Turfology V 2009

You treat every dollar as a prisoner, Kevin, and you always have
- On the recurring theme of KB being tight with money

I was really motivated by the Godfather Part II when Marlon Brando said ‘I’ve loved baseball ever since Arnold Rothstein fixed the World Series in 1919.’ That really got me going
- On inspiring sports movie lines

Even the Daily Planet’s implementing it now as well
- On the widespread implementation of the whipping rules in horse racing
(The Daily Planet is located at::):D:eek:...:o)

This is coming from a bloke with bleached hair and ginger rubik’s cubes
- On Acker’s comments in reference to Mad Monday being outdated, that “John Brumby’s hair is the only thing outdated.”

If they sang “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap” I’d stand up with my hand on my heart equally, Kevin
- On being patriotic but describing the national anthem as a “god-awful song.”

Everyone walk out with their watches intact?
- On Jeff Fenech attending Shane Warne’s 40th birthday party

You must be thrilled that 29 finally won a Brownlow
- To KB about Gary Ablett’s Brownlow win.

Never take odds-on or run up stairs
- On the values his father taught him as child.

Ranting Turf:
I was reading in the Sunday Herald Sun on the weekend, now Noel Crowe, 927 is the industry’s racing station. For him to come out and say we don’t co-operate with them, talking about SEN here, I wouldn’t put them on the same scale of professionalism as - he mentions another couple of other stations here - I don’t think personally that they’re a good outlet for racing. This is the General Manager of the racing station. I think he seems to have lost track that he’s a servant of the racing industry. 927’s not your personal fiefdom, Noel. You’re supposed to be working for the industry. Five-foot-six, that’s his problem…. Maybe, Noel, you wanna whack 927 back in the ratings, ay mate, why don’t ya do that. Why don’t ya show a little G&D.

Turf Comment:
That front page of the Herald Sun on Saturday - with Fev - “Good Riddance,” I had to look twice to make sure I wasn’t reading the Daily Sun from London, or the Truth had made a comeback. Couldn’t understand that one, Kevin. It’s a tacky, smelly, low-rent front page that was.
They are the self-appointed moral arbiters of this world so I guess that’s what drove that one. Interesting enough though, there’s been nothing about him really in the papers since then. Just wonder - I’ve got a feeling - look, I don’t think it’s gossip, but certainly a Herald Sun journalist said to me on the weekend, that sexual assault allegation of all the things he’s supposed to have done on Brownlow night may not be all that accurate… May have been snowballing a little bit as the story’s been told, and re-told, and repeated and so forth. That it may have gathered aspects to it may not be all that accurate. And it’s interesting that the story seems to have disappeared over the past two or three days.

You Blokes:

I like the way you preface that with “with no disrespect to” and then you go and disrespect him. It’s like, you know, starting a sentence with “with all due respect” and then you actually disrespect someone
- On Andrew Maher’s comments comparing Ken Hinkley’s greater experience to Guy McKenna’s lesser experience.

Listening to the free agency talk on the run home yesterday was so cring-worthy, people who only know about AFL calling in about how baseball and EPL were ruined when they have no idea what theyre talking about, I think I heard the ox say "yes, but we have a salary cap" about 5 times in 15 minutes to idiot callers.

topic: turfy spoke about how good baseball telecasts are and the use of zooming into the crowd to capture tension.

maher - baseball goes for 5 hours (a long time, drags on and on)
watson - ...time it takes between pitch, swing....
caller - actually games go for around 3 hours
watson - we're not known for accuracy

interesting when they talk about "boring" sports they can't understand why people criticise cricket! even though i wouldn't watch baseball and love cricket i can see why others think watching grass grow > cricket.

maher - baseball goes for 5 hours (a long time, drags on and on)
watson - ...time it takes between pitch, swing....
caller - actually games go for around 3 hours
watson - we're not known for accuracy

From the Andy Maher who regularly boasts that baseball is better than cricket... apparently cricket has too many games that don't mean anything. I guess each of the 162 games in the 5 month MLB regular season mean a heap...

I've said this on here before somewhere, but:

I can understand how Yanks who were breast-fed on baseball can like, but it is the DUMBEST SPORT I've tried to watch in ages, because the ball (and fielding) dominates so much that it's crazy. Any form of cricket is much more entertaining than baseball.

Nothing happens. It goes: foul, ball, ball, foul, foul, foul, strike, foul, stike, out. Foul, foul, strike, ball, foul, ball, foul, hit straight a fielder -- out! Etc, etc, etc, etc.

I.........AGH!...I just can't believe it. And they were worried about corked bats and steroids! I reckon it needs at least those two to give the batters the advantage they need. I reckon the bats should be bigger, there shoud be less fielders, and maybe they shouldn't have gloves

:D

The only thing I get out of baseball is seeing how fast the fast guys pitch

This discussion regarding Australian soccer and the Socceroos is, quite frankly, farcical for Lee and Stone. Argenti knows what he's talking about but the other two are embarrassing themselves and can only contribute by resorting to AFL comparisons and asking callers their opinions on issues. Shouldn't it be the other way around?

