Radio The SEN Thread 9

I have to agree with you about the fishing and building stuff. Maybe I'm just a cynic but, I reckon they have them on as a way to get mates rates on getting a deck done out back or a fishing charter for a mates' weekend.

or someone @ sen is mates with them.

motorsport is something ive never understood and probably never will (although i once said that about golf too).

schebecci is on right now with his motorsport show. does anyone listen to sunday morning programs? is it a suitable time for motorsport?

Motorsport to cars is what athletics is to humans, hope that isn't too weird or deep for you. The problem is people who don't like it, and even some people who do, think that motorsport is about the drivers...no,no,no,no,no! Motorsport is all about the cars, not the driver. 95% of all major motorsport occurs during a sunday afternoon, so yes, it is a good time for the show.

I would listen to it but Schibeci is such a poor dumbarse when talking about motorsport it puts me right off. It would barely give any insight to a listener who has an idea, let alone someone with casual/no interest. In fact, everybody on the station who regularly talks about motorsport, Schibeci, Tim Hodges, that moron who's with KB every monday morning after each F1GP and even Cameron McConville, who is a professional driver, are hopeless. Some of the many problems with Schibeci is that he's been AFL'ed, the generic AFL ramblings you normally hear but minus AFL and add motorsport, it's too hard for him to do anything else. When clowns on the station have a pop at motorsport (like that waste of man milk f***head Panahi did with Bathurst last month, or when the GP is on) he's also too soft and stupid to have a crack at them back, which is exactly what he should be doing. :mad: (first time I've used this smilie)

The only guy who ever talks about motorsport at an acceptable level is Will Hagon, on the ABC, every second thursday night, but even then, sometimes, he adds sugar to his commentaries as well, but not enough to p155 me off, this post was longer than what I intended it to be.

Motorsport to cars is what athletics is to humans, hope that isn't too weird or deep for you. The problem is people who don't like it, and even some people who do, think that motorsport is about the drivers...no,no,no,no,no! Motorsport is all about the cars, not the driver. 95% of all major motorsport occurs during a sunday afternoon, so yes, it is a good time for the show.

seem to have struck a nerve mate?

Maybe motor cars and motorbikes people could start their own station and take Schebeci with them. This is a sports station ffs
Yeah, and?...Oh...wait...you're one of those are you? Alrighty then...that's OK, I'll let it slide...No, hang on, if motorsport isn't a sport, despite the fact the word "sport" is in the title, as opposed to Footy, which doesn't, nor does cricket, rugby, soccer, basketball, etc. (psst, just quietly, they are, technically, "games") Then what is it? Arts & Craft? Politics? Business?...Enlighten me. :confused:

Maybe motor cars and motorbikes people could start their own station and take Schebeci with them. This is a sports station ffs

Bit of a selfish statement, don't you think?..:rolleyes:

I also, am not interested in motor sports, but I do recognise that it is a sport......I suggest you turn off if not interested......the station is there for ALL sports, whether you like it or not..

We footy fans get the majority of airtime, only fair that others get to hear their favorites too..

V8 Nation bores me silly, so I turn it off....but I don't whinge because others may like the show, and tell them they should get their own station!!

Having said that, I wish Steve and Ed were still on though!!;)

Bit of a selfish statement, don't you think?..:rolleyes:

I also, am not interested in motor sports, but I do recognise that it is a sport......I suggest you turn off if not interested......the station is there for ALL sports, whether you like it or not..

We footy fans get the majority of airtime, only fair that others get to hear their favorites too..

V8 Nation bores me silly, so I turn it off....but I don't whinge because others may like the show, and tell them they should get their own station!!

I am a diehard motorsport fan and I can't stand that show even slightly.

Luckily I have only heard it 2 or 3 times because on nearly every Sunday night Aus time during the year there is an F1 or MotoGP race. Ridiculous time slot for a motorsport show.

Yeah, and?...Oh...wait...you're one of those are you? Alrighty then...that's OK, I'll let it slide...No, hang on, if motorsport isn't a sport, despite the fact the word "sport" is in the title, as opposed to Footy, which doesn't, nor does cricket, rugby, soccer, basketball, etc. (psst, just quietly, they are, technically, "games") Then what is it? Arts & Craft? Politics? Business?...Enlighten me. :confused:

Hang on, so almost everyone who commentates on motorsport does a shit job except for one random bloke on abc every 2nd week or whatever?
Or is it that just maybe motorsport is a boring as batshit to most people unless you get around in a Jim Beam jacket?

Hang on, so almost everyone who commentates on motorsport does a shit job except for one random bloke on abc every 2nd week or whatever?
Or is it that just maybe motorsport is a boring as batshit to most people unless you get around in a Jim Beam jacket?
Just plain shit for jim beam and vb drinking bogans

Amazing that a sport which has been almost entirely the domain of the wealthy european upper class for nearly a century is being stereotyped as 'bogan'.

Of course unless you're an ignorant dipstick and can't think past motorsport=bathurst.

I guess all footy fans must be toothless bogans then :rolleyes:

Don't know about Simple Jack or any other listener but, I can honestly say, SEN's motorsport content, however little it is, is pretty s***, and they could do a lot better if they put in a little effort. Secondly, I'm confident guys who wear Jim Beam Jackets also like footy. Boring as batshit? Well, I've seen my fair share of boring motorsport, but I recognise how awesome it is as well. In a similar way, you know, how you've seen heaps of garbage footy but ignore that cos you see it's awsomeness (if that's a word, David Astle). Over the years, I've actually compared watching motorsport to watching a day of cricket, there may be dead periods, then something develops, and the s*** hits the fan and it's all happening. It's just in motorsport it happens in 1/2 to 2 hours.

Just plain shit for jim beam and vb drinking bogans
Yeah, good one, turn up 4 minutes after FERRIS comes in to hold your hand! Why don't you answer the question? You never see bogans at the footy, don't you? Albert Park and Sydney, someone who doesn't like motorsport, are you Richard Stubbs?
Amazing that a sport which has been almost entirely the domain of the wealthy european upper class for nearly a century is being stereotyped as 'bogan'.

I wish I was one of them.

That's a similar attitude Finey has, if I ever disagree with you (probably will on something), I won't forget this quote. :thumbsu:

Fair enough, I do as well! :thumbsu:

I'm not a fan of motorsport, not really of fan of golf, hate fishing, hate anything to do building/plumbing/carpentry etc, but when we get all the football codes covering 90% of SEN for 365 days, I'm not one to complain. A bit of diversity never goes astray.

Last friday night, Peaky was on for like 6 hours in a row :)

I am enjoying evenings with Finey and all night appetite more then the day programs now. Scott, Teo and Dasher are great to listening to if u can't sleep

The reason that fishing, building and motor sports are getting a bit of airtime in the non footy season is that they bring along some great sponsors with them.

SEN dominates the male 25-54 demographic and advertisers would be loving an opportunity to get a shot at them. Fishing, building and cars fits that demographic right down to a tee.

And this is why netball or any womens sports really, will never get any sort of serious attention on SEN.

The reason that fishing, building and motor sports are getting a bit of airtime in the non footy season is that they bring along some great sponsors with them.

SEN dominates the male 25-54 demographic and advertisers would be loving an opportunity to get a shot at them. Fishing, building and cars fits that demographic right down to a tee.

And this is why netball or any womens sports really, will never get any sort of serious attention on SEN.

Bringing up an old chestnut the station should be doing A - League live.
The figures on Fox are very good this season. Fits the demographic, would bring in sponsors. Piss poor