The SEN Thread 3

Andy Maher is really started to annoy the p15s out of me with his constant use of the term "You Blokes" or "You Two Blokes". He uses it all the time, even when interviewing coaches at quarter time on Channel Ten. He seems to use it to sound more, well, blokey I guess. I'm not convinced.

Amen. I cannot listen to that show any longer, but I did catch the same thing on their before the game. It sounds very bad.

Well after I post this lets hope that SEN read this and get him sacked from Saturday nights as well and bring back Finey.
Forget that Mark Franklin told us a hundred times last Saturday night that Vics beat Dream Team and again wasnt up to being able to tell us a single cricket score again .
Mark Franklin you are a Di**Head of the highest order after listening to you last Saturday night having gone to the MCG
In some sort of a weird competition which it sounded like he had done before as he was telling listeners to hold before he released a secret location he told listeners that he had hidden a prize in an emergency phone booth on the Eastern Freeway and that the fastest listener to drive their pull over and collect the prize then ring him on SEN would win.
I could not believe it 1am what sort of thing is that to ask young idiots to do and yes there were young idiots who did it and they rang in from the eastern Freeway saying that no prize was in the phone booth.
Now its 1am its dark trucks are flying past at 110 km and FRanklin is asking listeners to pull over and rdrive to the Eastern Freeway.
Then he has a listener tell him nothing is in the phone booth so he says that the security cameras must have caught him dropping off the prize.
If they did film you Franklin and they did take the prize then you are really a F**kwit pulling over yourself looking for somewhere to hide a prize.
And he waanted to even record the fastest times of listeners in some sort of a hall of fame.
FRanklin you are an idiot what happens when two listeners get smashed into by a truck as they look around at 1am on the side of the Eastern and what happens as more and more of your idiot faithful start arriving do they park one by one behind each other as more trucks fly past.
FRanklin I am not sure you should be that worried about SEN who i am sure will read this , maybe wait for the local cop shop and Vic roads they will have something to say about this and this sort of stupid prank is the last thing SEN would want in bad publicity.
I make some predictions Franklin and we will see who is right , you will not be doing Saturday nights soon , you will not be doing these pranks anymore and off the back of some future emails to the relevant authorities SEN and you will be very very embarrased at your childish actions last Saturday night in the coming weeks .
If you send your idiot faithful of next saturday night to another secret destination then I am wrong and you are right ...lets see now thats a nice fun game for you to play.
Get Finey back on please before someone gets killed by this Franklin twit.

franka and luke do it every week its called their scavenger hunt . a few weeks ago they had one where they hid a bottle of water in the middle of a roundabout on a intersection in hawthorn i think it was and when the first person who got their in his car rang in he was laughing that he raced their for just a water bottle. i do not know where he stopped or parked his car maybe on the roundabout . but the idea is to race to be the first to find the secret hiding place and then ring in to owaat
gbu creeeeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwalmost over and then it will bpppppppppp in a few mins

Well after I post this lets hope that SEN read this and get him sacked from Saturday nights as well and bring back Finey.
Forget that Mark Franklin told us a hundred times last Saturday night that Vics beat Dream Team and again wasnt up to being able to tell us a single cricket score again .
Mark Franklin you are a Di**Head of the highest order after listening to you last Saturday night having gone to the MCG
In some sort of a weird competition which it sounded like he had done before as he was telling listeners to hold before he released a secret location he told listeners that he had hidden a prize in an emergency phone booth on the Eastern Freeway and that the fastest listener to drive their pull over and collect the prize then ring him on SEN would win.
I could not believe it 1am what sort of thing is that to ask young idiots to do and yes there were young idiots who did it and they rang in from the eastern Freeway saying that no prize was in the phone booth.
Now its 1am its dark trucks are flying past at 110 km and FRanklin is asking listeners to pull over and rdrive to the Eastern Freeway.
Then he has a listener tell him nothing is in the phone booth so he says that the security cameras must have caught him dropping off the prize.
If they did film you Franklin and they did take the prize then you are really a F**kwit pulling over yourself looking for somewhere to hide a prize.
And he waanted to even record the fastest times of listeners in some sort of a hall of fame.
FRanklin you are an idiot what happens when two listeners get smashed into by a truck as they look around at 1am on the side of the Eastern and what happens as more and more of your idiot faithful start arriving do they park one by one behind each other as more trucks fly past.
FRanklin I am not sure you should be that worried about SEN who i am sure will read this , maybe wait for the local cop shop and Vic roads they will have something to say about this and this sort of stupid prank is the last thing SEN would want in bad publicity.
I make some predictions Franklin and we will see who is right , you will not be doing Saturday nights soon , you will not be doing these pranks anymore and off the back of some future emails to the relevant authorities SEN and you will be very very embarrased at your childish actions last Saturday night in the coming weeks .
If you send your idiot faithful of next saturday night to another secret destination then I am wrong and you are right ...lets see now thats a nice fun game for you to play.
Get Finey back on please before someone gets killed by this Franklin twit.

