The SEN Thread 2

If you throw enough money at clubs they'll happily field a full strength line-up. Hell, have a round of pre-season games at the end of July and pay the clubs handsomely.

Fact is, which what can potentially ride on the three points gained or lost each week, throwing in an international round is a ridiculous idea for actual season points.
Entirely agree. At first, my reaction to the whole situation was "sweet! EPL possibly in Melbourne"

There's no need to really grow the game by playing a league fixture. Everyone here is already suggesting they'll go to the game if their team plays in Australia. Therefore, everyone here and worldwide would be aware of the competition.

It's all about the extra $$ generated by an extra fixture and playing it overseas as a possibly once off in that particular city would cause sellouts at the largest stadium.

Imagine, 99k packing the MCG compared to the 50k they get in the UK.

Most of the big clubs already do pre-season tours. Chelsea went to the US, and Man Utd went to Asia for the most recent pre-season. Maybe change things a little so touring teams go in pairs.

On the point of weakened lineups, Man Utd have shown twice they are willing to field a full-strength team in meaningless games. Last year when they played the European XI and only a fortnight ago they played an exhibition match in Saudi Arabia.

hasn't this bloke got a wonderful head for radio?

MarkStone.gif
Jesus Christ that's horrific!! :eek:

I reckon even a hooker would knock that back.

Hey No Blanks I think they might have woken up to your mate Johnson
and he must have got the ass .
Article in the Herald Sun last week had all the program managers from each radio station that does the footy and the SEN program manager that gave comments wasnt a Johnson guy.

I didnt read that but thanks for thinking of me !

brother it was ross fleegulltorp he s the football programing manager at sen thats why they speaked to him so no big deal but that dousunt mean i think johnson is good or shouldunt be given the arse tell him yourself on 8420 1122

Then its good to see that SEN dont have this Mark Johnston in charge of their biggest asset the AFL rights where he would most likely bugger it up .
Hope the above mentioned looks after it well.

Johnston must be there to see who he can get to work.
And to get those who want to work ,to work 12 hours in a row.
He must also spend all day working out the all important bits of music we hear every now and then on SEN.

Princess Anne used it years ago, to describe the photographers hanging around her all the time....thats when it was first mentioned IIRC.....I know there was a big deal about her saying it ..

Who is that guy in the photo?
I think his name is Mark Stone. He does the VFL hour with Finey on Wednesday night during the footy season and I heard him doing some very poor cricket updates during the test series against India.

Struth. So that’s the guy that does the cricket scores update, in what must be an exchange of services for a free pass in to the 'G. Guess he looks as he sounds: total SEN pro. ;)
Seriously, didn’t you just cringe listening to those cricket updates.

Struth. So that’s the guy that does the cricket scores update, in what must be an exchange of services for a free pass in to the 'G. Guess he looks as he sounds: total SEN pro. ;)
Seriously, didn’t you just cringe listening to those cricket updates.
They were really bad. Surely he wasn't getting paid for that crap....This is where SEN falls down. How on earth can they justify putting a ameteur like that on the airwaves?

Say what you want about Mark Fine - Finey's Final Siren is possibly the most entertaining couple of hours you'll ever hear.

I agree. While KB loved to get stuck into the show, I think it was extremely entertaining. Just after the footy people were very passionate about the result and it made for great listening.

They were really bad. Surely he wasn't getting paid for that crap....This is where SEN falls down. How on earth can they justify putting a ameteur like that on the airwaves?
he's not as bad as matt thompson,he is now out of control.
last week he said cousins hadn't changed in looks,what did he expect,BOOB enlargement.

he's not as bad as matt thompson,he is now out of control.
last week he said cousins hadn't changed in looks,what did he expect,BOOB enlargement.

hahaha....I am glad I am not the only one who gets very frustrated with Matt Thompson. To be honest, I think he should work as a writer on a soap like Neighbours or Home and Away. Every story that he reports on, he eggarates and elaborates on it like it is a massive news story. You can just tell he sits in the studio waiting for his time to shine, getting all excited waiting for his 'Sports Central' segment where he can talk, talk, talk and try to sound important. Sorry Had to get this off my chest, he has just annoyed me ever since he came onto SEN.

100% agree

hate that fat little shit