The SEN Thread 3

Does anyone think SEN's overnight schedule has gotten almost unlistenable over the past few weeks?

Last night we had Mark Irwin - who is this hack and why is he given a radio gig? Must have some dirty pictures of BP lying around. Tonight we have the ever-boring and repetitive GBU Crew, more crap. After that we have the local footy hour - one hour of some schmoe reading the paper's local footy scores, who wants to hear that? Considering neither BP or the guy have any detailed knowledge of the leagues or teams involved, why bother?

Finally on Friday we have some decent entertainment with the Gladiators. Not as good as it once was with the Schibeci-led lineup, but much better than everything preceding it throughout the week overnight.

Time to freshen the lineup BP.

bp is one of the best at sen and he has done big things for the all night sport since he took over.he does much more than lazy tony shibecci ever did he got rid of shibeccis restaurant mates from the fedish bar who were only because they were shibeccis mates he has got rid the agitator and he got rid of mark franklin and made a few other changes so all night sport is all good now.bp has made it much better already

Setanta is actually more than that. You have to sign up for a minimum of three months, meaning it's $45 plus the $15 connection fee if you want to watch Euro. There's the rip-off.

Yeah I assumed as much. When I was checking out the site, I didn't see the 3 month minimum clause. Still, if I was interested enough, I'd pay the $60. Only reason I don't is the shit hours the tournament is on.

bp is one of the best at sen and he has done big things for the all night sport since he took over.he does much more than lazy tony shibecci ever did he got rid of shibeccis restaurant mates from the fedish bar who were only because they were shibeccis mates he has got rid the agitator and he got rid of mark franklin and made a few other changes so all night sport is all good now.bp has made it much better already
Yes, I agree with all the above, except for GBU.... a very annoying and tired segment.....not the sort of hyped up rubbish we want to hear at that hour, so I never listen to it, and I'm sure I'm not the only one......the rest of BP's shows are great, he really does a top job..

Yeah the Arsenal Soccer Schools ran camps in Australia, but I believe the school itself was overseas. These were just weeklong camps or whatever.

I haven't seen the article, but from the sounds of it not good for SEN or the Gunners.

I read the article yesterday...basically parents lost the $300 fee, Arsenal gave the guy the license and he has ripped of others before including A-League players.

Wow, haven't read this thread in a few days. Didn't think someone would take my claims and actually do research on it!

I commend you on your efforts montybrasco, however I don't think taking one show from one day gives a true indication of the true variety (or lack thereof) of sports covered by SEN.

I'll admit, I've always found Mark Fine to be pretty good for all sports and that is probably because he is a fan of most sports and has at least some knowledge on most sports.

My main beef is generally with The Morning Glory (would be good to see a rundown of that show). It's the only program I listen to (and generally only half of it before I leave for work) so it's the one that annoys me the most. The hosts have a severe lack of knowledge on other sports and will take any opportunity to talk AFL and even belittle other sports.

Look forward to your report on MG.

I couldn't believe when Finey said that his My Say, Your Say topic for the night.

I text him and said I thought he was better than that. The topic has been done to death already.

i was thinking of calling in and saying stuff like this (in relation to ablett vs franklin)

- am i starting a team from scratch?
- am i starting a team from scratch in west sydney or the gc?
- are we a rebuilding team?
- where do we play our home games?
- do we have good facilities
- membership base strong?
- if not building a team from scratch does my team have a gun midfield or crappy one?
- if not building a team from scratch does my team have a gun forward line or a crappy one?
- is the team i am selecting one or the other for have any potential salary cap issues?
- does the team i am selecting for have any players i could use as trade bait to lure a potential draft pick?
etc

when i heard talkback on this last night i wondered if any sports stations in the world spend time pitting two players against each other and asking callers to pick one. i mean there's so many variables.

the only reason i could think of as to why this was a topic of discussion last night was because its been a slow news week in afl.

oh and for a bigger image of montybrasco's pic

0,,5408003,00.jpg

Is Dasher39 right in stating SEN doesn’t cover all sport equally enough or is the S.S. American right that the station gives a broad coverage?
Hungry for Sport, 11/6/08

09:00-09:35
AFL: KB rants for AFL waving debt of clubs due to debts. Grunk Denham on deck again and it’s welfare love all round for Victorian teams. Straight to some of the familiar sounding talkback callers who offer their opinion, expertise and knowledge.:rolleyes: Kangas pres, Bubby Brayshaw comes into the fray and states his case. Teams on ASD - we’re entitled to even more due to Telstra Dome deal and until the AFL owns the stadium. Bubby makes his points agreeing with Grunk and Putz’s article in the paper. Bubby calls for Good Friday football. Grunk having plugged the article in the paper and shoots through by mid-segment, and I’m rushing out to buy me a copy of the Australian - or maybe not.

09:40-10:00
AFL: The Macedonian Marvel’s here. KB goes straight for the throat. Daics’ kid barracks for Carlton and that fact is a recurring point. Loyalties to teams inside a family is the theme.

10:00-10:20
AFL: David Smorgan on to talk about stadium deals and other financial issues for Vic teams. ASD and the Bulldogs is the obvious topic…doom without ASD.

10:25-10:35
Basketball: Nigel Purchase - all gloom and doom for NBL. KB’s all knowledge as usual, right on top of the situation. Only the great BT could do a better job than KB.

Speaking of which…Lakers v Celtics. Now!

09:40-10:00
AFL: The Macedonian Marvel’s here. KB goes straight for the throat. Daics’ kid barracks for Carlton and that fact is a recurring point. Loyalties to teams inside a family is the theme.

what is daicos on for each week?

