : Finey is up there with KB with Knowledge of all sports.

Perfect example today (I only listen between 8am-9am)

8:44am Craig Bellamy comes on about the Storm at a timeslot that most of people are at work getting ready to start.(Yes I know he come on sometimes at 7:30ish sometimes

8:50am Bellamy finishes and guess what Neither Maher or Watson mention that Storm playing the Rabbitohs match on Sunday and It is the ONLY Football Code playing in Melbourne this week. Went for a break and come on to talk about more AFL

I can not stand the producers and Maher and Watson show.

I don't call myself diehard motor sport fan as such , but anytime I have heard the motor sport show that Schebecci hosts on a Sunday morning he has had plenty of the drivers and related people to the sport.

Yes that girl was good with her Simpsons trivia.

She was on at the end of Scott Goodings TV freak segment on Tuesday night and replayed again last night before his 11:30 quiz.

Think I counted she got 19 questions correct in a row , not bad for a 15 year old girl , born 7 years after the Simpsons started on air.

I heard it last night as well. Very funny mate. I knew some but not that many. I have not watch it for about 5 years.

Hungry for Premium Content

AFL players have given the thumbs down to the two-and-two interchange rule. They believe it was too early to even contemplate further change. Now I have a thought that players would have longer careers with less rotations and interchange options. I keep hearing in football circles that you’ll never see players play four hundred games again, even three hundred is out of the question. Maybe two hundred and fifty games will see most players out. Could it be the modern day game and tactics are burning players out? Combining strategy and the training regime needed, and game style, could be proving all too demanding? If players spent more time on the ground then coaches would have to cut their clock accordingly. And players would have longer careers.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

Straight to 11 o’clock to see if LeBaron-Ralph can instigate more than a pillow fight with KB in his second appearance of the week. JLR flies into the ex-Tiger castigating him for calling him Jimmy yesterday and previously referring to JLR’s Herald Sun column as “The Grill” when it’s actually called “The Buzz.” There is also Rubbo’s “The Tackle,” Mark Stevens’ “Hard Boiled” and that new one by Michael Warner called the “Mixed Grill.” All filed under premium content waiting for you at the Herald Sun's new pay site. Yippee!

Apparently the journo protégé of Iron Mike loves his American footy so it’s off to an interview with an American radio station. WTF! What was Salisbury talking about yesterday? Lacrosse and the NCAA women’s bracket? Stevie is our US football man. Anyway, off to Chris Bianchi at Mile High Sports Radio. Mr. Bianchi better be clued-in to the naivety of these two or this could be a waste of time – big time!

KB gets things off asking whether Peyton Manning with be embraced in Denver? Ugh! He’ll be embraced like hookers when a navy ship is in port. Bianchi doesn’t mention that when Manning went into a Denver restaurant with his ex-Colts team-mate, Brandon Stokley, he got a standing ovation from the patrons.

LeBaron-Ralph chimes in about the bitter-sweet loss of Tim Tebow and massive risk of signing Manning and whether he’ll even make to round one due to the three neck surgeries. Now that’s an interesting question from JLR since he recently said he thought it was a mistake for Indianapolis to let him go, when they were facing a $28 million dollar contract option payment.:rolleyes: That’s SEN premium content! An excellent answer from the US bloke and at least LeBaron-Ralphy now knows it was four neck surgeries, not three.

All three with the standard fare stumble around why Tebow had success last year and why he is so popular … JLR is O.K. on the story about the penalties handed down to those nasty thug, lying Saints of New Orleans … Why are the Jets trading for Tebow and the continuing mirth abounds that Tebow can’t throw. JLR asks who will be the starting QB for the Jets. With ex-Dolphins coach Tony Sparano now running the offence in New York they’ll be some awesome Tebow-wildcat packages in the Jets offence. But that doesn’t get a mention, as mostly negatives are focused on. KB does O.K. considering he doesn’t even like the sport. JLR is mostly clueless and can’t add much in the way of questions.

But enough of that, back to local business and an interview with Super Pav from the Dockers … Anthony Morabito and Michael Barlow are close to playing football again and David Mundy is a possibility for round one. Lachie Neale’s ankle isn’t as bad as thought and he’s a round one chance too. Pavlich is always impressive although he waffled a little on what style of play the Lyon-coached Dockers will play.

