Radio The SEN Thread 7

RATINGS FOR SURVEY 2

OVERALL: 4.0 (Up 0.9, overtaken Magic and Classic Rock which was Vega from S1)
MG: 3.9 (Up 0.7)
KB: 4.0 (Up 0.8, beating MIX 101.1)
HARF: 3.3 (Up 0.5)
RUN HOME: 4.6 (Up 1.3, equal with MMM)
NIGHTS: 4.3 (Up 1.6)
WEEKENDS: 2.9 (Up 1.0)

By comparison the sister station MP is stuck in the 1.8-2.5 range.

They have finally updated their website after what seemed to be a good couple of years without any changes at all. Looks much better, has up to date sports news on there and all the current shows are now listed. Also listed is a much more detailed description on shows such as the Run Home saying when guests will be coming in and who is up next. Not sure if the have a podcast section though. Trying to find it but cant. But all in all, a huge improvement on their previous site.

So friggin insular aren't we????:rolleyes:

Friggin no way. I love all footy, apart from AFL i love League, Union and Gridiron, and all other non footy related sports too, Cricket, Boxing, Beach volleyball, Weightlifting and Lawn Bowls etc. The only ones I can’t stand are the real boring ones, Synchronised swimming, Soccer, Darts, Golf, and Women’s Tennis. They send me to sleep.

KB to Steve Salisbury on SS's weekly spot on Thursdays:

“Footy starts tonight. Richmond’s taking on Carlton, and they’re gonna smash ‘em. And they’re gonna smash ’em, the Tigers.”

Oh dear. And he wasn't finished.

“The Tigers I’m tipping, Steve. In your tipping competition go for the Tigers and I think you’ll start with a win”

It's going to be another longggg footy year for great Tiger, KB.:(

They have finally updated their website after what seemed to be a good couple of years without any changes at all. Looks much better, has up to date sports news on there and all the current shows are now listed. Also listed is a much more detailed description on shows such as the Run Home saying when guests will be coming in and who is up next. Not sure if the have a podcast section though. Trying to find it but cant. But all in all, a huge improvement on their previous site.

About time isnt it?

It just gives it a more professional look and the content is decent aswell.

tom_and_jerry.jpg_320_320_0_9223372036854775000_0_1_0.jpg

KB and Putz

Well here’s a surprising Putzter statement from Wednesday:

Well, I, I, uh, owe, um, Ralphy an apology because his story, um, is right, um, [cough] and I was wrong. Um, Melbourne are trying to pay 100 percent of the salary cap. … Chris Connelly explained [Retain and Pinch] that to me today, and er, ah, my apologies to Jon Ralph
- On the Jon Ralph story correctly claiming the Dees are paying up to 100 percent of their cap.
(all ums, ahs - and Putz’ coughs - included for peternorth;))

On the Hawthorn Left-Footers Story:
Putz is having none of this and names teams and their left-footers:

Geelong would be the best team in the competition now; we should say that. They’ve got seven. Collingwood, we THINK, is the up and coming team; maybe even get to a grand final. They’ve got eight! Bulldogs, Kevin, they were the favourite for - they won the NAB Cup and were really, you know, a hot tip to do something. Three! I’m not sure it actually stands up. It’s a nice theory but whether it actually works is another thing.
[…]
KB naturally picks up the sabre for the left-footers.

KB: Generally I think some left-footers, when I’ve got a picture of left-footers is that they’re quite quick through the air
Putz: Why can’t a right-footer -

KB: Well maybe there’s more purchase. Maybe it’s the fact they turn on the left side, [Putz], that gives them a little bit more room because-
Putz: You’re a biomechanic now are you?

KB: Yes, they, bit more room, maybe it allows the right hip to sort of, you know, be the fulcrum point, and therefore they can push through. Because they can kick the football quickly through the air [sic]
Putz: Did you call the fight or were you in the fight? :D[the Schwass vs. Allen charity fight]

[…]
KB: We may need a biomechanics expert, [Putz], because they do tend to kick the ball, as I say, quicker through the air which gets to their team-mate a lot quicker and therefore it’s harder to cut off, and chop off a pass from a left-footer. You don’t see too many floating left footers…
Putz: Is this shaping as an old wives’ tale?

On Left-Footers Kicking with the Right Foot

KB: Not too many left-footers are very good on their right side. I don’t think Mathew Lloyd was very good on his right side. Even Royce Hart wasn’t very good on his right side. I think it’s because they get away with so much and they seem to fool most oppositions by coming back on their left side. … They probably don’t practice on their right side as much. …

Putz: Scotty Lucas, what did he kick with?
KB: He kicked with his left foot but he wasn’t so good on his right foot, [Putz]

Putz: [hysterically] He never kicked on his right foot!

