The SEN Thread 2

Amazing

Just listening to BP and thought I must revisit this thread.
It is still "Amazing"

Love comments about Dave from St.Kilda - anyone recall the 5 nights in a row whinge on kids playing in Glen Eira park...Shame he regurgitated same tripe, time and time again...and naturally got facts wrong about council
Dave is consistent - never let the facts/truth get in the way of our spiel..

Ray from Werribee - optimist in the extreme.One day he will find fault with Richmond..
Billy - Tiger fanatic, fixated on Terry Wallace & Greg Miller.
Has trouble with reality.

Dimi - lost in space MATE!!
Ben - dedicated and learning all way.Prepared to look at other sports and that is great.
Steve from Sydney - has balanced perspective. Love his views from north of border - shame he supports Manly.

On SEN is anyone else fed up with -

KB's constant kowtowing to the AFL - can't dare criticise them can we ?
Radar's longwinded closing/thanking of guests - goes for 30-60 seconds at time
Billy - acting too much like clown.

Wish one of these days the Brekky team would actually have opinion on their own TV shows instead of being so biased...and acting like mates at pub...

Zambora out !!

Official ratings are in, and SEN have recorded its worst ratings in recent memory. This survey takes in Jan 13 to Feb 9.

Overall audience 2.6 (last survey 4.7)
Mon-Fri ave 2.7 (4.9)
Breakfast 2.8 (4.6)
Morning 3.0 (5.2)
Afternoons 2.2 (4.5)
Drive 3.3 (4.8)
Evenings 1.8 (6.3)
Weekends 2.2 (3.8)

Looks like it took a massive hit in the first part of the year.
On the hand, it could just be one bad survey - which tends to happen with the dodgy ratings system.

Full ratings: http://www.nielsenmedia.com.au/files/melbourne108.pdf

The ratings were crap! Can't believe it.
I know it isn't the footy season, but it is the cricket and tennis season. I think they should revamp the radio ratings system when digital radio comes on board.

-Ben

what do you expect brother in january everyone is out doingtheyre community service work or there at the beach

The ratings were crap! Can't believe it.
I know it isn't the footy season, but it is the cricket and tennis season. I think they should revamp the radio ratings system when digital radio comes on board.

-Ben

Ratings stayed the same right through last summer. The ratings system is not to blame.

I was expecting a small drop off over summer. I didn't think they'd lose half their audience though.

I suspect there has been a significant flow on effect from their dreadful Christmas/New Year programming of endless repeats of interviews from months ago that have no relevance to current day events. Recorded, pre-packaged garbage repeated 10, 15 or 20 times turned people off the station and who knows if you can get them back.

Original, live programming is the only way to go, and I'm guessing management today just got that message. It might cost a bit more, but it's better than having half your audience head elsewhere.

They had a few good surveys, got complacent, took the audience for granted and copped a 2.6 for falling asleep at the wheel.

I listened closely during the holidays when the ratings started again and couldn't believe how most programs formats were exactly the same as they were before they went on holidays. Plain and simple, some shows just went stale.

Finey was the only one who tinkered with his show and although his ratings got hit the hardest, his show is enhanced because he showed some foresight and didn't rest on his laurels. His figures will bounce back, no doubt.

The Morning Glory is directly in the firing line now. A massively expensive show to produce and not delivering the goods in any way, shape or form.
If the cost-cutting starts, as it envitably will with the ratings slashed in half, it's reasonable to assume Morning Glory will have be copping it in the neck.

Bartlett's and Doran's programs do an adequate job, but it does seem both spend plenty of time on auto pilot and just go through the motions. Perhaps such a poor rating figure will have them examine their shows and freshen them up.

The Run Home seems the only consistent performer for the station and doesn't have much wrong with it. Perhaps they could beef it up after 6pm and try and compete with AW, because the show seems to fall away badly after 6pm.

