The SEN Thread 4

we really dont have a choice (927 excluded)

aside from that, too many mistakes.

Turning off is a choice isn't it? I did rather than listen to them broadcasting training sessions of the GF teams today. Roving reporter announced their were fans kicking the footy on the ground where the Hawks were training. OMG! Stay tuned for developments! Then coverage of Geelong's - MD commenting of the sound of the ball whizzing around. Didn't sound too rivetting the little I heard.

Mark Doran is woeful calling the VFL Grand Final ...

He isn't letting anyone else getting much of a chance to talk, he always has to be the centre of attention (Maxy Snoran)

ah great, SEN is now getting those late night 'nuff nuff's that usually call up 3AW ...

We had some silly old woman ring up and say she really wants Geelong to win (Even though she's a bulldog fan) cause she wants them to win it for her cat, and she goes and rants and says she takes her pet ever IE like to the Whitten Oval etc, and she lives vicariously for premierships through her cat ...

What a nutjob ...

ah great, SEN is now getting those late night 'nuff nuff's that usually call up 3AW ...

We had some silly old woman ring up and say she really wants Geelong to win (Even though she's a bulldog fan) cause she wants them to win it for her cat, and she goes and rants and says she takes her pet ever IE like to the Whitten Oval etc, and she lives vicariously for premierships through her cat ...

What a nutjob ...

Never listen to late night talk back the people who ring up are either pissed or medicated

I'm finding this thread seems to be a little short of late, as I use it to keep up to date with the daily happenings and opinions of planet SEN. Over time I've come to respect the likes of downloadme, Kevieyang, Dasher39, Celtic Pride, red+black, peternorth, Paul Scholes and of course, the insightful Manbearpig, just to name a few, as this thread's version of the Carlton Crew - when in doubt, WHACK Doran.:D

Anyway, the other day, after sweating bullets over the keyboard while watching the stock market investments and my perilous financial existence force me into a decision to return to the meth lab as my future retirement plans are put on ice (pun intended), I chose to seek some relaxation and relief by catching a little early morning sports radio chit-chat.

It's now after 1a.m. on Friday and I'm well into double digit numbers on decimating my Grand Final day beer supplies. Upon switching on SEN, I discover it's The Gladiators of Sport and the next caller padded up is Sunshine Ben. Oh no, a netball report? So much for relief.

It's time for another beer. I stumble out to the fridge mumbling to myself that it's the netball off-season so our budding media star might actually come up with a little Hutchy-esque material on the hotter gals from the Vixens' nightclub.
2422_8909m.jpg

After all, it's not like Sharni Layton (above) isn't getting hit on when she ventures out to the clubs on Mad Mondays. Apparently she can wiggle her eyeballs and once "rode Sarah Ashmore like a horse." [her words] Hmmm, sure beats thinking about Fev in a dress, eh. ;)

Returning to the radio I fall back into the chair while struggling with now blurring vision as I at full reach try to place my Crown Lager on the Demons coaster.

Then I hear what can only be described as the proverbial nails down the blackboard. On coming to a sobering consciousness of the moment I spin around in the chair jerking my head over my left shoulder staring at the radio with all the purpose of the Youtube's Dramatic Chipmunk.

It's not the caller that says "RIGHT" after every sentence; it's not Billy from North Heidelberg; and it sure ain't Carbo's Load, either. It's the return of … Dave from St. Kilda! First time I listen to early morning radio for a while and it's SEN's No.1 talkback tosser opening the bowling. The last I heard of this clown he was in Vietnam or somewhere; or, had deposited himself to parts unknown to find his true meaning of life.

What the heck, I think, lets wait and see what pearls of wisdom Diamond Dave is going to drop on the Gladiators and their listeners. The wait is not long. Expecting Tosser Dave to come up with some esoteric waffle on why the Western Bulldogs are better that the two grand finalists, rather, he seems to want to discuss his inner thoughts about Richmond, Collingwood, and St. Kilda, none of which by the way are playing on the Saturday.

