The SEN Thread 3

It's annoying to hear that annoying scottish Git Jim from Hawthorn back.

He went away all summer after Tassie got knocked out in the semis by North Melbourne, and now since the Squarks have won a few games, he's back on his moral high horse, thinking nothing but gold comes out Al Clarkson's rear end and all these annoying other crap ..

I'll ya what, we have this other Ruckmen BAILEEE, when he comes back, he'll be a champion, I tell ya that !!!

LOL I heard that and it cracked me up as well, saying how Robert Campbell and Simon Taylor would play as defenders and BAILEEEEE would play as ruck :eek:.....That will solve the Hawks defense no worries ;).

He did say he would never call TRH again, didn't take him long to call back and praise the all conquering indestructable Hawks.

Rumors of our death have been greatly exaggerated! It is correct that Franka is no longer doing ANS however OWAAT was just having a one week hiatus due to Mark and I both having weddings to attend.

I can confirm we will both be back for The Final Siren and OWAAT this week.

So why no Franka on All Night Sport? He adds variety to BP.

Too busy with other work?

-Ben

Sad to hear about Mark liked his knowledge especially on US sports. Anything to report coachnoodles?As much as i love the footy the all night constant talkback gets tedious :thumbsdown:Jesus peter mercato would wanna brush up on his geography Middlesbrough isn't in London:eek:

Am I missing something?

What happened with Franka?

Am I missing something?

He won't be on All Night Sport but will still be on OWAAT. It might be something to do with his day job. Can't do both.

Anyway sucks but BP did mentioned that Weekends is going to come back one day. Maybe he'll take over them.

-Ben

Am I missing something?

I received a message back from Frank, part of the message;

[FONT=Verdana, Arial]"Yeah no longer a part of ANS, I was told I HAD to do 12-6am on Monday and Friday mornings, which you can imagine is pretty tough. Long story short, I got booted from the show I started!"[/FONT]

Assuming Franklin was getting paid?, wouldn't having your own show on radio be better than a 9-5 daytime normal job???.....would have to be better pay, and certainly a good starting point for a future career in radio.....I'm talking 5 nights e.g. ANS....not OWAAT...all seems strange to me.....more to it I'm sure.......anyway, I prefer BP and Peter Mercato...

[FONT=Verdana, Arial]"Yeah no longer a part of ANS, I was told I HAD to do 12-6am on Monday and Friday mornings, which you can imagine is pretty tough. Long story short, I got booted from the show I started!"[/FONT]

even though i think bp is the best at sen i thought mark was not bad , he also gave alot of time to melbourne ice which i thought was good.
thats pretty poor isnt it that he gets booted from the show he started . to be on sen doing sports shows must be like dream job so franka wouldnt give it up easily who wouldnt you might never get the chance to do that again so looks like it wasnt his decision.
if it was a matter of his other job why didnt he just stay at sen instead of the other job. hope it is not about the pay situation that we use to have messages on here about them not being paid for all night sport.
bad luck anyway franka seems like sen have treated you poorly after all you did with bp to get overnight sport back on sen and they as you say boot you :thumbsdown:

Ah ____ing hell! That sux donk\ey balls! I really liked Franka. Anyway, why dosent the station say anything when these things happen? Its like they expect us to not even notice or care someone just disappears and they just carry on as if nothing happened! Happens all the time.

Meh, I'll keep supporting the station and the personalities on it ...(apart from Gollum KB and Fatprick Smith in the morning, even Doran's been allright lately)

Rita shits me bigtime though on Friday arvo, can't we get a less sanctimous/bitchy female on that friday slot (that Charlotte bird sounded allright)

What??? That is disgraceful! So if that is the case then how come BP is still doing 3 nights a week and Peter Mcardo is doing 2 nights a week.

Assuming Franklin was getting paid?, wouldn't having your own show on radio be better than a 9-5 daytime normal job???.....would have to be better pay, and certainly a good starting point for a future career in radio.....I'm talking 5 nights e.g. ANS....not OWAAT...all seems strange to me.....more to it I'm sure.......anyway, I prefer BP and Peter Mercato...

Well I kinda doubt that SEN would have been paying that much in the midnight to dawn slot. I would doubt he would be getting much more than $20 an hour. Maybe over an 8 hour shift though as he would need a couple of hours of prep at least. If he had a decent day time job then he would be getting more than that plus more sleep, those hours are awful for anybody.

