The SEN Thread 4

What a bizarre way to deal with the Sam Newman (non) issue on MG this morning.

Andy Maher says that because Sam comes on the show (parden the pun) regularly and is a good friend of theirs, they aren't going to criticise him...

well at least he's open about it. most media-ites don't criticise public identities cause they're mates with them

and didnt he start a segment by saying "we don't wanna talk about the issue....but...."

That's to be expected. As long as the station does contain hosts that are willing to have a go at him, then it's ok. Rita is good for that as she'll have a go at most people. Hawthorn is excluded ofcourse ;)

All Night Hutchy on the other hand... I didn't watch the footy show but heard Howard Lee mention some huge story being broken by Hutchy. Then spoke about Tasmania having a team so I assumed it had something to do with that. Some people still don't get the reasons the AFL is expanding.

well at least he's open about it. most media-ites don't criticise public identities cause they're mates with them

and didnt he start a segment by saying "we don't wanna talk about the issue....but...."

Exactly - cue Doran this arvo adamant that Sam was taken out of context and that he didnt mean what we think he did. Surely Doran is smarter than that? Rita and HArf put him back in his box, as did numerous SMS's by the sound of it!

Just tuned in 5 mins ago and they were playing some sort of phone call with guys swearing or something. Harf then started talking about people ringing his phone pretending to be Doran. What was that about?

OK one of the League guys got a call from a fan who was pi55ed at him about switching teams, Rita thought it was funny.

I listened in and was not surprised by Doran's BS about Sam Newman, he tries to control the show too much. Hopefully while he is away in China getting the Sydney sports commentators Coffees and Biscuits who ever fills in will show Management Doran is just what he is.... useless.

OK one of the League guys got a call from a fan who was pi55ed at him about switching teams, Rita thought it was funny.

I listened in and was not surprised by Doran's BS about Sam Newman, he tries to control the show too much. Hopefully while he is away in China getting the Sydney sports commentators Coffees and Biscuits who ever fills in will show Management Doran is just what he is.... useless.

It was Willie Mason, wouldn't mind hearing it without the beeps.:thumbsu:

Doran was being stupid about Sam today. Anyone know who is feeling in for him when the olympics are on?

It was Willie Mason, wouldn't mind hearing it without the beeps.:thumbsu:

Doran was being stupid about Sam today. Anyone know who is feeling in for him when the olympics are on?

I've heard Harf say he's going to be on air during the games, so I assume its him.

Uhh, you do realise that all night sport website hasn't been updated for MONTHS? :eek:

Good to see the work experience kid has put some podcasts up on the SEN site, maybe one day it can be semi-professional.

the all www.nightsport.com website is lots more up to date and been updated more than the www.footyheads.com.au website has. on the footyheads website the main photo is of craig hutchy and he has alot of hair on his head :D

I think Luke Mather is on right now. What is wrong with this guy? Why does it take him 30 seconds to realise that a caller is a ****ing idiot making a prank call? It's not hard to pick within 2-3 seconds that a caller should be dumped. They either have a stupid name, are obviously putting on a bad fake voice, or the first couple words out of their mouth are BS.

Come on Luke, dump these idiots immediately.

ETA: another point, dump the idiots that leave their radio on in the background, especially those that leave it on high.

the all www.nightsport.com website is lots more up to date and been updated more than the www.footyheads.com.au website has. on the footyheads website the main photo is of craig hutchy and he has alot of hair on his head :D
That Hutchy photo is a blast from the past - looks about 10 years old :)

Footyheads last update: August 2nd. AllNightSport - probably around March-April :rolleyes: Getting tired of this BP fanboy - you're not BP's son are you?

No Dylan Howard tonight :thumbsu:

Sure, Howard wasn't that great, but to have Peter Lazer on instead? Are you kidding me/ How the hell can that man be on a sports radio station? What has he got to do with the sporting industry? As soon as I heard he was hosting I turned the radio off.

Oh no,isn't he the guy that turns up to the opening of a fridge door ?
He's always pictured in the sunday papers at some opening and hanging off some bird [sometimes Beverly O'Connor],yet nodody knows what the hell he actually does.He's a w***er.

hey Manbearpig, cant remember exactly but wasnt it you who did analytical pieces on the SEN shows (morning through to snorans) and posted em here? if so looking forward to another one soon!

this morning on MG a few callers rang in saying it was a disgrace ch 7 were televising the footy live on friday night :)

also, tim watson asks ch 7 weather man (david brown?) when he's off to beijing. browny says he's not going, to which you could hear billy mutter "do some research tim" in the background. watson said he knew brown wasnt going and was joking.

thing is, sam newman on TFS acts stupid and even though you know he's aware of what's going on he pulls it off well. tim watson acts stupid and is genuinely unaware of it.

hey Manbearpig, cant remember exactly but wasnt it you who did analytical pieces on the SEN shows (morning through to snorans) and posted em here? if so looking forward to another one soon!

Nah mate, not me. montybrasco I believe is who you are thinking of, and yeah they were a good read.

thing is, sam newman on TFS acts stupid and even though you know he's aware of what's going on he pulls it off well. tim watson acts stupid and is genuinely unaware of it.
Sam acts like a fool so he gets away with being clueless on air so you take it as part of the act.

Tim looks like a very serious person with little sense humour so his mistakes (deliberate or not) come off badly.

Sam acts like a fool so he gets away with being clueless on air so take it as part of the act.

Tim looks like a very serious person with little sense humour so his mistakes (deliberate or not) come off badly.

LIke the other day when they were ranking their Top 10 Draft Picks in order and he put Jakovich at 3 because he thought they were talking about Glen, not Allan? They had only been running the Draft thing for a couple of weeks! :rolleyes: He then admitted that he hadnt been paying attention - what professionalism they bring to the table...