Tosser D: Serious question. We all know Richmond is a basket case

HL: What?! Who said they're a basket case?!

Tosser D: Well I've given up

SJP: Oh, you've given up on them?

Tosser D: Yeah, I've been away for a while [not nearly long enough pal]

HL: What? Where? Where ya been?

SJP: Tokyo I think

[Howard, Stephen J., and Lowther LOL]

Tosser D: Yeah, yeah, anyway, we all know it's misery, but, ah, Collingwood also don't deliver; but Stephen, if I could ask you a serious question?

SJP: Yes, David

Tosser D: Um, it's, it's a monolith of misery [yes, he said monolith], at least Richmond have won five flags in the past odd four decades, but, St. Kilda have this aura each year, of, of … [call drops out]

SJP: Doom and gloom? Is that what you were gonna say? I think we've lost him.

AL: I think we've lost Dave there?

[he reappears]

SJP: Nah, Dave, I can see where you're coming from, look-

HL: Monolith? What's that mean?

SJP: Monolith means gigantic problems I think, but, ah, it's not that bad, mate

Tosser D: Well how do you get yourself through it, mate?

SJP: Well, look it's tough. I went to the game last week thinking St.Kilda could win but I was still worried. Very worried of course if Hawthorn got that great start…

Tosser D: Where are the flaws in St. Kilda?

SJP: Midfield… [SJP outlines his thoughts about St. Kilda's flaws and systems]

HL: Back in the system they haven't got? What floors are they on? The Tenth floor? (sic)
[LOL]

HL: How do you spell floor/flaw?

SJP: Flaw? F.L.A.W, the flaw he's talking about

HL: Oh, I see, right

[Riveting, eh? At this juncture I begin doing inventory on the empty Crownies and also start checking to see if I've accidentally jabbed myself with a meth needle]

Tosser D: But how do you get yourself up mentally, I mean, in all seriousness, cause Richmond are garbage - we've been garbage for a while- [HL & SJP - sarcastically LOL] but um, how do you get yourself up mentally-

SJP: Nah, I do Dave…we've gotta look at Cousins if he's available [ah, time - and losing - heals; from wanting Ben Cousins banned to wanting him recruited] ...and some people think I'm crazy about this Holland thing. The e-mails and SMS's are coming in saying I should be examined by medical personal…

[It seems the mostly quiet Andrew Lowther has had enough and swiftly moves in to whip the bails off on Tosser Dave's call]

AL: Goodonya Dave. Appreciate your call

Now finally to our prospective Walkley Award winner from Sunbury. He's now on air and seems somewhat none too impressed at having been on hold so long - by simply mentioning it. Can't blame him as he was seemingly slotted behind Diamond Dave.

[starts off with a question to SJP which gets an obvious answer]

Benny: How's everything going with the legal practice? Ah, anything of note recently?

SJP: Oh, not to be discussed in airwaves, Ben, of course. Lawyers have a code of confidentiality.

Benny: Fair enough. [I'd] try and do my best Andrew Rule impersonation by asking that question

SJP: [LOL]
[yep, side-splitting stuff]

Yikes and gadzooks there's not a netball in sight. Benny Boy is all VFL tonight, and aside from far too many ums and ahs in each sentence, he proceeds with a preview of the VFL Grand Final. Credit to Ben, he makes a concerted effort with the Gladiators on an analysis although the timbre of his voice doesn't resinate with anything to be confused with professionalism yet.

[The inexperience of youth]

Benny: …the ruckman for North Ballarat did do a little bit of an ankle strain at training, but he will probably have a bit of the jungle juice and he should be right to go [I hope Ben knows what jungle juice is]

SJP: Oh, what are they going to give him?

HL: What's jungle juice, Ben? [uh-oh]

Benny: Jungle juice is, ah, it's sort of, like, you know, just the injection sort of stuff they use, Howard. I don't know-

SJP: Cortisone!

