Radio The SEN Thread 5

I now know why the powers that be decided to pay John Daly cash to come out to play the Masters. So Doran would mention the word "golf" on his show. Heard him say twice already that he's looking forward to Thursday.

Other than mentioning the results of one of the majors, don't think I've heard him ever mention golf.

4 days I think. It will be interesting to see what happens with the Morning Glory next year. Will they re-shuffle the program, bring in a new co-host or just stick with Maher and Watson? I think they will put a not-long retired football player in the spot.

Think Andrew Thompson, Nick Holland, Ben Dixon, Daniel Harford

Think I have once. When NZ were able to get Tiger Woods to play in a tournament he was mentioning why Australia can't do that. Not 100% sure though.

I'm looking for the quiet moment between now and Thursday where he calls for talkback about whether its a good idea to get John Daly down here or not.

Bookmark it.

4 days I think. It will be interesting to see what happens with the Morning Glory next year. Will they re-shuffle the program, bring in a new co-host or just stick with Maher and Watson? I think they will put a not-long retired football player in the spot.

therein lies the problem, that people automatically think a retired afl player will fill the spot. i am not having a go at you pepsi, but pointing out the fact that in the back of all our minds this will happen.

SEN needs to realise that yes we are an afl town but is it necessary to ram ex players down our throats? imo nick holland isnt that impressive, nor is dixon (how did he get a job there?). daniel harford is good value however.

therein lies the problem, that people automatically think a retired afl player will fill the spot. i am not having a go at you pepsi, but pointing out the fact that in the back of all our minds this will happen.

SEN needs to realise that yes we are an afl town but is it necessary to ram ex players down our throats? imo nick holland isnt that impressive, nor is dixon (how did he get a job there?). daniel harford is good value however.

I have a bit of trust that they'll just get the best person for the job, more than the best former AFL player. Holland and Dixon aren't up to it. They should look outside the station and poach the best fit.

The Morning show is one of the flag ships of the station, so they won't take it lightly.

Please, not Nick Holland.

12.00pm to 1.00pm on Saturdays is one of the worst hours of radio ever.

The, I can't cop criticism, Matt Thompson and the bungling Nick Holland.

I agree completely. It is what SEN will look for automatically, a retired footballer. But they need someone who is going to lift the Morning Glory and make it interesting radio, because I don't think it has been for a while. Harford is the best of the lot that is on SEN at the moment of the newly-retired football class. But I hope they look outside of their own. We will see.

Pay Finey, Mark Franklin/Luke Mather and Steve S/Ed Wyatt top dollars to host four to six hours of radio five days per week, and they can keep the inferior co-hosts in line to maintain interesting listening. This way all sport will be covered.

Finey's time slot is perfect. 19-23.00 five days per week. He covers footy, cricket, basketball, the world game, golf, rugby, etc. He also finds time to get Schibecci on the radio for F1, and BP for Tennis updates some evenings before the end of the show.

Franklin and Mather need to be two of the highest paid presenters. I miss their brilliant work. They cover all sports and I don't know if SEN has any other presenters who have a wider range of interest in all sport. They even talk about the Melbourne Ice... most of whom wouldn't even know who they are.

Steve and Ed are good for US sport, but they also like to talk AFL and NBL. I reckon we should have them on from 11-16 every day so they can give live updates of the American sports. Imagine all of the people working who will be tuning in for updates, instead of having to listen to KB or Mark Doran.

And young James goes alright too. There will be time for him. Maybe Saturday and Sunday evenings, and perhaps he can be first emergency to the others if they can't present for a few days.

I agree with most of the things you have mentioned X, except for KB.

KB covers a great range of sports, and he has a very good knowledge of them.

He does have a good knowledge, but the problem I have with him is that he fails to answer you when you text in. Maybe an old man like him isn't used to the technology of SMS, but why does he still know how to read them out? Especially when it's NBA/MLB/NHL/NFL playoffs, he should be updating his audience of American sports seeing as he is in their sporting shift.

Haven't heard a great deal of MG this week, but I did hear Tim and Andy refer to tomorrow as Billy's "last day of the year" (as opposed to last day ever). They commented on their being some negotiations going on and that Billy was hoping Barry Quick would "come to the table" on a proposal Billy had made.

I'm sure Billy would still be around for the footy coverage next year, but I wonder if he's negotiating a change in his hours, or a change of show?

Haven't heard a great deal of MG this week, but I did hear Tim and Andy refer to tomorrow as Billy's "last day of the year" (as opposed to last day ever). They commented on their being some negotiations going on and that Billy was hoping Barry Quick would "come to the table" on a proposal Billy had made.

I'm sure Billy would still be around for the footy coverage next year, but I wonder if he's negotiating a change in his hours, or a change of show?

Please Barry - hold firm.

PS : Didn't all the media at the time say that Bill had quit because of the hours. Sounds like it wasn't as voluntary as we were led to believe....

Please Barry - hold firm.

PS : Didn't all the media at the time say that Bill had quit because of the hours. Sounds like it wasn't as voluntary as we were led to believe....

It was voluntary. Full stop. I meant it sounded like he was negotiating for some other time or shift on the station... perhaps it was just negotiations about doing the footy next year.

I'm sure SEN would prefer not to be hunting for a new combination for their flagship program.

Just heard that.

Its clear too that Andy and Tim will be back next year. Could they go it as a duo or get someone else in?

heard about 30 mins of the show this morning, i think billy tried to get as many sexual innuendo jokes in.

personally happy he's gone, even though blokes will talk like blly when out with the lads, on a brekky show he needed to tne it down.

now get rid of tim.

funny hearing billy say the afl shouldnt go down the nfl path of using boundary umps to help adjudicate on field decisions cause we're australian.....and usually all things afl watson advocate the nfl methods.