The SEN Thread 3

Re: The SEN Thread 2

Pedantic Doran. Refused to let someone listen to the audio again because he asked "can I hear it again?" meaning he must have heard it before. Tool.

You would reckon he knows that he's not the most popular host on SEN. You would think he'd try hard to keep his listeners happy.

He was just waffling on about how the Grand Prix is only on pay TV overseas (which is wrong), and how it doesn't do anything for our tourism industry to promote Melbourne. And a bunch of other assorted waffling where he was obviously out of his depth.

I've been on holidays for the last month and haven't listened to SEN much lately (the one bit I heard was an interview Doran did with James Tomkins where he spent half the time asking him about Sally Robbins for some reason). Anyone want to join a posse I want to put together to get this bloke off the air? Annoys the piss out of me.

Doran is not as bad as Maher when it comes to shooting your mouth off about the grand prix but not knowing anything about it.:thumbsdown:
ManBearPig people might start getting ideas about us. I've just had the last month on holiday too. Not looking forward to tomorrow first day back at work.

Tim Watson is about as funny as Maggie Thatcher ..

Seriously the man has no personality whatsoever ..

He's just not the type of personality you want to listen to in the mornin. I don't anyway. But then again Maher and Brownless are irritating as well.:thumbsdown:

Great News for Born in the USA, it has won the National Basketball League's Media Award for Best Radio News Package for season 2007/2008.

Well Done Ed and Steve! Great Show!

Great going guys:thumbsu:. Born in the USA deserves all praise it gets. It's got me tuning in even though I don't like most american sport.

It lost $35 million last year Ben and has never turned a profit.

You should be on top of this being a sports journalist.

Every major international sporting event loses money but it brings in money with tourism and promotion. Those losses they quote are just based on ticket sales not on the amount people spend whilst here. I'm going this year and its pretty good value with the kids getting in for free.:thumbsu:

If people have suggestions, send them to me, because I have Chuck's email and will send them straight to him.

Actually, next time you have Chuck (or anybody from the NBL head office) on your show, can you ask him why he allowed Game 4 to clash with the ACL match?

We have known for months that Sydney were unbackable to have the home court advantage in the Grand Final series, therefore leaving Game 4 to be played in either Melbourne or Brisbane realistically.

This ACL fixture has been locked in for months, it could have been avoided if someone looked a couple of weeks ahead and seen that both games were on the one night.

I have my suspicions, sad as it might be, that it has something to do with Foxtel's sick fascination with Wednesday night Basketball.

Pedantic Doran. Refused to let someone listen to the audio again because he asked "can I hear it again?" meaning he must have heard it before. Tool.
If you really dislike him so much, why do you keep listening to his show??...Nearly all your posts are about Doran.....save yourself the angst, dont listen....problem solved!!

I like the content as he covers other sports not just AFL. Being at work, it's a long day without listening to anything in the afternoon.

also i think a few pages back there was a call for ppl to post their most hated/worst ads on sen.

mine would be the one with the ultimate dependability ute (UD). the relationship between father and daughter sounds somewhat, umm how you say,tasmanian.
What does she say in that ad, "you deliver, you d.ck--no, you don't!". Or am I hearing things? And yes, it doesn't sound like a dad-daughter relationship, more of a "who's your daddy?" situation.

If I hear that stupid mofo on the aluminium industry adds one more time Im gunna....its getting VERY wearing:)

Actually, next time you have Chuck (or anybody from the NBL head office) on your show, can you ask him why he allowed Game 4 to clash with the ACL match?

We have known for months that Sydney were unbackable to have the home court advantage in the Grand Final series, therefore leaving Game 4 to be played in either Melbourne or Brisbane realistically.

This ACL fixture has been locked in for months, it could have been avoided if someone looked a couple of weeks ahead and seen that both games were on the one night.

I have my suspicions, sad as it might be, that it has something to do with Foxtel's sick fascination with Wednesday night Basketball.
who cares about the acl this is the sen thread

Laughable

Yes, surely you jest.:)

I cannot remember I heard any decent discussion on SEN about the Melbourne Storm. They get a fleeting mention but that is about it.
They'll now have a 'Melbourne Storm Hour' on a Tuesday night, but an hour on a station that broadcasts for 168 hours is pathetic.