Benny: Ah, cortisone, yeah

[The Benny Report finishes off with the following journalistic gem]

AL: Fantastic job once again, Benny. Give us your tip and your point margin please, mate

Benny: O.K. I've sort of been tossing, um, up uh, uh, um, up, and you know, and considering I'm a Werribee man, ah, with this game, personally would love to see Port Melbourne win and will shut up, um, the media, um, certain media types, myself included, that stand-alone sides can't win flags. I'll say Port Melbourne by 26 points
[That's interesting, Ben apparently wants to shut himself up]

[Oh, Port lost by 45 points]:D

The show finishes off with a number of non-eventful, usual-fare calls. Hence, I'm off for some microwaved pizza. Don't mind the Gladiators though. Howard and Stephen J are likeable and always try to be entertaining. But, Peakey's partisan St. Kilda stuff gets a little tiresome. Its's not like SEN lacks for on-air people yapping about the Saints.

It's after 2 a.m., and now joining Lowther is the 417th sidekick that I've come across on the nightshift.

I last one call as the guy that rings up is as drunk as a skunk. I mean he's really pissed and surprisingly Lowther and Sidekick-417 allow this guy to go on and on and on, while playing a straight bat to his syntax-less jargon. He begins by claiming the umpires are bringing the game into disri-bute [ahh, a slurred bringing the game into disrepute sighting] From here it goes downhill quickly. I expected Lowther to mankad this bloke before he even got to the striker's end considering the way Dave from St. Kilda was summarily dispensed with an hour earlier.

The drunk also has a go at "ridiculous" a few times. Any breath test station cop will tell you that inebriation and the attempted pronunciation of the word "ridiculous" go together like Cameron Ling and Jennifer Hawkins.

Drunken caller's last slurred words: Ya know where I'm comin' from?

Lowther: Yeah, from the bottom of a beer bottle

Lowther and Sidekick-417 request no more drunks ring in.

So I don't, and since I'm just about out of cricket metaphors, I pull up stumps and was off to bed.

Gotta love late night sports radio.:rolleyes:

How many here turned down the tv and had the SEN commentary on instead ?
I did it for the first half and even though they say it is the exact timing i found it to be a little off so just had the tv on for the second half.
Still Huddo and co did a really good job :thumbsu:
Slap to SEN

Sledge to SEN .
They just dont seem to be able to get it totally right on the big days.
Just like the Brownlow night when straight after they went to the four diegos soccer show instead of taking our talkback on the brownlow.

Grand Final :thumbsu: Finey next :thumbsu: I had to wait longer than ever to get on with Finey last night and I think he could have gone for another few hrs at least with callers .
But then what are they thinking . Gladiators from the midnight show come on and then after them some young kid who sounded like he was the only one left to fill in he was that raw and rough.
Spiro ( i think that was his name ) came up with following gems before i turned him off and went to the BBC on 1026 to hear English soccer.

'Gary Ablett is just a flashy player '
Stuart Dew should have been the Norm Smith winner he was clearly the best on ground.'
Varcoe wasnt bad but he was ordinary '

Seriously SEN have to realise that GF day and the Brownlow should carry some weight long after the winner has happened.
With so many ex footballers and people from the game that know something working at the station why are they not put on around the GF and special days.
( ie Finey should have done a brownlow ring in show )
Bring in a KB or Harford etc whoever but dont just makes the decisons just doesnt get it about how big these events are.
it is truly like everyone had gone home and who wants to look after the shop until we get back on Monday morning.

And dont get me started on how long I had to wait to hear any English soccer scores while this kid was on.
The quicker they get the English sports radio back on over the weekend and weekday hrs at midnight the better

Grand Final :thumbsu: Finey next :thumbsu: I had to wait longer than ever to get on with Finey last night and I think he could have gone for another few hrs at least with callers .
But then what are they thinking . Gladiators from the midnight show come on and then after them some young kid who sounded like he was the only one left to fill in he was that raw and rough.
Spiro ( i think that was his name ) came up with following gems before i turned him off and went to the BBC on 1026 to hear English soccer.

i heard a bit of gladiators, first time for me actually listening to that crap. they have a following? :eek: they were ok when talking about the GF, but then came the sound effects and giggling. i turned off.