I enjoy the station, but have to admit I don't listen as intently as I did say 6 months ago. The shows have to evolve over time and improve and that means not being predictable like most of them are now.

Today will be a shock to the system at SEN. Tomorrow is the day to shake things up and improve on what you haven't delivered on previously.

The world passes you by, if you stand still. I'm guessing management found that out the hard way today.

I guess like the Tigers, the only way is up.

Echoes my thoughts exactly, equaliser.

Finey got hit hardest but only becuase he was coming off a bigger base. The fact that he still almost rates the same as MG is an indictment on how poor breakfast is.

Surely they must understand how important breakfast is. If they can get listeners in the morning there is a good chance they will stick with the station for the whole day. Its the ABC of radio really.

My 2c on breakfast FWIW.

* stop trying to be like the madcap FM breakfast teams. Why is it assumed that listeners wannt to listen to 'zany' in the morning ? Its bloody annoying.
* Brownless has quitened down his 'frothy' act which is good but he still shows little to no interest in sports that don't involve cricket or football. As such he is just a waste of space when someone not from those sports is being interviewed. So, he either goes or they stop interviewing non footy and cricket people.
* Watson is caught in no mans land as either serious or funny (and not verty much at that). Nothing wrong with having a laugh now and then but he needs to be more like Leech in the way he works with Ox.
* Nothing wrong with Maher. Without him I can't imagine how poor it would actually be.

hope it is bp tonight on all night sport.
last night mark franklin was on at 6pm and then he was also on all night sport till 6 am when i thought bp would be on for sure.

Good to see Mark Johnston still knows how to get the best out of his staff by making them work 6pm to 6am.
How could anyone still be sounding fresh and well at 6am if they were talking on the radio at 6pm the night before , he has no idea this Johnston.

Anyone else get the feeling noblanks doesn't like this Mark Johnston bloke ?
I know it's hard to tell from reading their comments,but I just sense it.

;)

Could 'noblanks' be 'rippedoff' ?

I haven't seen rippedoff around for a while.

;)
Spot on .
Ever since my wife who is a teacher tried to organise a group of her students to go to Sen to have a look at the place and she didnt even hear a reply from Sen to at least three emails she sent .
we are talking about a group of about a dozen 12 year olds , what did Johnston think they were going to wreck the joint
They didnt even have the courtesy to reply and say maybe another time and she ended up taking the group to the ABC studios who got back to her after she sent just one email to them .
Like my sport and I listen nearly every day, but can see a long list of recurring themes and problems that have been posted here and which can only be the end result of poor management .

Good to see Mark Johnston still knows how to get the best out of his staff by making them work 6pm to 6am.
How could anyone still be sounding fresh and well at 6am if they were talking on the radio at 6pm the night before , he has no idea this Johnston.

Mark isn't responsible for the All Night Sport program, Franka and Brett Phillips run it themselves.

I wouldn't go blaming Mark for the staff on that program.

Spot on .
Ever since my wife who is a teacher tried to organise a group of her students to go to Sen to have a look at the place and she didnt even hear a reply from Sen to at least three emails she sent .
we are talking about a group of about a dozen 12 year olds , what did Johnston think they were going to wreck the joint
They didnt even have the courtesy to reply and say maybe another time and she ended up taking the group to the ABC studios who got back to her after she sent just one email to them .
Like my sport and I listen nearly every day, but can see a long list of recurring themes and problems that have been posted here and which can only be the end result of poor management .

I remember reading about this story a little while ago mate.

Did she send them to a general address?

It's better if you said them to an actual person.

Official ratings are in, and SEN have recorded its worst ratings in recent memory. This survey takes in Jan 13 to Feb 9.

Overall audience 2.6 (last survey 4.7)
Mon-Fri ave 2.7 (4.9)
Breakfast 2.8 (4.6)
Morning 3.0 (5.2)
Afternoons 2.2 (4.5)
Drive 3.3 (4.8)
Evenings 1.8 (6.3)
Weekends 2.2 (3.8)

Looks like it took a massive hit in the first part of the year.
On the hand, it could just be one bad survey - which tends to happen with the dodgy ratings system.

