Radio The SEN Thread 10

Re: The SEN Thread 9

If you saw the game last weekend, they showed his prematch address. He spoke normally and raised his voice at what seemed like random times to emphasise it.

So they wanted callers to ring in and do Sheedy impersonations by just speaking about normal things and yell at random times.

Only one caller got the idea of what the segment was about though.

oh yeah that. yep, saw sheeds pregame thingo.

wished i hear callers but

oh yeah that. yep, saw sheeds pregame thingo.

wished i hear callers but
No doubt the Maccas one will be in the PROMO! I especially liked the line about the PICKLES!

It's a pity it was lost on BT, as mentioned earlier he really did fail at it.

Patrick Smith this morning spoke more shit than he normally does. I nearly run off the road yesterday listening to that guy doing Sheedy.

I especially liked the bit where he said 'It's an intellectual conversation so I wouldn't involve Mark Fine.'

Then some guy came on about half an hour later and correctly called him on it, and he pretty much just crapped on for a while, spoke over the guy and gave him gibberish of the week.

What a w***er.

Buy an mp3 voice recorder , it can record 500+ hours for each 2gb , and 2 sets of rechargeable batteries , charging one set whilst recording with the other set , they last about for 70 hours per recording , before needing recharging again.

Transfering files to computer takes 10 mins.

You can then buy another elcheapo mp3 recorder to use out and about with all the shows that you have recorded or transfer them to your iPhone or other if you have that.

It works , you've gotta love 1's and 0's :thumbsu:
I know, I know, :D but the changeover will cost me a bit of dosh....that I don't have.

220px-Pussboots.jpg

En garde you 12th placed Kangaroos fans!

Daniel Harfboots Final Ladder prediction

St. Kilda
Port Adelaide
Brisbane
Greater Western Sydney
Gold Coast Suns

Daniel Harfboots is easily better on the afternoon shift than the previous bloke whose name escapes me.;) A cast of O.K. opinionators and with what I guess is sports definition of easy listening. He even has a fake BT.:mad: Monday was his pre-season prediction day for the AFL final ladder and he was clearly sticking with his preferred gold and brown tabby cat colours.

Harfy took a hammering from witty North fans in the first hour of his Monday show and considering that he thinks North get Brisbane twice, the 12th place predicted finish seems rather strange.

Rubbo pulled a sickie after what was probably a typical journo-away weekend reporting on the AFL season opener and was replaced on his Monday hour by the protégé, and seemingly ubiquitous, Jon LeBaron-Ralph. JLR gave predictable opinions and mistake-laced gripes in a non-researched hour about everything to do with AFL football and TV coverage.

While Putz Smith hammered Channel Seven’s commentators for allegedly not knowing the GWS players names, an early caller makes reference to the performance of the big bearded defender for GWS and LeBaron-Ralph and Harfboots make a brilliant start by not having a clue who the caller is talking about and finally guess wrong. Then again, if JLR didn’t know who Rory Sloane was how the heck would he know who Tim Mohr is? And then the hour didn’t improve. Hurry up Thursday night!

I was probably wrong. Won’t be the first time or the last time.
-JLR on Chad Cornes

Yeah it was. I was struggling to hold the laughter in at work.

Brett Thomas (?) got onto it when delivering the news but he was that bad at it, Mark Allen and The Ox must of told him to drop it. Cos he stopped after the first news clip.

Brett Thomas was starting to sound like Commandant Eric Lassard in the police academy movie , reminiscent of the hooker under the lectern scene , where his voice would quiver on every few words. ;)

Did I hear correctly this arvo that every bodies favorite on this board Rebecca Wilson state that the Rugby League on Friday night (Eels vs Panthers) outrated the AFL on Friday night? Well deeeeeeerrrrrrrrrr, Ox or Marko needed to pull her up when she stated that.

Hungry for a Digital Pass on Curmudgeon Tuesday

Now I’ve opened the Herald Sun today and saw the banner highlighting a story on who should take on the running of the AFL. So I said, “gotta read that.” So I started flicking pages. Good story on Deledio signing for five years on the back page. Here’s a nice yarn on Tiger Woods eyeing off the Masters. Hello, Bernard Tomic asked the umpire to remove his dad. That’s a good story. Page sixty-eight says Pies are dropping like flies. Here’s one: St. Kilda and Melbourne need jumper sponsors. Where is the biggest story of the day? Can’t find it! It’s hidden somewhere in “Mick’s Grill.” What’s this? A digital pass required. A paper no longer running its biggest story. What’s the world coming to?
I’m KB, that’s my Take

KB’s paid a buck-ten for a paper and he wants his story! Putz dismisses Eddie J. McGuire as a possible CEO of the AFL as a “mad idea.” Hmmm, it’ll be some time before KB moves on from his annoyance at what he considers an outrage of a second whack by the Herald Sun. Plenty of callers siding for Eddie and Smith has fair and legit-sounding arguments to debunk them all.