Now finally to our prospective Walkley Award winner from Sunbury.

Lowther and Sidekick-417 request no more drunks ring in.

Gotta love late night sports radio.:rolleyes:

I heard Benny that night (why does he always call so late?). What's on the menu now Ben with VFL and netball on hiatus?

With regards to drunks calling up, ever heard Bluff Poker Radio on Tuesday nights (midnight). Nothing but drunks and idiots.

Netball still isn't over actually.

It's international season now and the first of four tests will be played on Saturday night in Newcastle.

Will provide detailed previews and reviews for both games, so make sure you all stay tuned.

Thanks for the kind words on my grand final preview Monty. :thumbsu:

Netball still isn't over actually.

It's international season now and the first of four tests will be played on Saturday night in Newcastle.

The home of Netball in Australia. :rolleyes:
Will provide detailed previews and reviews for both games, so make sure you all stay tuned.

Can you let us know what time as I have been having trouble sleeping lately and this might help.

Turfology VI

Turf-speak

You didn't need to bring the mirror ball in just for me, Kevin
- Reference by Turf to KB's dancing during Turf's intro theme.

I was talking about the proposed Collingwood-Geelong blockbuster, and we are getting closer to Collingwood actually doing their own draw, which I think is only a couple of years away now

They're sort of like Labradors, Collingwood, being the only dog the will eat itself to death
- on Collingwood's jockeying for blockbuster fixtures

Baghdad, Afghanistan, and King Street, probably
- on comparing the other three most dangerous places in the world to Pakistan where the ICC Trophy is being held.

I think the only upside, Kevin, is there was no shots fired
- on the Heath Shaw and Alan Didak drink-driving incident

Turfy: I want congratulate the AFL umpires, Kevin. Tremendous job they've done over the… about last 4 weeks ago. They've clearly made the decision, took it upon themselves-

KB: Yes Doc! (interjects sarcastically)

Turfy: Hands in the back(!), we're [umpires] not interested in paying it anymore. They have abandoned that rule, Kevin!

KB: Have they? (sarcastically)

Turfy: You must be mortified. It must be like a slap across the face with a wet mackerel, to you.
- on Turfy's allegation to KB that umpires have abandoned the "hands in the back" rule.

I don't think the sport has ever been the same since… I think they took a backward stride there
-on 1900 being the last time the Olympics had live pigeon shooting

I was watching Miss Universe the other night. I noticed that Miss America fell for the second year in a row. I'd ban Miss Universe, it's a dangerous sport…it's a dangerous sport, Kevin! [pause] Lets take the focus of jumps racing for a minute
- on the Miss Universe pageant

It's been shifted to [Sunday night] 10:30 and just to compound it the lead-in was a repeat of CSI Uzbekistan or what ever it was, I mean, Channel Nine, fair dinkum
- on Turfy's favourite show Footy Classified being moved to Sunday nights.

10 mins to go in this mornings MG:

ads for a few minutes
one of the baffoons starts up a conversation re: who would you take first if you could create your own side (in reference to hodge). AM said they'd leave it for tomorrow, TW agreed and replied "we need something to talk about tomorrow".

can you imagine what its gonna be like now that afl has finished?

10 mins to go in this mornings MG:

ads for a few minutes
one of the baffoons starts up a conversation re: who would you take first if you could create your own side (in reference to hodge). AM said they'd leave it for tomorrow, TW agreed and replied "we need something to talk about tomorrow".

can you imagine what its gonna be like now that afl has finished?

Based on previous years, Brownless basically says nothing and leaves it to Maher and Watson to carry it for the next six months.

Dr Turf is great value and it would be great if he had a bigger role on SEN.
with no AFL on, we can only hope the likes of Dr Turf and Steve Salisbury get more airtime.

When do the regular shows stop? I see little point in having shows fronted by ex-AFL players when AFL is out of season. I mean, how many of them know much about anything else?