Radio The SEN Thread 7

Some flog (probably TheGeneral) just called in saying that Carlton 9, yes 9, A-grade players.

Francis, Schwartz and Robbo loved that one.

i giggled, then realised the caller isnt taking it seriously. at least i hope not! :eek:

enjoyed tex perkins with harf today. always nice to have a non sporting person comment on sport from a different perspective

+3

Granland hosting was good and Gaze adds well to the chemistry. Even made me enjoy listening to Watson in the mornings.

I thought Granland was bog ordinary and added no chemistry at all.
Way out of his depth to be honest.

He is a good caller but like Brent Phillips when promoted to the big time as a fill in was found wanting.

SEN need to find some quality fill-ins as guys like Grannland and Phillips simply don't cut it.
Scott Lucas shows a bit of potential.

I thought Granland was bog ordinary and added no chemistry at all.
Way out of his depth to be honest.

He is a good caller but like Brent Phillips when promoted to the big time as a fill in was found wanting.

SEN need to find some quality fill-ins as guys like Grannland and Phillips simply don't cut it.
Scott Lucas shows a bit of potential.

That's crap.

BP and Matt Granland are always spot on when hosting and let the other guests actually speak which is want the listeners want.

Lucas is ok if you like waiting 10 mins to listen to a sentence.

That's crap.

BP and Matt Granland are always spot on when hosting and let the other guests actually speak which is want the listeners want.

Both of your sentences contradict each other mate.

BP and MG are very, very vanilla. Talkback radio is an opinion business. If you don't have an opinion, then you're dead.

That's crap.

lucas and dermie should host a show together. it could rival the good friday appeal in its time on air

BP and MG are very, very vanilla. Talkback radio is an opinion business. If you don't have an opinion, then you're dead.
Doran managed to survive for so many years sitting on fences.

Morning Glory opinions are pro-AFL and they rarely go into any hard hitting stuff. Mostly non-serious nature which is where I felt Gaze fit in well. Granland just in the background allowed Gaze, Watson and their guest to have more of a say. I just don't like it when Maher speaks.

Lucas is ok. Provides good insight from a newly retired player. Just his voice kinda drones a bit.

Doran managed to survive for so many years sitting on fences.

Morning Glory opinions are pro-AFL and they rarely go into any hard hitting stuff. Mostly non-serious nature which is where I felt Gaze fit in well. Granland just in the background allowed Gaze, Watson and their guest to have more of a say. I just don't like it when Maher speaks.

Lucas is ok. Provides good insight from a newly retired player. Just his voice kinda drones a bit.

Thats probably faie enough comment.

But if Granland is going to be in the background not contributing, then why have him there at all ?

Thats probably faie enough comment.

But if Granland is going to be in the background not contributing, then why have him there at all ?
You need someone keeping things progressing and they get through the agenda/topics for the 3 hours. Also the 5 in 5 is actually 5 or so minutes.

No they dont.

BP and Matt Granland are hosts and do a pretty good job of it. They are not analysts or special comments men who stir things up for the sake of it ( usually Fatprick Smith and the like)

We dont need shock jocks, just some knowledgble people who can report the sports we are interested in.

Just yesterday morning I was listening to MG and Maher was already back with Watson talking about "who has the croakiest voice in sport"

Yeah real quality radio that :rolleyes:

Old Ray from Werribee on Darren's show tonight,with the usual ''everyone's picking on us'' diatribe. Apparently according to Ray''Right'' everyone ''Right'' is picking on Hardwick "RIGHT''. I actually feel sorry for Darren must be a full moon tonight they're all calling Christian from Mt Eliza, Wayne from Geelong. If Billy rings in my night will be complete:p

What, not a Dave from St. Kilda fan? None the less, it's a robust collection that almost made your night. Right!?

It seems that Mutley is now a reporter for Macquarie National News.

SEN are now taking the news from MTR, and Mutley was covering the story of Carl Williams murder.

Since Mutley's sports reporting often turned a dodgy groin into the next bubonic plague, one may assume Mutley is currently hyperventilating over Williams' demise.

"People will be talking about this tomorrow around the water cooler."
- Mutt Thompson on the cart running into WB's Brad Johnson.

He always referred to himself as a journalist so good luck to him the newsroom, far, far away from sports.

You need someone keeping things progressing and they get through the agenda/topics for the 3 hours. Also the 5 in 5 is actually 5 or so minutes.
Yeah, where they can afford it, stations seem to prefer to have a "top and tail" workhorse/host, coz they reckon it gives the 'experts' more 'specialness'. For example, the new Triple M show with Brayshaw and Billy has a host/pleb doing the meat and potato stuff, even though Brayshaw hosts 2 national tv shows. With the less-credentialed host continually throwing to the more-'credde' guys, theory goes that it gives the pros' comments more substance