The SEN Thread 3

Looks like I am not the only one listening more and more to 3AW again.

Morning Glory is boring, maybe the 3 guys have had their day why not try and man and woman.

KB has his moments but the amount of times a press conference is happening and AW has it LIVE while KB or Doran keep prattling on and on in some segment.

Doran, well he is too controlling and just hasn't got IT to hold the audience.

Ox and Francis, are NOT a match for the sports tonight team and Hinch is cool again.

I doubt they would be getting 100 thousand a year as well.
I would say the Morning Glory team would be getting closer to the 200 thousand dollar mark a year.
The likes of KB Mark Doran Finey and maybe Phillips would be closer to the 100 thousand mark.
The money in the media these days is as good as most 9 to 5 blue chip company jobs where 100 thousand plus is standard.
The papers this week when writing about Todd Kearny the dancing judge and his overdose story said he was desperate not to lose his radio breakfast job where he earnt 650 thousand a year.
Tim Watson and Billy dont need to be getting up at say 4am in the morning they have enough on their plate .
Its not like those hours would be nice to be getting up while it is 3 degrees outside , especially when you would be well paid for your tv work already.
I have a mate who knows Watson and he says Watson likes his $$$

I reckon there is a bout 1% chance Morning Glory boys are pulling in $200k a year. It's a small AM radio station with a very small listening audience and budget ad's. SEN simply doesn't have that kind of money lying around to be paying such exhoribitant figures. I doubt the Triple M footy guys get paid anywhere near that much, let alone to little old SEN.

And lol at your blue chip estimate - not even remotely close.

Tongue firmly planted in cheek about Steve and Ed. The boys were saying they get numerous sms messages about talking ''more footy''. Great program

Most footballers and cricketers at sportsman night come cheaper when paid with the cash in a enevlope. I can name a few that I know of details that were paid cash in hand and at times where there managers knew nothing of the details.

Still was going to cost us a thousand each for a couple of former players and I think it was going to be cash as well.
point I was making was if they expect to earn a grand for a three or four hr sportsmans night then the least they would be wanting to be paid for five days of the same would be 3 or 4 grand going on that ratio.

I doubt Finey would be getting over 100 thousand. I'd say maybe 50 grand for finey maybe?
Spoonman who does the same hours as Finey but broadcasts to the east coast of Australia often says he ain't getting as much as he could be. Hard to say what he'd be getting considering he says he could be at a corporate gig but i'd imagine spoonman would get around 100 thousand broadcasting to the whole east coast of australia. With Finey broadcasting to just Melbourne i'd say around 50 k would be more the mark.

The guys on earlier might get more due to more people listening in those hours...

-Ben
I am in sales so my salary can vary a bit but my partner is just a payroll officer for a company with no real qualifications and is on around 60 grand .
I would be stunned to think that she earnt more than Finey and others at SEN if you are right .

This bullshit of getting the night shift lads to work for nothing is bloody awful!

Still cant believe its true in this day and age with workplace agreements and so.
Even if it is a " fun job to do still would think in 2008 that this would be out of line "
Even if I had a part time job at the mens gallery wiping the sweat off the ladies breasts as they came off stage I would think I was entitled to some $ for effort .
Its a bit like wearing nikes and trying not to think when you wear them they are made by some poor Thai mother who gets 20 cents an hour .
Same as listening to SEN trying not to think that some of your favourites dont get even 20 cents and you enjoy listening to them .

Francis and Ox should stay in the mornings, they are very good. A lot, lot better than the 3 Muppets that are normally on.

Thought they were refreshing to listen to and nice to have a change to listen to when driving to work .
I dont mind the Morning Glory team but change is as good as a holiday they say .

Still cant believe its true in this day and age with workplace agreements and so.
Even if it is a " fun job to do still would think in 2008 that this would be out of line "
Even if I had a part time job at the mens gallery wiping the sweat off the ladies breasts as they came off stage I would think I was entitled to some $ for effort .
Its a bit like wearing nikes and trying not to think when you wear them they are made by some poor Thai mother who gets 20 cents an hour .
Same as listening to SEN trying not to think that some of your favourites dont get even 20 cents and you enjoy listening to them .

unless you were using your tongue to wipe off the sweat, i would settle for being paid in lapdances

I can't believe that some presenters on SEN would be getting over 100 thousand dollars yet they can't afford to be paying the overnights presenters much at all. When they deserve to be getting just as much considering the horrible hours and long shifts they do.