KB informs Putz of criticism directed at him by fellow SEN host, Mark Fine:

KB: Also, [Putz] you got a bit of a hammering last night on Finey’s program too over your comments with Izzy Folau.
Putz: Ahhh, please explain?

KB: Well, I think they thought you were being very tough, like I did on Israel Folau, saying that they were playing with seventeen men. I noticed this morning you’ve written in the Australian again about Israel Folau: “Stynes, a great loss and Folau’s a costly one.”
Putz: Well, potentially a costly one. I think Greg Baum agreed with me in The Age today. So at least two people think alike on this one. Uum, I wouldn’t worry what Finey would have to say on it, Kevin. It’s an intellectual discussion this one.:rolleyes:

KB: Ohh, he’s an intellect, Finey!
Putz: [deadpan] Of course he is.

KB: He speaks for the people.
Putz: [deadpan] Yes he does and that’s wonderful.

[Silent pause]

KB: You really believe that? Oh, you were being facetious then.
Putz: [deadpan] No-no, he’s the voice of the people.

“They’re sobbing down at Carlton” and the Blues are in a bit of trouble according to KB and most people are jumping on board the Tigers and will be tipping them. KB adds his 2,115th reference to Juddy’s alleged dodgy shoulder:

KB: And did you notice that Brett Ratten was asked again about the shoulder? There’s something spinning around out there in football world about Juddy’s shoulder. Now I’ve been telling you for quite a while, [Putz] that this shoulder is stuffed.:D

Close to 10 o’clock as caller, Craig wrongly accuses Putz of saying he wouldn’t listen to Mark Fine when he was only being a wise arse about Fine and thus Putz has the caller cold and calls KB for the moron button, which leads to a late change to the Gibberish of the Week winner.

Gibberish of the Week: caller Craig.:D

Did I hear correctly this arvo that every bodies favorite on this board Rebecca Wilson state that the Rugby League on Friday night (Eels vs Panthers) outrated the AFL on Friday night? Well deeeeeeerrrrrrrrrr, Ox or Marko needed to pull her up when she stated that.
Her and her brother have as much creditability as Caro or Smith, they should have been put down

Heard that as well.. When asked how it rated she compared it to a friday night NRL game... Not sure how comparing games on different nights is fair, I would have thought best to compare the games from the same night is the way to go??

Hungry for One More Sleep

Now North Melbourne have always been innovators; the football world thought the club was mad when they were Friday night trailblazers, and in recent years has opened up all of their players to be interviewed during the week. The Roos are doing everything they can to embrace their fans and give them access. Now all sections of the media can interview players and coaches for fifteen minutes up to an hour before the bounce of all their games this year. Game-day interviews with players have always been strongly been resisted by clubs. North Melbourne haven’t enjoyed great success in recent times but their thinking has never stagnated.
I’m KB, that’s my Take

Sheesh, LeBaron-Ralph again. He agrees with KB and says “I think we’ve got to a stage where the players know they have to be accountable to the media 24/7.” Hmmm, twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week, eh? Try running that one past your union delegate at work tomorrow. … KB is looking forward to one more sleep before the big Blues/Tigers clash and he’s quite surprised that David King thinks Matthew Kreuzer will be the big improver this year.:confused:

KB: Now I want to throw this up – is Tyrone Vickery better than Matthew Kreuzer and will he prove to be a better player than Matthew Kreuzer? I think Matthew Kreuzer will be a tremendous player for Carlton, but I don’t think he’s going to be any better than Tyrone Vickery. I think Tyrone Vickery can cover him in every aspect of the game and he showed that last year. He kicked thirty-six goals last year, Tyrone Vickery. He was the biggest improver out of all the tall players - young players - in the competition. And I think he can match Kreuzer. So if Kreuzer is going to be number one I reckon he’s actually gonna be number two because Vickery will be in front of him.

