Radio The SEN Thread 6

• Thread starter Thread starter red+black

From the twenty20 stuff he did, he goes way over the top with enthusiasm. There's a promo on at the moment and he's going nuts at Dave Hussey screaming "and that's six big ones!"
20/20 they go nuts on the tele as well. Can't imagine him going over the top in the Tests.

"Flintoff comes in to bowl from the Members end....." [zzzzz]

BTW Can Chasing Birdies be relegated to one of the after midnight slots ?
I don't think Golf is worth an entire hour's slot in the evening program.

It's been there for years. Don't need to talk about footy for another hour do we?

Heard Doran in the Car today. Turned over in complete and utter boredom as he had a call in segment on the biggest ''sook'' in sport. Seriously tedious shit going on there.What's happened to Steve from Sydney? More Steve Less of that nutjob Dave from Stkilda thanks

Ben how did you become Mr.Netball on SEN? Did you force yourself on them or did they ask you to give regular reports? I've been meaning to ask for a while now.

I was just having a bit of a play around when I called up mate, am I not allowed to have some fun or do I need to serious 24/7?

One of the issues with Doran doing the over-the-top T/20 calling is that anyone that's heard his cricket segments knows he loathes this form of the game. He went to lengths to make this clear during the IPL comps.

For me it then just doesn't resonate as it's clearly contrived, fabricated, fake calling. If people have seen footage of Bill Lawry doing an exciting call it's hilarious to watch Tony Greig and the other Nine blokes laughing it up watching Bill jumping up and down nervously. And Lawry was a Test captain. Genuineness comes through in calling. Even if Doran is good, I know he's totally faking it.

Make sure you are listening tonight for a full netball report from me heading into Sunday's ANZ Championship Grand Final Monty.

Will discuss yesterday's press conference and general news, but a full game preview will be broadcast on Friday morning.

KB's Hungry For Sport

After a little Turfy time on a Wednesday, it was on to another instalment of KB’s Hungry For Tanking. Hump day is usually a neither here nor there day for talking points, but one never knows what this little Aussie bleeder has under his baseball cap.

The great Tank debate is warming up on SEN.

KB has his heavy hitter on deck in the one and only Putz Smith. Let’s see what sports cocktail the sometime pompous Putz has in his early-morning midweek Pina Colada. Not to insinuate, of course, that Mr. Smith would imbibe to any extent before lunch.:rolleyes: That’d probably be the domain of Rubbo.

KB vs. The Putz. Who will wind up whom?

Agreeing on Zac Dawson is off to fairly limp start. Putz is surprised that Darren Glass puttin’ the lights-out on Justin Westoff because Glassy went past the ball, didn’t even get referred. KB has no comment.

On to the talkback rather swiftly. First cab off the rank is Rob on why the Sainters challenged the suspension of Dawson. Fair argument; all in agreement. Tightened the rule interpretations going back the Xavier Clarke incident, states Putz.

David from (oh no, it couldn’t be) Greensborough (phew!) is next with the morning’s first conspiracy theory. Plenty of these on the SEN menu. The Saints, according to this version of Dave, believes the club challenged so Matt McGuire could get a couple of games before the finals. “That’s devious,” exclaims Putz, as he goes on to state the obvious other options the Saints have to get McGuire a game. KB showers some love for Zac.

Paul is next and he has an explanation for the Dawson incident. Quickly covered again with clarity by our award-winning Journo.

Now it’s Glenn and … we’re in business - tanking. Thinks Terry Wallace should stay silent since the Tigers have paid him out. Putz and KB are at opposite ends on this issue. The Tigers v Saints ‘07 season finale is the focal point.

“It just underlines again, how Demetriou, the AFL boss is at odds with the majority of the football community on whether tanking does happen. It does happen”
- Putz Smith (we know KB’s gonna don the gloves for a stoush here)

[on the ‘07 game]

KB: Terry said, look, he didn’t tank, he just decided not to really coach on that day.

PS: Yep, that’s tanking, Kevin.

KB: Well, he just said he decided not to really coach on that day, he just allowed the players to go about their business and play themselves. And the Tigers were 21 points up in the last quarter. [LOL]

PS: he said he made no attempt to stop the St. Kilda run.

KB: No, but the Tigers were 12 points up into the last quarter and Terry hadn’t even coached.

PS: Ummmm.

KB: What does that tell us about the influence of coaches? … [KB continues as Putz tries to speak] coaches sometimes say to players go out and play your natural game and just take risks… won’t go crook at you, we won’t pull you from the field, won’t chastise you if you do something wrong. [Putz tries again, to no avail] Now that’s not tanking. But it’s interesting that Terry said he sat there and did nothing. [Smitty fails to get a eord in again] And the Tigers were 12 points up.

