Radio The SEN Thread 8

• Thread starter Thread starter jonesy86

I hate people who call in more than once a day like John from Mill Park and Dennis of Northcote, both incidentally are brain dead Collingwood imbeciles.

without talkback callers the station would not exist. the callers are like their lifeline. they need people like that. those who take opinions so personally they need to call and call other callers idiots etc.

they probably brag to their mates about getting on air.

John from Mill Park sounds like quite a decent bloke actually.

I hate people who call in more than once a day like John from Mill Park and Dennis of Northcote, both incidentally are brain dead Collingwood imbeciles.

You should ease up on Dennis from Northcote. He suffers a disability and is wheel chair bound (Nice bloke too).

John from Mill Park, AKA Johnny the pieman is as fairweather as they come. When the pies aren't going well you wont hear squat from him.

Trout from Woodend. All makes sense now.

161104_100001812780938_23839_n.jpg

Trout from Woodend. All makes sense now.

161104_100001812780938_23839_n.jpg

Anyone over 12. Years of age who wears a Wig to the footy is a dead set tool. Is he also the dick in the RFC cheer squad who has the banner Cop It ??

what's that got to do with it?

(im sure he is a nice bloke too. probably puts it on when on air)

Well, I don't think a person who suffers from a disability and is bound to a wheel chair should be called a brain dead imbecile. If he gets enjoyment out of ringing SEN a couple of times a day and isn't breaking station rules, then he should go for it.

Well to be fair to me, i didn't know he was disabled and i apologize for my insensitive comment, but i still find him annoying to listen to, he always seems to be negative about something.

Also John from Mill Park suggested on monday that Hawk players broke Dawes hand on purpose. i thought that kind of paranoia was reserved for steve from mitcham

Jack Richter is sick of Ray From Werribee's whinging and i don't blame him

I would have sacked Sherman too, and I am indigenous. It's the only way players would learn the true consequences of their actions. It's actually not stupid at all.

So you honestly reckon Sherman is a racist?
The guy made a shocking mistake and yes before you ask I find racism abhorrent! Everyone is entitled to a "Mistake" in life, I'm sure he'll have the shame of his actions for the rest of his life.
The Gold Coast football club and the player involved have reached mediation and both agreed on the punishment ! End Of

Jack Richter is sick of Ray From Werribee's whinging and i don't blame him

God I hate this flog. Rings up so many times and:

1. Bags the Tigers when they have won/played well
2. Praises the Tigers when they lose/played horribly
3. Asks a question/makes a statement but keeps interrupting the hosts who are trying to reply/give their opinion. Teo even had to pull him up last night by saying "you've had your say now give SJP a chance to respond".
4. Finishes almost every sentence with 'right'. "The tigers played well tonight, right"

The guy made a shocking mistake and yes before you ask I find racism abhorrent! Everyone is entitled to a "Mistake" in life, I'm sure he'll have the shame of his actions for the rest of his life.
The Gold Coast football club and the player involved have reached mediation and both agreed on the punishment ! End Of

It doesn't matter if you've done it once, twice or 30 times. The fact that he did it means he will be branded Racist for life. To me mediation only means that the person is forgiven by the person he abused. As an indigenous person it does NOT excuse him in my eyes for what he did.

I think Turfy is one of the best presenters/guests on SEN and Marko isn't bad either. Shame I'm a night owl.

I agree Jack. Both very knowledgeable and entertaining guests.

Due to the then amateurish feel to many of the programs and the annoying ads, I was an occasional listener up until about around the time Mark Doran got the chop.

I now listen every weekday between 11 and 5, largely due the presenters during these times and the quality of the regular guests, including Turfy, Marko, Hoggy and Ed Wyatt. Despite being a Richmond supporter, I also don't mind Plough.

There is definitely scope for improvement but the trajectory over the last couple of years has been good.

Tao's power rankings are a waste of time, they only make sense of NBA and NFL type league with over 30 teams each and conferences etc.

He is also a pompous tit

Tao's power rankings are a waste of time, they only make sense of NBA and NFL type league with over 30 teams each and conferences etc.

He is also a pompous tit

who?

look, i have felt this for sometime re: footy. there are so many in the print/electronic media clambering for jobs during the footy season. but these guys can only report on one sport (footy), whereas journos in say USA report on numerous sports across different seasons.

now add this to the shitload of ex players wanting gigs in the media and you suddenly have an abundance of people going for limited positions.

take SEN as an example. they have scott lucas, laidley, thompson etc. footy just doesnt generate enough news (when shows start topics like who's the best player to wear number 1 you know they're struggling). the "experts" basically talk about the same thing to different hosts.

tim watson said it beautifully on monday morning about something footy...."dunno why its an issue, but it gives us something to talk about on monday mornings".

power rankings are a good concept, but as you said when there's only 16/17 teams dunno you can get much out of it.

of course he's a racist, he made multiple comments on the field, a once off you could possibly deem an error of judgement. i don't believe he should be sacked though, a very long stint in the vfl is sufficient and possibly doing some community work with disadvanteged aboriginals.

It doesn't matter if you've done it once, twice or 30 times. The fact that he did it means he will be branded Racist for life. To me mediation only means that the person is forgiven by the person he abused. As an indigenous person it does NOT excuse him in my eyes for what he did.

question without notice, as an indigenous person, is it deemed politically incorrect for people to be called aboriginal anymore? e.g. wanganeen's the finest indigenous player of the last 20 years, indigenous community, indigenous youth etc. etc.
i don't seem to hear the term aboriginal much anymore, replaced by indigenous.
i don't think i'd find anything offensive about it, when did the shift in terminology happen?

Football is one of my top priorites in life but I must agree with the limited knowledge or even care about other sports. Its virtually only the post midnight programs that even consider other sports. As a massive tennis fan I found their two minute round up discussion each day during the French Open pretty ordinary. Who ever was speaking offered no insight what so ever, just reeled off a few scores (I guess they weren't given the time anyway). What's the point then?

I remember when SEN started they had UK Radio talk sport on the midnight to dawn slot. That was so much better than the crap served up now, problem isn't the hosts so much but the callers who Are certifibile.