Full ratings: http://www.nielsenmedia.com.au/files/melbourne108.pdf

do you know what bp did in the ratings for all night sport he is on right now and i think he is the best at sen
do you agree with me that bp could maybe do better than some of the others in these ratings . could bp do the 2.2 ratings of afternoons or the 1.8 of the night if he was to do them shows i think he could do those ratings he is worth a try dont you think whats to lose

sen during the week is pretty shit anyway

its all about saturday spotlight, born in the usa, on the rise and not much else imo

Honestly cant believe the ratings. How can you have such a massive drop in listeners. I would think that SEN is one of those stations that maintains a steady fan base, where not a lot of people switch off the station and not a lot of new people switch on. The ratings was during January, which can be a time when a lot of people are away on holiday and and are not listening to the radio. The people I know that listen to SEN didn't switch off during this ratings period, so I wouldn't take that much from it. Altough I am sure SEN would be very unhappy with the result.

I don't know how reliable that ratings system is. For our Sunday night show, we get ratings per 15min segment across the 3 hours. Sometimes, those numbers look like a yo-yo....3.2 to 6.9 to 2.9 to 6.6 in the same hour.....how can that be? I don't think we can trust that.

I have heard of a new device that will be put into some cars and it takes all of the listening data, without the people needing to do anything other than turn on the radio. This system would get an accurate record of listening and the different ratings agencies can subscribe to the service. Not sure how soon this will be, but it would certainly clear up the ratings issue as it exists today.

I don't know how reliable that ratings system is. For our Sunday night show, we get ratings per 15min segment across the 3 hours. Sometimes, those numbers look like a yo-yo....3.2 to 6.9 to 2.9 to 6.6 in the same hour.....how can that be? I don't think we can trust that.

I have heard of a new device that will be put into some cars and it takes all of the listening data, without the people needing to do anything other than turn on the radio. This system would get an accurate record of listening and the different ratings agencies can subscribe to the service. Not sure how soon this will be, but it would certainly clear up the ratings issue as it exists today.

The problem is that the only people who can be bothered to fill in the old fashioned ratings books on which the radio ratings are gathered are mostly your old age pensioners with nothing better to do, your stay at home mums and the unemployed. Not exactly SEN's target demographic I would have thought !!!!

Of course this audience is great for a staion like 3AW so I would imagine they would be fighting to keep the existing system.

Radio ratings also do not include people who listen in cars, listen whilst walking/jogging or who listen via the net at work.

Someone once mentioned here that the ratings for the sports station in the UK went through the roof once they abandoned the old fashioned ratings book and went to an electronic way of measuring the listening audience.

Your true figure is much higher than the ratings indicate and if I had a product and an advertising budget I would have no hesitation in advertising on SEN mainly because you would be getting great value for money - ie paying less per slot than what you should.

;)

nah can't tell at all, did johnston nail your missus at some point noblanks or did you go to school with him, fess up why you hate him so much?

Who are the people that get to do the ratings? I mean, how do you get asked to do it? It is pretty stupid that a tiny precentage of the population creates the ratings for the rest of the state.

Spot on .

disregard previous crass post, remember reading this now about the schoolkids.
for them not to reply shows a lack of class and a holier than though attitude.
fwiw, morning glory is now not compulsory listening in my house or car anymore. i'll make sure i listen to the run home, casual fridays saturday spotlight and on the rise as compulsory. try to catch born in the usa and fineys show but i'm always up at 5am for training so i can't stay up too late. agree with the "stale" comments regarding mg, kb and to some extent doran. doran is actually getting some great guests on his show which is interesting listening.
hope they get eddie for the footy, might be the shot in the arm they need.