There’ll be more than one hour, though. Storm players will in interviewed across the schedule; Brian Waldron is on KB’s show on Fridays and Sen has general talkback segments on any topics - the floor’s yours and other Storm fans.

I love AFL, but I am a sports lover and like to hear discussion about other sports as well. I understand AFL is always going to be #1 and get the majority of discussion, but the amount of discussion it gets is ridiculous.

I still say they give decent coverage to a variety of sports. The targeted demographic will only suffer so much of what they’re not interested in. Nothing in Melbourne says turn the dial like Super 14s.

A little thing I have noticed on The Morning Glory. At 6:30pm when they start going through the papers they only thing they ever mention is AFL (probably because our print media isn't much better when it comes to AFL media saturation), but as soon as Andy or Bill start to mention another sport, generally "Soccer" before they've even got the headline out Tim has already butted in to get the conversation back on AFL.

I agree. But these guys are not professionals in their attitude. They’re rarely researched or prepared and will always return to what they feel comfortable with. The daily papers are their CliffsNotes and from there they just wing it. When I used to regularly listen to them, Brownless, often during interviews with athletes he new nothing about would continually try to talk crap under his breath in a bid to be funny or occupy his own mind, which became a habit that led to the infamous and still-denied Slug Jordan snicker incident. And if one is to talk motor racing, one better be prepared.

Sadly a lot of this town has an unhealthy obsession with AFL much like Hollywood has an unhealthy obsession about Britney and Lindsay.

Interesting analogy, albeit nonsensical. Unhealthy for whom? SEN generate revenue and interest with their healthy obsession of AFL; the paparazzi make millions with their financial obsession of Britney and Lindsay. Maybe these gals should be subjected to a healthy: a) curfews, b) dress code, c) salary cap, d) draft, e) restraint of where you work, etc, just like AFL footballers and there would be no obsessions in Hollywood.

I'd much rather SEN talk about the Storm's rampaging win, or the Victory's latest recruit, or the Vixens inaugural season, or the Tigers GF series than off-field AFL story they'll spend the week talking about.

You would but the majority might not…Vixens, huh? What’s that, a strip club like Spearmint Rhino or something? Doran will never cover it.
Hell I turned on SEN last night and they were discussing Mike Sheehan's Top 50 players...who cares? That was 3 days ago, and even then I didn't care because I don't see the big deal with one persons opinion, and it's still making news.

Catholic church’s new eighth mortal sin: criticizing Mike Sheahan. Penalty: having to read his columns and watch re-runs of On The Couch. :(

As an "all sports" network they'd spend at least 75% of air time discussing AFL, it's pathetic!

It’s that or go out of business. Take your pick. Having to listen to Rex Hunt ever again would be pathetic.:rolleyes:

Well, well, looks like someone's not entitled to an opinion. This thread is to critique SEN. Your posts are all positive for the Double D. If you dislike negative posts of Doran so much, why keep reading and posting your dislikes of others opinions? Save yourself the angst, just listen and enjoy, don't post - problem solved.:)

I am probably a more pro-american australian than you, though.
Er, Umm, well you know…umm, you’ve got me there. But you know what I meant, no blood ties kinda thing; Australian born, maybe. :eek:

Personally, I couldn't care less about Chris Judd or the Blues, but I know that the masses find it newsworthy and that is why it's reported.
Wherever you are in this country or the US, the local teams typically get more air time. While I was growing up, if Joe Montana crapped or one of the 49ers got a DUI, there was a Hutchy-type reporter chasing the story. Of course, I loved the 49ers, so that didn't bother me. When I was in San Diego, during and after graduating from college, that same approach drove me crazy because I didn't like the Chargers, Padres or LA Lakers. When I am Perth, Sydney, Brisbane, the same thing happens.