I reckon Argenti's doing a pretty good job. As far as I know, he's 'just' a muso, :) but he seems to have a good general knowledge; and, best of all, he comes across as relaxed, comfortable, confident, and not a try-hard -- kind of the opposite to Matt "I'm-Gunna-Pump-Up-Everything-I-Say-To-Eleven-In-Case-This-Is-My-Last-Day-On-Radio" Thompson

I've heard 10 minutes of this Lee fellow and he's already driving me nuts.

Fevola going to be a 10 year player for the Lions?

Then criticising the umpires for no longer awarding free kicks and 50m penalty for the "late tackle". That free kick was for illegally preventing a player from overlapping, not for a late tackle. They were initially awarding it for lingering tackles then got the interpretation right.

Haven't been able to hear a lot of the Good Oil this week, only bits and pieces....where's Doran?

Harf is very good as usual..

I've said this on here before somewhere, but:

I can understand how Yanks who were breast-fed on baseball can like, but it is the DUMBEST SPORT I've tried to watch in ages, because the ball (and fielding) dominates so much that it's crazy. Any form of cricket is much more entertaining than baseball.

Nothing happens. It goes: foul, ball, ball, foul, foul, foul, strike, foul, stike, out. Foul, foul, strike, ball, foul, ball, foul, hit straight a fielder -- out! Etc, etc, etc, etc.

I.........AGH!...I just can't believe it. And they were worried about corked bats and steroids! I reckon it needs at least those two to give the batters the advantage they need. I reckon the bats should be bigger, there shoud be less fielders, and maybe they shouldn't have gloves

:D

The only thing I get out of baseball is seeing how fast the fast guys pitch

Great sport and while you're at it gain access to a map of the world and look at many places in this WHOLE WIDE WORLD where baseball is played and followed religously .Pointless rant:rolleyes:

This discussion regarding Australian soccer and the Socceroos is, quite frankly, farcical for Lee and Stone. Argenti knows what he's talking about but the other two are embarrassing themselves and can only contribute by resorting to AFL comparisons and asking callers their opinions on issues. Shouldn't it be the other way around?

sounds like much of sen right there, comparing things to afl. i guess its a natural thing to do for most SENers given that afl is practically the only sport they're comfortable talking about.

patrick smith and kb going on about soccer players celebrating by themselves (cahill). first caller summed it up well - its like a euphoria, you just sprint in any direction almost due to shock! kb dismissed it by saying "oh, i dont know about that".

neither of them have played soccer and dont understand the callers POV. having played the game and scored a goal here or there it is literally euphoria. also having coached at various age groups scorers always celebrate with their mates.

they both then noted that its a team game and celebrating in soccer goes against everything in team sports. but wait...

felt like calling in and asking their opinion about say leon davis or jeff farmer going to the crowd and celebrating. or that freo player who won the game after the siren a few seasons ago and ran straight to the crowd. only thing stopping me is this - their response would be along these lines:

- but in afl they dont sprint away
- it only happens a few times, whereas in soccer it happens all the time *

* listening to these two makes it sound like it happens all the time.

waiting for the next installment - they hate diving/staging in soccer.....but wait, its happening in footy too...

I heard the other night that they said the AFL were considering bringing in a rule to fine/suspend players who dived.

Then read Glen Jackovich say Reiwoldt didn't dive but made the most of the contact Lake made. If that's not diving then there is no diving in soccer.

sounds like much of sen right there, comparing things to afl. i guess its a natural thing to do for most SENers given that afl is practically the only sport they're comfortable talking about.

patrick smith and kb going on about soccer players celebrating by themselves (cahill). first caller summed it up well - its like a euphoria, you just sprint in any direction almost due to shock! kb dismissed it by saying "oh, i dont know about that".

neither of them have played soccer and dont understand the callers POV. having played the game and scored a goal here or there it is literally euphoria. also having coached at various age groups scorers always celebrate with their mates.

they both then noted that its a team game and celebrating in soccer goes against everything in team sports. but wait...

felt like calling in and asking their opinion about say leon davis or jeff farmer going to the crowd and celebrating. or that freo player who won the game after the siren a few seasons ago and ran straight to the crowd. only thing stopping me is this - their response would be along these lines:

- but in afl they dont sprint away
- it only happens a few times, whereas in soccer it happens all the time *

* listening to these two makes it sound like it happens all the time.

waiting for the next installment - they hate diving/staging in soccer.....but wait, its happening in footy too...
Yeah exactly, I played for eight years too (as a defender) and only scored once, but you're right, it's a completely different sport where goals are at a premium.

Anyone notice how prickly Steven J Stkilda is getting? The station should be just renamed the Stkilda propoganda network! Every topic has to have some sort of Stkilda reference.

And how he is allowed to make predictions about St Kilda in a positive manner, or other clubs in a negative manner - but if the reverse happens then the caller "is getting into clairvoyancy".

With Kevin Bartlett turning 63 in March, any indications when he will retire from SEN?

Anyone have any suggestions who should be the next morning host?