Radio The SEN Thread 6

Finey's copping some flak for calling someone who sent a SMS 'dissing St.Kilda' tonight a ****** :D

that's pretty disrespectful and a poor choice of words. i wonder how he'd react if someone called in with some anti-semitic remarks?
i think finey (or viney as some pinheads insist on referring him as) needs to get over himself now, too much airtime has gone to his head, although he's always been good to me when i've rung up.

We meant to listen (Sam + Grant) but forgot....dammit!.......two of my three favorite "say it like it is" people........the other one is Aker..

Would have been very interesting indeed..

That would be an awesome show, Grant Thomas, Same Newman and Francis Leach hosting. Would rather listen to that than Ed & Crawf.

that's pretty disrespectful and a poor choice of words. i wonder how he'd react if someone called in with some anti-semitic remarks?
i think finey (or viney as some pinheads insist on referring him as) needs to get over himself now, too much airtime has gone to his head, although he's always been good to me when i've rung up.
Who would you rather in his place? Damien Sleet? God that guy has a voice that makes you want to pull all your teeth out.

The thing is though Finey does often act like a bogon hoon, but to be fair, at least he reads out most of the SMS's and doesn't generally cut off most of his callers, unless they make really obscene or 'inflammatory' remarks ...

I think the working week does tire him out, he does sound really 'tetchy' and bad tempered as the weeks go on, esp on Finey's Feral Final Siren on Friday and Sunday Nights after the footy.

I think it's actually Sleep [apt surname] Did anybody hear him last week giving an update on the Aussie tour match? Apparently the Aussies were winning by 60 runs and 7 wickets!:rolleyes::rolleyes:Please SEN just whack some replays on,he makes Doran look like a font of sporting knowledge

The Joy of the Stkilda show with Peaky :mad:Shut it peaky

I got more annoyed at the pompous git 'dissing' Federer and saying Rod Laver is the best male tennis players of all time ...

Lets have a look at all the old time geezers Laver played against, compared to the guns that Federer has had to compete with ...

I got more annoyed at the pompous git 'dissing' Federer and saying Rod Laver is the best male tennis players of all time ...

Lets have a look at all the old time geezers Laver played against, compared to the guns that Federer has had to compete with ...

In the words of Rod himself, all you can be is the best of your generation.

You can't compare across times.

In the words of Rod himself, all you can be is the best of your generation.

You can't compare across times.

It's still an interesting issue that never gets discussed properly. Especially when it comes to Tiger Woods vs. History. No doubt there will be someone to suggest that Tiger has better or worse golfing conditions due to global warming, as he plays against the course as much as an opponent.:rolleyes:

There's mythical stories of game plans to curb Bradman that seem a little more anachronistic as time passes. We know VFL players in the '70s and even into the '80s stayed in their positions. Remember, K. Sheedy was a "back-pocket plumber." I even remember our journalistic experts scratching their heads at Sheeds putting Michael Long at centre-half-forward not all that long ago.

In the last decade the Fraser brothers, Dr. John and Neale, had no problem with using the argument of so many more eastern and western European tennis players providing competition as a reason for the declining era of Aussie tennis greats. Once, after using this argument on 3UZ and being queried by Leon Wiegard that maybe the past greats weren't that good, Neal Fraser quickly spruiked that the greats of Laver, Newcombe, and Rosewall would have been great in any era.

How so? He didn't elaborate.

According to Celtic Pride, Stephen J had no problem with simply throwing the great Federer into the net with little deference to his favourite, Rod Laver. If the discussion on greats of different eras can't be had, when how does anyone truly assess any greatness? Everyone involved on the tennis circuit nowadays, has excellent access to breaking down Roger's game on DVDs, yet he's won 72 of his last 73 grass-court games.

Contrary to the argument for today's micro-managed strategies, and professionalism, how would've this era's stat-padding cricketers gone if they had to face the likes of Imran Khan, Willis, Snow, Holding, Marshall, Croft, and Garner, almost every time they went out to bat like the Chappell brothers did? I, as a youngster once slept with the lights on after watching Andy Roberts frighteningly destroy Australia.:(

Viv Richards never wanted to use a helmet either. It can make for interesting discussion when done properly.

Just evaluating players relative to the contemporary competition doesn't go far.

It's truly very difficult to compare eras but many people do, especially on sports radio, often when it suits their own prevailing opinion, without proper discussion or thought.

Sounds like lawyer, Stephen J., fell into this trap yet again.

The prosecution rests.

hi,

so flicked to 3aw today in the arvo whilst casual friday was in an ad break. dennis walter and co host giving away prizes to callers who could stump them with trivia. the question this bloke had was who are the two players who have won the gardiner, morrish and brownlow medals. the hosts got libba, but not the second (col austin from hawthorn i think).

the hosts were astounded. the caller then said "yeah you can even ask beavers friend mark fine if its right" - obviously the caller had given the same Q to finey.

yours respectfully

PN

Listened to Doran's Casual Friday for the first time today and it wasn't too bad. Been criticised a bit lately. No Harford but the other guy was O.K.