KB: That’s what I’m saying. You are agreeing with us now

Putz: He did not kick on his right foot once
KB: But again he was a penetrating kick, wasn’t he?

Putz: So what’s the point of having players so limited, Kevin? If you get a left footer and he can’t kick on the right-
KB: As Tommy Hafey would say, accelerate and get back on to your natural kicking boot and kick with your natural leg

Putz: Haven’t got time in the modern game
KB: Don’t start kicking with that non-preferred side-

Putz: You haven’t got time in the modern game-
KB: [Hafey] used to reckon that players were showing off trying to kick on their non-preferred side, when they could kick on their preferred side… And you’d get hauled over the coals
[…]

KB: What foot do you kick with, [Putz]?
Putz: Ah, both, Kevin.

Putz on Favourite Old Ground
On the selection of Brett Lee in the T20 Aussie squad:

I’m surprised by that. It’s a big risk. He’s played, I think, one game in the IPL. He was injured again. I just think he’s too big a risk. I mean it’s the world championships in the Caribbean at the end of the month. I wouldn’t of picked him.
(Putz didn’t think Glenn McGrath should have been selected for the last ODI World Cup squad either. Hopefully an omen for Mr. Lee.:thumbsu:)

From Left-Footers to Left-Armers

KB: Mitchell Johnson, also, 150 wickets, [Putz]. Thirty-four Tests. The Fastest ever for a left-hander from this country
Putz: Yes, and he’s back bowling very well. This spell that he bowled in this Test to break through New Zealand in the second innings that was superior fast bowling

KB: The best left-hander ever? I mean he’s beaten people like Billy Johnson, Alan Davidson -
Putz: He’s not the best left-hander ever!

KB: Derek Underwood? Well, to get-
Putz: He just got to 150 quicker

KB: He’s the quickest to get to 150 wickets
Putz: That doesn’t make him the best

KB: Well give him some credit, [Putz]
Putz: I have just given him some credit!

KB: Is he as good as Alan Davidson?
Putz: [silent pause] He’s got a long way to go to be as good as Alan Davidson

KB: Derek Underwood?
Putz: [silent pause] Derek Underwood was a magnificent player

KB: Tony Lock?
Putz: [another silent pause] Mate, Tony Lock threw the ball…

KB: All of these guys took longer to get to 150 wickets
Putz: I know they did. Doesn’t mean-

KB: Mankad?
Putz: [pauses and ignores cheeky Mancad quip) Doesn’t mean they are better than Mitchell Johnson. But I think in this Test he’s really found his mojo. I think he’s bowled beautifully.
[…]

KB: O.K. Do you like Brett Lee
Putz: Too injury prone, Kevin.

KB: I think Ryan Harris got left out of the [T20WC] squad. That surprised me
Putz: You’re in love with him

KB: I just think he’s done well and he’s in form, [Putz].
Putz: Yep. I’m staggered Lee was put into that side. It seems - I don’t know that it’s a Sydney bias - but there seems to be some special commitment for Lee. And I think it’s misplaced
[…]

Going the Early Crow

KB: Well you can go the early crow. David Schwarz went the early crow on the weekend to, about half way through the first quarter -
Putz: You’re gonna ride on that for the whole season on that aren’t you?

KB: He selected Harry O’Brien in the All-Australian side
Putz: He made a bold decision, he backs his judgement and makes a call and you’re gonna to hunt him down for the whole season.

Left-Footers Again
[A talkback caller’s 12-year-olds seem to have more time to kick?]

KB: Correct. And I made that point this morning and [Putz] it went straight above [Putz’s] head… They have more time therefore they’re better balanced and maybe that’s what makes them a penetrating kick.
Putz: Well it might when they’re 12, Kevin, but up in the AFL, people, you know, have strategies.

KB: Hey [Putz], people in AFL football; left-footers have been fooling people since the game has started, [Putz].
Putz: Ah I think they’re far more professional about that now, Kevin

KB: Nah, they still get fooled. The guy runs for the ball and the left-footer turns on his left side; he always gets a break
Putz: OH, Kevin!

KB: He does, [Putz]
Putz: Kevin - you’re being stupid
[…]

KB: It sounds like, [Putz], that Hawthorn have jumped everyone here by going for all these left-footers-
Putz: Oh KeViiiiin!

KB: Because the kicking ability obviously won it for Hawthorn against Geelong
Putz: Oh Kevin, don’t be ridiculous

KB: Well look at all these kicks [sic]. It’s been proven by the listeners-
Putz: Well how can Geelong win two out of three premierships with three left-footers?

KB: Because, no, no, what’ya mean they had - ya said seven before
Putz: Oh’ll, I could have been wrong

The little mouse escapes yet again.