-Ben

I can't believe that some presenters on SEN would be getting over 100 thousand dollars yet they can't afford to be paying the overnights presenters much at all. When they deserve to be getting just as much considering the horrible hours and long shifts they do.

-Ben

There's a reason they are doing nights, maybe to get the experience and be good enough to do the day shift. Not many people listen to the radio at night so they can't expect to get paid the same. I read that one of the AW breakfast guys gets $1mil a year for 3 hours a day when the guy doing 7 or 8 hours overnight gets about a tenth or twentieth of that. Thats just the way it is. Just like 6pm newsreader gets $500,000 for reading an autocue and someone hosting The Mint gets a couple of hundred dollars a night.

WTF is wrong with Mark Fine? Melbourne have one win, albeit a fantastic win, and says that Melbourne are not a terrible side. Um, yes they are. They are last with 1 win and 6 losses and a % of 60. They have won 6 of their last 29 games.

Yes Essendon are shit and could well finish last, but please, don't try to tell me that Melbourne are not a rabble. After all the promotion of the week, and letting people on the ground, they still couldn't attract 20,000.

Yeah Melbourne should still finish last. I can't believe they are still not favourites for the wooden spoon though.

-Ben

There's a reason they are doing nights, maybe to get the experience and be good enough to do the day shift. Not many people listen to the radio at night so they can't expect to get paid the same. I read that one of the AW breakfast guys gets $1mil a year for 3 hours a day when the guy doing 7 or 8 hours overnight gets about a tenth or twentieth of that. Thats just the way it is. Just like 6pm newsreader gets $500,000 for reading an autocue and someone hosting The Mint gets a couple of hundred dollars a night.

Problem is they dont seem to get the couple of hunded dollars a night if you are right.
I agree about experience but dont they do that by working at local newspapers or community/amateur radio stations.
Seems stupid to have numbers of people getting experience at SEN doing the same tasks as those that work at SEN so that some day they can maybe get a job at SEN.
Why have jobs in the first place just make them all experience gaining positions and you save money .
When you have one company having people doing similar roles , some termed employees others termed experience seekers
Some are paid and others are not that has to be fraught with moral and ethical problems.
I find it all very hard to grasp considering I thought many of them were being paid top dollar.
How wrong was I !!

Problem is they dont seem to get the couple of hunded dollars a night if you are right.
I agree about experience but dont they do that by working at local newspapers or community/amateur radio stations.
Seems stupid to have numbers of people getting experience at SEN doing the same tasks as those that work at SEN so that some day they can maybe get a job at SEN.
Why have jobs in the first place just make them all experience gaining positions and you save money .
When you have one company having people doing similar roles , some termed employees others termed experience seekers
Some are paid and others are not that has to be fraught with moral and ethical problems.
I find it all very hard to grasp considering I thought many of them were being paid top dollar.
How wrong was I !!

Yeah I agree with that. I find it quite crazy that one person on the station can be so highly paid and another can be volunteer. I think the gap is too large...

-Ben

The 3 Muppets were back this morning and we revert straight back to 3 hours of AFL after a refreshing week with something different.

The sooner SEN change it up the better.

The 3 Muppets were back this morning and we revert straight back to 3 hours of AFL after a refreshing week with something different.

The sooner SEN change it up the better.

well....

1. monday morning is generally a time for an afl wrap
2. they only know afl

heard a snippet this morning, a doggies fan rang up and complained about how sunrise sports report didnt talk about their win. to the caller if youre reading this, sunrise only talk about afl if the swans win

As the news ticker on FoxSportsNews only report stories about the Swans.

Its funny how the NRL media are very anti-Storm. Quite a contrast.

As the news ticker on FoxSportsNews only report stories about the Swans.

Its funny how the NRL media are very anti-Storm. Quite a contrast.

i think the news ticker does give some news about other afl teams other than sydney, but yes overall it is a swans love fest.

dunno about the nrl media-storm thing.

The way the management have/are treating Beva is instructive of the attitudes to employees in the joint!