lighten up dude ffs !!!!!!!!!

no one is making anyone do anything. we all have choices in life.
i'm sure people (like myself) who listen from home wouldn't go out just for that.
if you take it how the presenters are, its intended more to the people who have had a night out and are on their way home (and presumably would pass that location)

if you are deadset against it, then don't bother driving to the location.

they never once condoned breaking speed limits etc.

at the end of the day the prize is a bottle of water or a chocolate bar etc etc.....it ain't millions of dollars that everyone would dearly love (mind you its well after midnight as well - it ain't peak hour traffic)

so what is their show about?
Every Wednesday morning, they have a topic which ranges from anything. They've covered player positions on the footy field and currently on numbers.

Last night was #8.

Callers ring up and just mention anything to do with the number 8.

Eg. Simon Beaumont 8 goals in a half.
James Clement wore the #8.
8 wickets in an innings.

Don't think it works well with numbers as they're just endless. It worked well with say the GBU of Full-Forwards. They'd name a good full-forward, a bad one, and then an ugly (either by looks or playing style) one.

Any reason why Mark Doran was not on the air today? Tony S was on for the One hour I heard it around lunch time with Scott Burns.

Tony has been doing Doran's show all week. I haven't been listening enough to catch why, but I'd assume that Doran is just sick, cause I've heard Tony say each day that Doran will be back the next day.

Doran did pop in briefly though to announce that SEN are doing the olympics on Tuesday.

lighten up dude ffs !!!!!!!!!

no one is making anyone do anything. we all have choices in life.
i'm sure people (like myself) who listen from home wouldn't go out just for that.
if you take it how the presenters are, its intended more to the people who have had a night out and are on their way home (and presumably would pass that location)

if you are deadset against it, then don't bother driving to the location.

they never once condoned breaking speed limits etc.

at the end of the day the prize is a bottle of water or a chocolate bar etc etc.....it ain't millions of dollars that everyone would dearly love (mind you its well after midnight as well - it ain't peak hour traffic)

You are missing the point as I like a joke as much as the next guy but we are talking about Mark Franklin telling everyone how he pulled over on the Eastern Freeway walked around to find the emergency phone then told listeners to go and drive their the quickest to get a prize at 1am.
If you cant fathom how stupid and dangerous this stunt is you are a fool.
What happens if a listener gets knocked over as he is searching the side of the eastern, would SEN close due to the million dollar insurance claim or fines.
Do me a favour tonight go to your nearest freeway and ask yourself if you would consider parking in the emergency lane and start walking around for five mins or so.
The people that listen to them will do it and did do it thats the thing i am pointing out it is totally irresponsible.
As for it being the other one who posted here he obviously shares the view that its okay as he said they will do it again.
s

ABC still has the rights. SEN has the commercial rights. I doubt that anybody would bother to get the olympics on the commercial networks. It has been proven for the last olympics that they often don't do as well on the radio as they do on tv.

Will Schubecki really be getting Doran's gig?

-Ben

Pretty important line in the Herald Sun today about SEN getting olympics.
It says it " Edged out 3AW " , you only edge out someone if they are also competing against you.
Well done SEN pretty big win beating the big 3AW to the prize of the olympics on the radio in Melbourne.

You are missing the point as I like a joke as much as the next guy but we are talking about Mark Franklin telling everyone how he pulled over on the Eastern Freeway walked around to find the emergency phone then told listeners to go and drive their the quickest to get a prize at 1am.
If you cant fathom how stupid and dangerous this stunt is you are a fool...

Yeah I was listening that night, pretty stupid location to pick.

Stopping on a freeway is dangerous enough, stopping unnecessarily is just stupid.

Yeah I was listening that night, pretty stupid location to pick.

Stopping on a freeway is dangerous enough, stopping unnecessarily is just stupid.

i reckon it's real ____ing stupid, is he trying to turn the station into fox or some mental treasure hunt.
for christs sake franka, why the hell have you gone downhill so quickly

Pretty sure it was Luke Mather who organised the weekend's treasure hunt, especially the location, and not Mark Franklin. Not here to defend Mark, but having a fair dinkum go at him for something he didn't do is a bit rich.

Was that photo of SEN management in the Herald-Sun today of them celebrating having the highest number of intoxicated people on air (presenters and callers) of any station in Australia this month?

Surprised more hasn't been made of this situation from what I've heard over the past couple of weeks

Both Mark Franklin AND Luke Mather need to pull their socks up!.....They must both take responsibility for that stupid prank........They also need to remember not all of their listeners are young 20somethings!.......The younger ones are usually out!!....We oldies(:eek:) are the ones at home wanting to listen to a decent sport show!

