The SEN Thread 3

The 3 Muppets were back this morning and we revert straight back to 3 hours of AFL after a refreshing week with something different.

The sooner SEN change it up the better.
Yes it was good not to have Leach talking about soccer non stop,and OX just talking dribble.
Nothing wrong with talking about other sports,but this town is AFL.

Yes it was good not to have Leach talking about soccer non stop,and OX just talking dribble.
Nothing wrong with talking about other sports,but this town is AFL.
Turn it up you clown.

Leach didn't talk about soccer "non stop". He spoke about it yes, as he should do on an ALL Sports Network. However AFL still dominated discussion, which I didn't mind too much because they at least made the effort to discuss Soccer and other sports. It was good the way Leach covered the 2nd Melbourne A-League team story last week. I dare say had the 3 Muppets been on, it would have rated only a very fleeting mention.

It might be an AFL town, but would it hurt to at least acknowledge another sport? At least Leach would have given us the overnight Soccer results. The 3 Muppets didn't even mention them once. Wasn't until the 2nd or 3rd Sports Central update that they actually got mentioned.

What about a mention of another Aussie start, Chad Reed, who won his second Supercross Championship yesterday? I'm not asking for a 15 minute discussion on it, but at least give it a mention and congratulate him.

Their constant talk about just AFL does get tiring, as much as I love the sport.

LOL @ Hungry this morning suggesting that Richo could have 12 Brownlow votes already.

Turn it up you muppet :rolleyes:

lol @ doran talking about hawthorn player "cameron brown" in the dream team match. robbo had to correct him.
doran then said that what would brown do if sheedy as coach asked him to give it to buddy if he lined up on him.
idiot doran, do you think he would kill the golden goose that could give his own team a flag? even robbo dismissed this stupid comment.

That's happened to Hawthorn before. Think Andy Collins ended Tony Hall's season in a State game. But this is pretty much a meaningless game. Robbo's great on Doran's program since he pretty much runs the segment.

I agree Robbo's footy loving Yobbo thing really works - I just can't listen to Snoran anymore he shits me!

Loved the caller, Rhonda, who suggested putting the whole Melbourne team into the Vic team after their win.

Good to hear some good ol' one-eyed passion!

That's happened to Hawthorn before. Think Andy Collins ended Tony Hall's season in a State game. But this is pretty much a meaningless game. Robbo's great on Doran's program since he pretty much runs the segment.

the classic, 89 state of origin at the g'. near on 100k there, dunstall and lockett in the forward line and all the great players of the day. tony hall running into goal at the city end, gets slowed down just on centre half forward by the muddy conditions and collins drags him down from behind in mid kick. only one way for the leg to go and that was out the front. the sight of hall (we were on the half forward, at the fence) lying on his back holding his knee screaming is still stuck in my mind.
but fair dinkum, what brains has doran got thinking that "cameron" brown would do this deliberately to his teammate?

WTF is wrong with Mark Fine? Melbourne have one win, albeit a fantastic win, and says that Melbourne are not a terrible side. Um, yes they are. They are last with 1 win and 6 losses and a % of 60. They have won 6 of their last 29 games.

Yes Essendon are shit and could well finish last, but please, don't try to tell me that Melbourne are not a rabble. After all the promotion of the week, and letting people on the ground, they still couldn't attract 20,000.

Finey made it very clear that he was talking through his pocket.

Hope that caller learnt his lesson just then. Don't talk EPL to Doran. Probably felt like talking to a 5yo.

I actually felt sorry for Doran after that caller.

He started dribbling something about winning the FA Cup, even though the caller was talking about Fulham.

Turn it up you clown.

Leach didn't talk about soccer "non stop". He spoke about it yes, as he should do on an ALL Sports Network. However AFL still dominated discussion, which I didn't mind too much because they at least made the effort to discuss Soccer and other sports. It was good the way Leach covered the 2nd Melbourne A-League team story last week. I dare say had the 3 Muppets been on, it would have rated only a very fleeting mention.

It might be an AFL town, but would it hurt to at least acknowledge another sport? At least Leach would have given us the overnight Soccer results. The 3 Muppets didn't even mention them once. Wasn't until the 2nd or 3rd Sports Central update that they actually got mentioned.

What about a mention of another Aussie start, Chad Reed, who won his second Supercross Championship yesterday? I'm not asking for a 15 minute discussion on it, but at least give it a mention and congratulate him.

Their constant talk about just AFL does get tiring, as much as I love the sport.
Better being a clown than a Richard Cranium

does anyone else reckon Harford and Mark Allen were better than 'Frarncis' and Theo X?

its strange because yes mark allen and harford are better than francis and the ox in the drive shift, however francis and ox are better than MG!

The 3 Muppets were back this morning and we revert straight back to 3 hours of AFL after a refreshing week with something different.

Without having heard it this morning I can only assume Brainless came in hungover and/or drunk from the Logies with everyone doubling over with the 'hilarity' of it.

Could not agree more. Fat chance that will ever happen. I try to listen to it, but within 3 min, I have turn the dial. When are people going to realise that ex footballers don't automatically make for good listening?

No, this town is SPORT.

Nah this town's definitely an AFL town. Have a look at either paper's sports pages. SEN understand their primary demographic and,although they have to pay lip service to other sports, they know their bread and butter is footy. Lets face it do you really think that the majority of SEN listeners know what the hell Craven Cottage is let alone care ?

I'd say majority of listeners and Melbournians only really know AFL and nothing more.

The fact is, it's a SPORTS Entertainment Network. They should have presenters and programs which could help educate listeners about other sports. Even just give other sports a profile boost and people aware of it. This is why I listen to Doran's program as he does have a diverse coverage of sports with help of guest presenters.

There's only so much AFL you can talk about that even little non-issues become news. Eg. Didak arguing with his girlfriend at a club.

If we want to claim to be the sporting capital of the world, we would actually care about the other sports and be pushing/supporting the Melbourne/Victorian clubs to success in their chosen sport.

The presenters well some not all are so busy proving how much they think they know about A, B & C they forget we the listeners have just switched stations .......

I'd say majority of listeners and Melbournians only really know AFL and nothing more.

The fact is, it's a SPORTS Entertainment Network. They should have presenters and programs which could help educate listeners about other sports. Even just give other sports a profile boost and people aware of it. This is why I listen to Doran's program as he does have a diverse coverage of sports with help of guest presenters.

There's only so much AFL you can talk about that even little non-issues become news. Eg. Didak arguing with his girlfriend at a club.

If we want to claim to be the sporting capital of the world, we would actually care about the other sports and be pushing/supporting the Melbourne/Victorian clubs to success in their chosen sport.
You'd be the only one listening to Doran

Stay tuned for a full wrap of the Vixen v Swifts game and general ANZ Championship report after 1am on All Night Sport.
If you've read the previous few posts, I don't think many people will tune in. It's AFL or get off the air by the attitude of some.