-Ben

Meh, I'll keep supporting the station and the personalities on it ...(apart from Gollum KB and Fatprick Smith in the morning, even Doran's been allright lately)

Rita shits me bigtime though on Friday arvo, can't we get a less sanctimous/bitchy female on that friday slot (that Charlotte bird sounded allright)

Patrick Smith's segment can be annoying but its at least its interesting and always gets lots of good calls bagging him and KB. :D

Doran has been worse than usual if you ask me. He doesn't seem to be interested and no personality. I like Ripper Rita, casual fridays is the best part of Doran's show by a mile. Also rate monday with Mark Robinson. Doran on his own is boring.

Don't listen to ANS much, normally listening on the computer at work but the little I've heard of Franklin he seemed to be good. He shouldn't be treated so poorly/

Champagne radio.

Mark Doran gets Craig Tilley on to discuss a change of staff at the Australian Open. Doran wants it to be due to the scheduling of the Hewitt-Baghdatis match that went until 4am, and the first thing Tilley says is it had nothing to do with that, he thinks it was the right decision, but the rest of the whole interview Doran only wanted to discuss why that was wrong, and what are they going to do about it.

He even pulled out the line "at the time there were people calling for you to resign"... yeah Patrick Smith. He calls for resignations every day.

Champagne radio.

Mark Doran gets Craig Tilley on to discuss a change of staff at the Australian Open. Doran wants it to be due to the scheduling of the Hewitt-Baghdatis match that went until 4am, and the first thing Tilley says is it had nothing to do with that, he thinks it was the right decision, but the rest of the whole interview Doran only wanted to discuss why that was wrong, and what are they going to do about it.

He even pulled out the line "at the time there were people calling for you to resign"... yeah Patrick Smith. He calls for resignations every day.

He's been going on about that for weeks.:thumbsdown: There is no story there but he keeps trying to create one. Sent him a text saying as much and he didn't read of course.

Champagne radio.

Mark Doran gets Craig Tilley on to discuss a change of staff at the Australian Open.

Would he have done the interview if he wasn't a mate of Peter Johnston - the staffer who is out the door? Did he mention that when talking to Craig?

That might explain why he keeps going on with this. Move on Mark fight your mates battles elsewhere not on SEN.

Would he have done the interview if he wasn't a mate of Peter Johnston - the staffer who is out the door? Did he mention that when talking to Craig?

He actually did disclose that. Though that said he hardly spoke about the reason for Peter Johnston being moved on.

It was such a crap move to get the bloke on the radio to talk about the staff change and then railroad it with a massive beat up about the Hewitt-Baghdatis match. He was trying to tell Craig what should have been done differently that night. Every option Doran gave Tilley responded by saying "that wouldn't be possible..."

Oh well, without blokes like Doran and Tony Jones, we wouldn't have a saying in the vocabulary like "media beat-up".

Reckon it's only such a big deal still because it involved Hewitt? He suggested moving the Venus Williams match, then said "so what?" about the doubles match she would've had to play the next day as well. You can't judge matches as more important than another in terms of re-scheduling, dropping.

About right it's all about little Lleyton

Mark Franklin was on the night after that i remember and what he mentioned at the time was exactly right. Big deal it finished at 4am all those people there would have a story to tell for the rest of their lives that they were their during the epic 5 set match with Hewitt etc come back from the dead totally awesome.

Total media beat up.

-Ben

That takes away any credibilty Doran has to comment on this. So Lleyton had to play very very late, so did his opponent and judging by the number of people who stayed to watch the match it wasn't such a disaster. It would've been far worse if a top player like Venus had to play two matched on the same day. They did the right thing. Why is Boran still going on about this when it happened back in Jan?:rolleyes::confused:

BTW there is a good oil thread on the main board.

Mark Franklin was on the night after that i remember and what he mentioned at the time was exactly right. Big deal it finished at 4am all those people there would have a story to tell for the rest of their lives that they were their during the epic 5 set match with Hewitt etc come back from the dead totally awesome.

Total media beat up.

-Ben

Yep I would've loved to have been there, it was a historic night and I know a few people who were there and they say for them it was the highlight of the Open.

Total media beat up.

-Ben

I totally agree with you. It was an amazing match and I am glad I stayed up to watch it. What is Doran's problem? He has been going on about this since the open...why? It is a non-story and know one is interested. Does he not remeber the Roddick/El-Aynoui match? That went to around 2.30-3am and went to 21-19 in the 5th set. It was possibly the best mathc I have seenin terms of drama and I didn't care it went so late. If you are going to talk tennis Mark, why don't you actually talk about something interesting, like the fact that Roger is losing his dominance and we could have a new number 1 by the end of the year, or the fact we have a Davis Cup tie tomorrow.

I doubt Boran is aware of the David Cup tie or Roger's plight. He'll probably be going on about this all year.:rolleyes: