The SEN Thread 3

I think SEN have already made Patrick Smith's role on KB's show a lot smaller this year. He was on 3 or 4 days in previos years, now he is only on Monday and Thursday and sometimes not even for the whole hour. So I think that management did listen to the fans of SEN where a lot of people do complain about him.

Was speaking at someone at SEN about this and that was entirely Smith's decision. KB would have him everyday if he could. He might be arrogant but he is good radio.

Get rid of him from the Saturday nights in my opinion he is hopeless.

I was out and wanted to know what the IPL cricket score was in the game with many of the Aussies , Hussey , Lee , Hayden all were playing and I rang from the car about midnight to see if they could give me an idea how they went.
The girl that answered I am sure would have told Franklin , anyway for the next hr I listened and he told soccer scores from England from even secondary leagues ( he even joked about only one person probably would have wanted to know them when he said a score from some England bottom division )
He said rugby scores from Sth Africa and for the hundreth time told us all that Geelong had won over Sydney ( by now its like mate everyone in the whole place knows that Geel won )
By 1am I gave up and turned it to the BBC for their sport where they do the English soccer and other sports.
Guess what within five mins of turning it away from SEN to the BBC I hear that Australian Batsman Hussey scores a century in the IPL in his teams win over the other side which had Brett Leee who bowled to him even.
Franklin over more than one hr kept going on about Geel winning , NRL Sth African rugby the soccer , but nothing on the IPL so I gave up and tuned away.
Just not good enough and it really made me pissed that this was meant to be melbournes home of sport Franklin was having a great time with his giggling after every comment and I realised he has no idea .
He also made a comment about him being a clown in his other job aay from SEN.
I am not sure he was joking now that I think about it .
Anyway you come to rely on SEN when you are not at home for a score and this really annoying .

if it ws bp that was on you would have got the scores i am sure as bp does every score on everything especially cricket bp even did some womens cricket from the west indies once. bp is trying to make the all night sport really professional i think thats why he got the fedish bar boys to finish and probably this is why franko was asked to stop being part of all night sport.but one thing is for sure that bp will have all night sport being a fantastic show every night and you will get your cricket scores from him for sure .hope he is on tonight soon as well not sure yet it is still the american show

Quality discussion there. Talking about how he thinks Richmond were robbed because Nathan Brown didn't get a free kick over an incident which he doesn't think was worth a free kick.

Can somebody explain to that thickhead that Richo took a mark he publicly admitted crossed the goal line. Shut up snoran you friggin imbecile.:thumbsdown:

Get rid of him from the Saturday nights in my opinion he is hopeless.

I was out and wanted to know what the IPL cricket score was in the game with many of the Aussies , Hussey , Lee , Hayden all were playing and I rang from the car about midnight to see if they could give me an idea how they went.
The girl that answered I am sure would have told Franklin , anyway for the next hr I listened and he told soccer scores from England from even secondary leagues ( he even joked about only one person probably would have wanted to know them when he said a score from some England bottom division )
He said rugby scores from Sth Africa and for the hundreth time told us all that Geelong had won over Sydney ( by now its like mate everyone in the whole place knows that Geel won )
By 1am I gave up and turned it to the BBC for their sport where they do the English soccer and other sports.
Guess what within five mins of turning it away from SEN to the BBC I hear that Australian Batsman Hussey scores a century in the IPL in his teams win over the other side which had Brett Leee who bowled to him even.
Franklin over more than one hr kept going on about Geel winning , NRL Sth African rugby the soccer , but nothing on the IPL so I gave up and tuned away.
Just not good enough and it really made me pissed that this was meant to be melbournes home of sport Franklin was having a great time with his giggling after every comment and I realised he has no idea .
He also made a comment about him being a clown in his other job aay from SEN.
I am not sure he was joking now that I think about it .
Anyway you come to rely on SEN when you are not at home for a score and this really annoying .

if you listened to all night sport last night it was peter macato and he gave lots of scores on the ipl many times and he also said what the aussie players were doing. so dont worry he looks like he is going to be alot better than franko and with franko dumped you wont have to worry about listening to him on all night sport anymore as peter macato looks like he knows what it is all about like bp doing lots of sports scores not just the afl .