This is basically my point. I couldn’t care either, but in a city that has nine AFL teams in its sports market, there is going to be mass saturation of AFL and the stars with a marginal revenue product influence. All sports are keen for themselves to get exposure on SEN and the AFL is not No.1, it’s number one, two, and three. Pretty much like Ferris, I tuned in to hear whether Judd actually played, did the groin again, stunk it up, or, totally dominated! I can’t remember ever listening to The Run Home before (with Leach and Schwartz era).

I have listened to Cowherd the last couple times I was in the US and think he does a good job. I didn't hear his "spanning the globe" segment, but that could be a take off of an old show. During the 1970's, Wide World of Sports was the weekly show on ABC and the slogan was "Spanning the globe, to bring you a constant variety of sports..."

I think he does more than a good job, he’s great, and he has to be, as he’s syndicated on around 160 US stations and soon do a pilot for his own TV show on ESPN. That’s why I listen to him. Unlike Doran, if CC stinks, he's out. Imagine Doran doing this: Ricky Weed or Rule 4. I prefer a radio sports jock who can cover sports seriously yet argue with e-mailers on how hot Jessica Simpson is or how overdressed hot women are in US winters to a point that “they look like the crab fisherman down the end of the bar.” Sexist? Probably to some. Targeted demographic - definitely.

People rip the programming, but SEN does a great job of giving fringe sport shows a platform. For this, I am very grateful. If you travel around, you'd be hard pressed to find another station like SEN.

Although many people disagree with us on this point, SEN has been targeting the 25-54 male demographic since its inception as world radio sports stations do, and yet it still gives coverage of various sports including this weird thing they call netball.;) Bedford and Dasher39 I believe are both kinda right and wrong. That’s seems to be a conundrum for the station - pleasing everybody.

SEN's multimillion-dollar foray in a market dominated by 3AW and Fox is aimed at men aged 25 to 54 and their fixation with bum-slapping locker-room banter, corked thighs, strained groins, footballers' hairstyles and Gary Ablett's glory days…
Twenty-four-hour stations in Britain and the US, on which SEN models itself, thrive on the continuous live match broadcasts. The big test for SEN will be during the football season, when the diehards seek live matches on 3AW, 774 ABC Melbourne and Triple M.

The reason I’ve gone somewhat off-topic for this thread by bringing up US radio hosts is because they are artisans of their profession. Their actual shtick may not actually be suitable to an Australian sports culture, but it does highlight the deficiencies in some 6a.m. to 11p.m. on-air personal at SEN. Kevin Bartlett (927) and Leach (JJJ and ABC) are probably the only ones with a true background in radio, the others are just journalists or ex-athletes. With the exception of Mark Fine it’s all mostly safe fence-sitting stuff. There’s no I-better-listen-or-I’ll-miss-something WOW factor radio. I don’t believe the station can grow a broader male oriented audience without incorporating entertainment and non-sport analogy subjects. I just thought of something but I'm not going back to the sports world's lamest website to see if Bruce Eva's picture is still there. :rolleyes:

On the insular thing....I have theories on the differences between sport fans here and in the US. One is that we all have finite amount of 'Sporting Bandwidth' and in the US, there is a game every day of the year. The big 4 sports span the entire calendar, then you have the fringe ones...golf, tennis, auto racing, etc. Most american people don't need to look elsewhere because, with all the espn, fox sports, satellite sports radio, it is in their faces 24x7. This can be discussed over a cold beer sometime.
Anyway, thanks for your well thought contributions to the thread.

And that insular thing is by design. I wouldn’t call it a theory, more like a fact. The major sports leagues are in partnership with the media which creates blanket coverage which squeezes out minority sports. The NFL moves from Super to Pro Bowl, on to free agency, on to the scouting combine / draft, on to mini / pre-season camps, on to exhibition season (out rates NBA play-off games on TV) - then - hello new season. Good luck MLS getting media coverage; that’s why they got Beckham.