KB sees Chris Yarran as a secret weapon for the Blues because of his speed which segues to JLR’s topic question of who is the slowest person in the AFL. … Who’s vulnerable in round one asks KB. JRL nominates the Pies as very vulnerable with nine of their best twenty-two out, (Uh-oh) Carlton is very vulnerable with as many as six of their best twenty-two out, and the Saints bedding down a new game plan against the Power are a dicey proposition. He hasn’t finished as he names the Dees as vulnerable with Sylvia and Jurrah missing, with a new game plan, and he thinks they play Brisbane who “should be an easy kill.” Jonny drops a big statement suggesting “some sides out there that are gonna see some upsets in the first couple of rounds of the year.” Bungee jump predictions from JLR.

Hmmm, lots of secret weapons being nominated such as Courtney Dempsey from the Dons and Rory Sloan from the Crows but no slowest players as yet and then LeBaron-Ralph drops the following stunner of sorts: “And I said too that I’d never even seen Rory Sloane when he was named in the leadership group; I’ve seen him in the pre-season; I refreshed my memory; he’s gonna be a very good player.”:confused: WTF. Young gun Sloane has already player thirty-three games entering his fourth season, averaging twenty or possessions in more than half the games last year and JLR professed to not knowing who he was? Yes, you too can pay for that Sloane-less Herald Sun premium content we’re hearing so much about.

At this stage only Collingwood and Essendon are having their own Fox Footy shows says JLR.

Brock McLean, Heath Hocking, Angus Graham, Cale Hooker, Aaron Sandilands, Sam Mitchell, Jobe Watson all eventually get tagged as the slowest in the AFL. Seems the Dons’ air force is a bunch of A10 Warthogs.

Another Disgruntled Blues Fan: And did I hear you right this morning…. Did you have Carlton out of the eight?
KB: Yes, I’ve got them ninth, Tony

Another Disgruntled Blues Fan: You’ve got them ninth. I’ll take that as a bit of sarcasm, yeah?
KB: Ahh, well, you think they’ll finish where, Tony?

Another Disgruntled Blues Fan: Oh, firstly you’ve gotta stop being envious. Just stop being envious of the Blue boys.
KB: Oh, there’s nothing to be envious-

Another Disgruntled Blues Fan: The thing is you’ve been pumping the Tigers up over the NAB Cup pre-season. Woopty doo. Right. Next week, can you please tell us that you’re sorry and that you do envy Carlton. Just tell us.
LeBaron-Ralph: What are you going to do when they lose that game?
it_alert06012005174849.gif

Score Alert

KB: Tony, I had Carlton losing by 120 points. I’ve now increased that to 126 points. A hundred and twenty-six points now, Tony. You ring me after the game and apologize because the Tigers; they will thump, they will absolutely thump Carlton. They are gone. The Blues are a rabble at the moment, you know that.

LeBaron-Ralph: What you should do is get Greg Swan on your footy panel at 10 o’clock on the Friday morning, KB, because you need to be accountable.
KB: He may not be the CEO of Carlton come [Friday] morning. He may be gone. He’ll be the first axed. They’ll go BANG, with a big axe.

KB finishes off the show with an interview with a Neil Roberts who is now an artist, as in a painter.

What was the question that they stumped her on at the end?

The Simpsons show related questions to contestant 15 year old Sam from Aspendale , answered 18 straight then she got stumped on question 19.

Sorry for any wrong spelling of some character names as I don't watch the Simpsons , I suppose I could have googled them.

1 Q. What kind of animal is Krusty the clowns helper , Mr Teeney ?

1 A. A monkey

2 Q. What is the name of comic book guys store ?

2 A. The androids dungeon

3 Q. Springfield retirement castle is home to Crazy old man , Jesper Beardley and which member of the extended Simpson family ?

3 A. Grandpa Abraham Simpson

4 Q. What is the name of the insect like character that appears on the Spanish language channel ocho ?

4 A. Bumble bee man

5 Q. The Frying Dutchman is a nautical themed resturaunt opened by which Springfield sea captain ?

5 A. Captain McAlister

6 Q. What is the nickname of the Springfield baseball team ?

6 A. The isotopes

7 Q. Name the other animated sitcom created by Matt Groening set in the planet express interplanetary delivery company ?

7 A. Futurama

8 Q. Who was the former Simpsons writer who went on to host his own late night show on NBC ?

8 A. Conan Obrien

9 Q. What was Lisa Simpsons first word ?

9 A. Bart

10 Q. Before it spunoff into it's own tv universe for three seasons in the eighties The Simpsons appeared as a series of shorts on what other American Fox tv show ?

10 A. The Tracy Ullman show

11 Q. When Lou Ann , who is Milhouses mother , divorces her husband , first of all where did the husband work ? What sort of factory ?

