The SEN Thread 2

thought that Sen might have done the NBL grand final series.
It does not clash with the AFL grand final so they could have done it and being a sports station would have only been good for their reputation i think.
No other radio station would be doing it tonight so cant be about rights or that.
More sport they do live more they can increase their reputation

I listen to SEN all day, and some of the night, being in the car 10+ hours a day...

Anyway, I was awondering what adds on the station annoy people the most? What add really wants to make you kill people?

They get really wearing after a while!

I listen to SEN all day, and some of the night, being in the car 10+ hours a day...

Anyway, I was awondering what adds on the station annoy people the most? What add really wants to make you kill people?

They get really wearing after a while!

all of them. havent listened for a few days but the ultimate ute one is one that cums 2 mind

ah yeah thats a corker!! the walters steel one , I think it is, I dont need to hear again for the rest of my life :0)

Also, that one where the guy is injured at work and the wife is bitching about "why arent you insured". That drives me mad, Id like to "insure" her!

thought that Sen might have done the NBL grand final series.
It does not clash with the AFL grand final so they could have done it and being a sports station would have only been good for their reputation i think.
No other radio station would be doing it tonight so cant be about rights or that.
More sport they do live more they can increase their reputation

Comes down to money. Ed and I spoke to them about calling some games before the season and were told station had to make decision between broadcasting NBL or A League and chose A League. In the past, Doran has done some, but not this year.

I thought the idea of a sports channel 24/7 was a great idea until I heard it put into practice. I liked it at first because it was a novelty, but I listen to Morning Glory with the 3 stooges, Tim, Bill, and Andrew, what a trio of idiots.

They know a little about footy and less about anything else. You get to hear all about who Bill had a few "frothies" with the night before, Tim's absolutely useless theories, and Andrew fantasizing over which supermodel he'd rather have. It's stuff to appease a 12 year old. Mindless dribble.

Then when I get home I listen to the drive home with Ox and Mickey Mouse. What a load of crap. Ox knows 2/3 of 5/8 of stuff all, and yet talks as if he is an expert on all things, and mickey mouse is an arrogant little twirp.

I discovered SEN stood for Sports Entertainment Network. It is rarely about Sport, and not the least bit entertaining, so I don't listen any more.

And that U D Truck add ... if I never hear that again it will be too soon.

you must have a miserable life, what with ZERO sense of humour and all. I think its the perfect blend of fun and sport. Cant be all rigid and serious all of the time man!! And exactly who is mickey mouse and why? Francis?

I thought the idea of a sports channel 24/7 was a great idea until I heard it put into practice. I liked it at first because it was a novelty, but I listen to Morning Glory with the 3 stooges, Tim, Bill, and Andrew, what a trio of idiots.

They know a little about footy and less about anything else. You get to hear all about who Bill had a few "frothies" with the night before, Tim's absolutely useless theories, and Andrew fantasizing over which supermodel he'd rather have. It's stuff to appease a 12 year old. Mindless dribble.

Then when I get home I listen to the drive home with Ox and Mickey Mouse. What a load of crap. Ox knows 2/3 of 5/8 of stuff all, and yet talks as if he is an expert on all things, and mickey mouse is an arrogant little twirp.

I discovered SEN stood for Sports Entertainment Network. It is rarely about Sport, and not the least bit entertaining, so I don't listen any more.

And that U D Truck add ... if I never hear that again it will be too soon.
God, but you sound a real misery guts!!..Lighten up a little, you'll have a nervous breakdown......better still, change stations, 3AW would be just your style, I'm thinking...:rolleyes:

I love the Run Home with Ox. When he's missing the show just loses that humour and fun aspect. I don't think the Ox thinks he's an expert in other sports. He goes on about the Blackcats but that's banter.

The Aluminium Industry ad annoys me. So does the UD Trucks.

the run home is the most boring show on sen,ox is boring and leach talks to much soccer

mg has too many adds

kb has patrat smith

doran is boran

finey is getting better

pickers and hutchy will be good
You don't get enough AFL/Cricket discussion during the other 18 hours? Doran is boring and I'm no fan but the good thing of his show is it's alot more diverse. He gives alot of other sports some air time.

My sentiments exactly! Bedford has one massive chip on his shoulder about the world game:thumbsd:Worst ad has to be aluminium industries and that pathetic George costanza New yorker accent!! Followed by CRUST INDUSTRIES

Fancy SEN doing an O/B from a practice match! Yet they can't do a broadcast of a GRAND FINAL FEATURING A MELBOURNE TEAM. :thumbsd:

Comes down to money. Ed and I spoke to them about calling some games before the season and were told station had to make decision between broadcasting NBL or A League and chose A League. In the past, Doran has done some, but not this year.