It’s a key reason the NBL and the A-League play a spring-summer schedule trying to exploit the AFL off-season to get coverage and maximize revenue streams. SEN in particular is important to soccer as the sport is not conducive to free-to-air TV coverage. Therein comes the NAB Cup and it’s importance to the AFL. Just when the NBL play-offs hot up featuring the Melbourne Tigers, the A-League finals kick into gear, and Rugby starts, they all get slam dunked by footy and marginalized by an AFL-centric media. Feel free to explain your "Bandwith" theories to some of your SEN colleagues to hopefully save me from anymore talkback whining on the NAB Cup.
The end.

I like the content as he covers other sports not just AFL. Being at work, it's a long day without listening to anything in the afternoon.

Same for me. Disappointed I didn't get a criticism too, cause most of my comments on here are bagging Mark Snoran.

He does have 20 years experience as a hard nosed sports journo you know?

who were the competition?

I enjoy Steve and Ed's show but i agree with your comment about the competition. Have a look at the placegetters.

NBL Media Award for Best Radio News Package for season 2007/2008.

1st Born in the USA - SEN

2nd The Hoops Hour - Toowoomba Community Radio

3rd Repeats of Hangin with Mr. Cooper - Ten Network

There are no certainties in sport, it easily could have been Brisbane v Sydney and then it wouldnt have mattered when the game was on in Melbourne.

Big Wednesday is a Fox idea yes, but its the NBL's little niche so they were always going to have it. Id love to see the ratings actually, surely it had to be the biggest rated NBL match all year.

Well, well, looks like someone's not entitled to an opinion. This thread is to critique SEN. Your posts are all positive for the Double D. If you dislike negative posts of Doran so much, why keep reading and posting your dislikes of others opinions? Save yourself the angst, just listen and enjoy, don't post - problem solved.:)
Down Fido!!.....I really couldn't care less whether you or anyone else have a different opinion to me.....you are certainly entitled to them...as I am.....What I was questioning was how anyone (other poster in this case) could listen to someone who so obviously annoys the crap out them..........Simply because I couldn't!.....Would drive me up the proverbial wall!!.....If I dont like someone's show, I just dont listen, even if they do have good content....then I dont get any angst, or high blood pressure, or feel a need to complain ..... I just dont listen....And by the way, I'm not a huge Doran fan, by any stretch, but I dont dislike him either, and what I hear of his show, I find o.k......no more no less....So save YOURSELF some angst, and stop being an A-Hole!!:) Cheers

When I used to regularly listen to them, Brownless, often during interviews with athletes he new nothing about would continually try to talk crap under his breath in a bid to be funny or occupy his own mind, which became a habit that led to the infamous and still-denied Slug Jordan snicker incident.

is this an urban rumour, seems everyone is scared to talk about it, can you please explain what happened for those that don't know?

I enjoy Steve and Ed's show but i agree with your comment about the competition. Have a look at the placegetters.

NBL Media Award for Best Radio News Package for season 2007/2008.

1st Born in the USA - SEN

2nd The Hoops Hour - Toowoomba Community Radio

3rd Repeats of Hangin with Mr. Cooper - Ten Network

is that on again, spewing i missed it.
seriously, you can only beat who you're up against though.

Down Fido!!.....I really couldn't care less whether you or anyone else have a different opinion to me.....you are certainly entitled to them...as I am.....What I was questioning was how anyone (other poster in this case) could listen to someone who so obviously annoys the crap out them..........Simply because I couldn't!.....Would drive me up the proverbial wall!!.....If I dont like someone's show, I just dont listen, even if they do have good content....then I dont get any angst, or high blood pressure, or feel a need to complain ..... I just dont listen....And by the way, I'm not a huge Doran fan, by any stretch, but I dont dislike him either, and what I hear of his show, I find o.k......no more no less....So save YOURSELF some angst, and stop being an A-Hole!!:) Cheers

A-hole? You obviously do care. Hypocrisy! Kevieyang had a different opinion to you. You suggested he stop listening and save himself some angst. I 'm suggesting if you don't like people's critiquing in this thread, save YOURSELF some angst, and practise what you preach. Oh, better still, there's an ignore list option at Big Footy - simply try using it. You don't have to like something to listen to it. The world's full of people critizing things they don't know anything about. SEN has numerous talkback with regular callers constantly AFL bashing. What, they should stop following AFL footy? If everyone followed your thinking, SEN's ratings would drop below 2.1 Hmmm, reads like I've got your angst and blood pressure up, though.

