The SEN Thread 4

I can understand both sides of the argument with Ch7 not showing the game live. Not everyone would be happy to have a sudden/late change with the TV guide as non-footy fans/Better Homes fans wouldn't be pleased.

This station paid $780M for the rights to show AFL and show two games a week, each delayed by an hour.

To quote Jackie Chiles, its lewd, lascivious, salacious, outrageous!

I'm starting to understand what you guys are on about re: Doran after listening to him quite a bit recently.

How did he get his job in the first place? For someone who falls asleep during almost every sporting event or doesn't watch it in the first place he has done well for himself. The guys who hired him on the other hand..

People forget that during the early '90s Friday Night Football started at 9:30pm. Networks pay hundreds of millions for TV rights that help nine teams survive in Melbourne, so it's their decision as to whether it airs live or not.

If all media doesn't get bang for its buck, the rights fees won't continue to rise and the squeeze begins - again.

another great show of Winning Matters last night!

they had Dylan Howard & Matt Campbell with Harf and they were surprisingly good :confused:

People forget that during the early '90s Friday Night Football started at 9:30pm. Networks pay hundreds of millions for TV rights that help nine teams survive in Melbourne, so it's their decision as to whether it airs live or not.

If all media doesn't get bang for its buck, the rights fees won't continue to rise and the squeeze begins - again.

Yeah and early 90s probably also had no Saturday night footy and just one, maybe two games on a Sunday. Probably 3-4 games on a Saturday arvo, only one which was broadcast.

If Channel Nine won the rights to this 5 year period, they would have paid the same $$, and we would get to see live footy on a Friday if there was a big game interstate or a sell-out in Melbourne. Channel Seven are treating us with contempt.

This station paid $780M for the rights to show AFL and show two games a week, each delayed by an hour.

Yeah. Assuming the station isn't run by clowns, they probably would've done the research and found that the football lovers will still tune in despite it being delayed an hour. Better Homes or any other show in the 7.30-8.30pm slot might not rate well if moved to accomodate live telecast.

Just like how the AFL screw over the fans, the only way they'll listen to us is if we hit them where it hurts. Their wallets. We can complain all we like, but truth is, they know we'll still tune in and turn up to matches.

Problem is, if we don't turn up to games, our clubs average attendance figures won't look good, and the AFL will, as they did to Melbourne, threaten to take blockbuster games off you.

High average attendance = AFL is healthy, the people love the game
Low average attendance = Your club is in trouble

Anyway... what were we talking about? :p

Manbearpig: yeah, Jackie, we have to stay up until 11:30;the coverage starts at 8:30, the game begins at 8:47; they take forever at half-time; and often have David Schwartz as special comments. Ya reckon that's a problem?

Jackie Chiles: Yeah that's going to be a problem. It's gonna be a problem for them.
This a clear violation of your rights as a consumer. It's an infringement on your constitutional rights. It's outrageous, egregious, preposterous.

Yeah and early 90s probably also had no Saturday night footy and just one, maybe two games on a Sunday. Probably 3-4 games on a Saturday arvo, only one which was broadcast.

If Channel Nine won the rights to this 5 year period, they would have paid the same $$, and we would get to see live footy on a Friday if there was a big game interstate or a sell-out in Melbourne. Channel Seven are treating us with contempt.

That's my point. We've never had it so good since pay TV started. I just see Channel Seven's side of maximizing return on their investment.

what do you mean he writes the cheques that is not true the manager or chief executive of sen was in the papaer the other day saying it was not true about hutchy taking over the all nights port. why would the sen manager lie when he is is the boss of sen. if you read www.allnightsport.com it has nothing at all about hutchy it is only bp who is really the one in charge.

You've Iced me on that one.

So Hutchy didn't take over the Sports Overnight. Shouldn't always believe what I read on Internet posts. Who would've thought?

All of a sudden people on ANS are associated with Hutchy and "shockingly" pro Hutchy and plugging things like Footyheads. Who would've thought?

Seems like Hutchy is someone Sunshine Ben should know. Might help him with his career in the media. Who would've thought?

Seems like Hutchy ain't a bad guy after all. Helping others along. Who would've thought?;)

exactly. it is also very rare that persons working for the same station bag co-workers.

in addition, i feel that some commentators find it difficult to criticise players because they've played with/against them, or are friends with them.

last night ox did criticise nick maxwell but prefaced it with "he's a great bloke..."