11 A. A cracker factory

12 Q. Her new boyfriend comes in , what mode of transport does he use when he arrives ? How does he actually arrive , how does he get to Lou Anns place ?

12 A. In one of those balls (giant exercise balls)

13 Q. My favorite episode is when Homer gets accused of sexually harassing Ashley Grant , how is he saved , what character saves him and how does he save him ?

13 A. Grounds keeper Willie had surveillance on people in their cars and he had footage from the other side where you could see what Homer was actually doing ?

14 Q. Homer actually got in trouble for groping the baby sitters backside , but he trying to get something off her backside , what was it ?

14 A. The Gummy Venus de Marlo

15 Q. This character said this famous line "You think that's hard how bout doing this with this guys hand up my tookas" He was supposed to be the character to knock Crusty off his perch , who was it ?

15 A. Gabbo

16 Q. What's the comic book guys real name ?

16 A. Jeff Albertson

17 Q. What was the name of Homer Simpsons barber shop quartet band ?

17 A. The B sharps

18 Q. What was their biggest hit ?

18 A. Baby on board

(Finey asks her to sing some of it)

Finey start with first line "Ok Baby on board" next line ... Sam says "How I adore .... (Finey says Correct I cannot believe you got it)

19 Q. What was the name of the director of The Planet of the Apes the play not the movie ? (Finey says I think I got him)

Sam asks "the director" ?

Finey says not the director sorry , who was Troy McLures who got him , not the director , who was Troy McLures agent who got him a role in that Planet of the Apes play ?

Sam form Aspendale (nup)

Finey (have I got you ?)

19 A. Finey gives the answer
Hi this is Mac Arthur Parker your agent.

Hungry for an AFL Season

Who else can be the straw that stirs the SEN listener’s piñata on a Thursday morning more than Grunk “Venom” Denham? I’d of course list those names but I’d be here a month.

The players are precious in their reaction to the two-and-two interchange possibility and Grunk agrees with KB that players' careers may be extended by being on the field for longer periods … KB wants to know if a return to the old substitutes on the bench just to replace injured players would make a great difference to the game? Better or worse? “Hmmm,” replies Grunk, “that’s a hard question.” The banter of if, what, maybe, etc continues.

Collingwood is starting the season as they finished of last year with lots of injuries and Grunk sees up to nine players missing in the first couple of weeks. Grunk believes Wellingham had cost the Pies sponsorship in the past and was probably unavailable in the first couple of weeks … A caller congratulated Grunk for getting the Hardwick reappointment correct when he said “you can take it to the bank” only to later back away and say “it would probably happen” (Bungee jump safe predictions). Grunk thinks his strike rate is pretty good.

KB’s challenged by caller Greg about his theory that players being on the ground longer will actually extend their carries. The idea about rotations is so the players can take a rest, submits the caller. KB explains:

No, I don’t think it is. I think that’s where there’s a folly because people coming on and off the bench at the moment; they’re coming on and being explosive and they’re being asked to run from one end of the ground to the other end of the ground, then back to the other end of the ground. It’s just absolutely constant all the time. So therefore they put enormous pressure on their bodies and they’ve got to train extraordinarily hard to be able to do that. Whereas what we’re seeing is, maybe if you go back to the old days, and even you see with three-and-one with players a little bit longer on the ground; not that much longer, one minute per quarter, running an extra hundred metres per quarter – and some of the players are jumping up and down about that – but what came out of that even, is that in the final quarter, the final quarter was the best for scoring, was the best for longest kicks, was more running bounces, more contested marks, and was better kicking efficiency. And therefore if it’s continuous play and players become a bit fatigued and have to huff and puff out on the field and take a deep breath, then they’re not going to be so explosive, and therefore a lot of people believe you won’t have collision injuries, and also you won’t have hamstring and soft tissue. So I think it works in reverse, Greg, to the point you put forward. Hopefully that explains my situation.

Silence ensures as it seems caller Greg has been dumfounded by the host with the most and subsequently Houdini’d himself. … KB is sticking with his twenty goal Swans victory while Grunk believes twenty to twenty-five goals is more likely. … Grunk then sets KB straight on why the Sydney/GWS is rightfully a stand-alone game … Both gents are perplexed that the Crows hand out life memberships after one hundred games. It’s all too easy now says KB. …

SMS from Chip: Great analogy, KB. If I kept the same tyres on my car and drove further they’d last longer and never wear down. You’re clearly having a senior’s moment.:p
:mad:KB: No, Chip, if you had the same tyres on you’d be driving further because if the car’s staying home in the garage as you would be because you’d be staying in your position on the ground, you wouldn’t be driving it that far. And therefore players would have to play in their positions because the style of game would have to change. Instead of having thirty-six players chasing the ball they’d be spread out around the ground, Chip. Think about it, Chip.

