Radio The SEN Thread 7

Yes, the news service is really terrible now....last sunday night, the 10 + 11pm news was all about stuff happening in Sydney, not one mention of anything victorian....wonder if thats going to be a weekend thing..

Very unprofessional anyway..:thumbsdown:

A lot of stumbling over words too, with the new newsreaders

Peaky waffled on about Milne's great goal yet typically failed to mention his 13 posessions had 8 clangers. Once again the Stkilda propoganda radio failed to mention!!!:eek:

lol huddo loling @ ch 7s bounce taking a "production hiatus". watson went straight into defense mode (summarised)
watson: huddo you just have to accept that its true. it will be back with different format and different people. it will be back in september or sometime before
huddo: so its been axed.....its coming back with different people and segments. its a different show
watson: you're taking joy from this
huddo: im taking joy with the choice of words "production hiatus"

If I want to listen to news, I would not listen to SEN. While the Macquarie news is not near the standard of Southern Cross news, it does mean that we have to listen to less news time, more up to date sports news at the top of the hour......and Matt Thompson is now a part of Macquarie which means hearing him less on SEN.

"Coming up next, Daniel Harford will be in for Harf Time. Then it's the boys on The Run Home. And never, ever forget Finey."

Has KB recorded that? He says that to close out his show every friggen day.

Turfology IV, 2010

In previous years it’s been an entertainment version of valium
- On The AFL Grand final half-time entertainment

I’d rather hear Paris Hilton moralizing than Billy Payne

“Hootie” Johnson would be turning over in his white cape and hood

I just can’t believe that somebody representing that particular golf club would dare adopt any moral high ground
- On Augusta National Golf Club chairman’s criticism of Tiger Woods

How does this impact on the cheer squad? That lovely area where they throw the straw down for the Collingwood cheer squad
- On coaching boxes taking up space behind the goals

When Collingwood fans start eating sushi, the world’s off its axis
- On seeing a Collingwood fan eat said food

When I picked up the Herald Sun this morning and saw Christine on the front there with “Nixon Must be Sacked” I thought, oh, she must have been out drinking with the Richmond players
- On the Herald Sun’s Christine Nixon story

You’re the only bloke I’ve ever come across who had a toupee that was a comb-over
- On KB liking Nick Naitanui’s hair style

Yeah, he got as far as Coffs Harbour
- On Alan Jakovich retiring in the 90s to go to the Balkans

And by the way Channel Nine, it’s not possible to do racing as badly as you do it. If you set at to do something as badly as you possibly could, Channel Nine’s got their racing nailed
- Take a guess

I did get home in time to watch that cracker between the Saints and the Dockers at Etihad. Ah no footy Sunday night of course so I did the right thing by my family and played Internet poker

Later on in the week, you’ve got a couple of days off then. And then, of course, Thursday night you’ve got The Bounce on at 7:30 which I watch until I’m sick of it. So about 7:33 I flicked over to another channel
- On his weekly footy itinerary

I watched the Shepparton dogs. I had no interest in it but my eight-year-old had a quady going so we had to watch that
- On filling the hour between On The Couch and Footy Classified.

Critiquing the Footy Shows (16/4)
The Footy Show:
What do we watch the Footy Show for? Do we watch it for the teams? No. Do we watch it for James and Gary? No. Do we watch it for the panel? No. We watch it for Sam Newman. Whether we like to admit it or not he is the barometer of the Footy Show. Sam’s been in sparkling form this year and therefore the Footy Show’s been entertaining. … Since Sam’s been given his head a little bit this year, giving him so much space to do his shtick and it’s working. And the show’s benefiting from it. It’s bright and bouncy and quick ... . Sam’s just a very funny man despite the fact he has a problem with knowing where the line is sometimes, and crosses it. Maybe a little old fashioned in some of his perspectives. … What is it with him and props? Have you ever known a man more obsessed?

The Bounce:
Look, you know, I actually sat down and watched it with my nine year-old and said let’s watch The Bounce, given it’s a family show. Ten minutes she lasted. … Like I said to you 4 weeks ago after the first show, this needs a monstrous re-jig. Give it a month. It’s gone. It’s cast. It’s got a worse future than jumps racing. And it’s got bigger hurdles to climb. You can point your finger at Peter Hellier - I like [him]. He’s not a host, for me. He’s a good sidekick. I think the show’s poorly produced; it struggled from day one in deciding what sort of show it wanted to be. Was it a comedy? Was it a footy show? The teams, this, that and the other. I think the casting of it, been pretty average. I get the feeling the budget must be monstrous, there’s so much OB stuff, there’s house bands, there’s editing, all that infrastructure involved in producing live TV. It’s only going into Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth. So the biggest TV market in Australia, if you like, Sydney, is excluded. I reckon given the budget, that show is - it’s on life-support. … Name names. The people in the Channel Seven hierarchy who approved all of those appointments: who approved the host, who approved the executive producer, who's failed yet again. These are the nameless people who oughta shoulder the blame. … They made it so hard for themselves. Keep it simple stupid! … It’s so over-cooked; they’ve created this monstrous rod for their backs. I don’t know how they back away from it. I’m not sure what they can do with it to be honest.

Critiquing the Herald Sun
Now let’s be honest. They waver between social commentary and political analysim [sic] with some sort of desire to be satirists. I mean if your gonna believe and actually take on board everything a bloke like [Alan Howe] or Robyn Riley or Andre Bolt says as being, you know, accurate. You know, balanced journalism. Fair dinkum , I mean you know, let’s just remember who it was. We may as well have been reading a script from Seinfeld than reading Alan Howe or Andrew Bolt. Talk about Andrew Bolt, yesterday, two days ago - I know he’s about eight feet away from me - but two days ago he wrote a piece on the Carl Williams phenomena. If you like, everybody’s wasting all of these pages and columns … and TV programs, and the preoccupation with Carl Williams. His piece appeared about four pages after six consecutive pages of the Herald Sun! Who have again today dragged out more Roberta Williams and more stuff about - from Copper Reid, another social analyst. I mean let’s get things in perspective; we love the Herald Sun sport but as far as their columnists are concerned you may as well read Mad Magazine.

Rarely do the Morning Glory guys veer off the AFL track, but when they do, they rarely get their facts right.

This morning Tim Watson had a go at Mourinho and his celebrations after his side made the final claiming he went around inciting the Barcelona fans and then got himself involved with Victor Valdes.

He ran over to the Inter fans and celebrated with them and the Barcelona keeper went upto Mourinho and caused a commotion. Nothing wrong with that.

Exactly,Turfy as per usual right on the button!

Someone give Turfy is own show. They should have a "world of sport" panel with Turfy, Dennis Cometti, and Frawley and Dunstall (their stuff is pretty funny in an old school way) or Carey. Don't do the bullshit faux variety show like the Bounce which is a concept that has failed twice for Channel 7

Gee Mark Fine Hypocrite of the highest order!Lambasted Sydney for their game style yet showing his complete unbias as a presenter it's okay when his club plays like Sydney!