PS: I’m sure Terry would say ‘I coached them till I got 12 points up and from that point on I turned my back on the game.’

KB: Well, he didn’t coach ’em when they got 12 points up. He said he virtually didn’t do anything. Didn’t make moves and all that sort of stuff. Made minimum moves.

(KB’s circling the wagons here and Putz’s quiver is always full of arrows, but this is clearly in the mould of F Troop, as they continue)

PS: The essential point that he’s making is that when St. Kilda made its comeback, HE made no moves.

KB: But he said the Tigers came back from 6 goals down. Without making a move!

PS: The - [Putz exasperatingly lets out a sigh]

KB: So you couldn’t say they were tanking, they come from 6 goals down, Pat.

PS: St. Kilda came back, Kevin. Now let’s just, don’t muck around with this. St. Kilda came back. They led by 12 points, Richmond; St. Kilda came back; any coach intent on winning that game, insuring the win, would make changes.

KB: No Pat. No Pat. No, it says today in the paper, the Herald Sun. ‘Wallace said the Tigers would not have come back from 6 goals down early in the match if he’d been hell-bent on tanking.’ So without Terry doing anything the players came from 6 goals back. You couldn’t coach better than that.

PS: No. And Kevin, I’ll just reiterate it once more because you’re in a slow-mood today.

KB: No I’m Not!

PS: Obviously, when they came back they were 12 points up, ten minutes into the third QTR, last QTR or something. And St. Kilda came back; Wallace made no attempt to stop that comeback.

KB: Neither he should have, Pat, because it was an eight goal turnaround, Pat. Whatever was happening, let it go.

PS: Kevin, why would you let it go. You let it go if you’re ahead, you don’t let it go if you’re losing. That’s the art of coaching!

KB: [LOL] They came from 8 goals down.

PS: The. Art. Of. Coaching, Kevin.

KB: We’ll take a break, 9429 11-

PS: Admit you’re wrong, Kevin.

KB: So, so, what you’re saying is Terry is now backing up the fact that clubs are just going out there and tanking. Or is Terry just saying it’s an awkward one because if we win we got the four points and if we lost we had that extra draft pick? And that seem to be a hard one to sort of manage as a coach and a club.

PS: Kevin, anyone that denies there is tanking is living in a fancy world.

(yes, he said fancy, not fantasy - and on to that commercial break)

Back from the break and it’s a calm-downed Putz and KB discussing Choco re-signing with the Power, and Putz mentions North granting an extension to Buckley in coaching the Roos. “Very very smooth job,” he says sarcastically, referring to the negotiating.

(More talkback)

David from (oh no, surely not) St. Kilda (oh &#%$!) wanting to talk about the Ashes.

Yes, it’s “Diamond” Dave - possibly banished from night-yapping by The Gladiators Of Sports’ Howard Leigh - coming off the subs bench to talk turkey with Putz.

Dave says good morning to all, followed by “you know me from The Age, um, all those years ago. Kevin, you’re one of my heroes. I was there in the members in [19]80.” Twenty-nine years ago would make Dave, age…?
Those familiar with Tosser Dave know the usual form: begins sentence, pauses, intentionally coughs, excuses himself, then continues. (Pass me the police baton.:mad:)

Dave’s on about the first Test tactics, second Test decisions and drops, “I think they’ve brought the Ashes into disrepute.” Luv a disrepute sighting.

Dave gets a fair airing from KB as our boy states his points about the umps issue: “faulty, fraudulent…”

“Fraudulent is not the right word, David, they were wrong," replies Putz.

KB asks Dave about Brett Lee and whether he should be sent over fitness concerns and getting a replacement. [silent pause] “What do you think, Dave?” Our boy uses his next favourite technique - he completely ignores the question and returns to the umpiring decisions in the second Test.

Putz has had about enough this:
“It didn’t help, but, mate, what do you think has been happening since the first Test? There’s been bum decisions -Putz.

Dave continues: (Yada, yada, yada) “You could even see Ricky Ponting’s body language; he was going to lose his equilibrium there.”

KB and Putz start arguing, squeezing our boy out of the discussion, with Putz accusing KB, and Dave, of whingeing and Diamond Dave vanishes from the airwaves.

