Radio The SEN Thread 7

Pleb seems been doing a better job of the news lately. He’s making a lot less mistakes. He sounds like a young guy so I reckon he’s doing okay.

I’m no expert but, he’s probably from suburban NSW or a far North Qlder by the sound of those vowels...No wonder he can't pronounce AFL players names.

You have the give Macquarie credit, it’s good to see they’re giving young people a go and it’s good to a hear a male newsreader for once. There’s too many young female journo and old farts on 3AW in my opinion.

GO THE DEES
On Friday night I heard Geelong were happy to get the two points.

On Saturday night the midnight news started with "[silence] ah um, my apologies [silence]".

Not that I want to enter the debate again about what sen should cover, but there are people out there who think the only sport that matters is AFL. Then the same people will go on about how sen only exist because of the afl and blah, blah, blah.

It is a sport station and I expect the coverage of the world cup in the next month and a half to take up a major portion of airtime. And it should.

For the love of god could you two insular VB drinking Bogons realise that this is the BIGGEST SPORTING EVENT IN THE WORLD which obviously is going to get more media exposure than the code normally does get . Maybe you two should have a beer together {Aussie beer only} grab a steak and two veg and talk about the good old days when South Melbourne existed and Richmond were a power under Tommy. Talk about how that shiela wog ball played by ****s is given so much exposure . GETTING F****** STALE :rolleyes:

Not that I want to enter the debate again about what sen should cover, but there are people out there who think the only sport that matters is AFL. Then the same people will go on about how sen only exist because of the afl and blah, blah, blah.

It is a sport station and I expect the coverage of the world cup in the next month and a half to take up a major portion of airtime. And it should.

The sport is football, The AFL is the premier football competition in Australia.
If the sport was 'AFL' the league would be the 'AAFLL'

For the love of god could you two insular VB drinking Bogons realise that this is the BIGGEST SPORTING EVENT IN THE WORLD which obviously is going to get more media exposure than the code normally does get . Maybe you two should have a beer together {Aussie beer only} grab a steak and two veg and talk about the good old days when South Melbourne existed and Richmond were a power under Tommy. Talk about how that shiela wog ball played by ****s is given so much exposure . GETTING F****** STALE :rolleyes:
For a start i don't drink VB as it is now crap.
I concur that international soccer is a great sport, but we don't need on every program some flog called Daniel Gard or some thing like that telling us what we heard i the program before.
What my problem with SEN is that there is too much on the Victory and idiots like Michael Zapone, where do they find these people. At least with a show like Fine's you know what is coming up every night.

but we don't need on every program some flog called Daniel Gard or some thing like that telling us what we heard i the program before.

No, you'd much prefer to hear a sports central update every 1/2 hour telling us that Joe Bloggs has split a finger nail at training.

What my problem with SEN is that there is too much on the Victory and idiots like Michael Zapone, where do they find these people.

The same place that Foxsport found him

For a start i don't drink VB as it is now crap.
I concur that international soccer is a great sport, but we don't need on every program some flog called Daniel Gard or some thing like that telling us what we heard i the program before.
What my problem with SEN is that there is too much on the Victory and idiots like Michael Zapone, where do they find these people. At least with a show like Fine's you know what is coming up every night.

wait till next A League season when the Heart start playing :eek:
what's wrong with zapone?

I agree, SEN is very repetitive but that will happen given its a sports station only. Same thing with footy. 3pm each day is painful as they go through the major headlines and repeat what they've been on about all day.

this is why i find it refreshing when catching the tv freak (bloke named Goodings I think) talking about tv/movies etc.

There is obviously a place for soccer as it is a sports station, I have no problem with that at all. I think it would be fantastic to have one gigantic block to satisfy the lovers of the round ball game and outside of that have zero content for those like me who cant stand it. I think a wall to wall 5 hour block from 2am -7am would be perfect, as the WC cup will be held overnight and the 6-7am slot will satisfy all the early risers going to work.

There is obviously a place for soccer as it is a sports station, I have no problem with that at all. . . . I think a wall to wall 5 hour block from 2am -7am would be perfect, as the WC cup will be held overnight and the 6-7am slot will satisfy all the early risers going to work.

LOL:thumbsu: Whether you meant to or not, what's what I call stirring the pot. LOL:thumbsu::thumbsu:

The sport is football, The AFL is the premier football competition in Australia.
If the sport was 'AFL' the league would be the 'AAFLL'

:heart: OMG this is one of my big pet hates. I cannot stand it when people call the sport AFL. FFS you cannot play AFLunless you're playing in the actual AFL. It's Demetriou's fault for marketing aussie rules as AFL in NSW and QLD. If they don't wanna call it football they can call it aussie rules.

With you on this one.

Sydneysider: "So does everyone play AFL at school down there?"

Me: "No, we play footy - Australian football. Does everyone play Super 14 and NRL at school up there?"