Can somebody explain to that thickhead that Richo took a mark he publicly admitted crossed the goal line. Shut up snoran you friggin imbecile.:thumbsdown:

Did anyone hear Mark attack and basically cut off an old bloke that had waited 40 miniutes to get on while Robbo was on..... I get the feeling Mark may have been grilled by managment this morning and if that(todays program) was his reply he should be gone soon.

Quality discussion there. Talking about how he thinks Richmond were robbed because Nathan Brown didn't get a free kick over an incident which he doesn't think was worth a free kick.

I was really embarrassed to then hear Snoran bring this up to Jeff Geischen later in the show. Its almost like Snoran just realised the hands in the back rule was a joke, and its really hard for the umpires to see every one of them.

Next thing you know, Snoran will do another phone poll about who got the best out of the Tarrant-Medhurst trade...

I was really embarrassed to then hear Snoran bring this up to Jeff Geischen later in the show. Its almost like Snoran just realised the hands in the back rule was a joke, and its really hard for the umpires to see every one of them.

Next thing you know, Snoran will do another phone poll about who got the best out of the Tarrant-Medhurst trade...
He started off with the strong statement "Richmond were robbed" then goes on to say the hands in the back incident was a "gentle left hand on the back to steady himself to spoil with the right hand". In the end he talked himself into realising the correct call was made but he brought it up again like you said.

Even if Tarrant gets delisted end of this season, he might ask for a poll.

tess said:
Did anyone hear Mark attack and basically cut off an old bloke that had waited 40 miniutes to get on while Robbo was on..... I get the feeling Mark may have been grilled by managment this morning and if that(todays program) was his reply he should be gone soon.
Yeah that was harsh. He waited 40minutes so he had a right to get his point across that he wasn't happy then just tells him he rang in for a stupid reason and he shouldn't even of called in the first place. Good on Robbo for doing what he did.

People complaining about Franko not reading out the IPL scores i'm sure there was a decent reason. Franka was an awesome host in whatever show he was a part of. I'm sure there was a decent reason he didn't read the scores out that night. Or maybe he did but you just happened to switch off for the second you did.

-Ben

I personally didn't particularly like Franko's style of hosting.....I thought he was too one-sided towards the younger people and their opinions......without being able to remember definate incidents, there was a couple of little things that made me cringe with the attitude etc..........Before anyone says anything about me being older, generation gap etc.......didn't have a problem with James Willoughby, or anyone else.........He seemed to just not be interested in anything an older person had to say IMO........

I have supported Mark Doran along the way, but he lost me yesterday.

1st, he opens the show saying that he has evidence that the Tigers were robbed. Not one person has made a comment about the last passage of play (including Terry Wallace, who's always looking for excuses), but decides to sensationalise something. It was proved later when he spoke to Geischen. He did not know anything about it. Do you think that if there was something in it, the AFL would have heard complaints about the decision. (My bulldog bias probably has some bearing on this, but I just think it was MArk trying to make something out of nothing.)

But his treatment of the caller who had waited 40 minutes was a disgrace. When the caller came on, Mark had called him by the wrong name. The caller said he'd been on hold 40 minutes, you must have forgotten my name. Mark snarled straight back, bascially saying stop complaining, everyone has to hold on that long. Mark then asked the caller what he wanted to talk about. When the caller said that there was a record down at Geelong on the weekend, that no one had mentioned. Robbo said was it the most wins in a row, and the caller said no, then Mark said "your not talkinig about Gary Ablett's dreamteam points, and the caller said yes. Mark basically abused him, saying you waited 40 minutes to talk about irrelevant dream team, I'm not taking calls about dreamteam, we've got more important things to talk about.

Caller hang up, and Robbo got stuck in to Mark.

About an hour later, they had a prize for best caller and Mark gave the prize to this guy, apologising if he was rude. (The classic Wayne Carey apology.)