Ox is terrific on SEN but not so great on Ch 7.

However when you look at other special comments people he is hardly the worst. Walls, Blight, Voss, Smith, Jakovich, Brereton are all far worse than Ox.
You must really love the Ox to say something like that. He is perhaps better than Smith in terms of his speaking manner, but I've heard Smith sometimes come up with some insightful comments - Schwarz never does that, he just states the obvious and stupid cliches. That said, I like him on the Run Home.

Pretty sure it was Luke Mather who organised the weekend's treasure hunt, especially the location, and not Mark Franklin. Not here to defend Mark, but having a fair dinkum go at him for something he didn't do is a bit rich.

They are both together doing the show and I know what I heard.
Anyway its game on if they do it again this Saturday night they win.
If they dont do the hunt or they concede to us and even tone it down in anyway to some park bench in the country then we win and they are admit to being dic**eads.

Both Mark Franklin AND Luke Mather need to pull their socks up!.....They must both take responsibility for that stupid prank........They also need to remember not all of their listeners are young 20somethings!.......The younger ones are usually out!!....We oldies(:eek:) are the ones at home wanting to listen to a decent sport show!

Couldnt agree with you more :thumbsu:
The difference to what we use to have on Saturdays with Finey to now is an absolute joke.
Franklin was flicked off the weeknights but who cares I am asleep dreaming of another Demon win by then , its the weekends when most of us are up later and we have to put up with him and Luke instead of Finey.
Sundays they have that American football show for a few hrs anyway.

I dont care if a footballer gets 4000 points for his super coach or if the NHL or NBA trades or draft have sprung a few surprises.
Macmum they are catering to a younger market but as you say that market are out having a good time and we are stuck listening to these two.
Must be hundreds of retired footballers who we could have in their on Saturday nights if Finey cant do his thing as well on Saturdays.

My two boys are a few years from being out on the town on Saturday nights but in a few years if they were still at home listening to Franklin and Luke I would be major worried .
In fact I would put them in the car take them down to the Daily Planet and tell them to realise what life is all about.
If we are going to have a Colombine or Mall shooting in Melbourne ever.. I know which show on SEN they will have listened to each Saturday night .
SEN give us back Finey or something decent on Saturday nights

The difference to what we use to have on Saturdays with Finey to now is an absolute joke.
Franklin was flicked off the weeknights but who cares I am asleep dreaming of another Demon win by then , its the weekends when most of us are up later and we have to put up with him and Luke instead of Finey.

I dont care if a footballer gets 4000 points for his super coach or if the NHL or NBA trades or draft have sprung a few surprises.
Macmum they are catering to a younger market but as you say that market are out having a good time and we are stuck listening to these two.
Must be hundreds of retired footballers who we could have in their on Saturday nights if Finey cant do his thing as well on Saturdays.

My two boys are a few years from being out on the town on Saturday nights but in a few years if they were still at home listening to Franklin and Luke I would be major worried .
In fact I would put them in the car take them down to the Daily Planet and tell them to realise what life is all about.
If we are going to have a Colombine or Mall shooting in Melbourne ever.. I know which show on SEN they will have listened to each Saturday night .

You do realise that Franklin did Final Siren for half of the footy season last year don't you?

It is not a new thing.
Why didn't you complain back then?

-Ben

the family that plays together, stays together :D

Its called variety, and you have to realise that not everyone in Melbourne is so one dimensional that at midnight all they want to talk about an umpiring decision or report that has been talked about for the last 3 hours, omg it may get repetitive and boring! Its the weekend, lots of sport is happening around the world not just AFL believe it or not and thats what people also want to talk about.

If you cant fathom how stupid and dangerous this stunt is you are a fool.
What happens if a listener gets knocked over as he is searching the side of the eastern, would SEN close due to the million dollar insurance claim or fines.
Do me a favour tonight go to your nearest freeway and ask yourself if you would consider parking in the emergency lane and start walking around for five mins or so.
The people that listen to them will do it and did do it thats the thing i am pointing out it is totally irresponsible.
As for it being the other one who posted here he obviously shares the view that its okay as he said they will do it again.
s

Thankfully, nobody got injured from the OWAAT hijinx. I have read your post and think you've missed the mark.
I reckon you are blaming the wrong people at SEN.
Clearly, the biggest crims at SEN are the morning glory boys for taking six figure salaries while subjecting the footy loving public to 15 hours of brain dead radio every week. I find it amazing that several hundred people a week are not falling asleep at the wheel or jabbing sharp objects into their eyes. It is painful because I love that station, but I cannot listen to SEN until 9am anymore.

Anyone know what the song is on the promos for their coverage of the footy each week?

Apologies if it is obvious, I'm only young and have an underdeveloped taste in music. ;)