The SEN Thread 4

I may be incorrect here but another one for the Doran files. He did a live read yesterday on ''boags beer'' and claimed it was a product from ''across the ditch''. I thought it was a tassie brew!!! Unless the world according to that dill Tassie is ''across the ditch''.:confused::confused:

another great show of Winning Matters last night!

they had Dylan Howard & Matt Campbell with Harf and they were surprisingly good :confused:

agree. i enjoyed the show. campbell is good and howard is surprisingly funny.
could do with a better timeslot, thou.

Well here's another option for you Benny: look up how the AFL is based on US sports. Tonight's much criticized footy coverage on Channel Seven has its roots in the following tags: NFL footy rights, The X Files, John Madden, CBS/FOX/NBC/ESPN, Rupert Murdoch writing off $200 million in losses and coming out ahead, and The Simpsons.

Write an essay on it for your media studies and then you can ring up the aptly named Snoran and wake him up explaining why Channel Seven are right to not want to alter tonight's schedule. I guarantee you he has no idea.

"Losing the football was a disaster. Our rating dropped by 60 percent in Wisconsin alone."
- 60 Minutes, Morley Safer, on CBS losing the NFC football rights to FOX in 1993
Football Digest, June/July issue, 1996

Interesting thing to undertake, but how do you think it will help me with my media career aspirations?

oh dear here we go......darcy and pickers trying to define champion, superstar and star.

is afl the only sport where we throw these terms around like its going out of fashion?
Pickers loves those terms, remember on the show with Mark Allan he always used to go on about "superstars, A-graders and elite" players.

I may be incorrect here but another one for the Doran files. He did a live read yesterday on ''boags beer'' and claimed it was a product from ''across the ditch''. I thought it was a tassie brew!!! Unless the world according to that dill Tassie is ''across the ditch''.:confused::confused:
Come on, now you're just picking on everything about the ferret - personal attacks must be next. Bass Strait = the "ditch" I assume.

The difference between Ed and Steve and Finey when they get idiot callers every show:

Finey- Cancels the best half hour on the station at the time.

Steve and Ed- Laugh and say things like "another ripping call, very insightful."

Classical Doran today.

Starts the weekend footy wrap with Robbo by saying its like that song by Blondie "The Time is Right", and that Geelong has the premiership in the bag yada yada yada.

The song title is "The Tide is High"...

I'm getting sick of Doran telling every caller that he disagrees with that "Its my opinion and its not necessarily right." when generally he is wrong.

When talking about Cadel and his interviews he says,

"You wouldn't see Mark Webber blaming his equipment for not winning races."

The next 2-3 callers say...Mark Webber has blamed his car several times for not finishing.

Doran: "Well its my opinion and its not necessarily right but..."

I'm getting sick of Doran telling every caller that he disagrees with that "Its my opinion and its not necessarily right." when generally he is wrong.

The next 2-3 callers say...Mark Webber has blamed his car several times for not finishing.

Yet another perfect example of the endless bumbling of Mark Doran.:thumbsu:

That whole segment made me so mad.

He obviously doesn't like the Tour De France and from the little grabs he manages to see on the news has decided he doesn't like Cadel Evans.

Doran has no concept on cycling, he keeps saying its sucks cause they don't "race" on the final stage in Paris... has no idea that general classification riders in contention just can't make up a minute on the yellow jersey on a flat stage.

Haha. Give him a dictionary definition of the word opinion.

Geelong have not won a flag in 1963. If anyone even pulls me up about last year, then hey...it's just my opinion...

Yeah I heard Doran talking about Cadel blaming things and when he used Webber as an example I thought "you idiot" Webber always blames the car his driving and team (as he should imo). Not the best example to use Doran..

And he kept going on about Cadel saying this in France, as if it has a different meaning to him saying it in Australia? WTF? It was an Aussie reporter for an Aussie sports station he was talking to.. ??

to be fair to mark doran, I think Cadel Evans is bit of an arrogant cad myself, I just reckon he should be a little less intense/angry towards the media, especially when things aren't going for him.

It makes him appear as though he has a chip on his shoulder.

i think that stoney and jonty do a good job together for a long time now so why do they need to have the new guy andrew louder with them he doesnt say much anyway and they dont need him but he was with them on monday again 2 weeks in a row like he is now part of them. but the stupid thing is he stayed when jonty and stoney left and went home so andrew louder was on from 12 to 3am with dylan.
why not stoney and jonty together from 12 and then at 2 when they go home you can have andrew louder and dylan from 2am better i think that way

to be fair to mark doran, I think Cadel Evans is bit of an arrogant cad myself, I just reckon he should be a little less intense/angry towards the media, especially when things aren't going for him.

It makes him appear as though he has a chip on his shoulder.

I think you are Doran are mistaking shyness as arrogance.

To me arrogance is him acting that he expected to win the race. He certainly was intense, but that was because he was so nervous about being the favorite to win the greatest bike race in the world.

In my book, his raw emotion is a breath of fresh air in this age of under 18 footballers who enter the AFL media savvy, all prepared with their "just taking one week at a time" attitude (cough, Dale Thomas, cough).

i think that stoney and jonty do a good job together for a long time now so why do they need to have the new guy andrew louder with them he doesnt say much anyway and they dont need him but he was with them on monday again 2 weeks in a row like he is now part of them. but the stupid thing is he stayed when jonty and stoney left and went home so andrew louder was on from 12 to 3am with dylan.
why not stoney and jonty together from 12 and then at 2 when they go home you can have andrew louder and dylan from 2am better i think that way

Andrew's surname is Lowther, not Louder.

The people that provide and read the hourly news must stalk celebs on facebook. Apparantly Stephanie Rice and her bf both changing their relationship status on facebook to single was newsworthy.
To be fair I saw that on the Hun website earlier tonight.

Did anyone mention Andy Maher yesterday - interviewing one of the Matildas about the proposed national women's league - and asked 'When are you leaving for Bejing?' - and was then informed ....err, they didn't qualify.
:o

Did anyone mention Andy Maher yesterday - interviewing one of the Matildas about the proposed national women's league - and asked 'When are you leaving for Bejing?' - and was then informed ....err, they didn't qualify.
:o

No one's mentioned it on here, but I heard it.

Good to see research is high on their priority.