I have supported Mark Doran along the way, but he lost me yesterday.

1st, he opens the show saying that he has evidence that the Tigers were robbed. Not one person has made a comment about the last passage of play (including Terry Wallace, who's always looking for excuses), but decides to sensationalise something. It was proved later when he spoke to Geischen. He did not know anything about it. Do you think that if there was something in it, the AFL would have heard complaints about the decision. (My bulldog bias probably has some bearing on this, but I just think it was MArk trying to make something out of nothing.)

But his treatment of the caller who had waited 40 minutes was a disgrace. When the caller came on, Mark had called him by the wrong name. The caller said he'd been on hold 40 minutes, you must have forgotten my name. Mark snarled straight back, bascially saying stop complaining, everyone has to hold on that long. Mark then asked the caller what he wanted to talk about. When the caller said that there was a record down at Geelong on the weekend, that no one had mentioned. Robbo said was it the most wins in a row, and the caller said no, then Mark said "your not talkinig about Gary Ablett's dreamteam points, and the caller said yes. Mark basically abused him, saying you waited 40 minutes to talk about irrelevant dream team, I'm not taking calls about dreamteam, we've got more important things to talk about.

Caller hang up, and Robbo got stuck in to Mark.

About an hour later, they had a prize for best caller and Mark gave the prize to this guy, apologising if he was rude. (The classic Wayne Carey apology.)

I missed that caller yesterday. Thanks for the rundown.

I actually think the content of Doran's show is pretty darn good. Its what I want to listen to and know about, but he's such an irritating host.

I personally didn't particularly like Franko's style of hosting.....I thought he was too one-sided towards the younger people and their opinions......without being able to remember definate incidents, there was a couple of little things that made me cringe with the attitude etc..........Before anyone says anything about me being older, generation gap etc.......didn't have a problem with James Willoughby, or anyone else.........He seemed to just not be interested in anything an older person had to say IMO........
I agree with you MacMum and I'm around his age, maybe younger. Just seemed to agree with everyones opinions and not upset callers by challenging the opinions when they were somewhat deluded.

Yeah he did focus at the young people as he played all this newer music and definitely talked about things young people would be getting up to rather than the older folk but he always gave all callers a fair chance. He was always a really positive guy and never sounded bored or anything.

The only criticism i had about him is he looked a little too much at the US sports but that is fair enough considering the time slot.

-Ben

The new quiz on Finey's show is shithouse. It's no longer worth listening too. Terrible idea to scrap the old version.

Can't be as lame as the quiz they used to do on The Good Oil where one listener would ask the questions to another listener.

I also remember a Sale of the Century style quiz show that The Ox and Huddo did in the studio on a Friday arvo.

Didn't Doran do the 20/20 commentary for SEN when New Zealand played Australia in Perth and got all excited about the sixes being hit? Now he's criticising the commentators of the IPL for going off their heads when a 6 is hit.

Also, just a question, are the grounds being used the same as the ODI's and Test matches or have they made them even smaller just for this competition? Doran used the ground sizes as his argument for not liking the IPL.

Didn't Doran do the 20/20 commentary for SEN when New Zealand played Australia in Perth and got all excited about the sixes being hit? Now he's criticising the commentators of the IPL for going off their heads when a 6 is hit.

Also, just a question, are the grounds being used the same as the ODI's and Test matches or have they made them even smaller just for this competition? Doran used the ground sizes as his argument for not liking the IPL.

I haven't got the radio on so missed this.

Yeah he went way over the top with his commentary, just like he does in the footy... that said, I think he's a satisfactory footy caller, though below average.

They are the same stadiums in the IPL. They have ropes in, but they aren't that far in. The fields are quite small anyway, cause there's been a lot of sixes that land in the crowd.

Hmm, didn't occur to me yesterday when he verbally attacked that caller that brang up the Supercoach scores, but Doran usually gets the guy from Champion Data and they discuss the stats from over the weekend. Is that not similar to Supercoach/Dreamteam scores as both are based on stats?