Spot on Mr North. Human nature 101. James Brayswater taking it where it fits on the North - Collingwood clash jumpers is a perfect example. Ya think Eddie ever helped James with career opportunities at Triple M and Channel Nine? And as a president of a footy club.

Ox was doing a variation of what Eddie McGuire is the master of: the punch and shake. Hutchy and Ralphie Horowitz covered this often-used technique several weeks ago on a Saturday morning. To be sure that most of these media personalities have read Dale Carnegie books.

You've Iced me on that one.

So Hutchy didn't take over the Sports Overnight. Shouldn't always believe what I read on Internet posts. Who would've thought?

All of a sudden people on ANS are associated with Hutchy and "shockingly" pro Hutchy and plugging things like Footyheads. Who would've thought?

Seems like Hutchy is someone Sunshine Ben should know. Might help him with his career in the media. Who would've thought?

Seems like Hutchy ain't a bad guy after all. Helping others along. Who would've thought?;)

I've actually met Hutchy once or twice, but although my I love my footy I don't want to be a football specialist like he is.

He gave me contact details after he spoke to us at uni last year.

Spot on Mr North. Human nature 101. James Brayswater taking it where it fits on the North - Collingwood clash jumpers is a perfect example. Ya think Eddie ever helped James with career opportunities at Triple M and Channel Nine? And as a president of a footy club.

are you referring to the north-coll "deal" for north to wear their clash jumper that was never on?

I've actually met Hutchy once or twice, but although my I love my footy I don't want to be a football specialist like he is.

He gave me contact details after he spoke to us at uni last year.

Wait a minute. You're still gonna ride this netball thing through to an end?
Oh Ben - please keep all other options open.

Seriously, good luck to you Benny Boy. I respected your assiduousness to your favourite sport.

(punch and shake:D)

I do cover other sports away from netball Monty.

The othher main one is VFL football, but I know as a sports journalist you need to be adpatable and that's why I want to put myself out there to cover other sports.

I do ring SEN talking things other than netball, but it's been a while since I have done and being back at uni doesn't leave much time to call up as have got early starts most days.

are you referring to the north-coll "deal" for north to wear their clash jumper that was never on?

On behalf of my club, I'd like to thank Eddie for allowing us to exist.

Also like to thank him for throwing out our history and denying the fact that we wore vertical stripes back in 1884, before Collingwood FC were born.

I don't know about the deal stuff, Northy. Brayswater just seems to be sweating bullets when faced with criticizing someone he's associated with, or that may have helped him. That's what hurts the Footy Show. Gazza Lyon is so stuck on a fence it's ridiculous. Sammy, on the other hand has no such problem and look what trouble it gets him into.

On behalf of my club, I'd like to thank Eddie for allowing us to exist.

Also like to thank him for throwing out our history and denying the fact that we wore vertical stripes back in 1884, before Collingwood FC were born.

And he should never have been able to get away with it. I suppose he'll be on the radio defending his team's stance on the subject tonight. Might check it out.

Think he did enough of that last weekend. Heard him call up on Saturday defending the Pies.

Geez Doran just butchered that report on Le Tour.

I do cover other sports away from netball Monty.

The othher main one is VFL football, but I know as a sports journalist you need to be adpatable and that's why I want to put myself out there to cover other sports.

I do ring SEN talking things other than netball, but it's been a while since I have done and being back at uni doesn't leave much time to call up as have got early starts most days.

Well here's another option for you Benny: look up how the AFL is based on US sports. Tonight's much criticized footy coverage on Channel Seven has its roots in the following tags: NFL footy rights, The X Files, John Madden, CBS/FOX/NBC/ESPN, Rupert Murdoch writing off $200 million in losses and coming out ahead, and The Simpsons.

Write an essay on it for your media studies and then you can ring up the aptly named Snoran and wake him up explaining why Channel Seven are right to not want to alter tonight's schedule. I guarantee you he has no idea.

"Losing the football was a disaster. Our rating dropped by 60 percent in Wisconsin alone."
- 60 Minutes, Morley Safer, on CBS losing the NFC football rights to FOX in 1993
Football Digest, June/July issue, 1996

Think he did enough of that last weekend. Heard him call up on Saturday defending the Pies.

Geez Doran just butchered that report on Le Tour.

I'm sure Eddie has a team of volunteers listening to all the media at all times and letting him know what said about him and Collingwood. He always seems to ring in when there's criticism.

I'm also starting to think Doran might be doing this stuff deliberately just to get people to listen. :rolleyes: I only listen to the whole show today in anticipation of him butchering a bunch of things. He didn't disappoint.