So they don't let you listen live from their website anymore? I can't find a link anywhere on the site that lets me tune in. :(

Turfology III, 2010

Well he’d be cashed up to the ear holes at the moment, Sheeds, because Bel Esprit served 250 mares last season. Two hundred and fifty! In the one year - in six months Kevin! Talk about no rest for the wicked.
It’s not a very romantic occasion either - a stallion serving a mare, Kevin. There’s no candles, there‘s no wine, there‘s no romance involved, Kevin. It’s a very clinical operation
- On Kevin Sheedy’s part-owned (and very at ease with life) stallion at stud.

Do you have any sympathy for Fev at all? I mean Fev actually, for all his misdemeanours, he does have a physical - not deformity - but he has a physical issue that is not really public but it may actually explain a lot of his behaviours … I’ve seen the x-rays; his skull, is completely empty. And that causes him problems
- On the Fev/Bingle picture controversy.

It’s like going to the races and shaking hands with a bookmaker
- On players expected to shake hands before the start of a game.

Girt by idiots I am
- On Tim and Andy’s differing opinion on Glenn McGrath and his foundation due to Glenn re-marrying

KB Gives the Doc the Putz Smith Treatment
KB: But I was listening on Saturday morning and Hutchy absolutely pinned you to the wall, Doc. And I’ve been saying this for years:
What do you like in the Australian Cup?
Awwwww, it’s very, very hard. Very difficult to pick this. Ohhh, I think ahhh, no, gee it’s too tough…
You’re an expert in racing who never gives a tip. And when you do give a tip… these are my selections: 1,3,5, 8,14, 16, 18, 19, and I do like 20.
Spot on!
Dr. Turf: Kevin, it’s all about value

KB: Stop sitting on the fence
Dr. Turf: Anyway, any activity that involves putting your hand in your pocket to take money out - how you’ve got an opinion on it, or a position on it is flabbergasting.

This is coming from Kevin Bartlett who actually does believe in omen bets and how the tealeaves are left in his cup as being an indication onto the fluctuating fortunes of some horses
- On Hutchy stating KB’s allegation that the Doc has given more tips in a race than there is actual starters

I’d like to see - in this very fashion - I’d like to see KB put his hand in his pocket and be first. And he’s at a 1000-1, that happening, and drifting
- On what Richmond F.C should or could do for Neville Crowe

You don’t have your money in the same post code as your mouth
- On KB not gambling

So their statisticians have found a connection between possession-football and the melting of the glaciers?
Or maybe the hot air produced by the food that they serve
- On the Demetriou statement that the AFL and clubs have an interest in climate change

Put it this way. Any sentence that involves the words, ‘Richmond and mind-games,’ staggers me in the first place
- On the possibility that Damien Hardwick was playing mind games before the season opener

I vaguely remember a similar level of confidence this time last year, Kevin, which lasted about 18 seconds
- On some Richmond fans’ confidence leading up to the Thursday night game

I was pleased to see in the press the other day there’s a photograph of the latest girl who I think was in a kitchen with an apron on. Topless, wearing an apron. Good to see he’s got out of the waitresses and now he’s gone to the chefs. So he’s on his way up
- On another women coming forward on Tiger Woods’ behaviour

Tell you a trio you’ve completely forgotten. I just can’t believe how slack we’ve been. Bridgette, Holly, and Kendra - Girls of the Playboy mansion. One of the great trifectas of all time!
- On the great trifectas in sports

I’ve always had a problem with horses competing against each other with no gambling involved
- On the sport of polo being a “profoundly disappointing experience.”

It struck me one day, Derby Day, about 4 or 5 years ago when in the space of thirty seconds I was asked for my Derby tip from the Treasure, Peter Costello and then thirty seconds later - Tony Mokbel!
- On the pressure professional tipsters are under

Costello got the B set
- On who the Doctor gave his best tips to.

Turfy and His 2010 Dees - Volume 2
(7 and 38 in the Beetle Bailey era):eek:

I just love my footy team and I can’t help but refer to Melbourne as “we” because I’m part of them, because they’re part of me

I still reckon that anyone that sat in the outer at Waverley when Fitzroy kicked 36-20 against them and sat there until the final siren, you’re entitled to say “we”
- On referring to Melbourne as “us” and “we.”

Melbourne will rarely be - I’d say $6.00 on two occasions this year, maybe three
- On the Demons betting prices this year.

(Round 2 vs. the Pies has the Dees at $10.00 at Sportingbet. Uh-oh!)

Gee the gladiators are becoming over exposed!I think Stephen J Freak picking North Melbourne to finish 4th the worst call on predictions for the season!!!:eek:

Has anyone heard from Jim from Hawthorn this afternoon on talkback following Hawthorn's loss, I can imagine he went ape-shit :D

Was actually very humble tonight, told his fellow supporters to stop whingeing about the umpires etc.