Haven't been listening all arvo to Snoran, but I heard him say at the start of the show that he'll give warnings before each NBA score he gives and he even gave about a one minute warning for the first score he gave. An hour or so later, I hear him blurting out the scores with no warning.

Why does he bother?

Haven't been listening all arvo to Snoran, but I heard him say at the start of the show that he'll give warnings before each NBA score he gives and he even gave about a one minute warning for the first score he gave. An hour or so later, I hear him blurting out the scores with no warning.

Why does he bother?

Yeah he did that during Game 1.
News hour today: Nick Darcy's back. Doran and Thompson love him.

Classic Doran example of explaining something.

"He accidentally hit the ref. Well not accidentally, he meant to hit him."

Edit - Only heard it from the reply on The Run Home, Doran's idea to scrap the clay for the French Open is up there with KB suggesting to get rid of the Penalty Shootout to decide finals.

Is Dasher39 right in stating SEN doesn’t cover all sport equally enough or is the S.S. American right that the station gives a broad coverage?

No-Show Evenings With Mark Fine, 11/6/08

19:00 - 20:00
The Flame Game (Fine-less Flame Game): Olympic stuff with the Darcy story eliciting the word “disrepute” so much in the opening discussion I’m out after the first segment till eight o’clock. Diamond Dave Culbert and the panel of Mutt Thompson and some bird (Christine O’Hern, I think) are a tad grizzled. Two guys had a ride-off at a velodrome and the media was banned leaving the press (the O’Hern chicky) stranded for 4 hours in the car park. There’s that bureaucracy for ya. Bike riding doesn’t need any good press.:rolleyes:

20:00 - 21:00
Chasing Birdies (Fine-less Chasing Birdies): Mark Allen still has a gig after getting the boot from Channel Ten. Seems like there’s not much AFL footy on SEN tonight.:rolleyes: Allen is concerned about the state of golf in Australia, and like a number of SENers deeply concerned about golf in Oz, I’m checking out the Cain toads versus Cockroaches on the TV for a while.
@&%!*#+ golf!

0,,5955565,00.jpg

Here, Allen, go chase these two.:)

Very Late Evenings With Mark Fine, 11/6/08
Forget whining about CEO salaries, how many hours a week does this bloke put in for his pay?

21:00 - 22:00
The Balltearers Soccer Show : Fine & Co seem up to date with all the happenings in Euro 2008. No waffle, seemingly just stuff for the diehard fan.

22:00 - 22:20
Rugby League - “Cactus” Couch is discussing Queensland’s S.O.O. win.

22:25-22:35
Tennis - the smooth sounding Brett Phillips is a contrast to Fine’s yapper. He chats about the French Open and Tennis in general. Why on earth does SEN waste BP’s talent burning the midnight oil? Will the wasted Phillips end up being poached by Geezer radio or ABC774? On midnight to dawn, eh. Stay very awake SEN management.

22:40-22:45
The Back Page - The SMH: more Rugby League S.O.O. chit-chat and Cricket. Two nights; two back pages discussions on QLD and NSW’s newspapers on a Melbourne radio station.:confused:

22:50-22:55
Quiz - Finey’s Final Five: Quiz about Bombers again. Well, I guess that counts as AFL.

23:00-00:00
The Four Diegos: Soccer, Euro ‘08, and more soccer.

Just about had a fill of Monsieur Fine’s voice, though. He seems as O.K. as anyone but still a poor-man’s Beva at best.

The too-much-AFL Argument is now on the precipice with the sword of Damocles poised precariously above.

I'm liking your posts Monty. Agree with most of the stuff you say. However, I actually don't mind Chasing Birdies, cause I like Mark Allen for some reason and I'm a massive golf fan. He's easy to listen to and works well with KB when he does his morning golf shows.
Agree with you 100% on the olympic show or whatever it is and the fact that SEN doesn't use Brett Phillips well enough. I've always said BP, Steve Salsbury and Ed Wyatt are the best three presenters on SEN. They are knowledgable and respect the callers.
Also, what happened with the back page segment. Finey use to go to both The Age and The Herald Sun, it was much more interesting than the back page of the Gold Coast newspaper.

when and under what circumstances did mark allen did the flick from ch10?

That was about a year ago. KB spoke to him about it quite a bit at the time.

Channel Ten is going to butcher the US Open this weekend. Coverage doesn't start til 6am tomorrow for starters. Not to mention the fact they interupt their ads with a little golf everytime they do a major.

You gotta be sh1tting me. Is there nothing better to talk about today than talking about whether Warnie will make a comeback?

I reckon Warnie adds lines like "at this stage" onto the end of "I have no plans for a comeback" just for blokes like Snoran to fill their talkback shows.

Because Doran lacks serious knowledge about the sporting world. He has football and the some olympic knowledge but that is it. Everyday for the past few months I have noticed that he tends to talk about the same things everyday. He sometimes cuts caller's off if they disagree with him and his voice annoys me. He needs a co-host at least, as Deledinho said he's only good with Harford and Rita.
I'd prefer someone like Brett Phillips than Doran. More knowledgable, respect's the callers and has a better radio voice.

Because Doran lacks serious knowledge about the general world. He has football and the some olympic knowledge but that is it. Everyday for the past few months I have noticed that he tends to talk about the same things everyday. He sometimes cuts caller's off if they disagree with him and his voice annoys me. He needs a co-host at least, as Deledinho said he's only good with Harford and Rita.
I'd prefer someone like Brett Phillips than Doran. More knowledgable, respect's the callers and has a better radio voice.
Edited for accuracy. You wouldn't believe the number of public figures he doesn't know.