More importantly, Doran I believe now has a hundred followers on Twitter.

I wonder if Manbearpig is one of them? :D

Listened to Doran's Casual Friday for the first time today and it wasn't too bad. Been criticised a bit lately. No Harford but the other guy was O.K.

More importantly, Doran I believe now has a hundred followers on Twitter.

I wonder if Manbearpig is one of them? :D

yeah who was the other guy? Des something...

hi,

so flicked to 3aw today in the arvo whilst casual friday was in an ad break. dennis walter and co host giving away prizes to callers who could stump them with trivia. the question this bloke had was who are the two players who have won the gardiner, morrish and brownlow medals. the hosts got libba, but not the second (col austin from hawthorn i think).

the hosts were astounded. the caller then said "yeah you can even ask beavers friend mark fine if its right" - obviously the caller had given the same Q to finey.

yours respectfully

PN

I actually thought Libba was the only person to win all 3 three.

Don't know if it's a reliable source, but Wikipedia backs up my thoughts.

It's still an interesting issue that never gets discussed properly. Especially when it comes to Tiger Woods vs. History. No doubt there will be someone to suggest that Tiger has better or worse golfing conditions due to global warming, as he plays against the course as much as an opponent.:rolleyes:

I think you compare guys to how good they were compared to the guys of their era.

Its not like every batsman in the 30s and 40s were averaging 100 like Bradman.

I think you compare guys to how good they were compared to the guys of their era.

Its not like every batsman in the 30s and 40s were averaging 100 like Bradman.

I agree, but if radio is going to do it, and you know they are, do it right otherwise it's just pointless.

And yes, if Bradman wasn't that good, why wasn't everybody averaging high scores. My point was that the stories of older eras is bathed in mythology. Comparisons are almost impossible to do. Old timers will tell you Larwood, Lindwall, and Frank Tyson were the fastest bowlers ever. Never bowled in front of a speed gun like today's players.
Jesse Owens vs. Usaine Bolt? Fuggedaboutit.

You'll often hear SEN debate on what AFL/VFL team was the greatest.

Take one example: Dermott Brereton claims the mid-eighties Bombers were the greatest team of all time. Every time this happens the same thing is said to Dermott: "you're only saying that because you kicked 8 goals in 1985 (LOL)." Essendon, and Hawthorn, were so good that their performances and dominance precipitated major change in the whole competition (VFL worst ever attendances in '85).

In 1986 pre-season the Dons beat the Herald-Sun All Stars by about 4 goals, then proceeded to start belting the opposition in the home-and-away. But no one ever mentions that:
Van Der Haar broke his leg in Rd 2. Gone - season.
Tim Watson blew out his knee Rd 3. Gone - season.
Darren Williams broke his leg Rd 5. Gone - season.
Essendon won their first 4 games by an average of 54.5 points, but were inevitably doomed. And they still made the final 5 and only lost the elimination final to Fitzroy because Brigit Declos husband wandered of in the rain and left Micky Conlan all alone with a minute to go.:rolleyes: Sheedy's team had to clear out so many players due to the salary cap and drafting that in one game in 1987 the Brisbane Teddy Bears had no less than 7 ex-Bombers playing. By 1989 Essendon were back in a preliminary final. Whata coach!

The Bombers also had a premiership hangover in '94 but it's never mentioned that that year was the club's then-highest ever medical/rehab bill: about $365,000.

There are a million examples that can bunk up or debunk any argument on comparing players, teams, or any era. But if SEN hosts are going to do it, do it in an informative, thought-creating way. Not like S.J. Peake apparently did it.

You are right MBP. You know you are going continue to hear these discussions ad nauseam on SEN. You, I, and Celtic Pride might just be turning off if it's biased or prejudiced.

3AW are currently discussing the greatest Bulldog team of all time - :( And...Walls just dumped on Sheedy. :mad:

Siddle should have been brought on sooner as Johnson bowled absoulute rubbish, and the Hilf should have bowled instead of North in those last few overs. Exciting to watch though:thumbsu:
Just a little dig at that overnight host Damian how he gives cricket updates with "Australia leading by 100 hundred and 6 wickets".

I enjoy listening to MG when Andrew Gaze is on. He becomes the messiah of all things sport and has to explain everything to the 2 bozos.

Was it a bit hypocritical of those 2 to jump on the F1/Mark Webber bandwagon when they opposed having the sport in Melbourne?

Is anyone starting to compare Tim to Pauline Hanson? "Please explain..."

I enjoy listening to MG when Andrew Gaze is on. He becomes the messiah of all things sport and has to explain everything to the 2 bozos.

Was it a bit hypocritical of those 2 to jump on the F1/Mark Webber bandwagon when they opposed having the sport in Melbourne?

1. was gonna write about gaze last week, forgot to...until now....im not really a fan of him on MG. why? cause when he gets excited he starts yelling. it almost seems like its staged.

2. wouldnt surprise me if those 2 bagged webber before, but now wanna be his no 1 fans.

actually, wish they (watson) were more critical of afl players instead of sucking up all the time