Next caller up is on to lottery draft talk, NBA style. KB and Putz are having none of it, no way, no how. Greg Norman gets hammered by the next bloke. Putz hammers the bloke. An angry Joe from Werribee enters the fray calling KB a boofhead for having a go at St. Kilda. KB just laughs. He claims the “Match Revue Panel sits there all frigging day long trying to find out which St. Kilda player did what. Maybe they should start looking at other games and stop picking on ST. Kilda players.”

KB wryly asks Joe who he barracks for.:D This Joe bloke goes off again.

Tigers angst is next as it’s never far away in talkback…then the next caller, Brad, is back to that tanking that chases KB all day. “Do you believe that tanking happens?” KB replies with authority - “well, NO. I‘ll say no.”

Bartlett’s Last Stand
General George Bartlett’s circling the wagons, here we go again.

KB: Because, I’ve got to give my reason for saying no. And that is because, and I’ve said it many times…and Teddy Richards was an example on the weekend. So maybe I’m blindfolded here, Brad. I believe that if there’s any coach or club that conspires against their players out on the field to lose the game, and not help those players perform at their best, and give them an opportunity. Because they put them out there in very, very dangerous situations, as we saw with Teddy Richards on the weekend. If it’s proven any coach or anyone else is conspiring against their players out on the field then they should be thrown out of the game.

PS: Ummm…O.K.

KB: So I’m saying no because I believe that the quality of people in AFL football would not do that.

Chief Sitting Smith attacks

PS: But that’s not reality. That’s want you want to believe.

KB: That’s what I’m believing, Pat.

PS: Everybody would want to hear that, but that’s not reality. Reality is there in front of you every MATCH. Every round after about round fifteen.

KB: Well there’s an opportunity there is what your saying, Pat. But even Terry Wallace today… he didn’t say he tanked, he just said, he just sat back that day…

PS: …and they led by a couple of goals in the last QTR, Kevin.

KB: So my answer to that, Brad, is no, because I’ve got faith in the game.

PS: You’ve got blind faith, Kevin.

Collingwood caller lashes Travis Cloke, and the Pies’ chances of a flag, predicting more of the same third, fourth, or fifth place finishes. KB goes through the Pies’ remaining games, sarcastically nominating the teams that will be tanking against the Pies. Putz sarcastically commends KB for falling into line.

KB: We’ll take a break, thanks Pat [sarcastically]

And there's six more weeks of tanking talk to go. Me thinks KB's gonna end up scalped.

Make sure you are listening tonight for a full netball report from me heading into Sunday's ANZ Championship Grand Final Monty.

Will discuss yesterday's press conference and general news, but a full game preview will be broadcast on Friday morning.

Your not just messin' with me now are you Benny? You know, the "play around" thing? :confused:

I was meaning to ask you. How'd feel when Luke Darcy rolled right over you into the Ten gig? He didn't know a netball from a softball a year ago.

Anyway, keep working it, brother.:thumbsu:

why dont you call at a decent hour when people are actually listening?

I don't call because I get worried that the presenters will simply cut me off and not give me enough time to broadcast my match previews/reviews.

During the day, they rush through all the callers and barely give them a chance to say anything it's different during the wee hours.

Surely you know that Peter?

if every coach stood in front of kb and said "we have all tanked before", he'd still deny it

Ha, KB's used the Teddy Richards defence about four times since the Swans/Blues game. Virtually no-one believes the players tank, but KB is not going to budge. It's a key part of his arsenal and his using it often.

Stephen J Peake just mentioned Bigfooty on the Gladiators of Sport ...

OH I CAN DIE NOW !!! :D :D

The great man reads this forum :)

Ah he was talking about how annoyed and angry he is about the St.Kilda @ Hawks game in Tassie later this year, and how heaps of St.Kilda fans are also whingening about it, on talkback radio, and on the forums, like sportal, Saintsational and Bigfooty :D :D

I don't call because I get worried that the presenters will simply cut me off and not give me enough time to broadcast my match previews/reviews.

During the day, they rush through all the callers and barely give them a chance to say anything it's different during the wee hours.

Surely you know that Peter?

so you'd prefer to talk for 5 minutes when no ones listening as opposed to say 1 minute when hundreds if not thousands are?

fair enough.

i'm just being realistic here (voicing an opinion). you, as a potential journo, want to put yourself out there and be heard by the masses! and so you should.

an analogy if you will. streakers. they do it when people are watching to get attention. if he/she does it at the crack of dawn no jollies will be had.

anyway, that's my opinion. if you ever make it in the big league ill be the first to congratulate you from my keyboard.

anyway, hands up if you are close to putting your foot through the radio when kb's sprouting thy head in the sand stuff?

With regards to tanking, yah it's rather amusing, but I think maybe it's because that he is a paid employee of the AFL.