Wow, as Ozzy Osbourne often said: “Keep on smokin’ it!” … All positive talk here for all things Richmond and their recent drafting. JLR says Kreuzer is going to go bang this year starting on Thursday night. Vickery is 501-1 for the Brownlow so be my guest. Shocking claim by KB! Meanwhile I’m quite impressed with JLR simply knowing who Vickery is.:)

KB has simply gone too far with this statement and it’s time for Blues fans to rally to the talkback cause as KB continues his claim by stating that Vickery is much underestimated and Kreuzer “has the hype of being the number one draft pick and therefore that hype comes with you all the time.” … JLR has mentioned Kreuzer’s blown knee which tends to stymie one’s career just a tad; KB compares goal kicking feats of the two against the games played as a Vickery positive.

Surely KB’s suffering dementia!? He continues to harshly critique Kreuzer’s game, looks, hairstyle, sex life; and a talkback caller even claims he’s overrated. Footy season hasn’t even started and they’ve all gone mad. … KB is on an aggressive roll and sticks it to LeBaron-Ralph again about having to pay twice for Hun stories. Calls his Geelong story in “The Buzz” a rubbish story. … KB now uses Morning Glory’s Andy Mata Hari’s prediction that Carlton will lose, and the claim that Greg Swann is dodging his calls, as evidence of Blues fans being worried.:rolleyes:

SMS: Tiges had better win tomorrow night, KB, or they may never beat the Blues in round one and you will look like a fool once again.
SMS: Big boy Ben McEvoy is in front on Vickery. C’mon KB.
SMS: What’s Vickery ever done? You’re senile.:D

JLR: You know he’s gonna kick four and have twenty, and thirty hit-outs on Thursday night, KB.
KB: Well I hope he does! Cause Vickery will kick five and have forty hit-outs.

After talkback KB now has Kreuzer down at about sixth best behind Leuenberger, Nic Nat, Zac Smith, Goldstein, and of course, Mr. Vickery. … The question is raised about what people would like to see come back in footy. JLR would like see mud. KB goes to town: dressing gowns, rosin, oranges and pineapples, and cordial. How about some players having a gasper at 3QT? … KB promotes the Richmond president in the second hour and claims Carlton’s Swann has gone to ground. … JLR says to “watch this space next week” for Mick’s Grill and the belligerent KB cuts him off suggesting if the story is “any good he’ll put it in the paper.” Approaching the hour’s end and KB is excited about one more sleep until the big clash kick-starts the season proper. C’mon Blues, if only for listening purposes on Friday.

Other things people would like to see back were cold pies, jock straps, ankle guards, club raffle, the peanut guy, cheer squad carrying the blanket around at half-time for coins, and more kicking the footy on the ground after the game.

Straight to the last hour where Stevie “Steak” Salisbury has some possible names for KB’s possible Twitter handle: 1) @neverhandball, 2) @grumpyoldman, 3) @kevinb_29, for KB’s birth date.:) KB says he wants nothing to do with Twitter. … Patty Mills, Andrew Bogut, Tim Tebow and Mark Sanchez, NCAA Final Four, the Knickerbockers all get covered by the man from Sacramento and Steve has a better take on Tiger Woods situation than the blowhard and self-acclaimed intellectual, Putz Smith. Steve understands US sports TV and the greatest show in sports.

Next up is Hutchy to talk about what can be called the North Melbourne-led maturation of the AFL in regards to media access. There is no nebulous here and if anyone watches the ESPN sports shows you’d think gridiron season starts in a week, not baseball season. James Brayshaw is a big Cleveland Browns fan (NFL) and with Hutchy and North’s media manager, Heath O’Loughlin, they’ve looked at the open media policy of the US leagues which makes the games more available to the public. Sports fans are not born, they’re made, hence the marketing techniques used by the AFL with Folau and Hunt are an example. They don't want rugby code converts, they want their children. Sports league’s constant search for future fanbases is never ending and led by North Melbourne it seems another kick in the teeth for the other codes isn’t too far away.

Great to hear Hutchy doing this serious media commentary without Saturday morning’s nasty and annoying hazing from Limerick Pickering in tow with the quirky and antagonistic Turf. Unfortunately Hutchy doesn’t make the connection of the marketing of the US sports with unfettered private ownership but he did elaborate the media scenarios excellently.

Hutchy: In the next seven days it would be easier for me to interview Kobe Bryant than Chris Judd.

One more sleep – c’mon Blues!

Any chance they can make the soap box a little shorter on the Run Home?
It's just the same thing night in and night out.
I enjoy the movie the segment with Leigh Paaaaaaaatcsh but it always seems rushed. Tonight they wanted to take your reviews on 2 movies from last week. They took one caller, and that was for the entire segment.
End the soapbox at 5.25pm, ads. Sports Central and that should give more time for other segments.