Opinions are like A-Holes, everyone has one - me, Doran, and even you.:) Cheers.

I want to know what you are on about too. Haven't heard this story at all.

Urban rumour? Don’t deal in them.

Ray "Slug" Jordan - one of the all time footy good guys - suffered a stoke, which sadly left him with slurred speech. :( While doing a radio interview, I think last year, Jordan made reference to Brownless allegedly laughing in the background at his slurred speech during a previous MG segment.

Did Brownless really do it. Dunno. He denied it vociferously. If he did I’m guessing it was just insensitivity by yapping while a guest was talking. But it wouldn’t be the first, or last time, Billy’s brain may leave him high and dry on the radio. This may of happened because he’s not a professional comedian and that’s what he’s expected to be on SEN.

Often the only thing he can offer is to take the piss, and it will get him into trouble. Seinfeld had 27 writers; Letterman and Leno each have dozens; Billy has…Osca and Max?
And I don’t know if Jordan has ever been on MG since. Food for thought?:confused:

Ray "Slug" Jordan - one of the all time footy good guys - suffered a stoke, which sadly left him with slurred speech. :( While doing a radio interview, I think last year, Jordan made reference to Brownless allegedly laughing in the background at his slurred speech during a previous MG segment.

Did Brownless really do it. Dunno. He denied it vociferously. If he did I’m guessing it was just insensitivity by yapping while a guest was talking. But it wouldn’t be the first, or last time, Billy’s brain may leave him high and dry on the radio. This may of happened because he’s not a professional comedian and that’s what he’s expected to be on SEN.

Often the only thing he can offer is to take the piss, and it will get him into trouble. Seinfeld had 27 writers; Letterman and Leno each have dozens; Billy has…Osca and Max?
And I don’t know if Jordan has ever been on MG since. Food for thought?:confused:

if that's true then he is a knob. slug's done more for footy than brownless and the premiership hangover thing on the footy show has been done to death too.

Knowing Billy Brainless and his ineptuitude bogan/hillybilly style yokel humour, I would suggest that Billy B probably did ..
The man has the intellect and emotional capacity of an 12 year old school kid .

A-hole? You obviously do care. Hypocrisy! Kevieyang had a different opinion to you. You suggested he stop listening and save himself some angst. I 'm suggesting if you don't like people's critiquing in this thread, save YOURSELF some angst, and practise what you preach. Oh, better still, there's an ignore list option at Big Footy - simply try using it. You don't have to like something to listen to it. The world's full of people critizing things they don't know anything about. SEN has numerous talkback with regular callers constantly AFL bashing. What, they should stop following AFL footy? If everyone followed your thinking, SEN's ratings would drop below 2.1 Hmmm, reads like I've got your angst and blood pressure up, though.

Opinions are like A-Holes, everyone has one - me, Doran, and even you.:) Cheers.
So, what you are really suggesting is, that if I DON'T have the same opinion as you, then I shouldn't post on this thread, because it is for, what was it you said? ah yes, critiquing......Now, a while ago,I posted that I loved B in USA with Steve + Mark......no criticism from you then on my post, or did you agree with me?? Ah see, its YOU who doesn't like a different opinion....thats the crux of the matter!!.......go crawl in your little hole, you twerp!! .... and just accept that others might differ in opinion....actually, I wasn't even differing, only curious is all....but hey, what does it matter...By the way, my angst is o.k. and so is my blood pressure, thanks for your thoughts to that regard....:)....cheers..

Billy Brownless is part of the culture that Mark Johnston obviously wants at SEN otherwise he would have stopped this long ago.
The TV Guide liftout this week pointed out that the F word was said on Morning Glory as well.
I would say Program Manager Mark Johnston must come from a family of low morales and must swear like a trooper .