I was only thinking why didnt they do the grand final series of the nbl even if they didnt do any of the season.
Melb Tigers and Sydney kings and the games do not clash with the AFL pre season granf final as thats on Saturday and i dont think the nbl is on the Saturday looking at the foxtel guide.
Cant be because of money about the GF series only a few cheap air fares , motels taxis and thats only for the games in Sydney the other games are here in Melb.
If they are the Sports station they say they are then it is stupidity that they ignore the chance to do a live sport when noone else is doing it anyway .
reputation through doing that is important in my opinion.
I am sure Finey would not care about one or two nights off of his show to improve the station.
Thats if they want to improve

My sentiments exactly! Bedford has one massive chip on his shoulder about the world game:thumbsd:Worst ad has to be aluminium industries and that pathetic George costanza New yorker accent!! Followed by CRUST INDUSTRIES

Fancy SEN doing an O/B from a practice match! Yet they can't do a broadcast of a GRAND FINAL FEATURING A MELBOURNE TEAM. :thumbsd:

Are you talking about the Victory?

It's already been explained why they couldn't broadcast that game.

I was only thinking why didnt they do the grand final series of the nbl even if they didnt do any of the season.
Melb Tigers and Sydney kings and the games do not clash with the AFL pre season granf final as thats on Saturday and i dont think the nbl is on the Saturday looking at the foxtel guide.
Cant be because of money about the GF series only a few cheap air fares , motels taxis and thats only for the games in Sydney the other games are here in Melb.
If they are the Sports station they say they are then it is stupidity that they ignore the chance to do a live sport when noone else is doing it anyway .
reputation through doing that is important in my opinion.
I am sure Finey would not care about one or two nights off of his show to improve the station.
Thats if they want to improve
sjsdu said:

Does that explain why ?

Its not so simple that you can just go and choose to broadcast whatever you want at a moments notice.

Call me simple but I like SEN.

They have to run a lot of stuff on the cheap so I'm happy to let them get away with some less than inspired spots.

no chip on shoulder,i love the epl my only problem is there is too much melb. victory talk.
wed afternoons doran has soccer on from 3 till 4 and then the run home will have soccer at the start of the show.
wether we like it or not melbourne loves the footy and cricket,more people like these sports more than soccer.

no chip on shoulder,i love the epl my only problem is there is too much melb. victory talk.
wed afternoons doran has soccer on from 3 till 4 and then the run home will have soccer at the start of the show.
wether we like it or not melbourne loves the footy and cricket,more people like these sports more than soccer.

Mate, you've got to look at the demographics of the station.

Who listens to the radio between 3 and 4 in the afternoon ?
Most probably Mums on their way to pick up little Jimmy and Jane from school or kinder or wherever. Therefore if the station is going to talk about soccer, the time between 3 and 4 is probably the best time to have it on. This is especially the case during summer as females generally aren't interested in cricket and as it isn't footy season A-League is probably the best thing to talk about.

You will also notice Doran talks about a whole lot of non traditional sports between 2 and 4 and that is simply becuase of the audience that listens to him. AW do the same thing. They have soft topics on at those times as well.

However, between 6 and 9 and any time after 4.30 or so, SEN should be concentrating on its core sports that being AFL and cricket (even though I find cricket boring as bats**t this days).

Late nights should be given over to specialised sports such as Your Born In the USA segment etc.

I think they do a pretty good job under the circumstances.

0,,5871067,00.jpg

Can't see much of the face, but the one on the very left is Jessie that's on Casual Friday as we speak. :)

Too much Melbourne Victory? HA, that has to be a joke right?

There is not enough Melbourne Victory talk on the station.

The station proclaims to be a "Sports" Entertainment Network, yet listening to them you would swear they are the official 24/7 AFL Radio Network. I love AFL, but I get sick of the pathetic crap they dribble on about when there are bigger sports stories to talk about.

Asian Champions League, start of the NRL season, NBL Grand Final series...all these are taking place over the next week or so yet all we'll hear about is mindless drivel about pointless AFL stories like we've had over the last day or so with his Mike Sheehan list.

Does that explain why ?

Its not so simple that you can just go and choose to broadcast whatever you want at a moments notice.

So when a big footy story happens and they at a moments notice have the live press conference that is simple.
The GF of the NBL was known quicker than some coaches who retire or other things they do at short notice.
How hard is it to have tonight melb tigers and kings game here in Melb cant be much harder than what they use to do in the VFL with the whole setting up of that
If you look for excuses not to do something you can always find them

I know Chris Judd is a great player, but what's the big deal of him playing in his first practise match for Carlton?

To be broadcasting live from the match is a bit over the top.

Chris Judd media circus still continues.

Completely ridiculous, in my opinion, but in this footy mad town, someone would surely complain if we didn't do it.