Hello, Grunk re-emerges from a verbal slumber, to - introduce the next caller. Familiar gripe about rules being changed to combat the coaches and KB explains yet again that it’s the coaches and strategists that change the game and just because the coaches want to go down a certain track that doesn’t have to be the way the game is played. …

Who’s your secret weapon asks KB of the callers. Best nominations seem to be Mitch Robinson of the Blue boys and definitely North’s Andrew Swallow from one caller in response to Iron Mike’s Top Fifty in this typical SEN segment. … Grunk will lay out his final eight after half time and KB mocks Putz Smith for massaging his final eight predictions until the week after the Grand Final. KB Repeats his final ladder with confidence: Collingwood, Geelong, West Coast, Hawthorn, Fremantle, Sydney, St. Kilda, North Melbourne, Carlton, Richmond, Essendon, Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, Brisbane, Adelaide, Port, GC, and GWS.

SMS: Two Crows’ players were awarded life membership for over ten years at the club, not one hundred games. If you’re going to hand out information, get it right, clown.
Grunk: Ah, well, I’ll go and have a look. I thought a couple of crows players got life membership this year; played a hundred games.:eek:

It was Captain’s corner yesterday at the AFL’s season launch in Sydney. They all had a crack at five questions; the big one of course was who will play off in the Grand Final? The Hawks were top of the pops with eleven skippers convinced the brown and gold is the one to beat. According to club leaders the Hawks will be playing West Coast who polled four votes. Geelong and Collingwood with two votes and one vote rounded out the chances. Now don’t despair if you barrack for CARLTON or any other of the fourteen clubs that didn’t rate a mention. For last year, not one captain selected Geelong to make the Grand Final, let alone win.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

Hurley has finally signed … Seventeen debutantes for GWS against the Swans and thus one of KB’s topics for the day is the final Swans winning margin which is right up SEN’s alley … KB’s not overly impressed by the “not about the money” shtick proffered by Hurley … Grunks’s off and running predicting a 130 point victory … “Venom” Denham shows his opinionated fangs by declaring he’s leaving the Saints out of his top eight because Nick Riewoldt will be playing up the ground.

KB predicts a record-winning margin for the Swans and declares that GWS will get absolutely smashed. Only five experienced players can only spell trouble for the Giants. … Caller decries no games in Melbourne and Grunk tears into yet again another clear explanation of why there is no football in Melbourne this week. … No AFL captain has tipped Melbourne to make the top eight … Grunk predicts the Crows will win three or four of their first ten games and will not recover. “Very overrated; front runners; won’t make the eight,” proclaims Grunk having watched them in the NAB Cup. KB scolded Grunk.

KB: Well you couldn’t make that assumption on the NAB Cup form because their NAB Cup form has been fantastic, [Grunk]. So if you’ve been watching them in the NAB Cup there must be some other reason why you’re not going for Adelaide. And don’t forget they play the Gold Coast twice and also the Giants twice, so there’s four wins the same as North Melbourne play those sides twice. They’re the only two clubs.

The week finishes with a discussion on whether Carlton will start 0-5 and KB has only thought as far as round one and suggests it all comes down to injuries for any team. So that leaves just six sleeps until KB celebrates a Tigers triumph or he descends into a Blues hell hole.

Surveying The Weekly Denhamography
a) Wellingham should have known better but he’s been hit with a feather duster.
b) The Swans to nail GWS by 20-25 goals.
c) Saints probably won’t make the eight if Riewoldt plays up the field.
d) Richmond has a far better chance to make the eight than Melbourne.
e) Adelaide is the most overrated club discussed this year; no hope of finals.
f) He’s now surprised Guy McKenna hasn’t been re-signed at the Suns.
g) Grunk’s Top Eight:

Has SEN moved to their footy schedule yet? Will Footy Fix be back? I know that it wasn't on yesterday afternoon, as there is no game in Melbourne this week, I'm hoping that they are just waiting for next week.

Footy Fix is back next week.

I'm liking the addition of Walls to crunch time... yep, I can't believe I said that either.
Agreed, love listening to Crunch Time and I was worried that Wallsy would ruin my enjoyment of it, but he's been fantastic and has worked well with Huddo, Dermie and Robbo.

Something has happened to Wallsy over the summer break. He has developed a sense of humour or something